Reading Reviews for Triumph
  
14 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Sjp one

24th August 2014:
Great beginning. I'm excited to read on.

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm very happy you enjoyed this :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by MinMcG four

2nd September 2013:
Great chapter! I'm really enjoying the story!!

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm very happy you like it! :)

 Report Review

Review #3, by naflower05 four

1st September 2013:
really good story so far! I really like it! update again soon please! =]

Author's Response: Thank you!
I will update really soon, never fear. Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #4, by BluebirdBrigade one

11th July 2013:
I've read this first chapter so many times - how about this time, I give it a review and carry on now that you've updated ahah :P

I absolutely love Sally, more specifically I love her thought process. I think it was a good choice to write it in third person as to me it was like watching a film in my head. Your description and narration was so vivid and clear that I could just see how Sally was going through tryouts. Never have I felt so sympathetic for a character than when she didn't make it as a seeker, her favoured position (I seriously just wanted to smush her and give her a cuddle) but when she got her second chance at trying out for a beater I was so pumped.

I was like an actual supporter. I have been told that when I read something I really like, I smile like a total idiot or squeal or something and that was all happening when I read this. I'm shipping Sally/Sirius already even though its the first chapter! I loved the way James was so serious actually, you really showed that he truly cares about quidditch and that he's passionate about it. He doesn't let anybody mess around - which we get from the first line!

I have a feeling that you are gonna be harsh on Sally - not gonna give her the easy life as I can tell from the ups and downs of this very emotional piece by the way I was like 'No!' one minute and 'Yes!' the other. Extremely glad Dodson didn't make it on the team, he seemed like a right pleb and wasn't exactly favoured by Sirius and James either.

I absolutely adored this Jenny and I can't wait to read on. And after that I want you to do the impossible and update every single day. ;) anyway, awesome job - my amazing writer friend. You should definitely podcast this. It is so good and would totally be amazing podcasted!

Mazzayy x

 Report Review

Review #5, by noortje three

1st July 2013:
An interesting beginning! First of all, I like your writing style. A nice level of descriptiveness, but not at cost to the pace. And then, of course, Sally is very interesting. I'm not entirely sure of her character yet, but she's certainly very unusual. I hope we see more of her wit, it's unexpected yet fitting. Sirius, Peter, Remus and James are all spot on, in my opinion, so great job there. I'm interested to see where this goes :D Also, good on you for a story about a lady beater! (there's a real lack of those!)

-Elle

Author's Response: Hey! Thanks- I'm glad you like the amount of description, I don't usually use a lot so I'm happy I'm not using too much!
And wooo lady beater! Sally is so determined and tough, I couldn't see her in any other position.
Thanks for the review! It means a lot.


 Report Review

Review #6, by intothether two

25th February 2013:
Okay, I take back what I said in the last chapter. I'm not sure if this fic is going to be Sally/Sirius, it could probably turn out to be Sally/Remus and I'm not sure which one I prefer. Also, I don't think I want to bet my money on either. Haha.

The only bit I didn't get in this chapter is the part about the Slytherin captain attending the Gryffindor quidditch sessions, but I guess we'll find out in the next chapter.

Good work! :)

 Report Review

Review #7, by intothether one

25th February 2013:
First things first: What I like the most about this story is the complete normalcy. I like that you didn't portray James and Sirius as hot hunks with an entire platoon of fan girls behind them like most fan fiction writers are wont to do.

Second things second: Sally. Hell yeah I like her. Also the fact that Ellen Page on the banner looks completely gorgeous haha, but I'll just skip over that. I was surprised when she didn't make seeker, but the twist just made it better.

Third thing third: I can bet all my money this is going to be Sally/Sirius.

Fourth thing last: I can tell but just this one chapter that this story is one I want to see to the end. Added to favorites! :)

 Report Review

Review #8, by jj two

10th February 2013:
you're a great writer! I love this story so far, please add more soon! :)

Author's Response: thanks so much, I'm glad you're enjoying it :)

 Report Review

Review #9, by CloakAuror9 one

27th January 2013:
Hey, where's the next chapter?! :P

I absolutely love this. I'm not really a fan of quidditch centred fanfics but I'm learning to how tolerate them, sometimes even love them.

