Reading Reviews for You're My Best Friend
  
12 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Akussa You're my best friend.

23rd November 2012:
Aw, I'm not a fan of fluff at all. Except when it comes to Ron and Hermione. This was just so sweet and naive, I loved it from beginning to end. I think you did perfect justice to their relationship and how it evolved through the years. More so, I found you really captured Ron's thoughts and personality through that piece. The way he perceived things and understood the situations felt very real and slightly immature, just the way Ron was.

It was really lovely, great job! Oh and the banner is simply wonderful as well, that's really what pulled me into reading this story, no matter if "fluff" was the main category and I usually skip those stories. I'm really glad I didn't skip yours!

Author's Response: YOU AREN'T A FAN OF FLUFF? :O

ahaha, I'm an avid lover of fluff. It's just so... fluffy! :p

Okay, now onto the actual response. ;)

Ron and Hermione are just perfect and fluffy, aren't they? ;) I'm so glad you think that I did it justice, it was nerve-wracking to write canon characters! Ron is actually rather hard to writ because he is rather immature (but still loveable!) but then he grows up, but it's v...e...r...y... gradual. :p

I saw it in an UFG and jumped on it! I was thinking when I saw it, "THIS IS PERFECT!" inspector. really has some talent! :D

I'm glad you didn't skip mine either, thanks for leaving this review and glad you enjoyed it! :D


 Report Review

Review #2, by RosieQueen You're my best friend.

6th November 2012:
Romione fluff! Is there anything better? It's one of my OTPs! It's so sweet how Ron starts off as thinking Hermione is an annoying, bossy know it all. Oh, Ron. :P

The layout of this one-shot was very unique, how you had quick transitions from parts of the series. I actually liked it very much! It didn't ruin the flow at all, and I think it was a very good way to show Ron and Hermione's progression of love. :)

You wrote Ron's point of view perfectly! At first his narration seems very immature, but that's quite realistic for Ron, isn't it? It's like I feel the time passing and his narration gets mature after every scene!

Wonderful job with this! Very sweet and..well, it's Romione, how can anyone not love it? :D

~Rosie

Author's Response: Fluff + Romione = nothing better! :p

I think Romione is everyone's OTP, I don't understand how it can't be! :p

ahahaha, silly, naive Ron. *shakes head fondly*

I'm glad that it didn't ruin the flow and that you thought it was a good way to show their progression. :)

Oh I'm so glad to hear that, I was so nervous! :p

Thanks again for another review! :D


 Report Review

Review #3, by Romaine You're my best friend.

29th October 2012:
This fanfic made me do a little weep of joy!!!

Author's Response: this random review made ME do a little weep of joy! :p

Glad you liked it and thanks for the review! ♥


 Report Review

Review #4, by CambAngst You're my best friend.

19th October 2012:
Tagging you from the Review Tag thread!

This was heart-warming in that way that stories where Ron really gets into his feelings always make me a little bit mushy. He's such a sentimental sap once you break through all the tough-guy armor that he doubtless had to develop in order to survive childhood in the same house with Fred and George. When something comes along that makes him truly happy, you can't help but cheer for the guy. From Goblet of Fire on, I remember cheering for him and Hermione to get together. It took so ridiculously long for that to happen, and you chronicle those events in a story that felt like a fun walk down memory lane.

As far as constructive criticism goes, I really think you could benefit from a beta reader. I saw a fair number of grammatical mistakes as I was reading the story. Not so terrible that I couldn't figure out what you were saying, but they did disrupt the flow of the story and make it harder to stay engaged and really submerge myself in Ron's mindset.

There were also some places where I felt like you took quotes directly from the books and it would have sounded a lot more like Ron's thoughts if you'd paraphrased or maybe approached things from a different angle. A good example is the line, "Seeing Hermione petrified, terrifies Ron. She is the cleverest witch of her age; nothing should be able to stop her." The remark about her being the cleverest witch of her age sounds like something one of the professors would think, not Ron. Ron might simply think, "How could something like this happen to her? She's brilliant. Nothing should be able to take her by surprise."

Overall, I loved the way that you built up to "their moment" in the Chamber of Secrets. The scene where the Deluminator leads him back, for instance, was a really nice choice.

I really enjoyed the memories and feelings that this story evoked. If you went thought it carefully and fixed the little things, I thing you'd have something really lovely!

Author's Response: Hi there!

