Reading Reviews for Decoding the Tutshill Tornados
  
301 Reviews Found

Review #1, by nott theodore The One with St. Mungos

17th August 2014:
Hello!

Oh, this was a really sad chapter to come back to. I've been worried about Amy since the cliffhanger that you left the last chapter on but this was so much worse than what I thought it would be - I hadn't expected that Amy's condition would be so serious! I know that this story is fluffy and funny but at the same time you never fail to show how versatile you manage to be as a writer, with chapters like this one which are really moving and tense!

I thought you wrote the tension and the nerves of the scene really well. I don't think being the last one to arrive makes James a bad friend, though. But I can understand why he'd feel that way and feel guilty about what's happened, because that's the sort of person James is. And in a situation like this one, I think it's only too easy to try and take the guilt on yourself because there's nothing else that you can really do.

It was great to see everyone else there at the hospital though, even though they don't all know Amy that well. That's the sort of family I imagine the Weasleys to be, rallying around each other when they need it. And Fred needs it right now.

It was so, so upsetting to see Fred devastated the way that he was! I can understand it completely because he acted differently with Amy than he did with any of the other girls he'd been out with and it was so obvious how much he cared about her. I can't believe that her condition's been like that for over a day and James has only just found out, but I want to give Fred a hug because of the way that he's blaming himself. He couldn't have known that a fall down the stairs was going to lead to something so serious!

The things that the Healers are saying about Amy's chances of survival are so worrying and I think you wrote Fred really well. Amy can't die! Please don't let that happen!

I don't want James to get benched, either, but I feel like the code is really unfair! It's typical that James would join a team with a code now but things could be much more serious than that if David Flynn is getting involved again. I think he really deserved that Dobby for Best Villain last year when we see how evil and plotting he can be when he's locked up in prison!

Rose and Bink are kind of hopeless at the moment. Part of me hopes that they'll get their act together and work things out between them but at the same time I think it might be a bit unlikely. I guess we'll see if either of them ends up ready to make a move!

I'm so pleased that James went and got his parents at the end of this chapter, even if they weren't happy about being woken up! The threats that are being thrown around at the moment aren't fair for James to deal with when he's only just eighteen and still hasn't played a proper game of professional Quidditch yet. Hopefully Harry and Ginny will be able to come up with a plan to help sort things out, and I'm really hoping that Amy's going to be okay as well because I'm not sure I can deal with reading about a really heartbroken Fred!

Sian :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by dracodarlingxx The One with St. Mungos

9th August 2014:
oh dear god why freddie? why is freddie the one who's going through this? not that anyone deserves it, but freddie?!
er, great chapter like always, obviously. i hope james isn't benched for the second game, and i hope to god that amy survives and freddie marries her and bink and rose sort themselves out and avery doesn't end up holding james' lifeless hand in hospital.
and i am so looking forward to harry and ginny potter kicking some serious butt :D

please update soon xx

 Report Review

Review #3, by Haley The One with St. Mungos

9th August 2014:
I just love this chapter, regardless of how sad it is! You did it perfectly.

 Report Review

Review #4, by LoonyMooney The One with St. Mungos

6th August 2014:
Really enjoying this :)
Keep up the grest work!

 Report Review

Review #5, by AlexFan The One with St. Mungos

4th August 2014:
SUCH EMOTION MUCH OW! I have never seen Fred this emotional before and it was great to get to see this side of him (although it's kind of at the expense of the girl that he's in love with). The dude just seems like an absolute mess if Amy does die I don't know how he's going to be able to handle something like that.

I just love James more and more as this story goes on because he continually picks his friends and family over his career. He knows that his captain isn't going to be happy with him and that it's going to end badly for him but he chooses to stay with his family anyway (AS HE SHOULD). I've got my fingers crossed that even after the two weeks are up that James and Avery don't break up because I SHIP IT.

THANK YOU LORD JESUS THE IDIOT FINALLY WENT TO HARRY FOR HELP. I thought I was going to lose it with James because it seemed like he kept pushing back going to Harry for help when clearly that's what he needed to do. I was worried that James would just dig himself into a hole while trying to fix everything. THIS IS EXCITING I AM EXCITED TO SEE WHAT HAPPENS NOW THAT HARRY HAS BEEN BROUGHT INTO THE GAME.

