Reading Reviews for A Hundred Bloodied Sunsets
  
33 Reviews Found

Review #1, by jessicalorewrites we will remember

11th July 2014:
Hey!

I am one and truly blown away but the pure, raw emotions in this oneshot. It's such a powerful piece and, though very short, seems to pay tribute to so many - individually, and at once, as Harry says. You really have blown me away with this! The word choices, the descriptions; everything seems so stunningly perfect. My favourite thing about this whole piece is the style in which you have written it, the way it is punctuated by the quotes and framed in short sentences. It's an unusual but unique way of doing so. However there was one thing that didn't seem to flow with the rest of it and that was the brackets in (like a sunset bleeding into dusk) -- it would have worked fine, better even, without this!!

Still trying to comprehend how someone could write something so amazing as I sit here writing this now. A thousand congratulations go to you!!

xo

{House Cup 2014 Review - Gryffindor}

 Report Review

Review #2, by Veritaserum27 we will remember

10th July 2014:
Hello!

Very nice story. I am always impressed with the five hundred word stories, but I think this one might have spanned the most scenarios of any one that I've read. Fantastic imagery and I could really picture each part of the sunset that you describe and the person who matches to it. I really liked how you ended with Lupin, because his life was ruled by the moon. The only (very small) part that caught my eyes was your use of parentheses in the first paragaph (like a sunset bleeding into dusk). I really don't think you need the parentheses. The rest of the desrciptions read more like a poem and I think that it would stand alone beautifully without that punctuation. Everything else was fantastic!

House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #3, by Karou_Marauder we will remember

10th July 2014:
Hello. So I'm actually tearing up right now, because you've blown me away by the stunning word choices and similes used to convey the sadness and loss felt by every wizarding family after the war.

The sunsets and sky themes throughout are particularly powerful; the way you use times of day to indicate each individual character is amazing. I can tell which character will be next without even reading the names. And the little parts about their families and relatives afterwards are just so sad, how they're moving on but still remembering.

The parts of Harry's toast to the fallen (I'm assuming that's what it is) are brilliantly written and placed too. It's so well-worded and powerful, and you can tell he means every word of it. Particularly the phrase at the end, "We will remember them," just on its own conveys a whole bunch of feelings like sadness and regret, but also relief that the war is finally over.

This is really amazing.

-Karou, 2014 House Cup Review

 Report Review

Review #4, by randomwriter we will remember

10th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review

Hello Helen! I'm here to review your entry for the House Cup :)

My, my my! This was so beautifully written. Your descriptions took my breathe away. It helps the flow of this one shot. It also lends to the sensory aspect of this story; it makes it very visual and it's so easy to imagine the scene of the sunset. I how you've used the the coulours and their blending and the different stages if sunset so well in this story :)

It was really sad, having to think about the deaths of all these lovely people. It's such a touchy subject and it's so incredibly hard to write about them and do justice to them. I love this though. The vignettes were really well depicted. It wasn't straight-forward, which I loved. I like the characters you chose to write about, and the last part really tied things together nicely. I especially like how you stared with the death of Tonks (and Remus) and ended with Remus' death. It made the flow of thought circular (okay, that's a weird thing to say? :p).

I like how you've punctuated these vignettes with the lines in italics. Those sentences in particular were really strong and evocative. I really like the wording and the way you've written this is general. You've chosen just the right words to add a visual and emotional backdrop.

It's amazing to see how much you've managed to show in just a matter of a little over 500 words. This story is great and you've done a fabulous job! I'm glad I stopped by :)

Adi

 Report Review

Review #5, by Pretense Of Perfection we will remember

10th July 2014:
Wow, I really like the style you wrote this in, it was mesmerizing. I typically don't like to read things that shift POVS or character frequently, but I'll definitely make an exception here. I think the imagery you describe is stunning, especially the bloodied sunsets, because it fits so well with the way that most of these characters died. It sets the scene really well in the beginning, and makes way for a darker tone, but one that is still full of life and hope, because after the sun sets, it inevitably rises. Even though each character only had a few sentences, you really managed to capture the perfect image of each of them after the war. Andromeda and Teddy, and how he brings back memories of her raising Tonks with Ted, Molly and teh Weasley's remembering Geoerge, Dennis and Colin, and of course, Harry, giving one final toast and solute to everyone that died. I think you ended this on a very strong and positive note, and the overall effect was just wonderful.

--house cup 2014 review--
pretense of perfection, gryffindor

 Report Review

Review #6, by ImagineHarmony we will remember

9th July 2014:
Hello! I really liked reading this, it was sad and nostalgic and heartbreaking at the same time. I love how you put the four different stories together. The characterization was really good, I could feel their loss over their loved ones. You captured the grieving members in different lights and I thought that was really interesting; Molly feeling as if Fred was still winking at her, Dennis pursuing photography so his brother's camera is not in left in the dust- it was a unique read and quite interesting. Overall, I really liked this story, especially the line: "An assault of your retina where, once, he might have taken a photograph." That was an amazing line, completely capturing the grief of Colin. :)

- House Cup 2014 Review | Hufflepuff

 Report Review

Review #7, by TidalDragon we will remember

9th July 2014:
Howdy!

