Reading Reviews for Keep Calm and Carry On
  
363 Reviews Found

Review #1, by KoetjeBoetje Good Decisions

13th December 2014:
Oh my gerd, I love this story!

I started reading yesterday evening and was not able to put it aside. Eventually, when my eyes were closing on their own accord, I decided I would continue the next day. Now I've finished this chapter and I want more!

This story makes me clap my hands and laugh out loud when something funny happens (which is often!), but it also makes me moan in sympathy when something bad happens to Edie. I love the characters!

Keep the chapters coming, I am looking forward to reading them! :D

Author's Response: Hiya! Thanks so much for taking the time to review. It means so much when people say they read this whole thing in one go (or in your case, two.) Seriously, that is so flattering!

I was having a problem with chapter 26. I had the whole thing written but I didn't like it at all... But I finally had my stroke of creativity today (if you want to call it that) and have some stronger ideas. I'll hopefully have it done by the end of the month, maybe before the queue closure!

Thanks again dearie ♥


 Report Review

Review #2, by TumTum Good Decisions

13th October 2014:
Oh man this story is so funny and I'm on tender hooks wanting everything to work out. I love Edie, she's so down to earth; I like that she burps and drinks too much and blushes a lot. That said there have been whole chapters where I have just wanted to shake her and tell her to get her priorities straight - like this chapter for example. What on earth is wrong with her that she's willing to let things get that bad between her, her friends and even Oliver. Just ugh get a grip girl. Each time someone pointed out how cruel or just immoral her news stories are and she gets all surprised like 'oh really? Is it?' I want to yell 'Of course it is! How can you be in that much denial'. I do somewhat understand - she's insecure and very critical of herself and others and she's had it tough with men and her career but it makes me hate her a little and wonder what daft stunt she's going to have to pull to make up for it. I can see that some of the other characters think the same thing and I admire your commitment to making a flawed character who is still believably human.

I'd like to say that I hope that it all works out ok but I also really hope Edie has to face how badly she's behaved and maybe, you know, gets her head out from her behind and grows back some sense of integrity. And makes it up to the people she's hurt. It just really annoys me that Oliver, while his initial behaviour is awful and she was right to be as angry as she was (I thought she was amazing), is being so thoughtful and honest now and she doesn't feel the need to keep up her end of things... with anyone? I don't feel like all that self pitying she's been doing and that I expect her to do is a relevant excuse.

Anyway, that aside I loved the other characters in this, especially Seamus and Dean, they're hilarious and the writing is super compelling. I like that Oliver was so detestable at first but that he has grown on her and us as the reader. I especially like when he tries to hide his smile with his hand and his awkwardness is adorable.

My only criticism of the writing is that, in the earlier chapters, Edie spends an awful lot of time dwelling on Rose's and Lisa's appearance. I know that she was insecure but honestly I felt like I didn't get to know much about Lisa at all, except that she is much prettier and thinner and more I don't know? Submissive that Edie (in Edie's opinion) until several chapters later. And this from the supposedly passionate feminist.

Author's Response: Hello! Thank you for taking the time to leave such a thoughtful review. I truly appreciate your constructive criticism!

You've definitely hit the nail on the head with Edie. Flawed, flawed, flawed--and there's the irony, right? I don't want to give too much away (ahhh, it'll all happen soon, I promise!) but she definitely does have her hypocrisy called to her attention. I liked the idea of this deeply flawed protagonist, especially because she's a woman. Maybe I was reading too much Game of Thrones and watching too much Girls, haha. It doesn't seem like you feel weird about your opinion of Edie (and you shouldn't!) There were times that I wanted to shake her myself. I don't know what it is, but I really love creating imperfect characters. Not quite to the level of Hannah Horvath, if you follow Girls at all, but she definitely is one of the inspirations for this story! Maybe I can coax you into continuing with KC&CO if I tell you that Edie will indeed see things in their proper light?

I totally agree with pretty much everything you've said. There's only one bit I want to contest--and really, I am just playing devil's advocate because I think your review is really honest and I appreciate that. It's what you mentioned about her job, and the articles she wrote. Getting a job was more important to her than anything (maybe another flaw?), including relationships with friends and romantic interests. This I can totally sympathise with, as somebody who's received enough rejection letters to wallpaper my entire flat. But I can also see your point. Much of her cruelty towards Oliver was personal. Things like this are actually difficult to write, because *I* can see that she's being an idiot sometimes, and *you* can see that she's being an idiot... but stubborn ol' Edie just can't.

Ooooh, good point. You are totally right about Lisa and Rose, and their appearances! As I've been harking, the early chapters need a serious re-vamping. I like giving physical descriptions of characters, but somewhere in the back of my mind is still the notion that if you describe your MC too much then she's a Mary-Sue. Obviously this is not true--it's definitely a flaw in my writing. I appreciate you pointing that out! I'll make a note of that for my edits, for sure.

Thank you again for leaving such a helpful review!



 Report Review

Review #3, by coleridgeandco Good Decisions

9th October 2014:
This is seriously one of the best fanfictions I've ever read.
I love your 'political undertones', to quote your own story ( ;-P ) and I can't wait to see how you will develop the friendzone business!
This is awesome, you should know, and a very original piece of writing in its genre.

PS I'll be impatiently waiting and checking your page constantly to keep on procrastinating by reading KC&CO!

Author's Response: Oh, gosh, thank you! That's so kind. You have no idea how lovely that is to hear! Thank you very much ♥ As for updates, I should be working on this in the near future since I suddenly have so much free time *cough unemployed cough* So check back soon for more procrastination fuel~

 Report Review

Review #4, by nott theodore Good Decisions

16th September 2014:
Hello again!

AH SO MUCH FLUFF THIS IS AMAZING! I really love getting the chance to read about Oliver and Edie and all their cute moments now that they've finally talked to each other about their feelings and stopped being all obstinate and stupid about things not being able to happen between them. It's so great to read about them together in this chapter because we've been reading and hoping for them for so long and now they're finally getting there. Which is amazing.

