Reading Reviews for An Even Match
127 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Sara 33.

19th November 2015:
Kinda wish the story ended like that. An amazing story I was hooked from the first chapter!!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reviewing!! Glad you liked it.

 Report Review

Review #2, by Jade 33.

23rd October 2015:
The plot was moving rather slowly in the beginning but hey it got better by the chapter! I loved it so much! How you make hermione & draco developed their affection gradually instead of typical love-at-first sight kinda thing, the houses getting along, it was all very brilliant. At one point of the war i even got chills going down my spine! A fantastic story indeed.

Author's Response: Thank you!! I really wanted a slow burn bc it's more realistic, especially for two characters as different as Malfoy and Hermione. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #3, by Slytherin Eagle 7.

4th October 2015:
And here we have it, the start of something very special...

Blaise was well written.

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing! You're very thorough ;) As far as some of the spellings go, I'm in America so there will be a few discrepancies. When I have time I'll try to go back through and update according to your suggestions as I see fit. This is just a fanfiction, not my actual book (which I'm in the midst of working on) so of course attention to detail isn't always there. Thank you again!

 Report Review

Review #4, by Slytherin Eagle 6.

4th October 2015:
This chapter was very good, I liked it a lot.


Author's Response: Glad you enjoyed it!

 Report Review

Review #5, by Slytherin Eagle 5.

4th October 2015:
This chapter was very good for tying up one section of the plot before moving onto another. Well done, I greatly enjoyed it!

Lea xx

Author's Response: Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #6, by Slytherin Eagle 4.

30th September 2015:
Ooh, Hermione is so feisty in this chapter, I love it!

Why would you ask such a.(Draco knew Lucius was holding himself back from saying 'ridiculous') question?"
The phrasing of this is a little it odd, it didn't flow well.

Just keep an eye out for capital letters again.

I absolutely adored the sections focusing on the Malfoys. They were spot on in my opinion!


Author's Response: Thank you for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #7, by Slytherin Eagle 3.

30th September 2015:
Chapter 3

Try to capitalise thing like Floo where-ever possible.

You have accidentally typed fore instead of for at the end of one of your paragraphs.

This chapter was quite good for character development regarding Hermione.

One of my favourite parts was the boys discussing the new Firebolt. I also really liked how you set up the thing with the Patronus-in-a-stone.

I can't wait to review the next chapter!


Author's Response: Great, thank you for catching those!

 Report Review

Review #8, by Slytherin Eagle 2.

29th September 2015:
Ah, excellent. I see Krum is back for more!

I like how you put the focus on Draco's reactions as well as the Malfoy family dynamic. That was very intersting and pleasant to see.

Another note on the double l's (perhaps this is an Australian spelling, I'm not sure!) but barrelled should have the double l rather than being barreled.

In the section where Mulciber's curse is cut off, you have written "Cruc.." Personally I would have put another dot before closing the quotation, or alternatively you could use a hyphen.

The phrase '"If it was discovered that we are becoming so bold as to kill in the midst of the Quidditch World Cup, it could jeopardize the mission. ' should have as bold as rather than so bold as. This is just a small grammatical thing.

Having read the whole story, I can easily say that this is one of my favourite chapters. The whole story hinges off the events in this chapter.


Author's Response: Thanks! I will add another period in the ellipses. However, "becoming so bold as to kill" is exactly how I wanted it worded. It may seem a little old-fashioned, but I promise you it's grammatically correct. At least where I am. Thank you again for your thorough reviews!

 Report Review

Review #9, by Slytherin Eagle 1.

29th September 2015:
Okay, so I've read this story quite few times, but never actually reviewed, so I thought that I might finally do it for you. So from here on in, you can expect a review from me on every chapter!

All of your descriptions are really good, and this chapter as a whole really hooks the reader in.

A little thing to note: rivaled has a double l (rivalled). Also, make sure you keep you spelling of Weasleby the same, as you have both Weaselby and Weaselbee. It doesn't matter how you spell it, just make sure that it is the same!

I liked Krum at the end, his characterisation was very good.

Best Wishes and onwards to the next chapter,

Author's Response: Thank you for reviewing! In America "rivaled" is the appropriate spelling (I believe in most English-speaking countries it can be spelled both ways) but I will definitely make the spelling of "Weaselby" the same.

 Report Review

Review #10, by Alex 33.

3rd September 2015:
I really loved this story, you did an amazing job

Author's Response: Thank you so much!