I really liked the structure you used in this story. Using the italicized lines as "breaks" was a nice touch, and I think it amplified the impact of the individual vignettes nicely. That said, the vignettes themselves were delightful. It was nice that you drew on so many different people - both for solemn reflections and for memories and the pairings you used of those two classes of characters made a lot of sense.

On top of all that, I thought you did a great job with word choice. Not only did you choose words that had real impact, you chose words that painted an image or fueled an emotional response, which I think is crucial for a story like this that thrives on as complex a concept as remembering the fallen. Still, despite your artful phrasing, you managed to maintain an air of simple elegance throughout the story that I thought suited it quite well.

Thanks for sharing!

House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #8, by H we will remember

17th May 2014:
WHY WHY DID YOU MAKE ME CRY LIKE THIS:,( so so so beautiful:)

 Report Review

Review #9, by nott theodore we will remember

9th September 2013:
Hi Helen!

So I've been meaning to read this one-shot for absolutely ages, because I keep looking at it jealously when I browse your AP, and I finally got round to it!

This piece was so brilliant. I have high expectations when I get to your writing (no pressure or anything, but I'm sure you know why :P) and somehow you never disappoint. The writing in this story was so beautiful and the simplicity of it made it even more moving and poignant.

The structure of this one-shot was so effective, focusing on all the different people who lost family members in the war. Each time I remembered someone else who had died it was even sadder, and it all worked together to create this powerful piece of writing that was amazing to read.

My favourite aspect of this has to be the description and imagery that you wove into this story. It was absolutely breathtakingly beautiful, and I could picture absolutely everything that you described in my mind. You were really painting with words here: the sky, the sunset - I could see all of it as clearly as if I was watching it for myself.

And the fact that you did all of this in just over 500 words is incredible. I'm always impressed and amazed by your writing, and this is no exception!

Sian :)

 Report Review

Review #10, by muggleborninNZ we will remember

9th August 2013:
This is a simple, yet powerful piece of writing. It brought a tear to my eye. A wonderful way of reflecting on those who died.

 Report Review

Review #11, by loveology we will remember

26th July 2013:
Oh my gosh, that's so beautiful and I think I might want to cry. It's really flowery and pretty sounding, but at the same time, unlike a lot of people who use pretty words in pretty ways, I can just /feel/ the depth behind it, and I almost want to cry. Ugh.

I like how you explore different people and their grieving for their loved ones. It has to have been really hard for them, the people who lost someone in the war. Then again, I think nearly everyone lost someone in that war.

Your words were so descriptive I could practically see the different colours and the people that they represent in my mind's eye, I could see the sunset and the moon and the glint of sun you mentioned and I think that has to make you a really powerful writer if, thanks to nothing more than words on a page, I could feel every bit of loss you described and every emotion.

Keep writing, forever! You were this good way back when you wrote this and you're on a roller coaster that only goes up, my friend.

Goodness I can't wait to read your more current fics! Officially excited! :)

 Report Review

Review #12, by Cleopatraa we will remember

16th July 2013:
As I have also written stories for this challenge I wanted to see what you did with this as I have read stories of you before and can I say woah you did not dissapoint at all. The way you wrote this is simply stunning. Every word simply hit its mark and your imagery is simply woww! Nice one shot!

Author's Response: Thank you very much, Cleopatraa! I think of myself as quite a wordy writer so I honestly didn't think I'd be able to achieve anything with such a small word count, but I wound up fairly happy at how everything had turned out :)

 Report Review

Review #13, by Wistful we will remember

9th April 2013:
Honestly and truly, Helen, this was one of the most beautiful thing I have ever read. It might just be my Harry Potter feels coming to play, or your beautiful writing, but this was just so amazing - I don't even have words. I've read so many of your things. Some have me bent over laughing, and others have me bribing you for an update. Every single story that you write that I have ever read has always been so absolutely hooking from beginning to end that I don't really know what to say. This one especially just gripped my heart. Some authors can literally paint with words. Let the readers see through their eyes. Congrats, Helen, you have just done exactly that. The first line - I just remembered everything. Just that sentence was enough for me to have jsut a small pang of what the characters must have been feeling.

Woah.

Then your imagery. About the sky, I could see the sky. All sunsetish. I don't have to describe it since you already did it for me. The foundation, the build, of the story was incredible. It was describing this sunset with theses flashes of perspective and the speech. I loved the sunset. The words you used were stunning. I could literally see the sunset, Helen. Like really.

