Reading Reviews for Decoding the Tutshill Tornados
  
328 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Rose The One with the Burnt Pie

4th October 2014:
Wholly Craziness! Update soon,please, not sure i can stand a long wait

 Report Review

Review #2, by Dobby101 The One with the Burnt Pie

3rd October 2014:
So I broke my main rule about reading fan fiction for this story. That rule is that a story has to be completed before I read it. So I devour Breaking the Quidditch Code and loved it. Then I see that there's a sequel and I couldn't help myself. I thought 19 chapters would take me at least a couple days to read, but no. Despite my busy college schedule, I read all 19 chapters within 24 hours.

24 hours.

So, as my first review to this story, I just wanted to tell you that I love it. Your characters are wonderful and the plot is great. The having to stay married for thirty days reminds me of the movie What Happens in Vegas with Ashton Kutcher and Cameron Diaz. The plot is completely different, but when I first read that part, that's the movie I thought of.

Well, instead of rambling on, maybe I should take this time before the next chapter to actually get some of my school work done.

Thanks for this story! It is wonderful and I hope to see an update soon!

Dobby(:

 Report Review

Review #3, by ohmymerlin The One with the Burnt Pie

25th September 2014:
omg

no

why do u hate us

do u not like ur characters 2 b hapi

look uve made me typ like we did when msn was still around omg

no

i cannot believe dis

JAMES GO GET SOME ALLERGY MEDICINE FOR GOODNESS SAKE YOU LITERALLY RISKED YOUR LIFE BECAUSE YOU SNEEZED

Shame on you!

But seriously? That was the best they could come up with? Quidditch isn't THAT serious. As if someone would risk killing their family just for a captaincy. Captaincy is temporary. Family is 5eva (dat mean moar dan 4eva)

I do like how he called out TomCat's name just in case he would respond :P

I also enjoyed how he entered the room. Maybe I should do that next time I do something incredibly stupid (so maybe 2-3 working days? Please allow time for postage)

Ack! Absolutely cannot wait to read the next chapter!!! I can really imagine Lily being extremely snarky to the capturers though. She'd probably just sigh and roll her eyes at the dramatics and ask if she can get back to her popcorn, haha :P

10/10 of course!!!

- Kayla :)

 Report Review

Review #4, by ohmymerlin The One with the Breaking News

25th September 2014:
Hello again!

Haha, I absolutely loved that little addition where James said Ginny told him Harry was very moody in Hogwarts. DEFINITELY true! :P

AMY IS OKAY OH THANK GOODNESS

AND NAW THAT LIL SPEECH FRED MADE HE'S SUCH A CUTIE I LOVE HIM SO MUCH

Also, typical James locking himself up in the bathroom. He secretly is a teenage girl, isn't he? ;)

But yay I can go and read the next chapter with a bit more relief! :P

- Kayla :)

 Report Review

Review #5, by ohmymerlin The One with St. Mungos

25th September 2014:
I have legit fear.

The fear is in my bones.

I just don't want ANYTHING TO HAPPEN TO AMY IS THAT TOO MUCH TO ASK FOR.

Poor Freddie I can't believe how horrible this is for him. It's like you hate all your characters, for goodness sake. Don't you like them at all?!

Anyway, I'm off to read the next chapter, praying that Amy will be okay! D':

10/10 of course!

- Kayla :)

 Report Review

Review #6, by hoodwink The One with the Burnt Pie

23rd September 2014:
I am in love with your story and characters! Where do I even begin? James is beyond amazing and a refreshing twist on the character. I've been laughing so much the last week while I've been reading your two stories, so thank you so much for that! But right now I'm so worried for James' family and especially Lily. Flynn is downright horrible and I'm so mad that he's back and messing with James and Avery again (they were sort of, almost, kinda happy, ya know?) he's now not annoying but actually scary, like a legitimate super-villain, all he is missing is the evil moustache twirl and a cat to pet. The fact that he has the owner working with him? Ugh, I just can't see how James will dig himself out of that hole. I feel bad for Bink, I really do hope him and Rose work out. I can't wait for the next chapter!

