Reading Reviews for The Boy Who Never Was
  
14 Reviews Found

Review #1, by theblacksisters A Cruel World

27th September 2013:
Really good. It seems to me that, yes, Harry might feel guilty after the BoH.

 Report Review

Review #2, by Hagrid21 A Cruel World

20th June 2013:
Ah, I feel so stupid for not realizing it was Sirius. Anyway, it was a great story. Nicely written and somewhat disturbing (Snape/Lily and (draco/Ginny). It was a great idea linking Harry potter and the Christmas Carol. Harry as Scrooge fits so perfectly.

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked it! Yep, definitely a mix between a Christmas Carol and It's a Wonderful Life. :) Thanks for reading and reviewing.

~Rosie


 Report Review

Review #3, by Teddy A Cruel World

17th June 2013:
I loved it! I just knew it would be someone from his past :)

Author's Response: I'm glad you enjoyed reading! Thanks so much for the review. :)

~Rosie


 Report Review

Review #4, by American Ginny A Cruel World

16th June 2013:
I really, really liked this! It was gripping and emotional. I have 2 problems. I wish it was longer (but i do with almost all stories), and I felt like it was rushed at the end. Harry just realized how much more life would suck without him! Give him some time to put emotions into the kiss. Make him talk a little bit. Give him time! Don't rush things. Overall well done. Loved it so much
Love,
Am.Ginny

Author's Response: Hey thanks for reading and leaving a review. :) You thought it was short? Wow, lots of people tell me how long this story is for a one-shot! :P Hm I guess I see what you mean by it being rushed at the end--but thanks so much for the critique! :D

~Rosie


 Report Review

Review #5, by ParadoxTremors A Cruel World

8th May 2013:
It's a wonderful life, Harry; so don't wish it away. We seldom realize the impact we have on other lives until we're removed and shown how things could've been different. Well written my friend.

Author's Response: Wow thanks so much! I'm glad you liked the story and my writing. It means a lot. :)

~Rosie


 Report Review

Review #6, by noor who else A Cruel World

31st March 2013:
Wow! Once again I have no idea why I'm taking the time to review this... Anyway this was a cool story! I especially liked when everyone thought he was drunk. YOUR NOT INSANE! Lol Mrs weasly might not be in sane bit you are. Just kidding

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked the story! I know right! YOU'RE NOT INSANE!!! Thanks for reviewing! (Which is a shock because you're so lazy all the time.)

 Report Review

Review #7, by O. A. A Cruel World

21st March 2013:
BEST. STORY. EVER. Although I swore at Malfoy when he said the word FIANCEE. *Shudder* It sounds REALLY disgusting when he says it. Anyway, my brother was like, WHY are you swearing at a made up person? And I'm like, NO REASON. Oops, went off topic. Anyway, I LOVE THIS FREAKING STORY!

Author's Response: I'm so happy you enjoyed it! :D Haha, Malfoy being engaged to Ginny truly is weird, isn't it? Good thing it never happened! ;)

Thanks so much for the review!

~Rosie


 Report Review

Review #8, by blackthoughtsredwriting A Cruel World

7th January 2013:
I like it. It was an interesting read =]

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked it! :) Thanks for reading and reviewing. :)

~Rosie


 Report Review

Review #9, by True Author A Cruel World

7th November 2012:
Thanks for reposting this! :) It was a great story and now it's even better! I noticed some small changes, but they were good.
Thanks again! ;)

Ashwini

Author's Response: I'm so glad you think it's even better than before! Again, thanks so much for your motivation! I've only just realized how much I missed this story too. :)

~Rosie


 Report Review

Review #10, by CambAngst A Cruel World

7th November 2012:
This was really original, I thought. I could definitely feel elements of A Christmas Carol, albeit with Jacob Marley and all three spirits sort of rolled together into Sirius's character. Based on the way that you set him up, Harry made an excellent Scrooge. You could pick any number of characters to fill the role of Tiny Tim. Sorry, I'm overthinking this by a wide margin. ;)

The characterization of Harry as angry, guilt-ridden and pushing the others away was very believable for me. A lot of my favorite post-war fics start off with Harry in a similar mindset. The length of this piece being what it is, you obviously don't have time to do much more than present it to the reader as est quod est, but I definitely didn't have any problems getting my head around it. The reactions of the others felt perfectly normal, as well. Mrs. Weasley was trying to draw him out of his shell, Ron and Hermione were sort of accepting it as "Harry being Harry" and Ginny was getting outright angry with him.

