Reading Reviews for Decoding the Tutshill Tornados
439 Reviews Found

Review #1, by :)))))))))) The One We Face Together

15th October 2015:
is there going to be another book after this??

Author's Response: Hi there! I left it open because there is a chance I'll write another one if I decide to, but as of right now I'm concentrating on my other WIPs. So stay tuned - maybe!

 Report Review

Review #2, by TreacleTart The One with the New Code

18th September 2015:
Hi there!

Back for the next chapter!

I'm so excited that this one will be about Quidditch! I love sports and I'm always excited to see how people write them, particularly the aspect of flying. In this, you didn't really delve to deeply into the actual practice. Instead, you focused a bit more on the before and after. I really enjoyed the team interaction with James.

I was a bit glad to see James get knocked down a peg. He held his own on a pro team which is great, but he really had to work for it, possibly harder than he ever has in his life. The part about the chairs in the showers and him wondering why they were there was one of my favorite bits. He's never really practiced the way they do before and he'll be aching for quite awhile until his muscles start to catch up.

I thought it was really sweet that Harry planned this party to celebrate James' accomplishments. I think that's exactly the type of dad he'd be. Involved. Proud. Supportive. The moment the two of them shared where James admits to being a bit of prat made me giggle a bit, but it felt really natural. It was nice to see the way they interacted with each other.

As soon as Henrik started talking about the rules for the team, I knew there was going to be a problem with Avery. I wasn't sure if it was because she played Quidditch or just because they don't want anything distracting their players, but I knew there would be some rule that made it impossible for James to date her.

Now the question is, Will James follow the rules laid out for him or will he rebel and go after Avery? Maybe Avery won't even make it on to a Quidditch team at all and then he'll have no problem. Either way, I sort of wondered why he didn't just tell everyone the truth about not being allowed to date players from other teams. That certainly would've ended everyone's questions about her.

As in the previous chapter, I found your writing to be very clean and precise in this chapter. The story is easy to follow, entertaining, and full of great little details. I'm starting to understand why this was nominated for a Dobby!

Great job so far!


 Report Review

Review #3, by TreacleTart The One with the Media

18th September 2015:
Hi there!

I'm making an effort to drop in and review each story that was nominated for a Dobby and that led me here! Congratulations on your nomination!

James is a little full of himself, eh? He really did sound a bit arrogant in his interviews, but I did like how he dodged questions. You could tell he was used to being interviewed. He managed to redirect the interviewer several times.

I thought the idea of James, Fred, and Bink living in the loft above the Potters house seemed exactly the type of thing three jobless, Quidditch obsessed, teenage boys would do. Really the whole scenario fits perfectly. I thought including little details about how each of them keeps their rooms or how Freddie is the only one who can cook really helped me to get an idea of who each of them were.

I'm really excited to actually get into the Quidditch season and see James start to play a bit. It sounds like he's a pretty spectacular player since he was drafted straight out of school to a professional team. I do wonder if his mouth is going to get him into a bit of trouble though.

Ahhh. Young love. It's quite immediately clear that James is taken with Avery. Based on the way he thinks about her it seems that they tried to date and it didn't work out, but as of yet we don't really know why. I'm excited to find out a bit more about that dynamic. It seems that James really loves her and I think once you've allowed yourself to love someone it's hard to take it back. I think this is going to be a constant thorn in his side.

I usually try to leave a bit of constructive criticism in my reviews, but there was really nothing that I could say to improve this chapter. The flow and pace are good. The intro to the characters and the setting make sense. I didn't notice any glaring (or even not-so-glaring) mistakes. Really this was polished smooth writing.

I thought that the way you set this up was a really smart way to introduce the story. I know who the main character is and a bit about his personality, dilemmas, and concerns. I've met the supporting characters and know enough about each of them to make them real. And then I have some burning questions like What happened between James and Avery? Will James mouthiness get him in trouble? Will Bink ever hear back?

Looking forward to getting to the next chapter soon! Great job so far!


 Report Review

Review #4, by Penelope Inkwell The One with the Breaking Point

14th September 2015:
I was actually kind of glad to see James do poorly in his first match. It seems more realistic that way. But I was very glad to see him make a comeback against the Finches.

Poor boy. I wonder if he's even registered just how hung up he is over Avery. This 'aversion' thing isn't going to work at all.

Also, I couldn't help but notice that Albus' girlfriend is essentially named Dove Dove, and this amuses me a bit.