I'm so happy Sally got a position in the Gryffindor quidditch team, even though it might not be what she wanted initially but at least she's got a position! I wanted to throw my laptop at wall when she didn't get the seeker's position.

I really like Sally's character. She's not one of those people that easily achieve something, but she doesn't give up that quickly. I only know one person like that in real life and while I was reading this I was picturing her as Sally. Weird, I know.

The chapter was amazing. I thought the pace was perfect and you had the perfect amount of description. It's just perfect and I don't know what to say any more. :P ♥. Really amazing job, I can't wait for chapter two! :D

~Izzy

52nd review out of 100

 Report Review

Review #10, by soufflegirl99 one

26th October 2012:
This is so so so brilliant!!

It really has the reader stuck in the story, and when she didn't get the seeker job I swear I had to restrain myself from punching the computer.

The twist with the seeker position and the beater position is done amazingly - sometimes when that kind of plot is used it can be a bit fake and cheesy, but it's absolutely wonderful in this context. It gives the reader a roller coaster of emotion - the anxiety on the pitch, the intensity of the seeker scene, the sadness as she fails and then the awesomeness as she gets beater, all beautifully wrapped up in one delightful chapter.

I love the way she's a Wood - that's so awesome and original - and the way you describe Sirius is perfect. Lazy and nonchalant yet actually very good at it. The description is of a perfect amount - enough to make it very realistic, yet not too much to still keep the reader interested.

As far as stories go, this one's fantastic and I'd like to see a lot more of Jenny!! :)

 Report Review

Review #11, by Dezire_427 one

23rd October 2012:
To say that I enjoyed it would be a gross understatement.

People tell me I have a tendency to exaggerate, but I swear I love this already, even though it's only been one chapter. Ugh, why do you have to be such a brilliant writer?!

What initially attracted me to this story was the summary : short and effective, easily one of the best i've ever read. It'll have to go on my bedroom wall.

As for Sally herself, I think she's an awesome character...quite and lonely-ish, very sombre and serious, but nevertheless, ambitious, if her wish to 'make this year mine' is anything to go by. She's easy to understand, and I love her POV, especially the way she feels that her best efforts are only acceptable, and her internal monolouge about time. Believe me, I have that 'there's only so many hours in a day, only so many days in a week...' thing all the time.

I also loved the way you carried this chapter, high and low and then high again. The disappointment at not being selected for Seeker, and then surprise at getting the Beater's position instead were very nicely depicted.

All in all, Sally Wood is a character I can easily relate to, and i'm really looking forward to witnessing her trial and triumph.

Cupcakes and chocolate,
-Akansha.
P.S. I may be miles off here, but do I sense a budding Sally/Sirius romance here? Just guessing. :)
P.P.S. Thanks for your kind review on Antagonist; it made my day. I would love it if you'd check out my novel too, your opinions mean the solar system to me.

 Report Review

Review #12, by taps_017 one

19th October 2012:
This is a really good start - looking forward to reading more, please update soon :)

Author's Response: Thanks, hopefully I'll be writing/submitting the next chapter pretty soon! :D I'm so happy you liked it :)

 Report Review

Review #13, by CoverUps one

13th October 2012:
I find that I sort of like this... at the end of the chapter I found myself looking for the 'next' buttom because I wanted to read more, so yes, I think I like this. It might also have to do with the fact that your writing is much better than a lot of what I've seen in this site (I usually can't finish one chapter because the writing is that bad)

Author's Response: ahaha, I know what you mean, and I'm very happy that I don't fall into that category for you. Thanks very much for reading, and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #14, by PhoenixFeather281 one

7th October 2012:
Liking it so far, think it'll turn out to be a great story! Keep writing :)

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing, I'm glad you like it! :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login