And each and every moment was so, so dear. I was all red-eyed by the end. I love all those characters so much, and in this I could just see the grief. This is amazing. All the tragedy. You've managed to characterize each character you mention perfectly in just a few sentences. "We will remember them." I love each of this characters and these little glimpses brough them to life.

Write forever.

Author's Response: Hello Wisty you absolutely lovely person.

First, I don't think I tell you enough how much I appreciate it when you're all lovely like this. Honestly, you know when you left this for me I'd had a really rather horrid day (allergic reaction and insomnia and exploding slow cookers and all) and honestly it made me feel so much better you are a really really lovely person and I'm a very lucky author to have you reading my stories, let alone liking them.

And e this was just something that I sort of scrubbed together when my brain was being all floaty, and PAINT WORDS eee (I have a whole novel on my computer called 'the painter' which is just like... all about word painting and the feels surround it) yes THANK YOU :)

And this is a beautiful review. It's practically poetry in itself (and I'm going to say it's more beautiful than the story) and you... ack, thank you very very very much and you know I will try my damned hardest to be able to write forever.

Bless you, Wist, for being lovely like this :)

Helen


 Report Review

Review #14, by TenthWeasley we will remember

2nd April 2013:
I LOVE the way you wrote this -- and I am completely in awe that you managed to tie all of the Hogwarts fallen into the recurrence of colors and characteristics sunsets. I am such a huge fan of imagery and repeated metaphors, and I think you captured perfectly here the different romantic and poetic facets of sunsets that would apply to these characters. My favorite, I think, was Colin's, and how the winking of the sun is like the flashing of a camera bulb. Seriously, Helen -- brilliant job!

And as I said, your imagery was wonderful. You really know how to describe colors, and it was more like painting with words than just throwing them about as necessary descriptions. I'm not sure if that makes any sense, but it was artistic and lush and just bordering on purple, but purple prose happens. And considering that I'm writing this review on a day that is extremely wet and cold and windy, I like the warmth of these sunset pictures you've put in my head. Even though they are describing death, they're peaceful.

And maybe that's what this is all about (switching from my reviewer's hat to my analyst's one, apparently): Sunsets are an end to a day, and isn't death the same sort of end on a grander scale? And yet we still find peace and beauty in sunsets. Maybe we should look for the same peace in death.

Philosophical musing aside, this was a lovely one-shot, and I'm so glad that out of all the stories on your page, I picked this one to read. I love this challenge, too, and I think it's even more impressive that you were able to get so much out of 500 words! Fabulous job! ♥

Author's Response: HI.

This is such a lovely review thannnk you for leaving this for me (and I want to go to my knee-jerk sorry for the long time it took to respond thing, but it actually hasn't been an obscene wait for once!)

I honestly thought that I couldn't do anything at all with 500 words (I mean, 500!? SURELY you need at least a couple of thousand word chapters to get anything done?) but I was actually quite pleased with how this turned out in the end.

Colin's was the first bit I wrote and I think that remains my favourite :D

As a philosophy student, I fully embrace your analyst's hat. Death is one of those strange, incomprehensible things that I end up thinking about all the time and I definitely like that slant on it (although, easier said than done).

Thank you for such a lovely review! :)


 Report Review

Review #15, by someone___1 we will remember

14th March 2013:
Noo! You brought out the 'feels' in me! It was so horribly sad. Job well done :)

Author's Response: Whoops! Sorry about the feels. THanks for reviewing :D

 Report Review

Review #16, by Nicte we will remember

11th March 2013:
Hi there!

This story is just so sad!

It's amazing how you can transmit all that sadness with such few words. I think that when someone you really loved leaves you, they never really do, because you're constantly thinking of them since something always remind you.

I loved the way you used the different lights of sunset as the thing that reminded the characters of those that they lost. It's really beautiful.

My favourite snapshot was Molly's, since I always thought that the most awful dead in DH was Fred's.

I really loved this small, yet beautiful piece. I think it's a good way to portray the feeling of loss.

Cheers!

-- Andrea

Author's Response: Hi Andrea! Thank you for such a really lovely review! This put such a smile on my face after what was really quiiite a long day.

This was written shortly after the first time I ever really lost someone (although I tend to write about death a lot) but... yeah, it means a lot that you enjoyed this :)

-AC


 Report Review

Review #17, by Dunya we will remember

7th March 2013:
amazing, heart wrenching, beautifully written

Author's Response: Thank you very very much :)

 Report Review

Review #18, by Bobby Dazzler we will remember

5th March 2013:
Hey AC, here for BvB review :) gunna keep this short and sweet cuz the story was short and sweet and direct. I haven't seen something like this before actually. Very to the point and prolific, I enjoyed it a lot. You gave us glimpses of how the deaths of those people during the final battle affected the lives of those who remained - the scene with Andromeda in particular pulled at my heartstrings as I have a little baby too, would be so sad :( I really enjoyed this and you did the characters memories justice in such a short, very cleverly written peace. Well done :) Bobby xx

Author's Response: Thank you Bobby! This was a lovely review and I'm really glad that you enjoyed it. I never thought I could achieve anything with 500 words!