 Report Review

Review #6, by TheCiscoKid The One with St. Mungos

4th August 2014:
I love your stories but I can't choose my favorite Between code stories and hormones it's a toss up there both so great

 Report Review

Review #7, by FredAndGeorgeAreAwesome The One with St. Mungos

2nd August 2014:
This chapter is really sad. People use the word sad so much, that it doesn't really carry as much meaning as it once did, but this chapter truly describes the meaning of the word. James needs to just tell Lindt that his best friend's girlfriend is maybe dying, because if Lindt knows that and still gets mad at James, then he is an enormous d*ck. Anyways, I really don't want Amy to die. She isn't that important of a character, but I don't think she deserves to die. Besides, anyone that can put up with Freddie's personality must deserve nothing but the best. I can't imagine how funny, yet irritating it would be to know him :P (though I still love the character)
This chapter was amazing, and your writing is just as good as it was when I started reading this series. Although your new job gives you less time for this story, it sounds much more exciting, and I hope you enjoy it! Please hurry with the next chapter! I can't wait!

 Report Review

Review #8, by Rose The One with St. Mungos

1st August 2014:
Finally James does something wise and goes for help. Poor Freddie, made me tear up a bit thinking about it. Great story, love your writing style and the rest of your works, read all of them so far!

 Report Review

Review #9, by ScarletRoses The One with St. Mungos

31st July 2014:
Oh poor Freddie!!! UGH it tore my heart open. Like ripped straight down the middle.

But I'm so glad that it made James realize life is short and that he needs to talk to his parents and pull his resources in on this. Go Jamey.

 Report Review

Review #10, by DancingMooncalf The One with St. Mungos

31st July 2014:
It was really nice to see another update, I gotten on the roller coaster that is this story (and the one before it) and it suddenly stopped at the cliffiest of cliff hangers and I have literally been clutching that cliff with all my might to try an not fall in. (luckily there were a few distractions, but i went to check for a new chapter each and every day.) I was so happy when I found a new chapter was added. And I'm so relieved that James finally told his dad about the whole David Flynn thing. I was just thinking about it this morning, I thought how stupidly stubborn he was for not wanting his father's help. It's kind of childish to need to fix everything without your parents help. It's a good thing he realized that!

I hope you update soon, because I obviously can't wait for the next chapter. It's amazing how quickly I was pulled back into the story during this chapter... I need to know the rest now!

 Report Review

Review #11, by DoctorUnderwood The One with St. Mungos

30th July 2014:
No! You can't kill off Amy!

 Report Review

Review #12, by diamondmoon The One with St. Mungos

30th July 2014:
"Like we were going near the salad." Favorite quote in the whole thing. I love how James never lets that go XD.

Other than that, this chapter made me sad, especially the part where James was talking about what if it had been him and Avery in that situation? It really makes you think. What if...

I hope Amy doesn't die. ): Poor Freddie.

 Report Review

Review #13, by hai The One with St. Mungos

30th July 2014:
ahh ill leave a longer revie later BUT THE FEELS
YOU CANT KILL AMY you cannttt ;( ;( ;(
she and freddie were so perfect together, and james imagining what it would be like if it were him or avery was sooo sad :( :(

but YES he is finally asking for help :D

 Report Review

Review #14, by sean The One with St. Mungos

30th July 2014:
DTTT and BTQC are by far my favorite HP fanfics EVER. This was a great chapter as always. Please write the next one soon!! :)

 Report Review

Review #15, by LP The One with the New Code

23rd July 2014:
Hah! I knew you took King Henrik from Lundqvist!

 Report Review

Review #16, by nott theodore The One with the Distractions

11th July 2014:
This isn't really relevant for the chapter review, unfortunately, but how awesome is Fangirl? I swear that everyone who reads on here should read it - and I did actually think of authors like you when I was reading it, in comparison to Cath ;)

Oh, Nia. I didn't expect to see her back, to be honest, but at least she didn't try and kiss James or anything like that. (Yet.) And she's being helpful, and letting them know some of the plans to hurt him - I think. You've got me in such a state about this story and the plan to take down James that I'm suspecting everyone except James and Avery right now. I can't deal with this for much longer!

