Reading Reviews for Revival
  
18 Reviews Found

Review #1, by ASDFGHJKL The Interview

1st October 2013:
Pls pls pls update!! I've been waiting forever for this story :(

 Report Review

Review #2, by AccioTeddyLupin The Interview

19th December 2012:
ep I love this story!!!(: waiting for the next chapter

Author's Response: Hello (:.

Aw, thanks! I'm glad you're loving it. Updates should come soon after the queue reopens.

Thanks for reading and commenting!

~Leigh


 Report Review

Review #3, by East The Interview

25th November 2012:
I do really like the story. It is very interesting plot and can't wait to see how it develops. But what pairing is it?

Author's Response: Hi!

Thanks for thinking so. I'm having fun with writing it so far.

It's Fred/Norah, but it takes quite some time to get to it.

Thanks for the review!

~Leigh


 Report Review

Review #4, by crimson_creamcracker The Interview

17th November 2012:
I love the concept of the story and I think it's really beautifully written however I'm having trouble connecting to your main character, she feels too cold and I'm not feeling her personality properly. I just don't get it, I'm going to keep reading of course because I'm interested to how it's going to develop...

Author's Response: Hello again (:.

I'm glad that you still like the concept, and that you think that it's well-written. The concept's still new to me, so I'm still struggling a bit, but I'm glad that you're enjoying it anyway.

As for Norah. When you say that she feels too cold, are you meaning in the sense that she seems emotionless? Because I've been trying really hard to show different aspects of her. When she's being the boss, she has to be somewhat detached, despite the fact that she wants to connect with her players too. She's having a hard time trying to find a centre because it's all still new to her. (ha, sounds like I was describing myself there a little. in terms of writing the story, that is xD) But then I threw in some bits of her outside the office. I figured that the little interaction between her and Fred/Roxanne, would show her natural personality a bit more, but I'll see if I can add more to show even more of it.

Do you have an account on the forums, by any chance? If so, my name over there is Caizir. If what I said above isn't what you were meaning, it'd be nice if you could drop me a message and expound a bit on what you meant. I really want my character to connect with readers, so any help on that end would be nice.

Thanks for the feedback, and for reading/leaving a review!

~Leigh


 Report Review

Review #5, by ASDFGHJKL1234 An Introduction

14th November 2012:
I want her with a Potter :))) even though none of them are mentioned in your story. Hehehe. I liked this chapter. Can't wait for the Quidditch parts :>

Author's Response: Hello (:.

Ahaha. Well, there will be Potters in this story. James is on an opposing team (the Falcons), and I haven't fully decided on Lily's place yet (she'll be in though). Fun fun. But she won't be with any Potters.

I'm glad you enjoyed it, and I'm with you on the Quidditch parts. I want to get to writing those so bad, but I don't want to rush the story too much. But it's so hard not to just run over everything so I can get to the games.

Thanks for reading and reviewing!

~Leigh


 Report Review

Review #6, by sleepless_nights An Introduction

12th November 2012:
Wow, already a new chapter! I love quick updates!

I enjoyed this chapter just as much as the others. It is a great story. I'm not good at writing reviews, as you could see in the last one, but I will try to be a better reader/reviewer.

I really like Norahs character and can relate to her very well. (This going to sound very strange, but she reminds me a lot of myself in quite a few ways. Maybe that's why I like her so much ;)) She seems to be fairly mature and content. She is at a difficult point in her life, but she is looking forward and not dwelling too much in past mistakes. I really like that. She stands up for herself and can be tough when she needs to be, but is still compassionate. There is a confidence about her, yet she doesn't act like a know-it-all. I'm really curious where you are going with Norah and her story.

The way you brought Fred into this story was great. I love that he doesn't talk that much, but still seems to be quite accessible, friendly and witty. I'm wondering a lot about his history in curse breaking and why he left it. That sounds very interesting.

Oliver Wood has always been one of my favourite characters and it's great how you created him at this point of his life.

The one character I'm feeling really uneasy about is Antonin. I don't trust him, although he has done nothing wrong so far. But there is so much at stake for him...

What I especially like about your writing is, that you don't bomb your readers with information. You give enough to introduce the characters, but it never messes with the flow of your story and you leave enough open ends to keep us wondering. I really really enjoy this subtle style!

I'm looking very much forward to the next chapter. This story has shot up into my personal Top 5 already.

PS: I love your chapter images! I like that their style is fairly simple, they fit together well and, of course, who you chose (although I have to admit, that I don't know who the people in the pictures are except Lana del Rey ;) )

Author's Response: Hello!

Sorry for not responding to this right off. It was such a lovely review, and I was at a loss as to where to start.

Yes, a new chapter. I love updating quickly, and can push out chapters as long as the dreaded block isn't in my way. I've met one on my other two stories, unfortunately, but I've been trying to write through those.