Your description of the wedding is just amazing. Every little detail is painted so vividly that I can picture it in my mind - the music, the dancing, the order of it - I couldn't help laughing out loud when I read about Claire getting up to announce every single stage in the wedding and the party afterwards, because it's like it's been organised with military precision and even if the other guests don't want to do any of the things she's insisting on, they don't really get much of a choice since she's announcing the instructions to the whole party.

The detail and thought that you've put into the wedding really is great, though. And it really does fit well with what I imagine Justin wanting - some fancy location and everything done so properly, so that everyone is guaranteed to know that he's done well for himself and that he and Lisa are going to be successful. I'd love to see his family's reaction if they found out that Lisa was already pregnant :P

Talking of Lisa, I love the way that she's breezing around the wedding and doing so well with all the bride's duties, talking to all the guests and enjoying herself, but managing to stop herself from drinking anything by passing every glass she gets to Edie. I'm not sure Edie's the best choice given the way she sometimes behaves when she's drunk, but she's the maid of honour - it's one of her bridesmaid's responsibilities, right? She doesn't have a choice about whether she gets drunk or not, she just has to help Lisa :P

Ah, Dean. So there was something more than the fact that Edie hadn't been spending much time with him and Seamus recently, and I guess he kind of has got a point because they risked a lot for her by breaking into the building. But at the same time I'm really glad you wrote about the 'friendzone' and you did a great job of capturing the confusion and awkwardness that Edie felt when she realised that Dean was in love with her. I do feel sorry for him, but at the same time, Edie shouldn't feel guilty for not feeling the same way. I'm just hoping that in the future her and Dean can maybe get back to being just friends, although I doubt it, unfortunately, as it's normally really awkward.

Haha, Seamus wandering in and just having no idea what's going on :P He's so great, and I loved the way he was acting like Oliver's best friend and then didn't even realise the bartender was a man. Seamus is brilliant for comic value, as well as being a good friend.

Aw, Oliver and Edie are once again really cute (I'm feeling like I need to improve my vocabulary right now, I apologise!) and I love them getting to know a bit more about each other through normal, little conversations like this. Although Edie made me laugh so much after all her resolutions not to do anything, even kiss Oliver, and then by the end of the chapter she's just demanding that Oliver goes and takes her back to his place. Edie's just such a realistic character and that's fantastic - she makes mistakes, plenty of them, and has to live with them, but she's so likeable as well.

Ah, I'm a bit worried about the truth coming out about her articles, though! This was a great chapter!

Sian :)

Author's Response: Hello again! So sweet of you to leave two wonderful reviews. Thank you very much ♥

Hahaha "stopped being all obstinate and stupid." That's very true. (Maybe mostly Edie's stupidity, but we'll see...) I was very nervous writing this scene because I figured a lot of readers have been waiting for it forever (or those of you who don't still hate Oliver, anyway, hehe.) I was so scared I wouldn't do it justice! Turning Edie from completely helpless in the way of romance to *this* was nerve-wracking.

Ohh, Claire... I don't think the mother of the bride typically even has a role in weddings (at least that I've seen.) But Claire is certainly not letting that happen. Good thing sweet Lisa is as calm and laid back as she is, or things could have gotten very ugly...

Yeah! To be fair to Edie, she really did intend to stay sober for the night... But things didn't exactly go as planned. Like you said, though, she's just doing her job, right? ;)

Yeah, I really wanted Edie and Dean's relationship to not be as black-and-white as I've seen before. (Obviously in some cases that works, but it wouldn't for this story.) They're both good people, but they're in an unfortunate situation with no real remedy, so each of them is the victim and each of them is to blame in some way. Edie really does ask a lot of him, and even kind of uses him unknowingly (especially with breaking into Witch Weekly.) But she isn't required to have feelings for him because of it.

SEAMUS. I feel like I need to write a series of one-shots based on what's going on in Seamus's head. I'd imagine it at times to just be a little hamster on a wheel, or cheese sandwiches, or girls.

Yeah, Edie's resolve didn't last very long, did it? It very quickly went from "we should keep at a distance" to "well... I mean... we *could* kiss, I guess." I was nervous writing that whole part of the chapter, because I wanted to acknowledge that they weren't outwardly trying to be cruel to Rose. But I also wanted to stray away from the "forbidden romance," especially at a wedding. Hence Oliver and Edie didn't dance together or really even interact in any way that felt too "Grey's Anatomy" to me ;)

Oh, the articles. Shhh, Sian, just ignore them until they go away! That's what Edie's doing, at least.

Thank you again for your reviews! I can't wait to get back to writing this story. ♥


 Report Review

Review #5, by nott theodore Makeshift

16th September 2014:
Ah! Okay, so I finally got a few minutes to review the two latest chapters of this story (I don't have time to go back and review every chapter, but I can start from now, right?)

Edie's nervousness before the wedding was really cute. And she just can't concentrate on what she's meant to be doing, which is Seamus's hair (isn't Seamus old enough to do his own hair? It's not like he's the one getting married :P) and eventually her mum has to do it for her. At least she can now admit (to herself) why she's so nervous about going, and it's not really the fact that she's got a long journey via Portkey. That's a good sign!

And arriving right in the middle of a fight, that sounds so like something that would happen to Edie. The explanation of the fight made me laugh a lot, too - it's always those ridiculous sort of tensions that come along and cause a fight or something years later!

Dean! It's been a while since we saw him properly in this story and I have missed him, even though I've been preoccupied (like Edie) with all the other things that are going on in her life. He seemed to be acting a bit strange with her, so I'm intrigued about what's causing that... maybe just the fact that she's not been making time for him and he's annoyed about it? Or maybe there's something more to it...

