Reading Reviews for Bravery and Courage
  
26 Reviews Found

Review #1, by randomwriter Bravery and Courage

19th March 2014:
Hello :) I'm here for the Gryffindor/Slythin Blackout Bingo battle.

I'm glad I found this little one-shot. I'm a major ScoRose shipper, so anything with them in it starts off as a win on its own :P Haha.

Anyway, what really stood out, according to me, was when you spoke about the difference between bravery and courage. I agree that there is a very, very fine line between the two, and you explained that incredibly well. I really thought it was insightful and definitely made this story worth a read.

I think the story flows well. There are a couple of spelling errors and punctuation mistakes, but I'd say they're typos and can by fixed really easily. Apart from that, this was easy to read. It was light, and fun too :)

I love how you've written the two instances in a similar fashion. How they start and end off on similar notes. It was a very smart idea :) As for the relationship between Neville and Rose, I think it's really cute and I love how they had a much deeper relationship than just teacher-student. The way Neville showed her that he cared, along with the interest he took in her well-being and personal life, shows just how invested he is in her happiness and that certainly put a smile on my face.

Another thing I liked was how you've written Neville. He's another one of my favourites and I really like the comparison you made between younger Neville and young Rose. I think that was a really nice touch, and it would have certainly helped her relate better. Very understanding :)

Overall, a really nice and pleasant story :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by PolyJuice_ Bravery and Courage

14th March 2014:
Blackout Battle for HPFF Forums~

"Lavender's Luscious Lashes." Oh my goodness. Can I start out by saying I would totally love love /love/ to know the back story behind this? :P Sounds absolutely fascinating, haha.

I loved the way the two parts tied in together as almost mirrors of each other. Very neat way to write this. Oh, poor Rose. You and Scorpius sure have a roller coaster of a relationship, don't you? *sighs* But you're so cute together!

I really liked Neville in this. It brought forth all the issues he dealt with throughout the Harry Potter books, and just shone a bit of light on how he changed. I like the way you described it as "not waking up one day and deciding to be brave." It really shows how far Neville's come since the battle.

Anywho, fabulous story. I loved the dynamic between Rose and Neville. :)

Liz

 Report Review

Review #3, by nott theodore Bravery and Courage

13th March 2014:
Hello!

Ah, this was such a cute story, I'm really glad that I found it and chose to read it! I genuinely can't think of anyone better than Neville to be teaching students of his about bravery and courage and what it means to be in Gryffindor, because he's the one who can really understand what it's like to be put in a house that's known for it and have to live up to that. I know that there are tons of brave people in HP, but I honestly think that he's the best person to teach it.

I loved reading from Neville's perspective. I don't think I've ever seen a story about Neville written in first person before, but it worked really well here and I think you captured his character well, and the way that he thought about things. He'd definitely matured from the person we saw in the books, and I liked the humour you included.

The mirrored nature of the two parts of this story was really effective. I think it was great that it was Rose who was crying behind the curtain, worried that she can't live up to the name of her house - not only that, but the name of her parents, as well. And I'm so glad that Neville was able to tell her about bravery and what it meant so that she could become brave. The same effect worked really well when it came to courage; Neville taught her something that she couldn't have found from anyone else, and I liked the reversal in attitudes to each other as Rose and Scorpius grew up.

This was a really cute story and I loved reading it!

Sian :)

Blackout Bingo Gryffie story

 Report Review

Review #4, by Huffle Clause! Bravery and Courage

24th December 2013:
EEEk!!

OMG, OMG. I LOVE this!! This is just so cute and sweet and perfect and... GAH! I am a total ScoRose shipper, and this literally just made my night! I loved Neville's little chats with Rose about being brave, and how the scene kind of repeated itself, just with different outcomes each time. This is just really, really cute and well-written and original and FLUFFY! ♥

The minute we reveal who our secret santas are, this is going in my favorites!! :D

Author's Response: Hi! Yay! A fellow ScoRose shipper. We'll both set sail once you reveal who you are, and just squee for hours over their absolute cuteness. It's a requirement, a must if you will! It was, most definitely fluffy, but I'm so glad you enjoyed it my dear!

AGH! I JUST WANT TO HUG YOU BUT I CANT BECAUSE I DONT KNOW WHO YOU ARE!


