Reading Reviews for Against the Dying of the Light
  
33 Reviews Found

Review #1, by ohnobeans scream

6th June 2014:
I love the idea of the daughter of Lavender Brown being all evil and nasty and kind of mad! I think the idea of a post Voldemort world that's not perfect is refreshing.

 Report Review

Review #2, by Dragonet sink

7th September 2013:
UGH GIVE ME MORE PLEASE PLEASE I HAVE TO KNOWWW!! This is a really excellent story, very dark, very subsersive, very unexpected in places. You've really captured the essence of the character's insanity, almost self-inflicted there, I love it! Please write more!

Author's Response: Thank youu! I will indeed be putting the enxt chapter up soon. I've been honestly awful at updating recently due to various real life events, but I'll get back into the swing of things eventually! -Annon

 Report Review

Review #3, by blackzero skin

5th June 2013:
I just read the first chapter and got thunderstruck. Superb

Author's Response: Wow, that's great! Thank you so much for reviewing. xx

 Report Review

Review #4, by patronus_charm sink

23rd May 2013:
Is it bad that Roxanne is warming to me? I think itís her naivety and the sweetness she had despite her suffering so much. Also, sheís the only character Lila sees in a mildly positive light so thatís bound to draw me in. I really want to know what could have caused her so much trauma and worry to do the thing with the elastic band and cause her to enhance the pain. The only positive of that was that Lila didnít seem too keen on it.

Then Albus Potter intrigues me to. First duelling with Lila, and showing an obvious interest in her. Then asking her to meet him in the astronomy tower. I wonder what would have happened if Lila had ended up going there. I guess the part at the end of this chapter about knowing everything that happened to her mother is what made him interested in her. what he knows about her mum is the question though.

Ah breakthrough moment! She mentioned she would pay what her Ďdaddy dearestí did to her mum and then the eating of raw meant. This can only mean one thing and explains her hatred of everyone and thing her dadís Greyback! I hope Iím right as thatís my only explanation for it, and I seriously never saw that coming. Then the title of it makes sense too, as she wouldnít want the sun to set with the whole werewolf thing.

You canít leave us on a cliff-hanger like that so I hope thereís another chapter soon :D

-Kiana

 Report Review

Review #5, by patronus_charm flow

23rd May 2013:
Hey there!

Wow Lila really is tortured. There are so many complexities about her Iíve got to be careful not to analyse every single one and the meaning behind them otherwise it will turn into an English essay. I really like all her hints about her mother and the one about how sheís changed since Greyback bit her as itís interesting to see sheís so affected by it as I never thought that much about the bite. I really canít wait to meet her.

Then the thing with her and Roxanne, which is again really interesting. I almost thought that Lila hated her from the way she seemed to be annoyed by her and didnít want to help her through her depression then when she mentioned the kiss between them it just confused me even more. I think thatís why I like it because of all the complexities and it really does make it a fascinating thing to read.

One thing I really did like was the way you showed us that Lila and Roxanne are suffering and didnít directly say, it added so much to the story. Admittedly I donít have much experience with depression myself, but I know people who have and it all seems to be really accurate from what they told me. Iím intrigued about the comment about Roxanne and the lake as it would be interesting to know the reason behind it.

Iím still not entirely sure of Albus. Obviously weíre seeing him through Lilaís eyes so itís going to be negative version of him, but he does seem to be a nice person. I think it was the way he stuck up for Lily after what Lila did to her and the way he offered to take her to the Hospital Wing, then again, he may have just done that to annoy her. These people are so complex I suppose Iíll never really know!

Anyhow those were another great two chapters and I canít wait to read on :D

-Kiana

 Report Review

Review #6, by patronus_charm skin

12th May 2013:
Hey there! I saw that you were nominated for most thought provoking Diadem and Iíd been meaning to check this story out for a while, so now seemed like a great time!

Wow. That is all I can really see about this chapter, and wow in a good way mind. I can definitely see why it was nominated for that diadem. Iím just blown away by it all really, and Iím so glad that I clicked on it. It was just amazing.

It didnít connect for a while that Lila was Lavenderís daughter, but when I found out it made perfect sense, and it really fitted with the bitter and slightly evil character you built her up to be. I think it was a really brave step to make your main character hate on everything, but it was really effective because I really felt as if I knew her even though it was only after the first chapter.

I canít wait to learn more about Lavender, and what sheís been getting up to and whose Lilaís father, as itís obviously had an effect on her if she acts in this away. Her emotions are so deep, and I can relate to them even after chapter one. Ah this was just a perfect chapter really.