Lisa ♥ I loved seeing the conversation between Edie and Lisa just before the wedding, and the way that even though she's meant to be helping her best friend with one of the biggest days in her life, Edie is still getting distracted by mentions of Oliver! It was nice to see the two of them though, before this massive moment in Lisa's life! Although I'm equally intrigued about why Oliver needed Justin to work as his lawyer...

The wedding seemed to fit Justin very well, although it wasn't quite as bad as I thought it was going to be, without some of the awful things (her Portkey was bad enough, honestly!). And Peter, breaking down and sobbing about how alone he was, made me laugh so much :P I can just imagine Justin's brother in tears about being single at the wedding!

Yayayay Edie and Oliver! I was so excited for this moment, because it was great, after 24 chapters, to see them having the conversation they've probably needed to have since the very beginning (although to be honest, if they'd had this conversation way back then, there wouldn't have been a story for us to read so I won't blame you for that :P). The explanation about Oliver and Rose makes sense, and I don't think worse of him for it, especially when Edie's thinking back to the relationship she had with Cormac (!) which basically paralleled what was happening with Oliver and Rose. And of course, the explanation brought Oliver's feelings about Edie into the open more, and I couldn't complain about that!

OLIVER AND EDIE FINALLY KISSED!!! ♥ ♥ ♥ That was such a cute moment and a really great end to this chapter - I can't wait to see what happens next! (I'm really hoping that Edie doesn't go and do something stupid and make things awkward again...)

Sian :)

Author's Response: Hi there! You most certainly can start reviewing from wherever you want. If you're suddenly like, "Oh, and by the way, in chapter two you mentioned something I didn't like..." I would a) be very impressed with your memory and b) be very thankful 'cause that chapter is about to get a major facelift this week. Right now it's oh so *Cringe-y* to me.

Haha, Seamus certainly is old enough to do his own hair! But that's him, I guess. A fun-loving and hyperactive little terrier, and also extremely lazy. Plus Edie probably felt bad about pretty much ignoring him for so long...

Ha! Yes, the fight! I posted a rather embarrassing status in the forums about it. I was picturing these two very bro-y guys, in American terms. Like the kind who visit their old colleges and reminisce during football games about how good it was ten years ago, and it's kind of funny but for some reason also made me a little sad? Anyway I couldn't think of a British word for "bro" and enlisted the help of some people on the forums... ha!

Ohhh gosh, writing an Edie and Lisa scene is just like... detoxing from the rest of this story. They just come so naturally (not at all trying to be boastful, I hope it doesn't sound that way) just because they're such good friends and their time spent together feels so natural and easy. I really liked writing the scene of Edie helping her to get ready. Even though Edie was being a bit selfish, as per the usual, and wanting to know more about Justin being Oliver's lawyer...

Ha! That Portkey! I was rather pleased with that one, to be honest. Justin. Oh, Justin. And Peter! I imagine him to be like the older, shorter, not as attractive, not as successful brother who's like, a door-to-door salesman for hair loss potions or something. Poor lil feller.

Wow, yeah, I guess 24 chapters is a long time to wait. Phew. A long time coming, I'd say, and hopefully it felt pretty natural. One thing I am terrified of--yes, TERRIFIED--is building a relationship too quickly. So I think I overcompensate by dragging it out for as long as possible? And ew, Cormac. Paha. What was Edie thinking, eh?

Thank you Sian! On to the next wonderful review you've so kindly left! ♥


 Report Review

Review #6, by marauderfan Good Decisions

15th September 2014:
Another fab chapter! Lisa's wedding was so entertaining, particularly her outward composure while running around and handing off drinks to Edie.

Fluff! And more fluff! Haha, honestly I loved it. For me it's such a struggle-fest to write anything fluffy, so I can appreciate your trouble with writing it - and it all worked out well, and even if you felt awkward writing it, it doesn't show. Congrats on the fluffiest fluffy fluff. :D

I like that you're addressing the friend zone too. Poor Dean. I do feel really badly for him, but it's not Edie's fault by any means. I think it's a really realistic view of that sort of friendship too, because in real life that's a pretty confusing situation and I think you captured that. It's awkward, and maybe it will get worse before it gets better, but I hope that someday in the future they can be good friends again, because I loved reading about Edie, Dean, and Seamus, the dream team of friends back in the beginning.

Awesome work on this chapter! ♥

Author's Response: Hey there! Ohh, Lisa is such a dear. I love her. I kind of based her off a former co-worker of mine, who got married and was very nonchalant about the whole thing (she didn't even really "walk down the aisle" so much as stumble down a hillside in a dress without music.) Plus it's more fun for the groom to be freaking out... ;)

FLUFF SO MUCH FLUFF YES. I'm right there with you. It's a struggle-fest to write a snuggle-fest (should we maybe get this printed on coffee mugs/tee shirts?) I'm glad that you liked it though. Honestly I'll probably go back through and tone down on the soppy-ness (especially at the beginning... ugh) but I'll try to stay strong and keep most of it in there!

I really do feel bad for Dean too! He's such a great character in the books, and has always been a favorite of mine. I kind of feel bad for writing him this way. Possessive!Dean is more of something we see in the movies, if my memory serves me correctly, when he's dating Ginny. But I'm definitely building off of that--Dean and Edie just wouldn't work because he's too possessive. Both of them are headstrong, which could potentially work *ahem Oliver ahem.* But it's the way that Dean uses his stubbornness, by trying to control somebody, that just wouldn't work with our friend Edie.

Thank you so much for this review, lovely! Sorry it's taken me so long to respond. I just moved across the country and almost have everything unpacked and ~*~internet~*~ so soon there will be updates! AHHH plus I completely re-wrote the ending and am so much more in love with it and can't wait to get there now.