 Report Review

Review #5, by Rumbleroar goes roar Bravery and Courage

20th September 2013:
Aww this was a really sweet oneshot. I love the idea of Neville being a mentor to his friends' children. So sweet! And this is all so true... Neville grew so much toward the end of the HP books and I liked how your Rose was skeptical that he was once anything other than completely badass. :P

Author's Response: Well, this was an unexpected review, but so appreciated! This was one of my first posted pieces, so I'm glad you like it, thank you so much for the review, it made my day :)

 Report Review

Review #6, by maskedmuggle Bravery and Courage

18th July 2013:
Hey!

This was such an interesting original fic about Rose/Scorpius! I've never really read a story exploring Neville Longbottom's relationship with the Next-Gen kids, and to be honest I don't know why not - it had a great lead in in the epilogue of JKR's books! I thought you did a great job here with Rose and Neville's conversation - Neville still felt like Neville while also being grown up - so awesome characterisation! I loved how he approached the conversation with Rose and tried to calm her down - and all the wisdom he provided was just fantastic! Couldn't help laughing when he let Rose punch Scorp :P I thought that the two conversations kinda had a parallel, but with two very different outcomes, so I liked the contrast! So, I thought this was a nicely written story and I really enjoyed reading it! :)

- Charlotte

Author's Response: Hello there! Thanks very much for the review!

I'm glad you think I got Neville right, to be honest, that was the part I was most owrried about, because really, we can mould Rose and Scorpius into whatever we want (due to them being Next Gen and all!)

Thank you so much! You've left me with a lovely warm and fuzzy feeling for the rest of the evening :)

Sarahjane


 Report Review

Review #7, by willow1 Bravery and Courage

12th April 2013:
totally, absolutely, amazingly AWESOME!

Author's Response: Thank you! Gah! Review seriously made my day! :)

 Report Review

Review #8, by slightlyobsessedwithfanfiction Bravery and Courage

8th April 2013:
Loved it! Short but fun and thoroughly engaging. I've always loved Nevill and he will forever remain one of my favorite characters. And i think you portrayed him well here. So thank you.
I really appreciated your story...
Ok, now back to homework :(
Thanks again,

:)

Author's Response: You are more than welcome, and that you for the review! :)
Good luck with the homework!


 Report Review

Review #9, by accioHPFF Bravery and Courage

15th March 2013:
The thing that strikes me with this story is the parallels between Rose and Neville, and Rose and Scorpius and their parents. With Rose and Neville, you explore the similarities in their stories, how they weren't visibly brave during their early years at school, and how people may wonder why they were in Gryffindor. I think that was quite a clever link to form, but it really lends itself to the plot, so well done. :)
The end of the first section really mirrored that scene between Draco and Hermione in PoA, where she hits him. Neville's reaction, though he knows he ought not to be taking sides, made me smile. Obviously Neville and Draco still don't get along and Neville takes some satisfaction from Rose's actions, especially since Scorpius and Draco are probably alike.

To be picky, there were a few typos that I noticed, although they didn't massively distract from the story. A beta could easily fix those, though they were minor. On the whole, great job :)

-Scott

Author's Response: I went through this one-shot with a fine-tooth comb, and the revised version is now in the queue, so no more typo's :)

I'm glad you think I got a parallel between Rose and Neville, as that was really what I was aiming for, without making them basically the same person, so thank you very much for that!

Scorpius and Draco (in my mind anyway) are both very similar and completely different, so yes, Neville did get satisfaction from seeing Rose punch him, but then he also felt very happy when they got their happily-ever-after!

Thank you for the review :D


 Report Review

Review #10, by melian Bravery and Courage

14th March 2013:
Wow, what a lovely story! I admit, the lack of punctuation at the end of dialogue did annoy me (a lot - but that's my inner editor coming out) and there is a change of tense in the very first paragraph, but they barely detracted from the story. Having Neville - someone whose story we know oh so well - counselling a student (and even though it's Rose, it could really have been anyone) about whether they belong in their House is really lovely to see. No one understands how that feels more than Neville does, and it's great that he can help Rose to see that the Hat doesn't only see what we are at eleven, but what we have the potential to become. Beautifully done!