And Albus Potter is sort of evil too. I rarely see that done, but I really liked it. I always imagined that the next gen children wouldnít be as perfect as theyíre usually portrayed to be so itís a real delight to read how youíre portraying them here.

Your overall style is really lovely and easy to read and the descriptions were great. You have a new follower of your story, and I will be back as soon as revision lets me :D

-Kiana

 Report Review

Review #7, by ValWitch21 sink

16th April 2013:
ANNON! (Yes I know I greet you this way every time, but your presence is too sporadic for my taste so I am obliged to enthuse about your appearance).

That sentence was quite a mouthful, anyway, HELLO YOU I AM HAPPY TO SEE YOU AND LILA BACK.

I like that Lila's middle name is Rosaline (and depsite everything she says, it fits her) -- it softens her, makes her less agressive.

I have a theory about Lavender, except I don't want to express it here in case people read this. So, I will PM you soon, if I remember to, and also I apologise for this rambliness.

&hearts

Author's Response: VAL I MUST ENTHUSE ABOUT YOUR APPEARANCE WITH GREAT RAMBUNCTION ALSO
HELLO
HEY
HI
THANK YOU FOR COMING BACK
Ooh I am interested in this Lavender theory. ;)

xox Annon


 Report Review

Review #8, by HorseMad99 sink

15th April 2013:
Oh my god. Rhiannon are you trying to wrench my heart in multiple little pieces because you succeeded :(

Author's Response: Mwahahahahahahaha I feel like steven moffat
ily Beth :D :D


 Report Review

Review #9, by Solo sink

15th April 2013:
I love this story, it's such a breath of fresh air on here! Excellent writing, I'm so very envious of your characterisation.

Author's Response: I'm so so glad you like it! I've enjoyed writing this a lot and I'm pleased you think it's original. As for characterisation, I'm a little scared at how I manage to write Lila apparently so successfully??
Thanks for reviewing! I love you :3


 Report Review

Review #10, by AlexFan skin

1st April 2013:
Woah, your main character is scary. I would say she's a psychopath but she doesn't fit the description of one so I'll just think of her as crazy or mentally unstable.

I'm curious as to what was going on at the beginning because obviously Lila is hunting someone down but has she turned into a werewolf or something because it sure sounds like that.

I feel bad for the little girl that she nearly broke the arm of, she must be terrified.

I like the ending though even if the teacher is smoking (although that isn't much of a big deal for me). There doesn't seem to be any grammar or punctuation errors so great job on that and Lila has already started to develop as a character.

Great job!

P. S. you're my 700th review so I'm excited!

Author's Response: I am honoured to be your 700th review omg! *looks at own woeful review count*

Lila is definitely mentally and emotionally unstable. She did have a bad childhood and therefore has trust issues, but she is also just an unpleasant person.

She doesn't turn into a werewolf at the start, but she is part werewolf so I guess those were her more canine instincts coming through, the fact that she enjoys causing fear, pain etc.

Thank you for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #11, by PorridgeWomanEndings14 lines

30th March 2013:
I love this so much- dark/evil characters are my favorite, and I wish I could write them. Alas, I cannot, and they are my HPFF addiction.

I especially love Roxanne. I like the fact that Lila has a friend that is like the anti-Lila, and that together, they are almost normal. Update soon!

Simone

Author's Response: Hello! Thank you so much for reviewing i love you ok?! And yes haha I agreee. Dark characters are so much fun to write, and Lila is slightly insane so it's fabulous. Nothing is too weird to write about!! Have a go writing them, honestly! I didn't think I could write them but it came surprisingly naturally... hopefully that doesn't say too much about me... :P

-Annon


 Report Review

Review #12, by rez lines

16th March 2013:
wow, I love this so much! you're such an expressive writer, in other stories lack of dialogue can get boring but even when it's just Lila's thoughts it's fascinating stuff, shall definitely be looking forward to updates

Author's Response: IT'S BECAUSE SHE'S SO INSANE HAHAHAHA
Sorry that make same sound like a psycho too. Maybe I am? ;D
Thank you for the flattering review! I will update very soon hopefully maybe xxx


 Report Review

Review #13, by kolly lines

11th March 2013:
"The way she looks the most beautiful when she doesnít quite know what to feel."
That's quite beautiful. I want to keep reading simply because I have no clue what to think about each of the characters.
Fascinating narration so far. Looking forward to your next chapter!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for this review! I've loved writing this crazy story and it seems that people like it at the moment? idk but anyway THANK YOU I LOVE YOU

 Report Review

Review #14, by ValWitch21 lines

9th March 2013:
ANNON! *rolls down hill and tackles in a hug* I'VE MISSED YOU AND YOUR WRITING AND LILA AND ALBUS AND WHAT DID I JUST READ!

