Reading Reviews for The Writing on the Wall.
  
110 Reviews Found

Review #1, by YourFan The First Night.

29th June 2014:
this is the first fanfiction I encountered that Albus was neither sorted into Gryffindor and Slytherine..

I always find it hard or to even think of Albus sorted in Slytherine.. He idolizes his father to much to be sorted in Slytherine..

and Albus being sorted at Revanclaw makes this a very interesting story.. i believe that it is very challenging to go in that direction of the story, but you did it effortlessly, so Congratulations!!

I think that you started the story admiringly :)

Author's Response: I had basically two reasons for having him somewhere other than Gryffindor or Slytherin. The first is that there are more than two houses, which he seemed to forget and I always feel that when a character only considers two houses, unless it's make clear they wouldn't fit the others, they should not end up in either of those two.

Also, from the little we saw of Albus, he did not appear either particularly brave or particularly cunning and ambitious. He seemed quiet, thoughtful, maybe a little insecure (although that may just be about starting a new school), slightly gullible. To be honest, my impression was that the house he'd fit best would be Hufflepuff, but I already wrote a story about Harry having a son in Hufflepuff, so I thought Ravenclaw was the next best fit.

Glad you liked it. Hope you continue to enjoy the story.


 Report Review

Review #2, by Anon The First Night.

14th May 2014:
Well this is certainly awsome. I look forward to more :)

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. Glad you enjoyed it. Hope you like the rest.

 Report Review

Review #3, by Teddy1993 Farewell Slughorn

3rd May 2014:
That was a nice chapter to finish with. I really enjoyed this story, from the very first chapter. Thank you for writing it!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your continued reviews. Always nice to hear what somebody thinks.

 Report Review

Review #4, by Teddy1993 Questions and Answers.

3rd May 2014:
Well, I certainly didn't expect that, but I guess it makes sense if she is family of Nott. I liked the motive you gave her. I can easily see why she would hold a grudge against the Potters and the Malfoys. Great ending to a great story. One more chapter to go and then it's time for the sequel. :)

Author's Response: Glad you like the revelation.

I don't think many people figured it out in advance. A lot of people appear to have been surprised. It's hard for me to tell how obvious things are, because of course, I know which hints are important and which are red herrings.

Hope you enjoy the sequel as much.


 Report Review

Review #5, by Teddy1993 Rose's Plan.

3rd May 2014:
Great chapter. I can't wait to find out how this story ends.

Author's Response: Next chapter now will tell you most things. Glad your enjoying it and hope the ending doesn't disappoint.

 Report Review

Review #6, by Teddy1993 The Destruction of the Universe.

3rd May 2014:
I laughed at that last sentence :D Great job on the Quidditch final. Good job!

Author's Response: Glad I made you laugh.

Wouldn't it be hilarious of Filch had painted the graffiti himself, when he threw such a fit about it?

Thanks for the review.


 Report Review

Review #7, by Teddy1993 Easter.

2nd May 2014:
I may be wrong, but I thought Muggles were able to get onto Platform Nine and Three Quarters? I'm not sure, but I think I remember a part during Snape's memories where Lily's parents and Petunia were there to see Lily off to school. Anyway, it doesn't really matter to the story and it's not really a mistake in canon. Just thought I'd point it out. Great chapter, by the way. I was kind of surprised when Scorpius wrote to Rose. Only four chapters left...

Author's Response: I must check that out about Muggles accessing Platform Nine and Three-Quarters. It's something I'm never entirely sure about. Thanks for pointing it out.

Yeah, only four more chapters and the last is really just a finishing-up sort of thing. You'll find out most of what's going on in Questions and Answers. I say "most" because there is one piece of information that remains to be revealed in chapter 1 of the sequel.

Scorpius is very anxious to find out who damaged him broom. It means a lot to him.

Thanks for your continued reviewing.


 Report Review

Review #8, by Teddy1993 Eleanor Lockhart.

2nd May 2014:
Good chapter. I don't really think Lockhart's niece has anything to do with it, but you never know... Great writing!

Author's Response: Thanks for your review. I LOVE hearing people's theories, partly because it tells me if I'm giving enough information, or too much and partly just because it's fun to see how people who don't know how it's going to end interpret things.

