Reading Reviews for The Lucky One
  
12 Reviews Found

Review #1, by sea hassle Cross Your Fingers

12th January 2014:
I'm dying to read more, you've captured that hipster image so well you must be using 35mm film.

 Report Review

Review #2, by peppersweet Cross Your Fingers

2nd January 2014:
Greetings! Here for the 12 days of reviewing challenge. How could I resist hipster Albus?

Before I even discuss the plot or anything, I love the line Broomstick scientist, he was not. So often when I write fanfic I get really carried away by the actual act of typing and forget that Iím writing about wizards and witches and whatnot, so whenever I see magical metaphors or idioms with a magical turn of phrase in fic, I get extraordinarily excited and want to shower the author in praise. So please wear your best praise-repelling anorak if you donít want to get soaked.

Itís kind of adorable how Albus resents his celebrity in this. Not because itís a pain being famous, but because he feels guilty about leeching off his dadís success. He seems like a guy with a heart of gold and I love him already! Also, the description of the cafe made me laugh out loud - being an art student, Iíve been to a lot of those sort of cafes and I never understand why the empty picture frame on wall thing is popular - and I love how this chapter is such a loving homage to all things try-hard and desperately cool. Also, Jamesí Wizbook status. First world problems indeed.

And at the paragraph about Albusí dress sense Iím laughing out loud. I can just picture him in his fair isle jumper and woolly hat and whatnot. Merlinís beard, please say he has strange piercings and tattoos too. Like, idk, a stretcher in each ear and a stylish owl chest piece. (But he loses hipster points for actually needing glasses as opposed to just, you know, wearing them. I share that struggle - whenever people try on my glasses theyíre like Ďoh, you actually canít see!í as if they expected me to just wear them for funniesÖ)

Oh Albus, you bleeding heart! Whilst part of me wants Sir Adorable of Adorableness to find love, it is a little creepy how infatuated he is with Violet - er, Blossom - without ever having said anything. I sort of hope he finds someone else, someone who is equally just as unknowingly hipster who will appreciate his lack of 20/20 vision and playlist.

That last line cracked me up. Hipster metaphor!!

Wait, a shoutout to me in the authorís note?? Aaah, youíre too kind! I didnít expect that and itís put a smile on my face ♥ great start to the story, I hope you update this soon!

Happy 2014 :D

 Report Review

Review #3, by Crescent Moon  Cross Your Fingers

27th June 2013:
I love this.
Al seems hilarious!
I really can't wait to see where you go with it.

 Report Review

Review #4, by Misty_Rey Cross Your Fingers

1st December 2012:
Hiya Emma! *waves*

So err I hope you remember me and even if you don't, that's okay too. I had some free time and a sudden need to read some good HPFF fics so I found your page and this little gem was at the top. Naturally, Albus Severus as a hipster intrigued me as heck so I had to give this a read and boy am I glad I did! You were always a good writer, Emma, with one of the best and most natural humour streaks on this site. Solid, honestly good humour is hard to come by and you write it so seamlessly, it's like second nature to you -jealous- xD. Back in the day, if I recall correctly, you excelled at general wackiness which was always a treat but it's nice to see a different side to your writing in this, which veers towards the well-known wry and dry British humour. It's a perfect fit for what you're trying to achieve with this fic and in particular with Albus's character who by the way makes an EXCELLENT hipster.

Aww Albus, what words are there when it comes to him? Can I say adorkable? Coz he kinda is. Or maybe awkwardorable? I felt his pain and general cringe with that barista, the poor dear. The way you've crafted his character and personality is masterful without being try-hard. I really like that he had all these other things going for him (career, style, feelings about his fame etc) where on his own he's already an established character and it's only later that a girl comes into play. At this point, she's kind of an enigma which is great.

Another aspect I felt you handled really well was the weaving of muggle technology into the magical world. I normally hate it when it's done only because it's written so sloppily and lazily. It was a nice touch that you included a little blurb about how some wizard bloke made the discovery that led to internet in the wizarding world, the effort really does make all the difference. Thank goodness you decided to make this post-hogwarts, it makes so much more sense than if they were still at hogwarts. We'd have had a Gossip Girl situation otherwise ;).

If I had one slight criticism, it's that the opening of the chapter was a bit... all over the place? I'm sure it's meant to be a sign of things to come and while it was witty and well-written, it seemed quite jarring compared to the rest of the chapter.

Regardless, I can't wait to see where you take this story. Albus has all the potential in the world and I'm excited to see more of Violet. I've been meaning to catch up with your stories for a while now and I'm glad I started with this one :D.

~Misty

 Report Review

Review #5, by Reader Cross Your Fingers

28th October 2012:
I'm hooked! I love the concept and i can't wait to see how Violet is. Please update soon i can't wait to see if she'll recognize him or if they'll talk
Anyway, great first chapter, i love your writing and i can't wait to read chapter 2!