Author's Response: Yes, the punctuation is dire neeed to a good comb through! And I will get round to fixing it, I promise! I'm sorry it annoyed you so much!

I always thought Neville would be that professor that everyone and anyone could talk to, and the one that all the students went to with their problems.

Thank you so much for the lovely review! :D
I will definitely go back and get rid of those errors!


 Report Review

Review #11, by CambAngst Bravery and Courage

6th March 2013:
Hey, there! I hope you don't mind a random review falling out of the sky and into your lap, but the title of your story caught my eye.

I thought you did a fantastic job with Neville in this. It wasn't a particularly easy juggling act, balancing his responsibilities as a teacher, his compassion for a student and his special attachment to Ron, Hermione and their family. But nothing felt forced or contrived about it. He could have been giving the same advice to any student, yet there was that extra layer of meaning he was able to bring to the conversation because he knows her family so well.

Your characterization of Rose was definitely a little unconventional, but I liked it. Most Next Gen stories don't highlight a vulnerable side to her. You avoided that fairly cliched archetype of brilliant, snarky, self-assured Rose Weasley and created somebody unique.

So I noticed two minor typos while I was reading:

... and that kind of stuck with me Rose Every time Malfoy and his cronies started at me... - You're missing a period at the end of the first sentence here.

“Thanks Professor” ripped back the tapestry and marched out of the passageway. - I think you meant to say, "She ripped back the tapestry..."

Otherwise, I thought your writing was good. Everything flowed pretty well and it was an easy read. I'd be totally remiss if I didn't point out my favorite part:

Bunny-hopping my way back to Gryffindor Tower, a bushy-haired, buck-toothed, bossy know-it-all springing up to undo the curse, a tall, lanky, befreckled, ginger youth telling me to start standing up for myself, and a short, skinny, bespeckled boy, with the messiest hair I’d ever seen, telling me that the Sorting Hat hadn’t been wrong, that I really did belong.

Nicely done!

Author's Response: Believe me, random reviews are always welcome here :D

I am so glad you think I got Neville's characterization right in this, as with canon characters, sometimes getting their personality right can be difficult! And I do believe that Neville would have given the exact same advice to any other student (but yes, the bond between her parents and him did help a little!)

And thank you so much! Saying that I did something different with Rose has really made my day ! :)

Yes, the typo's are an issue. . . . .I promise I will go back and sort those out at some stage!

That paragraph is one of my favorites too! Always makes me smile :)

Thank you for the review!


 Report Review

Review #12, by Debra20 Bravery and Courage

6th March 2013:
Heya! I must say I loved the feeling this story gave me. It was very light-hearted and yet insightful. I was very interested in the part when Neville explained to Rose the difference between courage and bravery. I thought the explanation he gave her made a lot of sense and it was very deep. They're usually used as synonyms but reading the way you put it is actually amazing. I'll have to remember that one :D

Also, I appreciated how you made a parallel between Neville's story and Rose's. How he helped her come through with his own example. That's very inspiring in life, meeting and sharing experiences with someone that can truly understand how you feel because they've lived the same thing.

The only advice I can give you is to take more time to explore the characters. The interaction between Neville and Rose felt a bit rushed and not developed enough to make the impact it made on Rose. I read somewhere that this story is one that you've wrote when you were still new to the universe of ff and I totally understand how that is, but maybe when you have time you could edit it to correct the spelling mistakes. It would greatly enrich the story ;)

Author's Response: Awh! I'm glad this review gave you a good feeling inside, because I love it when novels, or one-shots do that (and to be told that I evoked some sort of reaction with one of my pieces is really great!)

Ah yes. . . .the dastardly grammar mistakes. This was one of my earlier pieces, and shamefully, I am yet to iron out all the kinks (I will get round to it! I promise!)

And you're right, it seemed like a short amount of time for such a powerful reaction, but I felt that because Rose knew Neville outside of school, maybe that would balance things out, though I will definitely go back over it! Thank you for pointing that out!