Aw. I love reviews, tiny or big. It's the quality, yes? And letting someone know that you enjoy their work can be said in two words or three hundred. But, I do love long reviews (:.

Wow, really? When the Norah character sprang up, there were a few ways that I wanted to go with her. Essentially, I decided that I wanted an owner that can stand her ground, is intelligent, happy enough with her life. I also needed someone who could get into trouble, and had to learn the ropes properly, because no way can this job be easy. I considered making her a male too. The female POV is difficult for me, despite being one. But in the end, a female will face more difficulties, especially a young one at that. And yes, she doesn't dwell on the past too much. She has her moments, just like everyone else, but she'd rather move forward.

Haha. I love Fred. He's one of those characters that's just there, but his presence is felt either way. He'll be more involved as the story progresses, and more of his history will definitely be revealed.

I love Oliver. I think I loved him from the word go, and he was an immediate choice for me when it came to a new Manager. I figured that while he'll have definitely matured, that he would still have that drive and love for Quidditch, and that he would have shifted well from a Captain to a full-blown Manager.

Oh, Antonin. I have some things in store as far as he's concerned. All I'll say is, I know how the story ends, and he has a big place in the end.

I dislike information bombing. Not to say that it doesn't have it's place (I've read many good stories that do it), but it doesn't have a place in my writing. I guess it's just that I've read so many romance novels where the characters are introduced over the course, that it just translated into the way I write as well. I'm glad that you like it!

Wow. Top five is a very good place to be. Thank you.

Ahaha. I was wondering if the simple style was a turn-off. I make the chapter images myself, and I'm no pro at graphic-making, so simplicity works best for me. I think I have a lot of fun matching a face to the character I've created in my mind. Jon Kortajarena is Antonin, Nate Owens is Fred, and Noemie Lenoir is Roxanne. I already have faces picked out for Finn, Melina, Helena, and Ophelia. /Issues.

Thanks so much for the lovely review! Much appreciated.

~Leigh


 Report Review

Review #7, by Dezire_427 An Introduction

11th November 2012:
Lovely work on this chapter too... Especially loved Norah's misunderstanding, a very well written scene. Abd I also liked Roxy, seems very friendly and open and likable. And I totally look forward to the next chapter, with its team practise. Good luck!
Love,
-Akansha.
PS. I feel Norah has a very sharp, organised mind, but was that stirring in her stomach really for food? ;)

Author's Response: I didn't know quite what I wanted to do with Roxanne until I started writing, and amazing enough, she just flowed onto the page as if she had been fleshed out in my mind from the start. I fell in love with her instantly, and something told me that Norah would like her too. So I went with it.

Got to love misunderstandings, right? Norah thinks it's an easy enough mistake, especially since she doesn't know much about her players' personal lives. And Fred looks like he should be married. In her eyes, anyway. But you know what happens when you assume xD.

I've wrapped up the interview in the next chapter, and I'm currently working on the team practice. Or should I say, steadily working towards it, because Oliver seems as if he has other plans, aha.

Hehe. She says of course. I say of course not. Which one of us is the honest one ;)?

~Leigh


 Report Review

Review #8, by Dezire_427 The Tryouts

10th November 2012:
I am so sorry for such a late review.. I read this chapter and forgot. But, well, better late than never, right?

Yay! Fred is on the team. I am so glad. Though it seems a liitle surprising that he doesn't play Quidditch professionally... But, in anycase, he's now beater for the Appleby Arrpws, and that's what counts.

When I read the words 'sandy-haired teen', I knew it was a Finnigan. And I was right, wasn't I? Genevieve Finnigan, I wish you the best of luck.

Your writing style is very... Old-worldly, shall we say? It kinda reminds me of lavender and sepia photographs. It's very formal, sort of, like what you'd see in the classics. It definitely is unique, and adds a certain charm to the story. Well done!

I'm off to read the next chapter now.

Cheers,
-Akansha.

Author's Response: Haha. It's okay! I'm glad you're even reviewing. And yes, better late than never.

Yep! I know. Oliver thinks it's mental that he doesn't play when he has so much skill and potential, but Fred has always been more interested in curse breaking. It's sort of like Charlie. He could have played professionally but chose dragons instead. Guess it runs in the family? xD

A sandy-haired teen can only be a Finnigan, so yes, you were right. I wish her luck too, especially with the personalities that will be joining the team.

Aw, that's a sweet compliment. I haven't thought about it like that, but thanks. Your words make me smile.

Thanks for reading and reviewing!

~Leigh


 Report Review

Review #9, by TimeSeer An Introduction

10th November 2012:
Hey! I love this chapter so much! It is great. I love that Norah just hung out with Fred and Roxanne. She is also super hilarious but seems like she can be mean from when she was talking to her stepmother about the twins. She really likes those twins doesn't she? I think it is great that Norah likes them and wants to keep them safe and happy. Anyway please update soon!