I am so, so, so, so thankful Lila doesn't follow Roxanne down this one, because she's not capable of it. Thank you. You have no idea exactly how much this means to me.

Albus, what are you doing? Do you fancy yourself dead? Lila will probably go, just for the curiosity of it. I hope.

Such an amazing chapter! I love the way we really get into Lila's head. Great job &hearts

Author's Response: *hug tackles back*
Hello Val! THANK YOU SO MUCH SO MANY COOKIES ON THEIR WAY TO YOU RIGHT NOW.
No I don't think I could have dealt with Lila starting self harming it would be too hard to 1) write and 2) keep within the ToS and 3)personal reasons

Ahha will she though? Thank you lovely xox


 Report Review

Review #15, by feathers101 lines

7th March 2013:
Wow, thank you so much for updating! I am incredibly impressed with your ridiculously brilliant writing! I can't get over how wonderful your writing is; I have to read every chapter dozens of times. Please please please keep writing more.

Author's Response: Thank YOU for such a lovely review! You have no idea oh my god this has really made me feel better after a horrible horrible day. You read every chapter dozens of times? IM CRYING
LET ME HUG YOU
I LOVE YOU OK


 Report Review

Review #16, by Emma flow

10th January 2013:
the story is wonderful and I cant wait for more

Author's Response: wow thank you! The next chapter is in the queue xx

 Report Review

Review #17, by feathers101 flow

9th December 2012:
I loved the last chapter! Thank you so much for updating!

Author's Response: You're welcome! Thank YOU for reviewing :) √ʬô¬•

 Report Review

Review #18, by ValWitch21 flow

9th December 2012:
Annon, you're on a roll!

ZOMG THIS CHAPTER WAS AWESOME AND HORRIBLE AND I'M JUST A PUDDLE OF FEELS RIGHT NOW.

Lila is so tortured, I feel like giving her a hug - well, you know, from a safe distance or something. She seems to fit much more with Roxanne than with Albus, and I honestly hope you don't get her to end up with the latter (shush, Lilbus shipping feels).

Merry Christmas to you too!

&hearts

Author's Response: Aww thank you so much! I know it's mean of me but I'm very pleased to hear that my story has reduced you to a puddle of feels :p Lila is very confused and messed up, yes. Poor girl. But the thing is, she also brings it down on herself. And no don't give her a hug, she'd probably attack you! :D

Hmm I know what you mean. I'm not very good at writing slash though, so I'm going to see how things go. :)
Thank you for reviewing Val!! xx


 Report Review

Review #19, by Aphoride raw

9th December 2012:
Hey there, Annon! I saw your thread this morning and couldn't resist the chance to jump back into Lila's mind and story, so here I am!

This chapter was just as intense as the first. I don't know how you do it - focus so much energy into the chapters and keep it there for the whole time. It might be to do with Lila's character or your writing, but whatever it is, it works so well with the story and really makes me keep reading.

Lila is quite honestly terrifying. I think I'd only feel safe around her if I was with someone like Kingsley or Moody, you know? She's mad enough to be funny, but sane enough that it's just terrifying, because she knows what she's doing and that it hurts people but she doesn't care and does it anyway. And it's that awareness, despite everything, which scares me. Gah, I need an Auror bodyguard when I read this, lol.

I love how you're bringing in the Next Gen kids we all know and love in various forms - Lily, Roxanne, Albus - and seeing how Lila reacts to them. She's so harsh to everyone and isn't scared of anyone, except perhaps Albus from that confrontation, and just puts up with Roxanne in a kinda weird way. It's not really a healthy friendship, I don't think.

Also, Albus? Roxanne?! Lila's lovelife is looking a little busier (can you even call her lovelife a lovelife? Should it be more a 'not-hate life'? lol) now :P I loved the little touches you put to them and the new bits of Lila we saw - like her hating number thirteen, Roxanne trying to do her own tattoo, Albus being so protective of Lily and hating Lila but being somewhat compassionate at the same time. Even now, they feel pretty real.

Gah, I really wanna know what happens in the next chapter now... - how Lila reacts and everything... such a cliffie you left there... so unfair... ;)

Anyway, this was a really great chapter and I really enjoyed it!

Aph xx

Author's Response: Hi Aph! Thank you for such an amazing review :O I'm so pleased you decided to come back.