By the way, do you have any idea how long this story is going to be yet? If it's as long as BTQC and keeps up the tension like this for that amount of time, I'm not sure I'll be able to cope... :P

So, I'm liking the honesty that's arisen from this distraction. One of the things I love about this story is that you're never afraid to show James's insecurities, no matter how much James tries to hide them from other people. It doesn't surprise me that Avery is ready and James isn't, but I like the fact you've twisted something that's usually the other way around in stories and made James the vulnerable one who isn't ready for that stage of the relationship yet. It's something I don't think I've seen in FF before, and another brilliant aspect of your work.

Oh my goodness - that ending! I'm sure that you're determined to make me go prematurely grey with all the tension and suspense in this story, and we're only 16 chapters in - the season hasn't even started yet! I hope that Amy's okay, and that it wasn't because of James that she was hurt!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #17, by nott theodore The One with Fern

11th July 2014:
Oh no. Oh no, oh no, oh no. The return of David Flynn! I'm starting to regret nominating him for best villain now - I really didn't want him to turn up again and start ruining things (or continue ruining them) for James and Avery! (I don't regret nominating it at all, by the way, but I don't want David Flynn back - that can never be good news!)

It might be because it's been a while since I read BTQC, but I can't really remember exactly what gives David Flynn his influence over everyone in the Quidditch world, from the sounds of it. He's not just sinister and mean, he's awful - what sort of man makes his own daughter's life miserable just because he doesn't like James Potter, her boyfriend (husband) all that much? It's crazy, and I feel so sorry for Avery suffering through training and not actually getting any training because she's having to do stupid things like pick up litter. Ugh. David Flynn. Someone needs to use Ron's slug charm on him!

The prison scene was unnerving. I just can't work out what on earth Mason could be doing to benefit David Flynn while he's in prison - to what extent is he still in control, even though he's locked up? It's almost like he's a mafia boss, or something, and still has people answering to him no matter what. Gulp. I don't like the sound of this plan that they have to take James down, whatever it is. It can't be good, especially not if it's already in motion...

Ah yes, Avery! What a great girl! I'm glad she's taking care of herself (she can probably do it better than James, to be honest), but at the same time, there's a niggling feeling in the back of my mind... David Flynn knows his daughter, and he knows the sort of things she'll do in revenge - what if that's just playing into his hands, and it's all part of his plan? Ah, I have to read on and find out!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #18, by nott theodore The One with the Birthday

11th July 2014:
Aw, I really feel sorry for James after this chapter! The poor guy just can't catch a break - not only is everything he does tracked in the media, but he gets kidnapped and beaten up on his 18th birthday, and wakes up with dead animals on him... ugh, poor James!

Emerson and Mason definitely don't do things by halves, do they? I'm not entirely sure what their real reasons behind it were, except for jealousy, but they seriously need help. I guess James could be quite annoying if you didn't get to see in his head (which we do, and he's actually awesome), but nothing that justifies what they did! I can't wait to see James and Avery and the others get the two of them back - it should be great! Although I'll admit I am worried about this mention of David again, he's a real antagonist...

Aw, I'm so glad that James did get to go to his birthday party in the end! It's so much fun to read the story from his point of view anyway, but drunk James is absolutely hilarious, and I've missed him - I don't think he's been around for a while! (Well, he's been drunk, but not while narrating :P). And the mention of Bink and Rose was really interesting - it'll be good to see how they progress when Rose has to go back to school. Poor Bink - things aren't going well for him in any area of his life right now, it seems...

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #19, by nott theodore The One with the Kidnapping

11th July 2014:
Oh. Wow, okay. I did not expect that to happen next in this story... somehow you have a talent of still surprising me with your plots (despite the chapter titles) even when I've read hundreds of the chapters you've actually written...