 Report Review

Review #6, by one_crazy_cookie Cross Your Fingers

27th October 2012:
I really really like this so far! I'm very excited to continue reading it, and you have no idea how much the idea amuses me...I can totally see hipster Al! Good work!

 Report Review

Review #7, by RavenclawFTW Cross Your Fingers

27th October 2012:
Oh my God I love this fic! Your writing style is awesome. I'll keep looking out for more chapters! :D

Incidentally, I also have a next gen fic based on In Love with My Radio! I hope you check it out and don't judge me for being tacky and mentioning my own fic in a review. Wow I feel really lame. I apologise, really. Okay I'll be going now...update soon! :)

 Report Review

Review #8, by LittleMissPrincess Cross Your Fingers

27th October 2012:
asfd;fjhsa;lkdfjslj can we just pause for a moment and revel in your awesomeness?

*pause*

Okay, so i have no idea how this story is so possibly amazing even though its only one chapter in, but you've already got my favorite things in life : Albus, Hipsters, & Blogging.

And a nice fluffy romance next gen story (:

not to mention your BRILL writing skills, and like, you are amazing.

okay so maybe i stalked you for a bit, (s'not like albus wasn't lurking out on people this whole chap) and you've been a member since 2006, i mean APPLAUSE FOR YOU.

and you like Merlin? i mean BE MY BEST FRIEND, PLEASE.

okay now how bout i stop being creepy and talk about how amazing this story is :

First : all the names, 'magbook' , 'witchfork' = NICE.

all the lovely descriptions of AL, with his skinny jeans, and his HAT, and everything, oh oh oh most importantly he 'i'm wearing hipster glasses-plottwist-i actually need glasses but you dont need to know that' - which is the story of my life.

and just basically, all description really, and you really pulled writing in third person off.

everything was just so amazingly vibrant, and hipster, and very awesome.

So yes, you could say that i do rather like this chapter/story, and i apologize for having such a large review (and possibly freaking you out) and um yeah thats it.

(:

 Report Review

Review #9, by Dezire_427 Cross Your Fingers

27th October 2012:
Holy Snitches!
This is most possibly, scratch that, truly, honestly, fantastically, the very best Albus/OC hipster story I have ever had the good fortune of laying my bespectacled eyes upon... Pure awesomeness.
I honestly am left speechless. It was sheer, unadulterated joy to read this fic. All i'm left capable of saying is, oh my Godric, I am in love with your writing style, your beautiful Harry Potter references, Scarlet, Blossom and the amazing hipster indie world you've created. Reading every paragraph was like turning the pages of the Deathly Hallows for the very first time.
I have no favourite parts or quotes. That would suggest that I found only a single sentence or para in this chapter exceptional. If i'm being true to myself, and I swear on Merlin I am being, then this entire chapter was exceptional. Just, Fawkes!
Your latest fan,
-Akansha.
PS. Where can I buy myself a Mochahontas? :)

 Report Review

Review #10, by bookworm_hermione Cross Your Fingers

15th October 2012:
Ooohh!!! this is such a good beginning chapter!!! I can't wait to see the story progress and more of Al/Violet

10/10 ;)

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm actually quite excited about this story (and the impending Al/Violet fluff), so it warms my heart that you're looking forward to it as well. Thank you for reading! :D

- emma


 Report Review

Review #11, by TimeSeer Cross Your Fingers

13th October 2012:
I really like the start of this story. It is looking good so far! Are we going to actually get to meet violet in the next chapter?

Please say yes, I really want to meet her.

Anyway great first chapter please update this and basically all of your stories soon!

Also thanks for the little shout out thing in the author's note that was very sweet of you to say that.

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm so happy you do. And yes, next chapter is all about Violet. She's pretty cool, if I say so myself. (At least, I think so. There will also be more Becky...yikes.) Thank you so, so much! I've already got some of the second chapter written, and I'm also working on finishing up the next chapters of MBFGD and SAJP. Also, you totally rule! Just in case you weren't aware. :D

 Report Review

Review #12, by AlexFan Cross Your Fingers

8th October 2012:
That was wonderful. I love hipster Albus, it works for him (or you just make it work for him). For once I have found a story where the male does not sound female. Albus actually sounds male so kudos to you for that.

Can't wait for the next chapter.

Author's Response: Whee, first review! Thank you so much! I'm incredibly glad you liked it, as I was a bit nervous about how this would go over. (I'm not one for writing parodies or third person, but here we are.) Ahh, and I'm so glad you love hipster Albus! He's my favorite. I honestly think that kid was born to be a hipster. And I tried to make him sound manly(ish, for a hipster), so thank goodness that worked out. Thank you so much for your lovely words! I really appreciate them, especially because you follow some of my other stuff and your words are always so kind. So thank you! :D

- emma


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login