 Report Review

Review #7, by teh tarik Good Decisions

13th September 2014:
HELLO!! I'm back. And I really do apologise for my awfully sporadic reviewing, but ugh, I'm not so good with reviewing everything I read anymore. Just...I PROMISE YOU THAT I'M STILL FOLLOWING THE MISADVENTURES OF EDIE LENNOX. ♥

AH. AAH.

I would love some coffee.

*swoons and falls in love with this fic all over again*

OK, gah, so much fluff, and yay! All that Ediver is finally being realised.

Gah, you've written Lisa's wedding so well! All the details from the vineyard to the expensive cheeses etc.I don't think I'd believe it if you say that you've never been to a seaside Italian wedding before. :D I must say I love Lisa in these last two chapters: how collected she is despite it being her wedding day and all (well, until the makeup mishap), and how she keeps plying Edie with drinks because she can't drink herself.

GAH, I'm just going to list all the things I love about these past two chapters.

- Peter Finch-Fletchley blubbering away, arm-in-arm with Edie

- Lobster puffs sound absolutely delicious. ARE THEY EVEN A THING?

- Seamus and Oliver being such great mates and all.

- The revelation that Oliver and Rose are not a thing. And bahaha, that Edie has been an utter idiot all this while. Sometimes I feel like shaking her. Which makes me love her all the more.

- Edie's fantasies. SERIOUSLY. (Very sturdy rafters). Good god.

- ALL OF THE EDIVER. The kissings, the awkward!Edie moments, and drunk!Edie at the end practically DEMANDING that he take her home. For *cough* coffee. Yeah, right.

I think you made a good point with the whole Friendzone message. Edie feeling all uncomfortable and selfish because she's enjoying herself and not thinking about Dean. It's great that you point out that there's absolutely nothing wrong with what she's doing; it's something I was wondering about when I was reading this chapter. Then I got to your A/N and saw your message about the whole issue. It's GREAT that you bring this up; there are so many fics with OCs whose best mates are all guys, who get along with dudes but none of them really address the relationship complexities and issues that can arise with such situations. Hmmm, I wonder how things are going to turn out between Edie and sulky!Dean.

AH OKAY I LOVE THIS CHAPTER. I know you're probably hoping for useful feedback, but I don't really know what to suggest. These chapters are just fabulous! You've developed your characters so, so well, and everything flows beautifully.

Next chapter, please! ♥

-teh

Author's Response: Hello! I'm finally responding to you--yeesh. What a month it's been. But your reviews make me so happy, and I'm always so glad to respond :)

I read that as "Ediver is finally being released," and imagined this giant 1/3 Edie, 1/3 Oliver, 1/3 Kraken emerging from the sea and sinking all of the other 'ships. (Must... not... doodle this... Or maybe later.)

Unfortunately I have not been to a wedding like this... most of my friends have done the "unassuming garden wedding" Edie was grumbling about. Although this kind would certainly be more fun, and I don't know what she's complaining about!

Honestly I wish I had thought of Peter Finch-Fletchley before this chapter, because I love him so much. I have such a clear image of him in my head, played by this really minor actor named Danny Strong... I'm fixin' for a big KC&CO edit (finally getting rid of all of the parts that make me cringe) and I may or may not put a little dash of PF-F in there ;)

You had me second-guessing myself with lobster puffs! Do yourself a favor and look them up. And get hungry.

Yeah! I am going to definitely explore the "Friendzone" thing, but this story is already SO LONG and needs to start winding down. Hopefully I can condense it into a few sentences. But I found myself even feeling guilty for not *writing* that Edie follows Dean outside to console him, which is odd. When something like this happened to me I pretty much ignored my best friend for the rest of the party (and kind of ran away in the middle of him confessing his feelings to me because I can't handle confrontation.) So imagining Edie heading outside and suddenly being very considerate and caring and knowing "just the right thing to say" and "patching things up..." Nah. Doesn't feel right.

Thank you so much for your review! I apologize for taking so long to respond. But I (almost almost) have the internet at my flat, which means I will finally be back on HPFF in a week or so, with updates soon to follow.

Thank you, lovely! Hope you're doing swimmingly! ♥


 Report Review

Review #8, by EvilSoul Good Decisions

9th September 2014:
wi so fluffy xD
please don't make Oliver angry with Dean (or Edie)... :(

Author's Response: Yes, much fluff. This fic is now just a giant pile of bunnies. (Ouch, really bad joke.) Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #9, by stop_the_attack Take Two and Call Me in the Morning

21st August 2014:
hey! i just started this and it's perfect... so perfect. i'm hooked, never stop writing! :D

Author's Response: Weee! Seriously, getting new readers this late in the game is the best. Thank you thank you thank you ♥

 Report Review

Review #10, by JT4HP Makeshift

9th August 2014:
I love this story! It is so great, really. Oliver and Edie are just fab. I'm glad they're getting there and I can't wait to find out why he needed Justin as his lawyer! Ah.

Can't wait for the next one.

Author's Response: Hey there! Thanks so much. Oooh, yes, much intrigue with the lawyer stuff. It'll all come together very soon, promise. The end is nigh! ♥

 Report Review

Review #11, by castaspell Take Two and Call Me in the Morning

23rd July 2014:
Two words: In. Love.

Author's Response: Thank you! I haven't had a review on chapter one in ages. So nice to have a new reader. Welcome!

 Report Review

Review #12, by ValWitch21 Makeshift

17th July 2014:
(This review is going to be a rambly catastrophe especially considering it's the first I type since Christmas.)

WAH. I AM SHOUTING AND IT IS A PITY SWEARING ISN'T ALLOWED OR THIS SENTENCE WOULD BE A LOT MORE COLOURFUL.

FINALLY, FINALLYYY, IT ONLY TOOK TWENTY FOUR CHAPTERS! Please do not make it go downhill from here or I will scream blue murder.