Author's Response: Hello (:!

I'm glad that you enjoyed it. While the bulk of this story will be about quidditch, and it's perceived inner workings, I do want to show Norah in normal situations. All quidditch could get pretty boring, and as much as she wants to prove herself, she also needs to enjoy her life. Don't want her wasting away on me :P.

Oh yes. She can be mean when the situation calls for it. Though, I do believe that she's mostly only mean to Ophelia, who brings it on herself. As for the twins; she doesn't know them well, but she plans to. It's just so frustrating to her that she has to go through Ophelia. Caring for them will become a priority at some point.

An update should be submitted to the queue sometime this week. There's two more parts I plan to insert in the chapter I've already started. Already written 1k+ words.

Thanks so much for the review!

~Leigh


 Report Review

Review #10, by ASDFGHJKL The Tryouts

6th November 2012:
I love it! Well written. Well plotted. Plus a wonderful concept. What more can i ask for? Hahaha Update soon! :D

Author's Response: Hello!

Thanks. I'm glad that you like the plot, and think that this is well-written. I've spent a lot of days lately thinking about the story, and I can't wait to get my thoughts down and to plug out more chapters. So, I will definitely be updating soon.

Thanks for reading and reviewing!

~Leigh


 Report Review

Review #11, by BBWotter The Tryouts

4th November 2012:
Congrats! You are now my 100th review, and you are most definitely worthy! :D This story is so awesome, I am going to favourite it! OMR, PLEASSE WRITE MORE! (even though I understand it's hard to update regularly!) :D

Author's Response: Hey (:!

Wow, really? I'm glad that you think it's great. The story has been dominating my mind as of late, so I'm definitely going to be writing more. Already started on the next chapter!

Thanks so much for reading, and for choosing this story to make your hundredth review on.

~Leigh


 Report Review

Review #12, by sleepless_nights The Tryouts

4th November 2012:
I just found this story and I think it is great! I really like this unique plot and characters!
Looking forward to more chapters. :)

Author's Response: Hi there!

Aw, I'm glad that you like it! And I'm doubly glad that you like the plot and characters. I'm trying really hard to make them interesting.

More chapters should be coming soon! Thanks for reviewing (:.

~Leigh


 Report Review

Review #13, by crimson_creamcracker The Tryouts

4th November 2012:
Nicely written, love the concept for the storyline.
look forward to next update.
Good Job.

Author's Response: Hello!

I'm glad that you like the concept. I've seen a lot of quidditch stories, but none from the owner's perspective. So, I thought, why not?

I've already begun the next chapter, so an update should be soonish.

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!

~Leigh


 Report Review

Review #14, by bookworm_hermione The Decision

26th October 2012:
Say hello to your newest fan. . . . me.

The beginning of the story is AWESOME! not boring at all, like what i sometimes experience. And you managed to sum up her family history very nicely.

I actually cried at the father's letter part. . . Though i was already a bit emotional at that time. . . .

And OLIVER WOOD MAKES A COMEBACK!!! Yay! He was always a favorite of mine in the series.

Can't wait for Fred to show up, and this story to progress.
10/10 ;)

Author's Response: Hello!

It makes me glad that you didn't find the beginning boring. I know that the first chapter often makes or breaks it for most, so I'm glad this one didn't make you just want to exit out of the story.

Aw. It was sad, huh? It upsets me too, because they never got to reconcile.

Yes, Oliver. I love me some Oliver Wood, and I hope I do the older, a bit more mature Oliver justice.

The next chapter should be up within the week. Thanks for reading, reviewing, and adding this to your favorites!

~Leigh


 Report Review

Review #15, by Dezire_427 The Decision

25th October 2012:
This gal over here hates Artie Stein and Mark Briscoe, the male chauvanistic pigs!

You've done a great job with this chapter as well. The natural ebb and flow of moods was perfectly managed. I can really see what Norah is doing here. My absolute favourite part was when she fired Briscoe, and her comment over her speciality in walking through hot waters was my favourite quote. She's an exemplary to female sports team owners evrywhere, and I love her drive, focus and enthusiasim, as depicted by your wonderful writing. Keep it up!

Oliver's back! Personally, I think it was an excellent description of him that you gave. J.K. would have approved. And a dash of Fred?! I can hardly wait for the next chapter!

Cheers and chocolates,
-Akansha.

Author's Response: Haha. This gal over here despises their guts as well. If it's one thing I hate, it's male chauvinism. Norah does too. She breathes the motto "Anything you can do, I can do better".

Thanks. I'm glad the moods came through well enough. She's confused, nervous, possibly a little excited.

That's probably my favorite bit too. He deserved to be fired. Not only was he not producing, but he didn't know how to bite his tongue and show respect to his new boss. With all the hot water she's going to be wading through, she better be a pro at it, haha.