Thank you for the lovely review :D


 Report Review

Review #13, by alicia and anne Bravery and Courage

5th March 2013:
I do like that Rose punched Scorpius, they're both like their parents!
But then to have her going out with Scorpius later on was cute, he was clearly being mean because he liked her. I do like that each time she talked to Neville she stormed out of the tapestry yelling "OI! MALFOY!" That was funny
It was so nice and sweet to have Neville telling Rose how he wasn't brave either at the beginning, and how he was trying to get her to cheer up and see how brave she really was.
I do like that it was the same situation for Neville and Rose each time, poor Neville trying to get a sandwich and Rose managing to stop that happening.
Neville is a great teacher :D This was such a cute one shot! I really enjoyed this and I really hope that Neville eventually got his sandwich.

Author's Response: Rose and Scorpius are rather like their parents, aren't they :)

I always imagined Neville as that 'cool teacher', the one that all the students go to when they have a proble, so I'm glad this came across in this!

I hope Neville got his sandwich too!

Thank you for the lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #14, by CloakAuror9 Bravery and Courage

5th March 2013:
Helloo! :D

First of all, can I just say that your story title couldn't have been any better! I'm saying this for two reasons; one, I think it suits the story in general and two, it's helping with me...err...Common Room activities. ;)

I like the idea of Rose doubting the idea of her being a Gryffindor just because Scorpius told her so. (That was very mean of him, by the way. How would he feel if someone told him that he shouldn't be in Slytherin? Pretty bad, I hope.) And then three years later she's, once again, doubting her bravery but for an entirely new and happier (?) reason this time.

I love the last line where Neville takes pride in himself because he thinks that he helped to make their relationship happen. In my opinion, he probably did too.

Overall, this was a nice read, but I did spot a bunch of grammar errors along the way and, I have to be honest, they did annoyed be just a bit. So I really recommend you going over this or a beta and try to fix it up as much as you can. I think doing that will help bring the quality the story up more! Otherwise, I really liked it! Fantastic job!

A very happy Slytherin,
~Izzy

Author's Response: Oh! Glad I could help!

Yes, Rose was rather hurt when Scorpius told her that she didn't belong (it was rather mean of him, wasn't it?) The second reason is much happier, but still, a problem!

Neville was rather proud of himself, and I was rather proud of him!

The grammar errors, I really need to fix those! I'm sorry they annoyed you, I am going to edit it!

An even happier Hufflepuff,
Sarahjane


 Report Review

Review #15, by FredWeasleyIsMyKing Bravery and Courage

1st March 2013:
Hello!

Well this was a cute little one-shot!

The first section was really sweet, Neville admitting that he wasn't always brave and that it was the trio that helped him find his courage.

I loved this line 'Bunny-hopping my way back to Gryffindor Tower, a bushy-haired, buck-toothed, bossy know-it-all springing up to undo the curse, a tall, lanky, befreckled, ginger youth telling me to start standing up for myself, and a short, skinny, bespeckled boy, with the messiest hair I’d ever seen, telling me that the Sorting Hat hadn’t been wrong, that I really did belong. If you had told me then, that they would turn out to be the saviours of the Wizarding World, I don’t think I would have believed you.' I think there would have been a few people who thought that!

I couldn't help but laugh at the fact that Neville couldn't stop Rose punching Malfoy, even if he was a teacher! It made me smile!

Then three years later we're back. I just love Neville in this - how he helps Rose understand how she's feeling.

Haha, I love that he feels like he helped them get together bless him. You definitely captured Neville at his best - although I kept laughing at how he wanted a sandwich!

There a few small spelling and grammar mistakes but apart from that, this is great!

Lauren :)

Author's Response: Hello :)

Yes, there are (many) grammar mistakes in this, as I wrote this when I was relatively new to the world of ff, before I realised one must either put a '.' or a ',' at the end of someone speaking, so I will get round to fixing it! Promise!

Yes, the Trio were a rather motley crew weren't they? I really don't think Neville was the only one to doubt them in the early years (after OOTP, I'd say everyone knew they meant business)

In my mind, Neville was just that really cool teacher who all the students related to. You know the one, the teacher that makes subjects interesting and you learn loads without even realising. . . .

And I just had to let Rose punch Scorpius, just had to!

Thank you for the review :D


 Report Review

Review #16, by adluvshp Bravery and Courage

1st March 2013:
Hi there!

Well, this made for a nice little read. I liked how you portrayed Neville and showed him as such a nice and helpful teacher, which is what I'd expect of him. I loved how he remembered the trio urging him to stand up and be brave back in his days, and passing on those wise words to Rose.