My happy flailing aside, I'm kind of sad because this is starting to look too much like the end for my liking. Can we please get at least one more Edie/Dean/Seamus scene? Plus cameos from Ada, Hypatia, and Lisa? I NEVER WANT TO SEE THIS STORY END, YOU SHOULD WRITE EDIVER UNTIL THEY'RE OLD AND WRINKLY AND SURROUNDED BY GRAND CHILDREN.

There are a few stories on this site where I think, 'oh, I wish there was fanfiction of this fanfiction'. This is one of those.

Please take as long as possible to update, so the story will last longer!

Author's Response: Val!! Hello!!!

I FELT A LOT LIKE SHOUTING WHILE WRITING THIS SO IT'S OKAY. I know, twenty-four chapters. AHHH. This is definitely the lengthiest thing I have ever written (other than the awful, never revised, rambling, 130-page stories I wrote as a ten year-old.) And I'm glad that somebody else is feeling a little queasy about getting to the end. This story is full of little bits that aren't necessary to the plot, and which could certainly stand to be removed. But I love writing this so much that I just keep adding and adding things so I can keep writing. Maybe that's a good thing?

Edie with children (and grandchildren!) Can you even imagine? She's had more than her share of motherhood with raising her brothers, I'm sure. But I see what you're saying and thank you, I would love to write twenty sequels to this, each one telling every completely menial thing in the daily lives of Edie, Oliver, Seamus, Dean, Hypatia, Rose, Justin, Lisa and I AM GOING TO MISS MY FAKE FRIENDS

Fanfiction for this fanfiction! You stop it. That is so sweet. Seriously, that's like the nicest thing ♥

Thank you so much Val! I'm so glad to see you back around HPFF!


 Report Review

Review #13, by AlexFan Makeshift

16th July 2014:
AWWW YIIISSS

first of all yay you updated! Second of all, again, I absolutely love Edie. There's just something about her sense of humour that is absolutely hilarious, maybe it's the way that she very blunt about things or maybe it's the dry way in which she sometimes says things but she's absolutely hilarious and I love her.

We finally get to find out why Oliver is dating Rose. It always bugged me because I couldn't understand why someone like him would date someone like Rose but everything makes sense now. I am so excited to see what happens after this! Are Edie and Oliver going to start dating or is it it going to be private or what is going to happen? IS THERE GOING TO BE MORE EDIE AND OLIVER MOMENTS PREFERABLY ONES WHERE THEIR FACES ARE ATTACHED?

But the point is that I really loved this chapter.

Author's Response: Hello you!! I know, FINALLY an update. Jeez. I'm about to have a super boring two month stint in my hometown, so you can expect a lot of updates in the future. Maybe I'll be finish this story before the fall? Who knows.

Anyway, thank you thank you! Edie and Oliver do seem to finally have their ducks in a row. And you can certainly look forward to one face-attached scene in particular. Ahem.

So yes, look for updates ;)


 Report Review

Review #14, by marauderfan Makeshift

16th July 2014:
So happy to see a new chapter of this up!

LOL at Edie insisting she was not just drooling all over the magazine. She totally was. I love how she's actually doing Seamus's hair but there are only about two mentions of Seamus's hair in the whole paragraph because she's really not thinking about that. And when Edie's mum does his hair instead, fabulous. Hahaha

Wow, yeah there hadn't been much of Dean lately! It's nice for him to show up again, I love the way you write both Dean and Seamus in this story. Aw, I'm glad Edie and Dean are back to making goofy bets/jokes again, although there is still that kind of weirdness because she's been too busy for him and he kind of likes her. Um. Also I can't say I'd have been able to avoid the cheese table either. Mmm.

And this scene made me laugh so much:

I have a job now. Im a fully-functioning adult!
Lisa returns to her mirror, Youve got cheese on you.


I'm still really curious about why Justin was Oliver's lawyer. You gave just enough information for it to be really intriguing and just little enough that it's frustrating to not know. Haha, I'm right with Edie there in wanting to ask loads of questions :P

I love that Justin was the one to overdo it on wedding themes and planning, it's refreshing to see that role go to the guy rather than the girl once in a while!

Aw, Peter is adorable. (WAIT SORRY I NEED TO POINT OUT HOW MUCH I LOVE THAT THEIR CAT WAS RING BEARER.)

I can't say I'm too surprised with the stuff about Rose. I don't think Oliver was a jerk for that - they were really in the same boat there. Rose did seem like the type of person who's in love with fame. Eh, she'll find another famous Quidditch player ;)

AND HURRAH EDIVER KISS ♥ ♥ BECAUSE I TOTALLY HAVEN'T BEEN WAITING 24 CHAPTERS FOR THAT! *fireworks* *confetti*

Gah, I think I've worn out the capslock button on my keyboard with this review. But I have no regrets. Awesome, fantastic, fabulous, splendiferous chapter. Love this story.

Author's Response: Hi there! Thank you so much for another review, it means a lot that you've decided to stick around.

That's a very funny point about only mentioning Seamus's hair twice in that paragraph. Yes, she definitely was not paying the most attention to him... I've always wanted to have an interaction between Edie, Seamus, Dean and Hypatia. But a Dean-less one will have to do!

Speaking of him, he is a bit moody huh? The next chapter will get more into this, but I've always seen him as brooding and controlling. Among his many other good qualities, of course! He is a great book character, and I've always thought he had a good sense of humor and his artsy side is fun. But the way he treats Ginny in OotP is a bit controlling... which does not bode well with Edie.

Haha, yes, a little frustrating indeed! I very much wanted to explain why Justin was his lawyer, but I also was about to dump all of the Rose information on readers... which, to be fair, a lot of you probably saw coming. But it felt like both, erm, "reveals" would have been a bit much.

GAH Justin. He's one of my favorites, because he's just so... JUSTIN. I love writing about him because he embodies so many things that frustrate me, but he's also such a sop. Much like his brother, Peter.