 Report Review

Review #7, by nott theodore The One with the Burnt Pie

22nd September 2014:
Hi!

Okay. Breathe. In. Out.

WHAT IS HAPPENING?!

Things escalated very quickly in this chapter. I am still reeling a lot from reading this right now, because where did that come from?

Right, so attempting a coherent review I'm going to go back to the beginning of the chapter. I really liked the way that things started to build up from the opening here, after the breaking news in the last chapter about Avery and James's marriage being a sham. The last chapter definitely ended on a more positive note, so I don't think I was really prepared for what was going to happen here!

I think you did a great job at the beginning of showing how much of a strain that the situation was putting on James and all of his friends and family too. I feel so sorry for all of them because they've not really done anything wrong and something beyond their control is affecting every member of the family. I'm glad that they're still around him though and trying to do their best to support him through it all.

Wait, Lindt has been compromised? Wow,I definitely didn't expect that! I was thinking that his persistence in upholding the code was more about the discipline necessary in Quidditch, which is kind of understandable even if the code doesn't make that much sense. But now I'm worried about what his role in all of this plan is and whether James has just given more away by explaining the Avery situation to Lindt now that he's also been compromised and is on the side of David Flynn. I wonder whether the reason that the code's been implemented so strictly has been because Flynn has been behind it all along?

It's really sweet to see the way that James truly cares about Avery, and doesn't want her to get involved too deeply in all of this. I know that he's always wanted to protect her, but I do think that it's a sign of how much he's matured over the course of these stories because he really is starting to understand the magnitude of the problems a lot more.

Ah, Bink and Freddie. Even when they're both going through some really difficult personal times they're both still their for James, doing something dangerous and crazy. At least they're not attempting to disguise themselves as women this time!

The scene with David Flynn talking to all of those people that he's got working for him was really chilling! He's such a good villain and definitely deserved the Dobby - I think I want to know more about him, and find out what his real motives are for doing all of these things, especially to Avery! I want to know what he's got on all of these important people too, to make sure that they work for him and do what he wants - even to the extent that he's released early from prison after a pardon by the Minister! I was so worried reading about all their plans to discredit James, even though you didn't tell us at that point what they were going to do, which made the ending even more of a surprise.

Oh no, they got caught! Poor James with his allergies! Although I loved the fact that even while they were in a lot of danger, there's still humour in his internal monologue. He's such a likeable character to read about!

The ending! Gah, whatever I was expecting, it wasn't that! I have no idea how James is going to make it back from this now, because that's a really serious thing to have blackening his name, even though he didn't do it. And who has taken his family hostage? What's happening? I genuinely have absolutely no idea what's going to happen - when this story began I had such high hopes, then the code was introduced and now I find out that David Flynn's basically trying to get James locked up for the rest of his life and he's got power over half of the important figures in the wizarding world.

Great chapter, although I worry for my sanity if you don't slow down a little with these cliffhangers! :P

Sian :)

 Report Review

Review #8, by Nora The One with the Burnt Pie

22nd September 2014:
"you think my father sneezed while battling Voldemort" hahaha oh James I love you.

I have replied appropriately on twitter since this darn site won't let me use naughty words in a review.

I am completely shaking right now holy canoli what is going on !? god Flynn is the absolute worst I hate him so much. who the BLANK does he think he is!? gjdlksjg so much rage. god and Mason and Twitwards and JUST WHY IT'S JUST QUIDDITCH FOR HEAVEN'S SAKE PEOPLE

you must be a pretty good villain to sneak up on Harry and Ginny Potter and take them hostage. Your Ginny is not someone I would take into hostage willingly.

I don't even have words for this chapter. (well obviously I do since I've written quite a few, but WHATEVS). seriously one of your best ones yet in any story. laughing and shaking and anger and hate and just...ugh. I'm legitimately scared for James and Avery and their families. bah

 Report Review

Review #9, by merlins beard The One with the Burnt Pie

22nd September 2014:
I have two things to say. 1. You are brillint
2. Please, please, please update soon

 Report Review

Review #10, by Sarah The One with the Burnt Pie

22nd September 2014:
Hey I am loving this story omg
(Also I want to ask if you were the author who wrote Simply Smashing? If so I can't find it :( anyway I hope I haven't embarrassed myself with this question)
Keep writing !