To be honest, I'm not quite sure how the story got to be so intense either. I wasn't planning to make it so focused and emotional, but there we go. It is a good thing for me to write, because humour gets a little boring after a while and I like to expand my genre and techniques and things.

The thing about Lila is that she doesn't care about the risks to herself; getting expelled, or detention or anything. So she wouldn't hesitate to lash out or do something totally unexpected. I think that yes, it would be advisable to encounter her with a trained Auror!

Lila doesn't do healthy friendships really, but I am hoping to evolve her relationship with both Roxanne and Albus!

Thank you for such a flattering review!!
xx


 Report Review

Review #20, by AC_rules skin

8th December 2012:
Ack, okay I love this.

I mean, she is pure evil and it's delightful. Not even in the way that people sometimes write evil characters, either, but she's just... wow. There was just something so excellent about her somewhat violent (and slightly beyond) tenancies and her just existing in Hogwarts and accckk, LWG, I realllyyy like it and I'm going to add it to my favourites. I love stuff like this that's a little bit messed up and leaves you a tad unsettled, and I don't think I've ever read such a smooth piece of writing with such a... unique main character.

The last bit, ack ack akc, that last line was just so great that I can't get my head around it. I loved the bit about the sword. Wonderful. Is she a gryffindor? How is this going to turn into a longer story? I can't wait to reaadd morreee. Love it.

Happy writing :)

-AC

Author's Response: FEELING SO FLATTERED RIGHT NOW.

I must admit, I feel delightfully evil when I'm writing this story actually. There's something so satisfying about writing characters such as Lila - well, to me anyway. And I often have to ask myself whether I'm overdoing it a bit; I mean, it's not entirely realistic is it. :P But yes, I wanted Lila to be unique, so I just kept pushing the ToS boundaries- and will continue to do so. ;D

No she's not Gryffindor, she's in Slytherin, but I can see why you might think she's gryffindor!

THANK YOU!!

-LWG :)


 Report Review

Review #21, by CambAngst skin

31st October 2012:
Tagging you from the Review Tag thread.

This was really fascinating. Very unique and far-removed from the vast majority of Next Gen fics on HPFF. In a relatively short space, you've built up a very interesting, well-defined and rather frightening main character. The seething rage and aggression that fills her is almost tangible the way that you write it. The violence she inflicts on those around her doesn't seem born out of any particular affliction that I can pick out. She simply hurts people because she likes hurting them. She likes the feeling of power that it gives her. You're doing a terrific job of avoiding all of the usual cliches so far.

Her pursuit of the first-year boy that she eventually jinxes had me more than a bit convinced that she was a werewolf. There was a very primal feeling to that section. The blending of sights and sounds and sensations was very vivid and a clever way to paint the scene in the reader's mind. Then to discover that it's all about something as silly as a quill -- or perhaps even more frighteningly that it isn't really about a quill at all -- made her seem even more raw and sadistic. I loved it, really.

It seems like she has an equal and opposite of sorts -- at least a worthy nemesis -- in Albus Potter. That sets the stage for a lot of very interesting confrontations. In the end, it seems that she gets the better of him, although not without considerable effort. And she's good with a knife, which immediately made me think of Sollozzo in the Godfather for some strange reason. For his part, Al was a different sort of intimidating presence to me. Confident, vaguely menacing but without the undertones of sadism and unnecessary violence. More refined, if you will. It's a very believable and somewhat traditional characterization for Harry's middle child.

The scene with the new History of Magic professor was brutally chilling. I loved the subtle aspect of her personality that her preference for ending Voldemort's life betrayed. The smoking teacher? Eh, honestly I think you could have been alright without that detail, but I definitely understand how you can sometimes get a picture of a scene in your mind and anything less just won't do. It didn't ruin anything for me.

Your writing was fantastic in this. Everything flowed beautifully and the abrupt nature of the dialog really complimented the mood. You used more profanity that I usually like in a story, but it didn't seem out of place at all. My hat is off to you. You're a great storyteller and a very good writer. I hope I get to read more of this!

Author's Response: Hello there! I'm awfully sorry at how long it's taken me to respond to this review *hangs head in shame*. Truth is, I wasn't sure how to! It's so brilliant and amazing and helpful, I didn't want to mess it up with a lame response.

But I'm facing my fears. xD

I'm really encourage by all the things you've been saying in this review, because it makes me feel that people are interpreting the story the way I wanted them to, and not getting the wrong end of the stick.

Yes, Lila is addicted to power. She has to be in control all the time, she has to let out the rage that constantly consumes her - and she does this by hurting others. She's a horrible, evil character and is so much fun to write.