Rose being tormented by Scorpius about the "true gryffindor" issue was believable and quite funny indeed, and I loved how she went in and punched him after Neville explained to her, she is truly her mother's daughter, haha. And then three years later when she is terrified because Scorpius asked her out, that totally was so cute it made go "aww". And Neville ships ScoRose wow, hahaha.

I enjoyed the whole plot a lot, and I think you did a great job, especially considering this was your first one-shot. I also enjoyed the concept of the difference between Bravery and Courage, it was very well-thought and I liked how Neville was the one to explain it as he is truly a character who has grown in this aspect throughout the series. So great job on that.

The only thing lacking in your story for which I have to give you CC is the grammar. There were several places where you have spelling typos (for example, you misspelled 'fought' somewhere), and you have a lot of missing and misplaced commas and periods (especially in dialogues). Your sentence phrasing is also off in a couple of places. I'd suggest getting a beta to read through this for you and fix all those technical errors as they can disrupt the flow of the story.

But apart from that, this was a very nice one-shot and I enjoyed it a lot. Good plot, good characterisation and well-thought concepts =)

8/10

Cheers!
AD
(AditiDraco95)
Slytherin Review Battle warrior ;)

Author's Response:
Yes, there are (many) grammar mistakes in this, as I wrote this when I was relatively new to the world of ff, before I realised one must either put a '.' or a ',' at the end of someone speaking, so I will get round to fixing it! Promise!

I just had to let Rose punch Scorpius, just had to! He deserved it anyway. . .in my mind at least

Oh! I'm really glad you said this, because I was worried poeple would be like 'Bravery and Courage are the same thing' and again, in my mind they are slightly different, so I'm glad you got that!

And whatever you Slytherins and Gryffindors are up to, I'm really enjoying these reviews ;)

May you live long and prosper young soldier!


 Report Review

Review #17, by Celtic_Dreamer7 Bravery and Courage

28th February 2013:
Congratulations on your first one shot. They can be challenging. I found it to be an interesting read, something I never would have thought to write - Nevile as a teacher. I did see some minor grammatical and technical errors I would like to point out - nothing major.

"You fount in the Battle" fought is misspelled.

“I didn’t necessarily ‘become brave’ Rose, I didn’t wake up one morning and decide ‘Oh, today I’m going to be brave’, it happened over time. - This whole sentence is a run-on and would have flowed better if it had been broken into a few smaller sentences.

I noticed a few missing periods at the end of a few sentences. I would love to read a bit more details about what was going on around them.

Again, nothing that took away from the story itself, just a few notes to keep in mind for your next writing journey.

Congrats again on your first one-shot. I hope there are more in your future.

~Celtic~

Author's Response:
Yes, there are (many) grammar mistakes in this, as I wrote this when I was relatively new to the world of ff, before I realised one must either put a '.' or a ',' at the end of someone speaking, so I will get round to fixing it! Promise! And thank you for pointing out the mashed together sentence, will fix that too!

Description is really not my strong suit, so I will most definitely go back and add some in (thank you for pointing this out by the way!)

Thank you for the review :D


 Report Review

Review #18, by my_voice_rising Bravery and Courage

8th December 2012:
Hullo! I'm here from the review swap. :) Can I please just say that I love your banner? So gorgeous and simplistic!

Hahaha. I laughed out loud at your first chapter. I absolutely love Neville and I think you've captured him well; he definitely goes through one of the biggest transformations as the books go on and results in this kind of wry yet kindhearted person. He genuinely wants to help Rose feel better, all the while thinking about his beloved turkey sandwich. You're doing a great job with his characterisation, I can already tell from that one paragraph!

I love his reaction to Rose punching Scorpius in the face! So funny. I love her finishing his sentence for him three years later, and how things repeated themselves--except he wasn't cold when he sat on the floor XD

I also liked the repeat of how this time she was kissing him instead. Very cute ending indeed!

Author's Response: Thank you :) I really did try to capture Neville to the best of my ability! I read and reread his wikia page so many times, I almost have it off my heart!! :P Thank you so much for such a nice review :) Hee :) Fuzzyness :) And also, you told me to tell you when Chapter 3 of SBIH is posted, so consider yourself told :D Thank you again for all your help with that! :)

 Report Review

Review #19, by ValWitch21 Bravery and Courage

30th November 2012:
Oh, this was lovely. I loved the way you portrayed Neville and the way he pushes his teacher role away for a moment to become the almost-parent.