Yes kiss, kiss, kiss! I always struggle with those scenes, because half of me is melting and gooey and my heart going pitter-patter... and the other half is me trying not to vomit. But hopefully it was still slightly weird enough... Hence there were other people standing around, and I didn't really describe the scenery of the flower garden, or what Oliver was wearing, and LOOK I'M TRYING HERE.

Thank you again, dearie. I've been waiting to write this chapter forever, and I'm glad you've enjoyed the read ♥


 Report Review

Review #15, by nott theodore The Opposite of Dreadful

12th July 2014:
Hello there! So I should probably start by saying I found this story just after the Dobby awards started last year and read it all through then, and I've been reading most of your updates without actually reviewing *blushes* So I thought I'd rectify that now with a review!

I really love this story! I've read a fair few different Oliver Wood/OC stories but I think that this one is probably my favourite on the site at the moment, and it's definitely worth waiting for the updates. Your cast of characters is so great, and I love the way that you've slotted Edie into the world of Harry Potter by making her friends with Dean and Seamus and Lisa and Justin (well, sort of). And you write the relationship (of sorts) between Edie and Oliver really well - I love the set up of Edie working at Witch Weekly and at the bar and the way that everything's developed from there.

So onto this chapter... I wasn't expecting Oliver to have a younger sister! That makes the idea of 'Miss Ada' much more pleasant and I loved the way she was so blunt with Edie, to the point that Edie didn't know how to react. And it was lovely to see Edie going to Oliver's house and spending time with them here - I'm really hopeful for them now and I hope that they manage to get things worked out soon!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Hello! Of course, I remember you Sian! And while reviews are always lovely, it's nice just to see the "Reads" count on this story. Makes my heart go pitter-pat.

I agree about minor characters! JKR is so amazing and wonderful and even the tiniest, most insignificant of her characters deserves lovin' and story time. Some readers have pointed out that this story almost feels non-HP because I am not using common characters and locations, so that's been a bit of a struggle. But I love the sprawling Magical world thank-you-JKR, so I really wanted to take advantage of it. Giggling at "sort of" friendship with Justin and relationship "of sorts" with Oliver. All very true!

I'm glad some people hadn't read the first version of "The Hanging Moon" when Oliver straight up tells Edie who Ada is. Haha. I get into these coffee-induced excitement attacks and speed write a chapter and put it into the queue without really thinking about it... that was a good example. Later I realized I wanted to have the big reveal be later, mostly because that chapter was such an information dump anyway. We already learned about his shoulder injury, and his relationship with Katie Bell, and Deverill's replacement...

Anyway!

Thank you so very much for the kind words. I'm glad you have stuck with this story for oh-so-long. ♥


 Report Review

Review #16, by ASDFGHJKL1234 The Opposite of Dreadful

11th July 2014:
HEHEEHEHEHEHEHHEHEHEHEHHE *WHEEZING *WHEEZING

SO EXCITED FOR THIS LOVE TO BLOW

Author's Response: Breathe, breathe! Thank you, dear wheezy reviewer ♥

 Report Review

Review #17, by marauderfan The Opposite of Dreadful

25th April 2014:
So fluffy but also so amazing! I loved it! Aww, I love the idea of Oliver with a little sister, and that whole exchange between Ada and Edie was just too cute. I felt badly for Edie not knowing how to talk to kids, especially one who talks about her parents' death, I don't know how I'd have reacted in that situation either! But Ada seems to have liked her so it can't have been that bad.

I'm really intrigued about the rally too. Hoping that Edie goes to it, it seems like just her sort of thing and should be interesting! And it will give her something great to write about. I love that you've included such a cool topic in your story.

THE SCENE WITH EDIE AND OLIVER AT HIS HOUSE ♥ And they're on good terms again and talking and he wants to see her again and ahsdfja they are so cute. I'm so glad Edie admitted she was wrong and that they're starting to move past all the drama of before. Though... there still are those articles she published about him showing him in a bad light, which he's said he will not read, but I have a feeling he'll find out about it one way or the other :-/

I'm excited for the wedding :) And Oliver is going to be there! Something tells me Edie will end up embarrassing either herself and/or Lisa and/or Justin and/or Oliver at the wedding though :P I'm curious how Oliver knows Justin, too.

Also, congrats on your Keckers awards this year!! This story is amazing and hilarious and totally deserves the recognition :) Another fantastic chapter, loved it!

Author's Response: Hey there! Thanks for reviewing ♥

I am falling more and more in love with Oliver and Ada, to the point that I almost wish the story wasn't written in Edie's POV so that I could write him trying to do her hair and talking about her "time of the month." But alas. Ohh, Edie not knowing how to deal with kids was definitely written from the heart. Yeah, I think Ada likes Edie, in a mildly disinterested way.

Oh, don't you worry--Edie is going to the rally. Yay! The FGC and Grimma Longfinger have been a super fun, last-minute addition that I wasn't actually planning on having as a plot point. I think I just wanted a headline for the first mentioning of The Oracle Underground, and it took off from there. I had probably drank a lot of coffee that day.

EDIVERRR OVERLOAD yes! I think I am glad that Edie admitted her wrongdoings, too. It was funny; I was actually reluctant to have her admitting she was wrong. Even though she clearly was! It took me a few minutes of sitting there to make myself write it. Maybe her obnoxious stubbornness is from the heart, too?

Hahaha, yes, there is a good chance that Edie will end up embarrassing lit-rally everyone she comes into contact with. It's pretty much a guarantee at any social event. And Oliver and Justin's relationship will indeed come to light, later on! (There really are only like four more chapters coming, I swear, I'm going to end this story if it kills me which it probably will!)

Awww, thank you. I'm so proud of my Keckers :) And thanks again for taking the time to review. I appreciate your patience with this story--I know it's taking me forever to update these days ♥


 Report Review

Review #18, by AlexFan The Opposite of Dreadful

22nd April 2014:
Do not worry about the fluff, it was so perfect and sweet and I don't even know how to explain it because it was really lovely. If you were to take two years to update this story, I wouldn't even care, I'd come back and read the new chapter because this is so good.