I know, it took a whole seven books for Ron and Hermione together, I wanted them together straight away! :p

I was looking at the quick betas over at the forums yesterday, debating whether I should ask one of them or not. I think I will, thanks for pointing those out! :D

That sentence sounded awkward to me too, I'll definitely revise that and send it to a beta ASAP! :)

I'm glad you liked it, and thanks for all the tips you've given me! I'll definitely use put them in place soon! :)

Thank you for reviewing! :D


 Report Review

Review #5, by caoty You're my best friend.

19th October 2012:
Oh my God, this is sickeningly sweet. It's lovely.

This was well-written; you've moved between different periods of time smoothly and you've kept Ron in perfect character. Hell, even writing Ron in the first place is an achievement - he's a sadly underwritten character.

There were a couple of bits and pieces you could maybe fix, like:
>He suddenly feels at peace even though she is abusing him.
That... took me about three re-reads to get, to be honest. At first I was like, "I'm sure that didn't happen in canon..." so you may want to clear up the wording for those of us who are a bit slow. :P

And 'special friend' sounds like a bit of a euphemism for girlfriend anyway if you keep repeating it so, erm... yeah.

Anyway, good luck with your challenges! :)

Author's Response: Ahahahaha, it is sweet, isn't it? :p

Writing Ron was SO hard, I was like, "Does he sound right? Is he sounding too feminine?"

Ahaha I'll fix that up in a jiffy! Thanks for pointing that out! :D

'Special friend' was kind of a euphemism for girlfriend, but in the Ron and Hermione case, it was 'girlfriend who was not yet actually his girlfriend'. :p

Thanks! :D And thank you for leaving me a review! :D


 Report Review

Review #6, by HufflepuffGirl93 You're my best friend.

19th October 2012:
Adorable! I loved how you showed Ron's changing feelings towards Hermione, how she became his friend, his best friend, his special friend and finally his girlfriend. I particularly liked this part: "She is still a bossy know-it-all, but she is a bossy know-it-all who gives him the answers to his Potions homework. And he loves that."
I was slightly disappointed that you didn't show Ron's take on his relationship with Lavender vs his feelings for Lavender...but I suppose that helped keep the tone of the story quite light. Still this, and some of the darker side of wearing the Horcrux would have been interesting to see.

But there were many, many moments I loved - Ron's reaction to Viktor, when Hermione hits him with her Ancient Runes essay, "No one can be angry after they kiss Hermione!"...basically most of the story really! And Ron was so sweet in this story! Oh, and the banner is gorgeous.

Great work - will be reading more of your stories! :)

Author's Response: Ahahaha thanks! :D

About the Lavender thing, after I posted it I was like, "WHY DIDN'T I PUT IT IN THERE?!" I would have, but it just didn't cross my mind! Nor did the Horcrux thing! Ah well, it seems that people liked it anyway! :D

The banner, oh my gosh, when I saw it I just wanted to steal inspector.'s talent and keep it! It's absolutely amazing! :D

Anyway, thanks for reviewing! Hope you enjoy my other stories! :D


 Report Review

Review #7, by Lady Asphodel You're my best friend.

17th October 2012:
Hi... I'm sorry for messing up the review tag. I didn't know. :(

Well now I'm here and reviewed. I really enjoyed reading this. This was really sweet. :)

Keep on writing!

-Asphodel

Author's Response: No don't worry! You didn't need to review this, I just wanted to let you know! But thank you for coming and reviewing anyway, that's really sweet of you. :) The forums can be so confusing sometimes, don't fret! :D

Anyway, I'm glad you liked it and thanks again for giving me this lovely review! :)

Don't worry, I will keep writing! :D


 Report Review

Review #8, by Faith100z You're my best friend.

16th October 2012:
Hi there! So, I thought this was really cute. The progression is clear and we see how Ron slowly falls in love with Hermione. I especially liked the Viktor Krum bit :)

I noticed one little spelling thing: "but he thinks her as his close friend now." I'm assuming you meant to put "of" between "thinks her"? :)

I would have loved a tad more elaboration about Ron's feelings, particularily why he felt that way. Does that make sense? Haha, I'm not very eloquent today.

Overall, a really nice read! Good job!

Author's Response: Ahaha I liked the Viktor Krum bit as well, it's very... Ron? :p

The "but he thinks her as his close friend now" is actually grammatically correct. It's kind of another version of saying that, I dunno, English is strange. It's more of a posh-y way of saying it, I guess? :p

More feelings from Ron? But he's a teaspoon! xD ahahaha no I get where you're coming from, I might add that in, I just don't really have time to edit/write things right now. :/

Thank you for reviewing! :D


 Report Review

Review #9, by Nibblet You're my best friend.