Rose is great too, and the way you repeat the same scene in different circumstances is really good.

I also like your description of Neville's job, with students wrestling plants and him in the middle of the hub trying to keep everyone alive!

Only thing I'd have to say is your punctuation that seems slightly off to me sometimes, but that wasn't a problem and this story was a nice one to read :)

I'm also going to return your advice and suggest getting a banner for this, to attract people more?

Oh and congratulations for being Runner Up on the challenge, of course!

:)

Author's Response: I actually already have a banner :) So your advice was followed, even before it was given :D Thank you so much :) It was actually my first challenge entry, so it was exciting to write :) Thank you for reviewing :D

 Report Review

Review #20, by onetreehill1 Bravery and Courage

17th November 2012:
This is your oneshot!! i've read this countless times b4 and it was one of my favourites but I never got the chance to review :D
I love this story so much and Neville was perfect. You write your charecters so well :D. I also liked how at the end of each part she goes "OI MALFOY!" and then Neville says "I know i'm a teacher" It was brilliant.
10/10 and more if i could

Author's Response: Thank you for reviewing :) I LOVE NEVILLE :) I thought the 'OI MALFOY' was very Ron-esque, and since she is his daughter, I just had to :) Thanks again!!

 Report Review

Review #21, by FoundHerRon Bravery and Courage

31st October 2012:
This is the first fic I've read on this site that I've felt compelled to comment on... I just LOVE your Neville. What a wonderful story.

Author's Response: Thank you :)
Awh! Your first fic :D I'm really glad you liked it :)


 Report Review

Review #22, by KnightRoseSword Bravery and Courage

31st October 2012:
Great!!! Great story really! I didn't like much that Rosie is so weepy but then I'd go mad if I were in those situations xD Really good job =D I love Neville even more now ;)

Author's Response: I know, Rose was a little bit weepy, but I tried to make her her own person, instead of just basing her off her mom and dad :) Neville is just a babe :) I love Neville :D

 Report Review

Review #23, by Hermione and George Bravery and Courage

19th October 2012:
That was awesome i think that you should write
another story and Check out my story
Unexpected Bossoming Love

Author's Response: Ok! I'll go check that out and thank you for reading :)

 Report Review

Review #24, by Athene Goodstrength Bravery and Courage

29th September 2012:
Here from the Strange Meeting challenge!

Well, this was sweet! It was really lovely to get a little glimpse of Neville as a teacher. I can imagine him being quite good at the pastoral side of it as well as being passionate about Herbology (although I can’t actually imagine him shouting at students - but if he was going to, it would be to protect his plants!). He’s really understanding and caring, yet still a slightly tired teacher - AND he’s very much Neville. I particularly enjoyed his memories of school, particularly of Harry, Ron and Hermione.

I thought the idea of repeating a moment in two different parts of Rose and Neville’s lives is a great one, really clever and simple. The way that what’s upsetting her changes significantly is a really nice touch- and I really love that it’s Scorpius both times!

The first moment is really well chosen, as Neville definitely doubted that he was a true Gryffindor when he was at school. The second moment was just adorable; particularly when you consider the bullying Neville suffered at the hands of Scorpius’s dad! Neville’s wisdom about courage and bravery was really well written... in fact, it made me feel quite emotional as it reminded me of something my dad told me one when he returned from deployment.

There are one or two misplaced or missing commas, but they didn’t detract from the story as a whole.

Overall, you’ve done a great job of taking the two characters you were given and writing them in a believable situation. I really enjoyed this - and my favourite line might just be ‘OI! MALFOY!’... she is so Ron’s daughter. Adorable.

Athene xoxo

Author's Response: Thank you so much!!! :) I'll go and fix some of those grammatical errors asap! :) Ahhh! I feel all fluffy inside now :)

 Report Review

Review #25, by Jen Bravery and Courage

24th September 2012:
Loved it. Very cute and sweet :)

Author's Response: Thank you :) I'm very much so a fluff writer :) THANK YOU FOR READING :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>