Author's Response: Hi there, Sarah! I'm thrilled you're enjoying the story so far - and thank you for the review! Sorry, I'm not the person who wrote Simply Smashing. I hope you find it!

 Report Review

Review #11, by meghanthemomo The One with the Burnt Pie

22nd September 2014:
I have read so many stories on here and I can honestly say that hands down, yours is one of the best! Please please please update soon, I can't wait to find out what happens next. I also really hope that Blink kicks Mason's ass; because really? Is he seriously that full of himself ? I mean come on! Sorry for the rant but he is one of those people that I just can't stand, he's almost as infuriating as Umbridge! Anyway, my point is, please update soon and I cannot wait to see what happens next! 10/10

 Report Review

Review #12, by HarryGinnyLove88 The One with the Burnt Pie

21st September 2014:
oh god, this story get more interesting...

please write soon :)
and but some good james/avery scenes too :)

 Report Review

Review #13, by nott theodore The One with the Breaking News

16th September 2014:
Hi again!

This story is seriously stressful to read at the moment, do you know that? I guess it means that you're doing a great job writing characters that we care so much about, but it's not always easy to read when I'm worrying that the characters are going to end up at death's door! :P

I'm so glad that James finally decided to tell his family everything. I can understand why he hasn't told them the truth in the past - for someone like him, people will always expect that he's going to get ahead because of his family and James wants to do things because of his own merits. Even so, now that the situation sounds like it could be so serious, he really is going to need his family around him and get all of their help with things that are going on - I feel like it's going to take all the Potters and Weasleys and friends to combat whatever this plan is that Mason and David Flynn have got cooked up!

I love the way that you write Harry in this story - he's still the character that we know from the books but obviously he's changed quite a lot, growing up and maturing to become a father and Head Auror. I liked the mention that the calmness had come over the years through his work and was something that he'd had to learn.

I feel strangely proud of James, reading this chapter. There are so many tiny moments that don't seem at all significant but do really show how much he's grown up and how much his character has developed over the course of this story of BTQC. Things like wanting to try and get Bink to talk about his feelings for Rose, but realising that he should wait until a time when Bink's ready to talk about it, even though he wants to know now. James wouldn't have done that at the start of BTQC - maybe not even at the start of this story. It's just something small and seemingly insignificant but I really love the way that you're showing how James grows in this story - he's so much more real and likeable because of it.

Okay, I really can't deal with all of this tension in the scenes at St. Mungo's! You wrote all of those scenes so well and built up an extremely tense atmosphere, so that I couldn't stop reading until the end of the chapter to find out what was happening to all of the characters, particularly Amy.

I think you captured the scenes in the waiting room really well. That feeling of hopelessness and frustration - people all want to be able to help and do something to help their loved ones, but all they can really do is be there for them and hope that everything's going to be okay. It came through really well.

Ah, I'm so intrigued to hear how Bink really does feel about Rose! Obviously he's trying to pretend that he doesn't care but clearly he feels something for her, given his reaction when she told them about how well her interview had gone. Hopefully we'll get to read about that sometime soon!

Oh no. This plan sounds really serious! I feel so sorry for James and Avery, with the news breaking like that over the Quidditch Network while they're with Fred and he's not sure if Amy's going to survive whatever is wrong with her. That's such an awful time to have to find out and I also think her dad's awful for being able to do something like this to his only daughter, who's never done anything wrong except for thwarting his ambition. It's not going to go well for James and Avery now, particularly James with the code and not being able to play - but I'm worried about what's going to come next as well!

It was really sweet of Bink to go after James though, even though he hasn't been in such a good place this summer. It's great to see that the loyalty and friendship between all of these characters is still going strong!

THAT SCENE WAS CRUEL! I honestly thought that you were going to kill off Amy for a minute, and I was reading and just hoping that she was going to be okay, because that would have been so awful for poor Freddie. I'm so happy that she's going to be alright though, and reading that scene with Freddie telling her how he feels about her was so sweet.