Norah's blushing over here, which I assure you, is not an easy thing to have her do. She posed for Howl, after all! And your compliments have me blushing as well. You're far too kind!

Yes, Oliver. I couldn't resist. I thought to myself, why create a virtual unknown, when we have a passionate man who loves Quidditch already available through canon? For some reason I've always seen him as someone who would go on to manage when his career is over. Someone like him doesn't just sit on the sidelines. He'd rather be in the thick of it.

And yes, a dash of Fred. I hope you like him ^^.

Thanks so much, Akansha. Your reviews have definitely improved my day. (:

~Leigh


 Report Review

Review #16, by Dezire_427 The Will

25th October 2012:
My, my. Shall I just say, an excellent start?

I have just recently, after reading your reviews on mystory, started reading Along Came Lucy...and it is a wonderful story, as is this. I just love the direct way you start it, its so straightforward and blunt, you feel as if you've plunged right into the plot. The character of Ophelia is an, interesting one, and I daresay we'll see more of her. Antonin seems nice enough, but you can never say. And as for Norah, she seems to be a great character, really complex, but when we get into her world, everything's crystal clear, and the way she describes stuff, you feel you're watching a movie.

You r style of writing is unique, one that i've tried, without success, to emulate. It's a leisurely pace, but still keeps our curiosity up. Well done!

Now i'm off to read the next chapter.
Lots of love,
-Akansha.

P.S. Her age and ownership of the team is not an issue at all. If anything, it increases the fun factor in the story. All I wish to know is, how did the Appleby Arrows, second in the league according to Quidditch Through The Ages, get worse than Cannons. Perhaps the next chapter holds answers... :)

Author's Response: Aww, thanks (:.

-ducks head- ACL was my first attempt at writing an actual story, and I cringe sometimes when I read some of the chapters. It was way rushed. But, I leave it up because it was my first story, and I'm eternally grateful to everyone who read, reviewed, and added it to their favorites. That, and it's a nice look back at how different my writing is from back then.

When it comes to my stories, I prefer starting right in the thick of things, then revealing bits and pieces as we go along. It's the only way that works for me, even though I've tried other methods.

Eheh. Ophelia is... yes, interesting is a good word for her. And you're right in thinking that we'll see more of her. Being handed her just desserts by someone from beyond the grave is not something she'll take lightly. Best believe she'll try some way to ruin things.

Antonin is nice, but sometimes the nice ones are the on you have to look out for, right? But who knows. Maybe he's the realest person in the entire story. You never know.

I'm so glad that it kept your attention and piqued your curiosity! The last thing I'd want to do is bore the reader. I hope you'll still be curious as the story continues!

That's what I thought too. Her age gives plenty of obstacles for her to encounter and attempt to overcome. I'm not too bold to think that she can overcome them all, but she'll give a fighting effort. As for the Arrows. I'll admit that I've taken many liberties with this story. I had a bit of a mental debate when it came to selecting a team before settling on them. I have no idea what Quidditch Through The Ages has to say on the matter, but I'm probably bending most of it. The lexicon didn't have much to offer on the teams, so I thought it would be okay.

As for their now terrible record. Her Dad had much to do with that. He pretty much ran the team into the ground with his poor decision-making. He may be a brilliant businessman, but he was a terrible owner. Didn't give the team the attention it deserved.

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!

~Leigh


 Report Review

Review #17, by somegirl The Decision

25th October 2012:
I really like this; you write beautifully. I really like Norah as a character too, she's very believable. Go Norah!

Author's Response: Hello!

Aw, thanks for the kind compliment. Seriously; it brightened my morning.

I'm glad you're liking Norah. Believability is what I was striving for, and I hoped it would come across despite her age.

Thank you so much for reading and reviewing!

~Leigh


 Report Review

Review #18, by violet skies The Will

22nd October 2012:
hey there!

i feel like this plot is superbly original and i can't wait to read more. i'm interested to know more about norah's past and whatnot with the modeling thing - also loving how lana del rey is your face for norah on the chapter image ;D

i also loved how norah's father only left ophelia a galleon and his love LOL. that was hilarious.

can't wait for you to post the next chapter! :)

Author's Response: Hey!

I'm glad that you find the plot original. I couldn't recall seeing anything like this about, so I decided to give it ago. Glad you like it.

Oh, there's definitely going to be more information about her past as the story progresses. Should be food for conversation among the players, and maybe even the press, dependent on if they want to bring it up.

Oh, I love her face. I was looking through pictures of Lana and I'm like, yes, that's Norah all right. Aha.

Hahaha. Ophelia is terrible, so I couldn't resist the urge to have him stick it to her even in death. Glad you found it funny!

The next chapter is already in the queue. It surrounds the decision.

Thanks so much for reading, and for taking the time to review! Much appreciated.

~Leigh


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login