Reading Reviews for Another One Bites the Dust
  
8 Reviews Found

Review #1, by hpsauce Are You Satisfied?

13th February 2013:
I liked how you put in a negative view on the Weasley's as they always seem to be shown in a positive light. I could feel the anger of the character throughout the whole piece and then that little bit of relief at the end. You portrayed the character's feelings well in this piece and the lyrics fit well :D
I should be posting the results to my challenge soon as I only have a few to read and review now. Thanks for entering :D
Sophie x

Author's Response: Thanks for the awesome review! Can't wait to see who won (if you haven't posted the results yet).
~cb ")


 Report Review

Review #2, by Courtney Dark Are You Satisfied?

12th December 2012:
Hey, it's Courtney here, from the review swap thread.
I really, really enjoyed this! I haven't read much-anything actually fron Dean's point of view, so this was like a breath of fresh air, and I'd love for you to write more!
It's funny, because I've never imagined what Dean's reaction might have been when Ginny broke up with him and this pretty much sums it up perfectly.
I liked how you were able to incorporate the song lyrics into the story without it seeming awkward or misplaced. Overall I think you did a really good job, and you've made me want to read more from Dean's POV.
Courtney:)

Author's Response: Thanks for the lovely review! I have to say Dean is both difficult and easy to write. Difficult because we don't know much about him so I was jumping in blind, but easy because that very fact gives me free reign. I'm really glad that you liked this! Thanks again for the review!

~cb ")


 Report Review

Review #3, by AC_rules Are You Satisfied?

6th December 2012:
Hey! I'm not entirely sure whether this the first of your stuff that I've read or not, but can I just say that I really loved this?

I wouldn't exactly call myself a Ginny fan for the most part and I think this mostly sums up exactly why - the whole Dean Harry thing? Like, I understand that Ginny was in love with him for evverer and I suppose Harry is all right and she had to date someone, i guess, but still... Dean? His dormate?

If she hadn't really given up, as she said she hadn't, then why Dean . Plus, we never got much reaction from him in the books and I always thought that must make for some awkward dorm sits (although Harry quite obviously doesn't care, and I guess he does have quite a few problems to deal with), but still.

This happens to be one of my favourite quotes ever.

"I suppose her magic isn't the only think Ginny Weasley canít control."

I literally just laughed. It's just so... angry post break up person just thinking and saying anything because they're in that 'I hate her' zone before they you know... start to get over it.

So, yes, I loved this and I'm very glad I got a chance to read it :)

Author's Response: Awww! I believe this might be the first time you've reviewed something of mine, but I don't mind. Most of my stuff I'd just like to shove in a corner and pretend never existed.
Thanks so much for the awesome review! I strangely had a lot of fun writing angsty post-break-up Dean simply because it lends itself to so much humor and general angry tirades. Great for when you're having a bad day. Plus I just wanted to give Dean a voice because Ginny really was a jerk when she just rebounded onto Harry. She's supposed to be smart! Why would she pick Harry's dormate?! *sigh*
Thanks for the awesome review!
~cb ")


 Report Review

Review #4, by Jchrissy Are You Satisfied?

6th December 2012:
Oh my gosh I was so excited when I saw this in your thread because this is one of my all time favorite songs.

I think you did a really good job staying with the song as well as turning it into your own story. I always wondered just how Ginny's ex's did feel, and Dean's anger toward Harry honestly feels very justified and natural. I'm sure it can't have been too awesome to see her dating/snogging someone so soon...

I also enjoyed the intensity of this piece. Dean just lurking back, trying to control his own anger and the fact that he almost feels bad for Harry proves that he really does thing Ginny is just using guys up. I've always wondered what some of her ex's opinion of her was, and this was quite a fun take on that :P!

The idea of him and Lavender turning to one another is really creative! Ron ends up with the girl he's been 'best friends' with for ages, and harry ends up with the one who has had a crush on him for years. I bet that Lavender asked plenty of times if her won won liked Hermione, so she's probably feeling just as betrayed as Dean, or will be soon.

This was a really fun/intense story, and I loved singing the song in my head during it!

Nice job :)!!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the awesome review! I just came back from stalking... I mean... reading... "Before They Fall" and I find this lovely message. I'm really glad that you liked the story! It's strange, I believe you're the first person to recognize the song, which is crazy to me because it's by Queen. But I digress.
I'm glad that you liked the Lavender part- I've gotten a lot of mixed comments about it and didn't know if I should change it, but you've convinced me not to!
Thanks again!
~cb ")


 Report Review

Review #5, by wytchkitty13 Are You Satisfied?