I can understand why James was upset with the way he came home to find his family watching the video and talking about him, but maybe his reaction was a little over the top? I don't know, I guess James can be quite dramatic at times :P But it was great to see Harry come along and try and make it up to him!

I actually love the way that you write Harry so much right now. I have to agree with him on so many things that he says, especially the stuff about the lack of necessity for a code and this:
You're going to find a way to get back at Mason because karma is for Hufflepuffs.
This, clearly, is why I'm in Gryffindor! Mason definitely needs to be got back at, and that's even without what happens later in the chapter...

Okay, so the KIDNAP! I didn't see that coming, which is stupid because I should have done with the chapter title. But when I read about the secret plans for James's birthday, I thought, like him, that it was Bink and Fred. Until they didn't answer him, because I'm sure even they couldn't have kept quiet for that long. How on earth did Mason and Emerson team up and find out how to get James alone? I'm really worried about what they're going to do to him now, and whether he'll manage to get away... hopefully his family and friends manage to find him!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #20, by nott theodore The One with the Fundraiser

11th July 2014:
Ah, of course things wouldn't work out for James and Avery and the press would have found out pretty much as soon as they got married! It's typical, really - I also suspect that you like torturing them a little bit too much :P

To be honest, I can understand Ginny's reaction, and I think it's reasonable. James may have been trying to be responsible and mature and deal with his problems himself instead of running off to the nearest adult to help him, but you can't deny the fact that he didn't tell her that he'd married Avery, and even after all she's done for him and supported him through, she had to find out from a reporter. So I think she's being reasonable, if a little unfair, trying to ground James and the rest of the family ignoring him!

Having said that, I do think James has dealt with the situation pretty well, actually trying to do something for himself instead of relying on everyone else to sort it. It's not worked out, but I'm quite proud of him too!

The fundraiser was a really lovely idea, and I think it's great that you've included something like this in your story, because it's one of the topics that's avoided a lot of the time in fanfiction. It also shows a much deeper side to James, and while the media attention is going to be focused on him and Avery being married, it's clear that he holds more important values as well. The fundraiser was really sad but I felt like it was a fitting tribute to Nathan.

I'm looking forward to seeing how they deal with married life!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #21, by nott theodore The One with the Vows

11th July 2014:
Oh my goodness, I'm so behind on this story and I can't even believe how much I've missed James and Avery now that I've had a chance, finally, to come back and read more of them! You just write so well and the characters in your stories always come to life, so I've missed this story a lot.

Ah, so James and Avery are married! That's a big change, and I can't work out what it's going to mean for them in terms of their Quidditch - surely there's a difference between dating and being married to a Quidditch player from another team? I hope so!

Oh my goodness, I cannot believe that they got married in a magical chapel and that their ceremony was officiated by someone dressed as Merlin! That's so brilliant and funny - how do you even come up with these things? Apparently, Italy is the wizarding equivalent of Vegas...

I'm so glad that we got to see the video of their wedding, since we didn't see the wedding itself. It's definitely not how things would traditionally be done and something I suspect they wouldn't have got round to for a long time, but I loved seeing how much they love each other, even if they were drunk and James was swaying all over the place!

They're right, though. Seventeen is definitely a little young to be married and there being no way to get out of it for a whole month...

I didn't like that judge, not at all, although I can kind of understand his frustration because he probably does see quite a lot of people like James (or that he thinks are like James) in there, trying to get their marriages annulled. But I can't believe that there's that 30 day clause on the marriage contract! I suspect that keeping this quiet is not going to go well...