I'm looking forward to reading about what happens next now that people know the truth about their sham marriage!

Sian :)

 Report Review

Review #14, by Shinicha The One with the Breaking News

10th September 2014:
First of all, sorry that I only now joined in reviewing. I read BTQC and this one in one go and felt bad after every chapter for not stopping to review... >_< Secondly, I really really love this story. I admire you for daring to write from the POV of a hormonal teenage boy (even though admittedly James grew up a lot over the last few chapters) - whenever I look at my younger brother, the way he acts is just a big mystery to me that can only be explained by him never thinking at all. You're doing a wonderful job with your characters, and the sequel is... wow, so much happening, not one sentence that doesn't lead up to the next momentum.
I love that Nia got a cameo. I do miss Haley a bit because for some reason she really grew on me since her date with James.

As for Freddie: You really created a wonderful character there, everything fits perfectly from the shelter to the non-wigs to the way he handled the situation with Amy. Their relationship from its beginning (I loved how he asked her to be his gf) until the accident and her being in St. Mungus was such a convincing subplot it could easily make a novel on its own. But I'm glad that it's part of James story, it makes the world you created even more real and three dimensional to me.

I somehow feel for Rose, because I already left twice for quite a long time, one time leaving behind my first love... and soon I'll be leaving again for 6 months and I don't even dare to think about what happens to me and my boyfriend during this time. Accidently he had similar commitment problems as Bink. Maybe her leaving will make him see sense!

Lindt, for some reason, reminds me a lot of Scrimgeour (I have some difficulties with your, or rather James', conception of Hufflepuff-but he seems very loyal, only I haven't really found out to what. Except his Code, obviously.) Also I have to think of Swiss.chocolate everytime I read his name. Lindt Kugeln are my favourite christmas sweets. Nom.

Also: HOW does damn Flynn have connections from prison to TV and the whole Quidditch world? Is it full of petty criminals?? With his money and reputation gone (and him having ...no friend-qualities [especially not those Hufflepuffers are known for!]) I can't explain it any other way.

I keep thinking whether it'd be better for Avery and James to go through with the divorce-after-30-days or not. I really don't think it would be all that fair to Avery to disregard her carreer and life plans. But then again the damage is done and she already stands in the shadow of her 'husband' who's a star before having played a game. Also it would be stupid to keep the marriage just for the sake of public opinion (even if the consequences are serious). But on the other hand it just seems irrational to get a divorce just to marry each other later on anyway. So I'm really curious which factor will weigh stronger and what they're going to do.

Will TomCat ever be found? :D I started to get paranoid, thinking about the meowing is coming from elaborate spy-device or scheme from Mason and there never even was a cat! For my sanity I hope Tomcat shows himself soon!

Anyway, thank you for your story and from now on I will keep reviewing as you update:)

 Report Review

Review #15, by babybarakat The One with the Breaking News

8th September 2014:
oh my god. oh my god. oh my god. all the feels. all of them. i simultaneously love you and hate you right now. i want you to know that you are truly one of my favourite writers on this website, i think that you are immensely gifted. i hope you know how talented you are. i am so attached to your james, i love him with all my heart. please never stop writing. ever. i love you and your work :) xo

 Report Review

Review #16, by AlexFan The One with the Breaking News

6th September 2014:
Okay first of all, I would read as many stories about James as you have. So if you feel like writing another story about James and Avery DO IT.

Also, WHY WOULD YOU PLAY WITH ME IN THIS WAY LIKE WHY. You can't just have Amy die and the come back to life and just completely destroy Fred in the process. Like what kind of evil is this, do the tears of your readers provide you with the nutrition that you need?

AND I WAS NOT EXPECTING JAMES' MARRIAGE NEWS TO COME OUT LIKE THAT LIKE WHAT. I mean, I knew the news was going to be spilled but I hadn't realized it would be in such a public way ya know. I seriously hope that Harry takes Mason down. I look forward to his destruction.

I am worried about what's going to happen to everyone after this because your not in a good way has left me feeling anxious.