 Report Review

Review #11, by Avantika 33.

20th August 2015:
Wow if only!!! Awesome story! Loved the inter house relations and dramione interactions. Fantastic dramione:-)

Author's Response: Thank you!! Glad you enjoyed it :D

 Report Review

Review #12, by Onediedforlove 33.

14th August 2015:
Wow, when you said slow burning you really meant slow burning. The story jumped around a bit and was a little slow for my liking but those are the only criticisms I can find. Everything else was great. All in all a nice read.

Author's Response: Ha, yeah :) I really hate the whole "they saw each other and suddenly fell in love" stuff. Just not realistic, especially for two characters as different as Hermione and Draco.

 Report Review

Review #13, by Paige 7.

3rd August 2015:
This is too great. Your writing is immaculate! I've been caught up since chapter one, and it only gets better. I love the mixed emotion between the two. The ending to this chapter really got me; I love it. The tension in the air rivaled the spark when the ended up lying together, and to beat it all Hermione's mental joke about Draco having a heartbeat... I'm dead! Looking forward to reading on!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I was thinking of revising it because even after this long I'm still not sure it's as strong as it could be, but I feel reassured when I receive positive reviews :) I'm very glad you're enjoying the story overall! I hope you like the end as much as the beginning.

 Report Review

Review #14, by ms simone 33.

22nd May 2015:
great plot!! happy with various pairing... wonderful battle scene... like that severus is alive!!

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing! I wanted Severus alive, I feel like after all he'd been through he deserved some kind of happy ending :)

 Report Review

Review #15, by ScarlettTulips 33.

20th May 2015:
I really enjoyed your story. Sad it had to end. Xoxox

Author's Response: Thank you! So glad you enjoyed it :D

 Report Review

Review #16, by Silenceislouderthanwords14 33.

3rd January 2015:
This story easily captured my attention from the first chapter! I was hooked on every single word. I could not get enough of it!

I completely love the Dramione ship,and this story is a prime example of why I love it so much! Besides the creative additions you added (which are super cool, by the way), this is a very realistic Dramione,very different from the other ones I've read, but it was a fantastic read!

I love this chapter in particular, because I love how adorable Draco is, and how sassy Hermione gets! If he wants to be with her he has to work for it, that's so awesome!

If I haven't been clear enough, I completely love this story! It's wonderful! You have such a talent! Please don't stop writing! :)

Author's Response: Yay! I love hearing that :D I really appreciate this review (all my reviews!) but it's awesome to know that you like my story!! I will keep writing, thank you so much for your support.

 Report Review

Review #17, by Jodie 33.

3rd October 2014:
I really loved reading this! Your an amazing writer with a real talent for writing intriguing stories.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Glad you liked it :D

 Report Review

Review #18, by Snowtyfy 1.

28th June 2014:
Hi. I've reviewed two of your other chapters. Sooo, I loved, loved, loved this story, but this particular chapter confused me just a little. Is this scene set in the 4th year or the 6th? At first, since Bulgaria went against Ireland, Krum caught the snitch, but Ireland won, the dancing veilas, the leprechauns, the surprise and derision the Malfoys show at finding the Weasleys in the top box, all seemed to be the same as HP Book 4 Goblet of Fire. Yet toward the end of the middle of your chapter, you mention how some of the things happened earlier, like Krum's infatuation for Hermione and what had happened between those two characters, and then the whole plot with Winky and Barty Crouch Jr. never happened, so I thought hmm, maybe this is set in the 6th year and they all got to go to another match. But I just found it hard to believe that the exact same World Cup quiditch results had happened, yet none of the characters seemed surprised. I figured at least Ron would say something about not believing Krum got his way again or the Malfoys would say something snide about the others getting seats in the top box again so soon...I don't know. So, then I thought maybe I was just confused. None of your other readers seemed to notice anything off, so I feel like maybe I'm missing something obvious. I just think Ron, Harry, George, Fred, or Mr. Weaseley would say something about the similarities between that game and the one two years earlier. I'm probably rambling, but I am sincerely trying to figure it out because the whole rest of your book is so clear and brilliant. Did I miss something? Thanks!