James has been away from his family a bit. I hope he sees them again, soon. Seems like maybe he could do with a grounding presence. Though Ali seems like a good friend, and Jack and Henrik seem really decent, as well.

Congratulations again on your Dobby nominations! I plan to jot over and check out Hormones shortly!


 Report Review

Review #5, by Penelope Inkwell The One with the New Code

14th September 2015:
Aww! I think it's really sweet how much he admires the players. But I understand the need to try to play it cool. I'd be doing the same thing.

CUPCAKES! I cried and ran from the flat.
--BAHAHAHAHA! James Potter, ladies and gentlemen.

Oh, James is definitely going to end up using all three of those strikes. Like for sure.

This could be problematic.

Is Henrik really a king? This is one of the many things I want to go back to the first story to find out.


We plan on continuing our streak of greatness in the League, which means nothing you do better * it up.
--I don't really understand the second part of this sentence?

Looking forward to seeing how James and Avery are going to solve this problem.


 Report Review

Review #6, by Penelope Inkwell The One with the Media

14th September 2015:
Hello hello! I'm running round, checking out all the Dobby nominations--congratulations, by the way. Glad to see the author of several of my favorite fics getting multiple nominations this year!

So, I've not yet gotten around to reading "Breaking the Quidditch Code", yet. Normally I wouldn't read out of order, but in this case I'm making a small exception. And reading the first chapter of this has just made me so curious about everything that happened before! Now I really want to go find out.

I like James. You manage to make him a bit of an idiot, but one of those idiots your quite fond of, you know? He's full of himself, maybe, but he seems to have a cute personality. Plus, I always think it's a good sign when men are nice to cats. I'm not even a cat person, specifically, though I like them well enough. But there's something where I expect guys to like dogs--man's best friend, and all. Being nice to the cat is going the extra mile.

James handles the media quite nicely, even if he does sound a bit arrogant while doing it.

Is Victoria a pygmy puff?

Enjoying this, so far!


I did notice one really small thing:

I pride myself in it.
--I think that people typically say they pride themselves on it, rather than in it.

So far, so good. I don't even know James and Avery's past, and I'm already rooting for them. Just kiss already! ;)


 Report Review

Review #7, by HeyMrsPotter The One with the Breaking Point

11th September 2015:
Well, that explains the slap! She's jealous! ♥ I'm not liking that James is referring to her as ex Avery, gah!

I'm not fond of all the Hufflepuff shaming in this chapter, we're nice, I promise! :(

Oh no, not James and Artemis! What is he doing?! This chapter made me so mad, but that's a good thing I guess cause I'm totally emotionally invested in it!


Author's Response: Hey hey! Thank you so much for the Dobby reviews - how kind of you! I can't remember, have you read BTQC before this, its sequel?

I love seeing our fun insights! And I totally knew Hufflepuffs are nice - I'm a Hufflepuff! But James grew up a Potter child in the spotlight and though there is no shame of anyone in their family being in Hufflepuff, he has always been a little bitter Teddy turned out to be "Cooler" and Teddy was a he carries that with him. Which isn't entirely related to the plot, but he basically sees any house that isn't Gryffindor as lesser. Which isn't true at all, but alas, James is the one who narrates, not me. :)

Thank you for all the reviews!

 Report Review

Review #8, by HeyMrsPotter The One with the Threat

11th September 2015:
I really loved James 'stupid everything' rant at the beginning of this chapter. He's such a petulant child :') I feel so sad for him in this chapter. He must feel so conflicted about Avery making the reserves, happy for her becuase he cares about her but then the devestation that he can't be with her because of the code. Oh, and then the old man and his grandson, that was a punch in the gut I wasn't expecting!

I love how well this line summed up the chapter Over the course of three days I had almost cried, started a cancer fund, made a good friend, was half-seduced by a reserve, and was promised Id be off my team by the end of the season by another reserve.

And that wasn't quite the reconcilliation I wanted between James and Avery :p Can't he just confess his love for her and break the code?

On to the next!


 Report Review

Review #9, by HeyMrsPotter The One with the Stolen Car

11th September 2015:
Seriously, you do chapter beginnings better than anyone I've ever read. Boys dressed as girls can only ever end in absolute hilarity, and hilarious it was! I loved the whole 'Not into security!' line :D

I hope Avery isn't annoyed for too long, I can see why that she is, but I know that James was only there because he secretly loves her :p


 Report Review

Review #10, by HeyMrsPotter The One with the New Code

11th September 2015:
Me again.