 Report Review

Review #17, by Awsomonium The One with the Breaking News

4th September 2014:
I'm a 23 year old guy & you made me cry in a coffee shop. 10/10.

Don't almost kill people. That hurts to much.

 Report Review

Review #18, by IAMTHEONEWHONOX The One with the Breaking News

2nd September 2014:
I started to read BTQC about a week ago, flew right into this and was waiting to catch up to write this little review. You have an amazing talent for writing and character development. I didn't think it would be possible to grow so attached to these characters and yet as I was reading James' inner monologue about what he saw for freddy, well, you said it perfectly. ALL THE FEELS. I just wanted you to know that you are an amazing writer and a fantastic story teller. A lot of times one aspect gets let behind, but you are doing a pristine job at working both. Thanks for such an awesome series and I can assure you people are definitely interested in another story.

 Report Review

Review #19, by Gaia The One with the Breaking News

2nd September 2014:
First of all, how dare you.
Second of all, thank you.
Third of all, how dare you.
Fourth of all, if Gaia gets regular updates, so should I.
Fifth of all, how dare you.

 Report Review

Review #20, by dracodarlingxx The One with the Breaking News

2nd September 2014:
you mentioned me under the chapter image! you mentioned me and i love you to pieces xx means a lot and you totally made my day :)
i'm glad james got his parents involved because harry potter had better fix things pronto -_-
i don't know what to say about the new about james' fake marriage, but his and avery's moments are as sweet as ever...
amy . . .
i swear to god, i love freddie and i was in shock when you wrote that amy was dead . . i was so close to crying with what james was imagining for fred's life that he wouldn't have
AND THANK GODRIC AMY'S ALIVE AND GOING TO BE OKAY
freddie loves her so much and it's just no right if she'd died? i know it happens in real life to kind people like freddie, but THIS IS FICTION. supposed to make people HAPPY. SO PRAISE THE GODS AMY'S ALIVE! xx
great chapter as always. and of course i'd be interested in a sequel if you want to write one :D
please update soon xx

 Report Review

Review #21, by LadyOfErised The One with the Breaking News

1st September 2014:
So happy to see an update for this story this evening, though so many tears for Freddie and Amy, but glad she will be alright!
I really hope you don't give up on James once this story is finished, BTQT and this one are great stories and you write all the characters so fantastically well, those who we knew before and your own creations! Just congratulations on your stories and I love James and Avery!

 Report Review

Review #22, by ohnobeans The One with the Breaking News

1st September 2014:
buckets of tears for Amy and Fred oh my god. I was so busy being upset that at first I didn't even register that the beeping signified life.

ugh poor James :( his life needs to straighten out!!

 Report Review

Review #23, by Rose The One with the Breaking News

1st September 2014:
I think after the 30 day, James and avery should have a vow renewal ceremony, to prove to their family and friends that what started out by accident turned into something real and worth keeping.

Great story, lots a tears shed. Love all your stories, great characters and story lines!

 Report Review

Review #24, by HarryGinnyLove88 The One with the Breaking News

1st September 2014:
(" Don`t leave me, I whispered, surprised that I was crying by this point. I dont tell you enough, but I need you. I need everything about you. I love you and everything is going to be okay.

She smiled and kissed my cheek. Im your wife, James. Im not going anywhere.)

Its cute :)

But you should write more often, this is amazing story, and I wanna read it more often :)

Author's Response: Hi there! Thank you so much for the review and I'm thrilled you like the story! It is so much fun for me to write. I'm actually working on updating three novel length stories right now, so they are updated in order. I try to put the next in the queue when one is validated so there is no additional wait time. That's what happens when you write three novels simultaneously I guess. I hope you like the rest! Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #25, by ilovegeorgeweasly101 The One with St. Mungos

1st September 2014:
YOU CANT KILL AMY! YOU SERIOUSLY JUST CANT FRED DESERVES TO BE HAPPY OH MY GOODNESS GRACIOUS JUST DONT KILL HER! I never expect you're stories to be so intense but you always surprise me! You're a fantastic writer and I LOVE these stories, BUT IF YOU KILL AMY I WILL CRY! Update soon please!

10/10

Clea

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>