Author's Response: Hi! This scene is set in the 6th year, but in my mind I just kind of pretended the 4th-year match didn't happen and moved it up to the 6th year (but Krum would still have met Hermione etc. in the 4th year at the castle during Goblet of Fire!) is rather confusing when you try to reconcile the actual story with my little fanfiction; I just wanted to skip ahead and I loved the Quidditch match but definitely wanted my story set in the 6th year, which is why I did what I did. Gosh, does that make sense? I feel like I'm rambling:) Regardless, this fanfic was just for fun so I kind pulled in parts that I wanted regardless of certain storyline cadences, even if it didn't entirely make sense. I'm sorry for any confusion though!

 Report Review

Review #19, by Snowtyfy 33.

28th June 2014:
This story really should be added to the Top 10. You are a very witty, creative author. When you finish your own book, do you think you could post information on where to get it? I'm sure I'm not the only one who'd love to read it.

Author's Response: Oh great!! Thank you so much :) Glad you liked it even though the first chapter was slightly confusing from a beta-reader perspective! I'm so appreciative of these reviews. I will certainly give info on where to find my book once I finish it! I am hoping to have it written by end of this summer, and then I'll start looking for publishers. It may never get published, but I will try and live the dream regardless:) I would love to share it with you and anyone else who is interested! Thanks again for reading and reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #20, by Snowtyfy 29.

28th June 2014:
First of all, the ending of this chapter is perfect. You have such a knack of capturing true-to-the-character dialog that is also witty, charming, and hilarious. Your dialog is probably my favorite part of this book. That said, I've LOVED your plot so far too. The relationship between Draco and Hermione is believable and charming, Dumbledore is presented in true form, and you managed to imprint tons of (both tiny details and large surprises) plot twists. I love that the Malfoys are portrayed in a more human light - that there is more of an internal struggle for all of them and that they genuinely have some morals. I like that you draw a line between certain kinds of Death Eaters and others. You have successfully emphasized Rowling's point that everyone is human and that there is no black-and-white good vs. evil. It has levels. It's complicated. There are gray areas. Your writing style is intriguing and overall fantastic. I'm not even finished yet, but I wanted to say thank you for this wonderful book!

Author's Response: Thank you!! You are a very thorough reviewer :D I love it! Hearing your responses not only motivates me to write more, but also allows me to evaluate what people respond well to and what needs a little work. It's easy to miss things when you're writing and there isn't anyone editing! So glad you appreciate the vast gray area between "good" and "evil"...I love the nuances that come with this sort of distinction. Again, thank you for reading and reviewing! Hope you're having a great summer.

 Report Review

Review #21, by Hexholly 33.

3rd June 2014:
Best fan fiction ever! Please write a sequel!

Author's Response: Thank you!! It's definitely on my list of things to do!

 Report Review

Review #22, by Hexholly 33.

3rd June 2014:
I have read a lot of Harry Potter fan fiction and this was easily the best one I have ever read! The plot was masterfully developed, and wonderfully sincere. A lot of unexpected twists too. I would love for there to be a sequel to this story. I would read it in a heartbeat. Brilliant, brilliant, brilliant.

Author's Response: Thank you so much!! I love getting these reviews :) They make my day! I would LOVE to find time for a sequel...I am writing my own book for now, and when I finish I will come back to fanfiction to either write a sequel to this or a new one that centers on a Blaise Zabini romance (except I can't decide if that one should be Blaise/Ginny or Blaise/Hermione) ...thanks again for your support, I really appreciate it :D

 Report Review

Review #23, by hpfflover1 33.

20th May 2014:
Wow. Amazing! This is one of the most realistic D/H I've read and I really like the pairing so I've read a lot! Fantastic job!
I read this over the last couple of days and saw that you mentioned making xhnages recently. Wanted to let you know your story still shows Ginny being in the advanced potions lesson.
Again fantastic!

Author's Response: Great, thank you so much for reading and reviewing! I will go back and make sure I correct that; thought I did, but maybe I had it in two places accidentally. Fanfictions need editors :D

 Report Review

Review #24, by chantale 33.

23rd April 2014:
vrey good.i just love your twist in the story...

Author's Response: I'm so glad you liked it!! Thanks for reading and reviewing :)

 Report Review

Review #25, by toothfairyliz 33.

11th April 2014:
will there be a sequel??? loved it!

Author's Response: Ahhh! I wish I had time for a sequel!! So glad you liked it :D I was thinking of doing a Hermione/Blaise or Blaise/Ginny focused one at some point...but first I'm actually working on my own (original) story, so Fanfiction will have to wait for a bit! But thank you SO MUCH for reading and reviewing!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>