I really loved the opening of this chapter too. The way you described the stadium was perfect, and I really felt like I was there with James and experiencing the nerves and overwhelmed feelings with him. I also really liked that James was knocked down a peg in his confidence. He's obviously used to being quidditch star but it was nice to read that he struggled through the first practice, it really highlights the difference between school and professional quidditch.

Oh man, this not dating people from other teams thing is going to be a problem isn't it?

Also, omg I love that they call Molly Grandmum♥ too cute.

Another great chapter!


 Report Review

Review #11, by HeyMrsPotter The One with the Media

11th September 2015:
Hey! I'm here reading and reviewing for the Dobbys, congratulations on the nomination!

I love the way you've started this story. The interview was a really clever way to give us an impression of James as a character, and also a little background as to where he is in life and how his time at Hogwarts was.I'm interested to read more about the relationship between James and Avery and see how things work, or maybe don't work, between them.


 Report Review

Review #12, by HPFAN The One We Face Together

21st July 2015:
NOPE! nope nope nope. This cannot be over. I refuse to believe that it is. I will continue to believe that another fantastic chapter to another perfect story will be coming out in the future. Maybe breaking the British Quidditch Team?
In all seriousness this was an absolutely fantastic story from beginning to end. I consider this serious one of the true classics on this website. I have, on multiple occasions used this story to introduce people to HPFF. Not only the website but FanFiction in its entirety. The way you crafted the characters personalities tied in perfectly with flow of the story. It never seemed to lag or seem tedious in the least. Most importantly, you made characters of a fictional world seem relatable and imperfectly perfect.
I admit I did not follow this story through its entirety. I actually just found this website about a year ago but since then I have spent hours upon hours binge reading stories. I can honestly say that this story was the most enjoyable thing I laid my eyes on.
I know that you have IRL things and other stories you are working on but I, like many other people on this site, would like to say that if you ever decide to continue this series/story you will have dedicated readers and fans waiting. Thank you so much for this amazing story and I wish all the best in your future endeavors. Yours is truly a gift

P.S. my cousin totally used "grades" after reading this.

 Report Review

Review #13, by Ms V The One We Face Together

12th July 2015:
I cried. Thank you thank you thank you.

 Report Review

Review #14, by AlexFan The One with the Green Light

2nd July 2015:
THIS WAS THE GREATEST THING IVE READ ALL DAY OH MY GOD. But I am forced to keep my excitement within 12+ boundaries because the words I want to use would get me in trouble but anyway.

My favourite thing is hearing about Ginny roundhouse kicking someone in the face, I was beginning to wonder when she would start kicking butt this was Ginny after all. I only wish that there had been a detailed account of exactly what had gone on and exactly how Ginny kicked the poop out of that guards face. God bless for Ginny. Also as a side note Mason is an actual creep someone please lock this man up and keep him away from children like Paloma is a child what are you even doing Mason SHE IS A CHILD.

And then seeing the toughness that is Harry Potter and James realizing just how truly kick butt his father is. I'm telling you the minute Harry busted in I was like YISSS KICK SOME BOOTY! I don't know how exactly you manage to weave in humor in serious situations I really don't like James got the poop beaten out of him and he's still cracking jokes. I don't think I've laughed this much at a life or death situation in any story to be honest.

And oh my God Avery, oh my God I was just like I never really pinned her to be one of those damsel in distress types I was thinking she hasn't caused some damage at all? And then James finds her fixing up her shoes with everyone else taken out and I was like yeah this makes more sense, this is more Avery.

So many feels I just can't at the moment I have to take a few minutes to really absorb this chapter.

 Report Review

Review #15, by AlexFan The One with the Burnt Pie

30th June 2015:
It's been so long since I caught up on this story and I'm only getting to it now but oh my gosh oh my gosh things are picking up so fast! And really come on, James is going to hold his own family hostage for a captaincy? Who even believes that it makes no sense! Like if you're going for some sort of leverage for captaincy there has to be a better way than holding your family hostage. This is the best rumor that they could've come up with on such short notice? AND AVERY WILL CHOOSE WHO SHE WANTS TO BE WITH THANK YOU VERY MUCH. David Flynn can just go and *insert rude hand gesture* honestly I can't believe him. And could you even get anymore petty, so James landed you in prison, you got out early what's the big problem?