16th October 2012:
I really enjoyed reading this :) was so sweet.

Author's Response: I'm glad you enjoyed reading it! I enjoyed writing it! :)

Thanks for leaving a review! :D


 Report Review

Review #10, by house elf You're my best friend.

15th October 2012:
This is sooo sweet :D

I really like the style you wrote it in. No dialogue and that. Me gusta :)

Ron and Hermione are just so cutee and you depicted that very well ♥

Author's Response: Me gusta no dialogue too! I'm sorry, my Spanish is limited to me gusta and no hables ingles! :p

Ron and Hermione are cute, aren't they? xD

Thanks for the lovely review! :D


 Report Review

Review #11, by Ginger Lust You're my best friend.

15th October 2012:
This is so sweet. I enjoyed reading it very much.
Keep up the good work.

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked it! Thanks for the review! :D

 Report Review

Review #12, by PhoenixPulse You're my best friend.

15th October 2012:
Hey dearie, so I know I haven't stopped by and reviewed anything of yours in a while (a few days can sometimes feel like ages), so I decided to come around and take a look at what you have. (Please don't think I dissapeared on you) And then I saw this, and I couldn't help but click because Romione is one of my favorite cannon ships.

So anywho. THIS WAS LOVELY!

I love how Ron's feelings for Hermione progresses throughout the story. I couldn't help but chuckle at the beginning, thinking, "oh Ron, you dope!" but as the story continued, he became really sweet, and protective. I find him an adorable, complex character and I was so peed off when I saw an interview of Rowling stating she was planning on killing him off. It made me so mad.

I also like how you differentiated Harry being Ron's best mate and Hermione being his best friend. You really did bring out that difference, and I do see where Hermione was able to bond with him where Harry wasn't. I honestly think that's the same with Harry's relationship with the two as well. Hermione is his best friend, where Ron's his best mate, because there's complex sides to Harry where Ron himself couldn't reach. It's funny, it seems like Hermione's their median; she's balances things out. You distinguished their relationships with each other wonderfully.

My favorite part to this was your scene depicting the Yule Ball. I love your insight of how Ron's jealous of Krum, yet he hasn't gotten the slightest clue that he fancies Hermione; he still views her as his best friend. (Well, maybe he does have a teensy clue, he's just not aware of it) It was really cute, and I couldn't help but think, "You dope, Ron! Ya' should've asked her!" but no. He blames his nerves -_-

And I love this line:

"He feels like he is home again and he suddenly understands the saying, Home is where the heart is.
His home is with Hermione because she is his special friend."


That was a really heartwarming line, and I really do think that's exactly how he felt in the book. His desperation to be back with her is finally sufficed, and to him it really doesn't matter what's going on, as long as he's with her, it's all going to be okay. (At least, that's how I see it).

So overall, this was a beautiful story, focusing on Ron's stages of feelings for Hermione. It's short, simple, light, and fluffy. Just a great story all around!

Author's Response: Hello there! Don't worry, I still love you! (In a non-creepy way of course)

Romione is one of my favourites as well, they're just so perfect for each other erhmagerd! ♥

AHHH THANK YOU! I'M GLAD YOU THOUGHT IT WAS LOVELY!

Ron is a bit of a dope, isn't he? :p He's a typical boy! Every time someone mentions Ron might have been killed off, my heart stops. I could never imagine Ron dead, I get so scared at the thought of it. I just want to wrap my arms around him and scream, "NOOO! YOU CAN'T TAKE HIM AWAY!"

I should be worried that I get this obsessive with fictional characters... but I'm not! :p

Hermione is the median between Ron and Harry, they wouldn't have been such a tightly-knit group if it wasn't for Hermione in my eyes. She's the one who talks about feelings and icky stuff like that! xD

The Yule Ball was actually my favourite bit to write, it was so funny writing Ron's mind because I know he likes her but he doesn't know that he likes her! Had lots of fun in that bit! :p

Aww, thank you! You saw it right, Ron knows when he is with Hermione he will be okay. He's an adorable boy, that Ronald! :D

Thank you so much! I'm glad you liked it! Thank you so much for reviewing, I don't deserve all these lovely reviews! I haven't gotten to your second story yet! You're too fast for me! D:

AND BY THE WAY YOU'RE MY TWO HUNDREDTH REVIEW AS AN AUTHOR, THANK YOU SO MUCH! ♥ *chases trying to give you a hug.*


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login