 Report Review

Review #19, by IAS we will remember

1st March 2013:
This is truly beautiful :)

Author's Response: Thank you :D

 Report Review

Review #20, by NataliieW we will remember

12th February 2013:
That was very good, moving and sad. Nice work!

Author's Response: Thank you very much!

 Report Review

Review #21, by patronus_charm we will remember

5th February 2013:
Hi!

I loved how you used 'we will remember' due it being used for the world wars, where so many lost their lives, it was a nice touch to put it in here, as it shows us that the muggle and wizard world aren't that far apart when you think about it:)

The sky's changing colours instantly reminded me of Tonks, due to her love of bubblegum pink hair, so it was nice that you lead this on by talking about Teddy and Andromeda.

I really loved how that even though this is such a short story is covers so many people's perspectives of the war, and it allowed you to get a real sense of how so many people suffered by it.

I really loved the inclusion of Colin's death here, as many people forget it, or don't think much of it, but that little scene with Dennis and their father was just so touching and endearing it made me want to cry.

It was a great one-shot I thought, and it was beautifully written, and brought tears to my eyes. So well done, Kiana :)

 Report Review

Review #22, by slytherinchica08 we will remember

20th January 2013:
Helen! How did you do this? This oneshot is just amazing and I'm in complete awe at what you have done here! To take each of these lives and do this small little tribute to each and actually get the point across and the pain and suffering that each of these families must be feeling, man its just amazing! I really thought I was going to cry, and maybe even laugh when you mentioned Colin. Gah, how can you make me have all these feels in just such a short oneshot? I'm impressed and amazed and I think that you have done each of these different characters wonderfully. I loved how you descibed how they would each be remembered with the setting sun that was just so smart! I loved it and you did a wonderful job with this piece something that I could only hope to do and it would take so many more words for me to even get half of this response! Great job!

~Slytherinchica08~

Author's Response: Erriicca :)

Thank you so much for this LOVELY review! You are just like an angel this is so lovely let me loovvveee yooou. I honestly never thought I could achieve anything with 500 words (some TAOB chapters are 10k and like... barely anything even happens), but I wanted to try it and I'm really glad I did because it worked out much better than I was expecting it to!

Thank you very very much dear :)

-AC


 Report Review

Review #23, by DracoFerret11 we will remember

9th January 2013:
Hello there! :] I just happened across this story and read it quite quickly, but I'd love to give you my thoughts:

First off, terrific job. I thought this was a really beautiful take on the remembrance after the war. I loved all the descriptions that fit so nicely into the narrative. Using the sunset as a metaphor for all the things people have lost was a brilliant idea. I felt quite touched by the style you used. The emotionality of this piece was really, really nice. I felt so terrible for everyone left behind. You showed a really great grasp of the way this would affect people. It was really wonderful. Again and overall, this was fantastic. I'll be reading some of your other pieces soon. :]

--Emily

Author's Response: Hello Emily! Thank you for taking time to read my story and leave this lovely review.

I've always seen these peoples entries to the 500 word challenge and never felt like I could do anything with 500 words, but I actually really enjoyed writing this and i'm so infinitely glad that you liked it :D :D :D

-AC


 Report Review

Review #24, by wisty we will remember

29th December 2012:
I'm anonymous and incognito :3
Helen this was just so incredible. All the feels. I just felt so sad reading this. I mean I'm seriously speechless. You're a brilliant writer. This is just so.

I loved the sunset thing and especially the one with Andomeda and Dennis. Just spectacular.

Author's Response: oh. I can still see past your anonminity Wist. Don't think you're fooling me.

and thankk you! I never thought I could write anything halfway decent with 500 words!


 Report Review

Review #25, by Cirque Du Freak we will remember

28th December 2012:
Oh dear Lord Helen, why?

I remember when you gave part of this for me to read and it wasn't quite finished then and I remember having my heart ripped out when I recognised all the hints about each character.

Ugh this is like the most shortest, silent kind of tribute to all the characters that died. Even if it doesn't include all of them you get the idea that each one was important and deserved everyone's remembrance.

All the little things that come together to weigh heavy on your heart, to remind you of just exactly what you were almost trying to avoid remembering. Trying to remember what life feels like instead of focusing on the you that died along with that person. The moments that you won't get back and the memories all melting into one.

And then finally having the courage in order to move on from grieving that part of them and that part of you and being able to reminisce and think of the next time you see them it'll be in much better circumstances - hopefully.

Blah obviously I loved this and I'm off to cry or something. ♥

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>