Well, the werewolf aspect comes into her characterisation slightly as well. Of course, it's not very plausible for her to be more than a TINY bit animalistic/feral, seeing as her mum wasn't even bitten properly, but I'd like to imagine that some of the raw primal instincts have filtered down to her.

Hmm... if I'm honest with you Albus's character sort of sprung into shape of its own accord. I don't have any clear guidelines as to the way he should act, which I'm certainly working on. But I like the way you perceived him! :)

I have quite a bit planned for the history of magic teacher!

I'm truly honoured to get such an amazing, flattering review from you. I can't thank you enough for the time and trouble you took to do this for me!


 Report Review

Review #22, by TheGoldenKneazle raw

29th October 2012:
SO MUCH DELICIOUS EVILNESS. This will be a rubbishy review because I'm heading over to your lovely PM to give proper feedback there but I do love Lila's creepiness. Such hate in a character is unusual - the only people who I feel come close are Pippa Nott and etc.etc.'s Albus - but I really enjoy it :D

It was nice to meet Roxanne! She's very enigmatic, I hope we see more of her (although the ending was slightly WTH?!-y... eh what) and she seems nicely evil too >:D and more Albus!! HE'S SO DELICIOUSLY ANTI-EVIL, I hope Lila brings him down with maximum sexual tension and minimum cliche.

I am clearly getting far too into this evil business, but I do like reading a less fiesty Lily II; it's nice and original!!

BACKSTORAY, WOOHOO~ It was awesome to know more about Lila's evil ways and why she's such a sun-sucker (fine, I made that weird word up) because all I want to do now is KNOW MOAR 8D

so FANTASTIC JOB ANNON!!
~Lottie xox

Author's Response: HEY THERE. Gaww this isn't a rubbish review, this is a very lovely review indeed!! Thank you. :3

Hmm yes SDF's Pippa is pretty similiar... but nicer... and less insane. There is something sort of refreshing about reading (and writing) about "evil" characters.

Yeah, Roxanne and Lila huh? It's not really a slash and it wasn't originally going to have any mention of slash but ... err ... it wrote itself? :P
Roxanne's a bit of a weirdo too - what with the whole gothic style and the tattoo.

Maximum sexual tension and minimal cliche! I like it! (but may need some help with it :3)

sun-sucker describes Lila so well omg! YAY FOR BACKSTORIES. There will be more backstory. Soon. Maybe.

thank youu
xoxoxox


 Report Review

Review #23, by caoty skin

28th October 2012:
Hey, I'm here from tag.

Your language is lovely. You've really got that tactile imagery down; the running at the beginning actually felt physically painful to read, which is fantastic.
And all the violence is described in perfect detail, leaving us no illusions as to what kind of person Lila Brown is. (I can tell you've been having fun with all this bullying and dominance. It's fun to read, too.)

Poor Lavender. First she's scarred for life when she's a teenager, then she has to become a sex worker with all the stigma attached to it, and then she has a beast from the fires of Hell as a daughter. Will we meet her as the story progresses?

And the ever so mysterious History of Magic teacher. He seems to understand Lila, and he seems to be a bit of a character himself. I'm intrigued.

Well done on this so far, and I may pop in again at some point to see how this novel gets on, so stay tuned.

Author's Response: Hello! Thank you for the review. :)

That's such a great compliment, thank you. I was aiming for a more sensual, abstract kind of narrative. The violence sort of adds to that because it's quite unexpected and strange really - but yes you're right, it leaves no illusions as to Lila's character.

Lavender will certainly make an appearance. As Lila's mum, she has a large part to play in the plot - and indeed Lila's characterisation.

Ack thank you! I'd love that :)

-LWG


 Report Review

Review #24, by No_oneKnows raw

19th October 2012:
Ack I honestly love the way you write! It's captivating and flows very, very well that I don't want it to stop!

One point that I honestly loved:

Potter shoots me a derisive look. "Go to hell."

I cackle, "Oh, but I'm already there."


I love Lila so much and this chapter gave a lot of food for thought. Roxanne? very, very intriguing character. and what ever happened to Lavender? another very interesting plot line happening there.

I love this story :D that's all I can say!

Author's Response: Hi! Thank you so much, that is such an amazing thing to hear. :D I LOVE YOU FOR THIS REVIEW. It means a lot to me. Thank you.
xxx


 Report Review

Review #25, by ValWitch21 raw

19th October 2012:
Awesome chapter again, I can't wait for the next one! :)

Author's Response: THANK YOU SO MUCH ASDFGHJKL :3 xxx

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>