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #22, by DancingMooncalf The One with the Distractions

30th June 2014:
Oh bugger. I think you should know I have a headache from reading so much, a stomach ache from lauching so much and a haert ache for poor James who doesn't seem to be allowed easy happiness. And then you stop the chapter on this cliff, letting us hang in here hurting all over from the effort of not falling down in the depts of pondering depression.
I just have to let you know that over the past few days I read my way through the entire BTQC and all the currently published chapters of DTTT. It has left me wanting more!
I have not left many reviews, sorry about that, but I really couldn't stop reading for long enough to get a review down. That might sound like a lame excuse, but ask by roommates, I have literally been read non stop (okay, with the occational stop to eat or sleep a few hours.)
I have grown to love you character though. At the start of BTQC I found James to be a bit arogant, which he was, but that is so his natural form it is acutally endearing (I suggest you don't tell him I said that though. he might not like me for that unmanly phrase!) I also managed to understand his insecureties, which are why he acts all bigheaded sometimes. I love how you display them. He is a really strong (sometimes stupid and stubborn) personality and I acctually feel like he could be a real guy. If he was I would really want to meet him btw.
I do love Avery. I loved her al along. Long before James realized why he cared so much. She is a wonderful girl. One of those genuinely nice but down to earth people that can make light of everything. I think her and I could be friends... but than again I'm not that good at Quidditch... we wouldn't have much in common there.
I am also very happy for Fred and Amy. which is making this cliffhanger so much worst. And if you see Bink sulking around tell him to tell Rose himself, he has to at some point. And she has to be nice for once. She can try and do that.
I do wish Lily good luck with her team... and I do wish to kick mr. Flynn were it hurts.
Also. can Avery decide she doesn't mind staying married. They are incredibly cute together, her and James. Now I know they are still a bit young, byt does it really matter. It has not changed their relationship that much.
They have a bit of a Rachel-Ross relationship, don't they. Only they are a bit more rational. I have a feeling that is going to change thouhg. Last time when I breathed a 'finally' in regards to their relationship it all blew up in chips and bits. I don't dare getting my hopes up. to delicate.
Send all my love to James, he needs it. Give the others a bit too on second thought. I don't want them to get jalous.

That will be the end of my ramble. I love your story, your writing and most of all your incredible talent. Wish I could borrow some.

Please update as quick as you can!!!
Love, Maya

 Report Review

Review #23, by javu The One with the Distractions

26th June 2014:
Love. Love. Love.

I absolutely love your characterization of James -- so engaging. I literally read this fic and the prequel in two days. Be proud.

Mason Mucker, Dweebson, Gitson, Dirpson ...?

 Report Review

Review #24, by fiascofire The One with the Distractions

21st June 2014:
Just yesterday I wrote you a review on the last chapter of BTCC stating that I was glad I found it after you had finished writing it.

This chapter is a perfect example as to why that is the case.

However, it's probably a good thing that it takes a while to get these chapters up. It lets me focus on my life and not James' or Avery's (especially now that my boss is back from leave).

Very well done, very fun read. You even got me to tear up a bit during the fundraising chapter. Not an easy feat, I assure you. Not only that, but I ended up making an account just so that I can get notified when you post more chapters.

You are very talented. Again, thanks for putting these stories up.

- Mark

 Report Review

Review #25, by jack The One with the Distractions

10th June 2014:
I enjoy this story. I like the vast majority of this chapter. I have some issues with the revelation of Aves V-card was. I figured that she did not have it. You have gone a little overboard on James being the only virgin among his male peers, and it would have just been him and aves amoung their peers in general. its also unlikely that two people who are 18 years old would lose it together, especially in this story. the fact that she finally tells him after all this time and has finally mentioned that she is ready is however less believable, i mean she does know what she is missing. The fact that it was lost to a character we never met feels like a cop out as. my main issue might be the random hook up over summer cliche. I do like the scene with their talk, but in all reality this scene should have been in the last story rather then this on. At least you did have James mention that the conversation should have already happened. Another issue i have is that i have apparently been reading her wrong as i didnt think she was a character would have lost it in a random hook-up as in these stories it seems to be done just so there is no fairy tale relationship. To sum up my pointless rant, I have no issues with the fact that she isnt a virgin but i do have issues with how it happened and how long it took for this 'surprise' to come to light. Glad to see Nia again. That brings me to another issue, I do not see how a Potter can have that much difficulty when it comes to quiditch politics. I am usually able to dismiss the feeling, but i wasnt able to during this chapter for some reason. I hope blink is alright by the way i would not have had an issue if he was the one who you said aves lost it with. we know that he has had secret relationships, he is her friend, it would create drama, and most importantly he is an established character.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>