I'm glad James finally got to the conclusion of Apparating, I was wondering why they were all running when they could've just disappeared into thin air. I hope nothing bad has happened to the rest of the family though, I like to think that nothing had will happen because them someone is going to end up in prison for a very long time but at the same time people want revenge on James so bad that I don't know the lengths they'd be willing to go to.

Also, I don't know how old August Wells is but I'm pretty sure James could have him arrested on account of a whole bunch of things which I probably can't mention here since not all of the words are 12+ on account of having an affair with a minor (Nia is technically an adult under Wizarding law but I'm fairly certain that under muggle law she's not so there's that). August Wells could very well land himself quite a few years in prison if news of his private affairs got out to the public I'm just saying, it could ruin him I mean I'd use the information against him.

 Report Review

Review #16, by MalfoyMannor The One We Face Together

16th June 2015:
I always hate the end of something cause you get sad about it, but I'm also happy cause it's the end. :)

I was able to read your amazing story about James Sirius Potter :) and I absolutely loved it.

Writers like you are so amazing :) you've spent six years or more writing about James and that is so extraordinary and I'm so happy that I read this one :)

So yeah to conclude my rambling about this fanfic, I just absolutely loved it if I haven't said absolutely enough :)

 Report Review

Review #17, by MalfoyMannor The One with the Green Light

16th June 2015:
aww :) all of them working together to get out of there :) I just imagined the setting after I read it and it was hilarious. Plus he kidnapped Harry Potter's family and friends, it bloody Harry Potter nothing can stop him :) he defeated the Dark Lord so ha to those who try to kill him :)

 Report Review

Review #18, by MalfoyMannor The One with the Burnt Pie

16th June 2015:
I love your amazing mind and what you can come up with in your writing :)

 Report Review

Review #19, by MalfoyMannor The One with the Breaking News

16th June 2015:
you really had be there when Amy had died for a couple of seconds, the way James had seen Fred go down and how he truly does love Amy. I'm so happy that you didn't kill her :)

 Report Review

Review #20, by MalfoyMannor The One with the Fundraiser

16th June 2015:
aww this chapter was so sweet :)

 Report Review

Review #21, by MalfoyMannor The One with the Stolen Car

15th June 2015:
love that they didn't apparate but stole Emerson's car :)

 Report Review

Review #22, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap The One We Face Together

11th June 2015:
Best lines:

Today I was the captain of the Tutshill Tornados.

Henrik replaced my robes and told me to keep the ones from my first game. Youll need them in a few years, he said.

He slid a box across the kitchen island and I opened it.

Youll need this in a few years, he said and his eyes were glassy.


Im crying.

I cant believe its over after all these years. Granted I just came back to HPFF and have been reading on and off but wow. This story was amazing. The way you were able to connect everything and everyone in the end. There were no loose ends but yeah, okay, Im selfish and totally wanted to see James propose for real this time but Im not unhappy with the ending.

It was such a nice surprise. He got to be Captain again for one more day, finally let loose and let go of all the terrible things he had been experiencing, the stress, the worry. Everything worked out in the end. For everyone we cared about.

Wonderful job, really. Man! I cant wait to buy your book in Barnes and Nobles when you become a published author and wave it around and say, I READ HER FANFICTION.

 Report Review

Review #23, by Dee The One We Face Together

8th May 2015:
honestly this is very sad for me so i can only imagine what it must be like for you! i've been reading your stories for so long (literally they are some of the first fics i ever read) and bttq is the reason why i'm so into next gen. your james will always be my favourite james - he's cute, sassy, good at quidditch and loves his family, and this will always be one of my favourite fics! thank you for it and keep writing, you're fantastic :)

 Report Review

Review #24, by Coolerthanyou The One We Face Together

7th May 2015:
Holy shit I started reading fanfiction about 3 years ago and breaking the quidditch code is a classic and you're a brilliant author. Also Ames for life

 Report Review

Review #25, by Rabia Amir The One We Face Together

7th May 2015:

Can I just say I'm A HUGE HUGE HUGE fan? I've read and followed your stories for years. And it was only when I DTTT finished that I realized I should have reviewed. EVERY chapter of KA, BTQC, DTTT, TKD, Hormones. Every single one of them. Because you did a brilliant job. You made me laugh. And wait impatiently for the next chapters. And more than anything you made me love these characters.
I'm sorry I didn't review when I first read everything. But I just wanted you to know that you're really talented. And that you've made this HP fan girl very happy.
And most of all, that you're not the only one who's sad James is gone. After six years.
Thank you. For everything!
Best wish,
Rabia Amir

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>