This is by far one of the best romances that I've read, in both published and fanfiction worlds. I don't know how you do it but you're amazing at writing romance. You develop the relationship between Oliver and Eddie so smoothly. Usually with other stories you can tell that the author is doing everything on purpose but not in this. I feel like everything I'm reading is actually happening, it's so natural. The way that Edie and Oliver get to know about each other is really great and nothing screams plot device.

I'm a very big fan of this story as you can clearly tell. If you were to turn this into an original novel once you were done with it and send it to a publishing company, I would buy this book in a heartbeat (and if I was a publisher, I'd publish it in a heartbeat as well.)

This is one of the best Oliver Wood stories that I've ever read and keep up the absolutely amazing work!

Author's Response: Hey there! I've missed reading your reviews (as in I should update more--not anything on you, of course.) I can't tell you how much it means that you've stuck with this story for as long as you have. Especially since you're prepared to wait the full two years. It's definitely a possibility.

Wow, thank you. It's difficult responding to such lovely compliments without sounding like a prat writer but here we go. One of my biggest goals in writing this, was focusing on Edie trying struggling to find out who she is (and maybe failing, and maybe accepting that it's okay to not know.) The rest of the story, including Oliver, therefore just fell into place. Most of the Ediver scenes weren't pre-written, so it was easy for them to mesh into the story. It was a total accident, but it worked. ;)

I've definitely been toying with the idea of turning this into OF. But I'm horrified by the thought of somebody recognizing it as fanfiction, haha. Thank you for saying that! Maybe it's the motivation I need.

Thank you thank you thank you. I'm working on the next chapter but SO MANY THINGS happen, I'm walking on eggshells. Hopefully it'll be up soon. ♥


 Report Review

Review #19, by teh tarik The Opposite of Dreadful

21st April 2014:
HELLOO YOU

Sooo...after ten centuries of not reviewing the last few chapters, I'm BACK, or sort of, in reviewing mode. I've actually been following your story all this while, all your updates. And I'm very sure that this story is one that I've been following for the longest period of time EVER. Since ohmygoodness 2012. I LOVE IT. And I love Edie and cringe-y things she does and says and her less-than-wonderful life which makes me want to give her a good pat on the back, sit her down and make her a cuppa. Maybe Hypatia would do that, I dunno?

And wow! It's nearly the end of her story now, is it? I suppose it's starting to feel this way too...the way things are kind of winding down, like now Edie's got a better job, and she's beginning to go somewhere with Oliver, and Lisa and Justin are slowly becoming that so-happy-together couple, and Hypatia and Edie have some sort of close moment of understanding/confiding etc...SIGH. Or maybe you've got one last plot twist or something where Edie suddenly discoveres she has a sister she never knew about lol. I really wish you could write this forever too.

Your fluff pains probs give your readers great pleasure. Aww, that Ediver scene was THE LURVE. ♥ And of course I absolutely loved how That was dreadful just about equated to That was brilliant!. Fab.

I'm kinda interested about a few things here: like the history between Oliver and Justin...I can't remember if you mentioned this in earlier chapters, but yeah, sounds interesting. And whatever on earth is going on with Rose. And finally the Grimma Longfinger thing. It's like some kind of subplot that's been hovering in the background ever since the start of the story, and I'm very curious to see how that will play out. I get the feeling Edie's going to attend the rally?

I'VE MISSED REVIEWING THIS STORY ♥

-teh

Author's Response: YOOOUUU!!! Hi, hi, hi, hi! How have you been? I'm so glad you've been lurking on this story still--you are seriously such an inspiration in your writing and I am humbled that you have stuck with KC&CO for almost two years. ♥

Things certainly are beginning to wind down. I still have a few tricks up my sleeve, but really it should just be a few more chapters... maybe four, maybe five. I want to keep writing forever and ever but I've already written so many scenes and lengthy Edie-logues irrelevent to the plot. It's so fun to write this story, but it's so lengthy now... I need to cut myself off! *Whispers* especially if I'm considering publishing this as OF.

In my head, and all my plot notes, this Ediver scene was way less fluffy. But when I started writing it all came out in fluff-overload. The "your hair looks nice pulled back" bit actually made me cringe a little. But there was so much pent-up fluff aggression. It was beyond my control, hehe.

Yes! Oliver and Justin's relationship will be revealed in due time, which probably means at the eleventh hour. I've mentioned it briefly but then this story is riddled with so many (TOO MANY???) side-plots that it's probably been forgotten by all. Grimma will certainly come to light as well... later. (Not sure if great at withholding plot twists until the appropriate time, or a serious procrastinator.)

Thank you so much for reviewing! I've missed chatting with you. Maybe-just-maybe I will be sending you a very lenghty PM today to see how you're doing ;)

Thanks again, lovely ♥


 Report Review

Review #20, by meowcowpow The Opposite of Dreadful

20th April 2014:
Woohoo! FINALLY! Edie admits that she's in the wrong! She's progressing as a person! I have a feeling that something important is going to happen at this wedding. And I hope it is what I think it is.

Author's Response: Hello there! Yes, she is finally starting to be a little less insufferable. I think. Ohh, I hope that it is what you think it is, too! We shall see. Thanks for reading ♥

 Report Review

Review #21, by MarieBlack Twenty-Two

18th February 2014:
So sincerely glad that you updated and wrote more! I have been missing this story in my life.

I terribly love Edie and all of her relationship with Oliver. It's so real and wonderfully messy, I think it's true to life as well. I'm dying to see if Edie will go for Oliver, or the job at The Oracle or just anything. I can't wait to see the masterful ending.

Keep writing! I'm thoroughly enjoying!