The scenes that the Guardian Angel shows Harry were a good selection of very realistic things that almost certainly would have happened had Harry not been born. With nothing to stand in the way of Voldemort's first rise to power, all of the scenarios you presented made perfect sense. I found Neville's death and Lily being "kept" by Snape particularly sad.

Sirius was a perfect choice for the Guarding Angel, as well. He took such a liking to Harry and treated him like family.

This was clever and fun and brought something new and interesting to the HP universe for me. Well done!

Author's Response: Hi! I'm glad you thought this was an interesting one-shot! :) You're right, my inspiration did come from a few Christmas movies I was watching. :P

I'm glad you liked Harry's characterization! And of course, Ron and Hermione are used to this behavior, but Ginny isn't. :P

I was starting to get worried that the scenes were a bit too over-exaggerated in this but I'm relieved to hear that you didn't think they were. :)

Again, thanks so much for the lovely review! And I'm glad you thought it was unique, since writing this literally made my fingers hurt! (Uh, not complaining...totally not complaining. :P)

~Rosie


 Report Review

Review #11, by MercyWaters A Cruel World

7th November 2012:
This was a very interesting idea! I like the premise and definitely enjoyed reading it. It's always interesting to read a story about life after the war and see how the characters are coping with the aftermath.

I'll admit the Harry seemed a bit out of character at times, but given the nature of the story itself I don't find that all that bothersome. The ending seemed a bit rushed though. Remember, don't try to wrap things up just for the sake of finishing it quickly! Let the story unfold naturally, the way it should, rather than forcing it. I think this story has the potential of being a short story if everything is fleshed out properly. Also, when it comes to description and just writing style in general, remember to SHOW not TELL. A lot of times you would just outright say what was happening or how a character was feeling. For example: "Ron stayed silent, probably because he didnít want to upset his little sister or his girlfriend" is TELLING how Ron is feeling. He doesn't want to speak because he's afraid he'll upset someone. Rather than outright saying this, describe Ron's body language to the reader so they can assume this on their own. You could say something like this: "Ron's mouth set into a hard line as he observed Ginny and Hermione bickering. He said nothing, but fidgeted slightly, glancing almost sympathetically over at the glowering Harry."

So, disregarding the few stylistic things I like to nitpick, I think was well written and flows nicely. Once again, very interesting idea! It was an enjoyable read.

Bri, xx

Author's Response: Hi! Thanks for the wonderful review! :)

I know it was a very strange and bizarre idea, but after watching a whole lot of Christmas movies and getting attacked by plunnies, I just couldn't not write this! :P

The story's overall strange nature did affect Harry's characterization. In fact, I don't even really think he was this over-emotional after the war. It was just so that the story would make a bit more sense, for him to act this way.

The ending was a bit unnatural, now that you pointed that out. And I completely understand the 'show' and not 'tell' thing. I'll probably edit Ron's action into the story sometime! That was a really good idea. :)

I'm glad you thought this was an interesting idea overall, so thanks so much for taking the time to leave this review. :)

~Rosie


 Report Review

Review #12, by Aurorofthelight A Cruel World

7th November 2012:
Magnificent story! Briliantly told! Well done!

Author's Response: I'm very happy you enjoyed this! :)

~Rosie


 Report Review

Review #13, by kecske A Cruel World

7th November 2012:
I had fun reading your story. It's a good idea, and I think the details of the alternative world that Harry saw were well thought out :)

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the review, and I'm so happy you liked it! :)

~Rosie


 Report Review

Review #14, by bee A Cruel World

7th November 2012:
Oh my god...thats amazing! It's incredible how u did the story:) It actually makes sense ... and Sirius was the angel...now i understand why he was angry cause of the way he was killed..I feel so sad for the Weasleys :/ This coul have happend actually if Harry wasn't born :) And btw. I don't like Severus
Hope you'll write more cause you really are talented :) xx

Author's Response: I'm very happy you liked this! I know, I feel sorry for everyone too. :'( Thanks so much for the lovely review, it means a lot!

~Rosie


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login