5th December 2012:
This was interesting. I mean I never even thought about how Dean would be feeling after he and Ginny broke up. I like the resentful feeling he portrays because it's only natural to really feel that way after thinking you have something special with someone.

I enjoyed the way you wrote the song into the story, really meshed well! I giggled at the tattoo remark lol.
Nice to see he and Lavender hook up though.

Author's Response: Thank you for the lovely review! I'm glad that you enjoyed the story. I thought that Dean might need some attention, even if he's being super angsty, becasue he's such an underloved character. Thanks again and I'll get right on reviewing one of your stories!
~cb ")


 Report Review

Review #6, by Voldy Needs a Hug Are You Satisfied?

5th December 2012:
Before I begin, I want to apologise for such a tardy review -my review thread's been a little busy. Anyway, here it is:

I can't say I'm familiar with the song, so I'm not going to comment on the song lyrics. They did, however, seem to fit in with Dean's thoughts throughout the fic.

I can't say I've read any other fanfictions from Dean's point of view, but this one is compelling me o read more. I had never really considered his thoughts and emotions after he saw Ginny and Harry dating. His emotions were spot-on, and changed throughout the fic, keeping it interesting.

The only portion I found fault with was the ending. It sounds a little far-fetched and unbelievable that he and Lavendar would bein snogging in a broom closet. I didn't even think they had feelings for one another. Perhaps altering the ending would improve matter.

Terrific job!

Author's Response: It's perfectly alright- life get's hectic sometimes, I know.

I'm glad that you thought I got Dean's character right. It's so hard to write from such a little-described character's perspective. Hmm I've received comments on the ending before. I'll see what I can do to fix that. My thought process was that they don't really have feelings for each other, but use each other to fill the emptiness that came when they were both dumped (that sounds cheesy doesn't it?).

Thank you for the lovely review!
~cb ")


 Report Review

Review #7, by True Author Are You Satisfied?

24th November 2012:
Hello! I'm True Author with your requested review! =]

First of all, I'd like to tell you that I'm Indian and I don't listen to English songs (the only exception is Taylor Swift), so I can't say anything about the lyrics. ;) I just read the lyrics you have inserted.

Well, I always wondered how Dean felt after breaking up with Ginny, as he really seemed to like her. So, I liked the plot idea and the way you connected Dean and Lavender, saying that they were dumped by Weasleys.

As for lyrics, I think they fit the situation, but I'm not going to comment when I don't know the song. =] I found some typos, but they're nothing to worry about.

A nice fic, overall. :)

Author's Response: Oops! I didn't know! But I'm glad that you think the lyrics fit anyway, without even knowing the song :) I'm glad that you liked the idea and that the Lavender part wasn't too out there. I'll have to read it over to find some of the typos you mentioned. Thanks for the lovely review!

~cb ")


 Report Review

Review #8, by caoty Are You Satisfied?

9th November 2012:
Some nice, shiny new word friends coming up courtesy of yours truly, since you asked so nicely.
I will admit to being more of a Queen fan than an ABBA fan, so now I've got Another One Bites the Dust in my head which is obviously going to make me happy. Prepare for a good review. :D

So, this was great fun. You've got that elusive teenage-boy-voice down perfect - Dean's funny, angry and sad and it definitely works well.
You've also captured the mood of Another One Bites the Dust well without resorting to violence, which is impressive.

I'm not quite sure about the Lavender thing, though. It seems like... maybe a bit random? Like, is he even attracted to her? I think that might be just me though.

Otherwise, this fic was well-written and the flow was pretty consistent, you've incorporated the song well and so... good luck with your challenge. :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm glad you liked it and I have to say my ABBA over Queen preference is only a slight one ;) You thought the song was incorporated nicely?! Yay! Thank you so much! I'm also glad you think I captured Dean well. Since he's not really a main character in the HP series, I was worried he wouldn't fit with the little we do know about Dean.
I see what you mean about Lavender. I meant it more that neither of them really care much about for each other, but that they're both sort of empty and hollow from the relationships they were in where they both really cared about the person, but were eventually left. It was just that they each needed someone to make them feel like they were... loved, I guess. Does that make sense? haha Obivously it didn't translate very well from my head to the writing. I'll have to see what I can do about making it more believeable.
Thank you for the lovely review!
~cb ")


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login