Author's Response: Heya! Aww, thanks! I'm so sincerely glad that you've been needing a little Edie in your life :)

"Wonderfully messy" is such an awesome way to describe their relationship. I am taking that as a huge compliment! The ending isn't too far off--I have it outlined all the way up to it. But I keep thinking "Oooh wouldn't it be funny to throw this in there?" and lengthen it a bit more. Whoops! Either way, I don't expect it to go over 28 chapters total (holy crap so many chapters.)

Almost there! Thanks for sticking with it. ♥


 Report Review

Review #22, by Courtney Dark Twenty-Two

15th February 2014:
So I looked back and I realized that I have been following this story since October of 2012 - that is over a year and somehow you have managed to keep me interesting, coming back enthusiastically every time there's a new chapter - and I definitely think that's an achievement! Also, my first few reviews were pretty cringeworthy!

There was so much I loved about this chapter! The photoshoot with Oliver was a lot of fun - I can't believe Edie thought it was a photoshoot of her, she really can be rather naive! And the moment when Oliver stripped off the robe was great - I loved that you made him embarrassed, rather than completely confident and cocky.

However, while I adore all the Edie/Oliver moments, I think my favourite part of this chapter was the scene with Edie and her mother - not only was the dog rather adorable in it's own way (and I'm not curious about how it's going to come into the story) I think you wrote a very believable, emotional conversation between Edie and Hypatia. I definitely think Edie should give Oliver another chance, and look at herself in a different light!

I'm already looking forward to the next chapter!

Courtney:)

Author's Response: Hey you!

Wow, I guess that's true--I haven't thought about it like that! I've only been thinking of it in terms of how long it's taken me to write it, haha. And there are no cringeworthy reviews. Trust me, I've done my share of fangirling and really it's just a compliment, right?

Okay! On to actually responding to your review.

"Naive" or completely arrogant, either one. Hehe. But yes, I definitely wanted to stray from the "cocky Oliver Wood" that we sometimes see in fic. It's really fun to read, and I'd imagine it'd be possible with the way his character is in canon, but I think this was a more realistic way for *this* Oliver Wood to react to being forced to wear little underwear. Although he could have always refused to do it...

Hypatia. I've been waiting to write both of these scenes for a long time, but especially the talk with Edie's mother. I wanted Edie to be forced to think about herself in another light, as you said, but especially for it to be coming from Hypatia, who Edie has written off as flippant and batty.

Thanks so much for sticking with this story! It means a lot to me ♥


 Report Review

Review #23, by heartjily4ever Twenty-Two

12th February 2014:
Oh my god I feel so sorry for that dog, that wasn't exactly the most pleasant of descriptions. I'm sure its cute in it's own way.

Why can't their relationship just happen you know. I know nothings perfect but I feel like their relationship (Edie and Oliver by the way) should just work out so well.

I feel that Edie should forgive him, but I may be biased as I want them to get together. Although she might be hurt, they will never happen if she's secretly hating his guts.

This was a great chapter, and I wanna see more of this dog :D

Author's Response: I know! Poor doggie. That's another of the many differences between Edie and I--I absolutely love animals. So it's fun to write from a different perspective. Don't worry, she'll warm up to "it."

Your "nothing's perfect" with relationships comment will definitely come into play. ;) I'm glad to hear you'd think they'd work out well--we just need to see if that's true!

You will indeed see more of this dog! Next chapter, in fact.

Thank you! ♥


 Report Review

Review #24, by chocolateteacups Twenty-Two

12th February 2014:
I honestly don't think Oliver is past the point of forgiveness at all - in fact I think Edie is far closer to the border line, if she hasn't already overstepped it. You write excellently and I thoroughly enjoy reading this story (and I don't mind scenes with a shirtless Oliver either). Can't wait for the next update :)
Also, the feminist goblin movement is the best sideplot I've come across. Possibly ever.

Author's Response: Glad to hear your opinions on the matter! I'm wondering how many people will side with Oliver, and how many with Edie. If I recall correctly, there are quite a few anti-Oliver readers out there... ;)

Oh girl, I don't mind WRITING the scenes with shirtless Oliver.

And the feminist Goblin movement was definitely a last-minute slideplot. I just wanted a headline to mention to introduce The Oracle Underground, which has become an important part of the story. But it just seemed too good to pass up, so Grimma Longfinger was created. I've really enjoyed paralleling her downfall with Edie's, and showing the difference between their "problems." Edie's being single, being broke, being "unemployed," etc. is not really much compared to Grimma and the other Goblins' struggles for rights.

(...To give you the really long answer.)

Thanks so much ♥


 Report Review

Review #25, by marauderfan Twenty-Two

12th February 2014:
This was a great chapter. I think it was about time for Edie to stop living in her head and havr someone tell her straight up what is happening - mothers are great for that since they don't have to be polite, but really want the best for you - so I'm glad Hypatia made her see the other side! She may be a ridiculous person sometimes but she is wonderful. I'm glad Edie listened to her. :D

But aww, she feels like she has a real job now! Please tell me this isn't the calm before (another) storm, its nice to see that some things are finally going Edie's way for once!

I saw your request on the forums for help with a chapter title - maybe something like "a new view" - both for Edie's mum's perspective which is new for Edie to consider... and the view she gets of Oliver, which I think needs to be mentioned ;) Anyway, maybe that will spark some ideas for you. Hope that helps.

Awesome chapter!

Author's Response: Hello!

Phew, I agree with you entirely--it's been kind of painful to write this story, because all along I've been wanting to scream at Edie for being so arrogant. Then again, she genuinely thinks she's on some kind of vigilante conquest to bring him down. It seems she and Hypatia share delusional tendencies ;)

I like that idea--and the "view" pun. Hehe. It got me thinking about titles, and new perspectives, and I decided on "Vanity, Not Love" from a Pride&Prejudice quotation, when Lizzie's perspective is changed and she realizes that she was at fault. Thanks so much for the help!

And of course, thanks for the review ♥


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>