 Report Review

Review #9, by Teddy1993 Piecing the Jigsaw Together.

2nd May 2014:
Great chapter. I'm looking forward to the revelation of the story.

Author's Response: The villain is revealed in the second last chapter, so you've about five chapters to go. *grins* Hope you like it.

Thanks for all the reviews.


 Report Review

Review #10, by Teddy1993 The Malfoy Dynasty.

2nd May 2014:
Scorpius seems to be quite alright, although it's rather clear that he is a Malfoy when you look at his behaviour and the way he talks. Great job!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. Scorpius doesn't exactly have an easy time, considering the way his family is now viewed.

 Report Review

Review #11, by Teddy1993 The Golden Arrow.

2nd May 2014:
Great chapter. I'm really enjoying the story.

Author's Response: YAY, the 100th review for this story. I've never had a story get into triple figures with reviews before. And yeah, this is the first fanfiction I've posted with 26 chapters, but still. Thank you so much for making it reach 100.

 Report Review

Review #12, by Teddy1993 Hagrid's Memories.

1st May 2014:
I'm usually not a big fan of mystery stories, but I must say that you grabbed my attention with this one. Great work!

Author's Response: *grins* I think one of the most awesome comments one can get on something one wrote is something like "I don't usually like x, but I do like this version". So thank you and I hope you enjoy the rest.

 Report Review

Review #13, by Teddy1993 Return to Hogwarts.

1st May 2014:
The relationship between Albus and Rose strongly reminds me of the relationship between Harry and Hermione. Good chapter!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review.

 Report Review

Review #14, by Teddy1993 Gifts and Games.

1st May 2014:
It seems like James is really hitting puberty. It was great to see all the Weasleys again. Very good chapter. It was chaotic and entertaining, just as a Weasley christmas should be.

Author's Response: Yeah, James is definitely being a young teenager. He'll grow up eventually.

Glad you liked the chapter; thanks again.


 Report Review

Review #15, by Teddy1993 Home for Christmas.

1st May 2014:
Nice chapter. I like how you pictured all of the Potters together. It's pretty much how I imagined them. James being too cool to hug his little sister in public and Albus being more caring and thoughtfull. I loved his idea for his father's christmas present. I'm really enjoying the story so far!

Author's Response: Glad you're enjoying it. It was good craic to be able to write more of a family scene and the relationship between Albus and his siblings and parents.

Glad you liked his dad's Christmas present. The reason he was stuck on it was because I was and I wanted to put off writing it for a while. *laughs* I eventually thought of the fact Hogwarts meant so much to Harry.


 Report Review

Review #16, by Teddy1993 The Empty Inkwell.

1st May 2014:
That was another great chapter. I like that the fact that Albus and Rose were sorted into Ravenclaw supplies a different perspective on Hogwarts. I can understand they would rather go to Flitwick than McGonagall as she can be quite intimidating. You write very well. Good work.

Author's Response: I'm trying to give Flitwick a bit of an increased role here as their Head of House. Hadn't thought of it giving a different perspective on Hogwarts, but I guess it does.

Thanks again for the continued reviews and for saying I write well. I'm grinning as I read this. Hope you continue to enjoy the story.


 Report Review

Review #17, by Teddy1993 What the Portraits Saw.

1st May 2014:
It's clear Albus and Rose inherited the detective gene from their parents. Good chapter!

Author's Response: *grins* Yeah, they really did, didn't they?

 Report Review

Review #18, by Teddy1993 Suspecting Scorpius.

1st May 2014:
Nice chapter. I enjoyed the scenes with Scorpius. It seems like Albus really is a lot like his father. The whole situation made me think of Harry suspecting Draco during their sixth year, although he was right back then. Good story so far!

Author's Response: Yeah, Albus has some traits in common with Harry, but he is rather more cautious and less likely to go rushing into danger. He's also a little more rule-abiding. And since he grew up in a much happier home, he trusts adults more and asks for advice rather than taking things into his own hands.

 Report Review

Review #19, by Teddy1993 The Chamber's Echo.

30th April 2014:
I'm not sure about Scorpius... I always imagined him to be kind of the odd one out in the Malfoy family, not following the ideas of his father and grandfather. But that has probably something to do with reading fanfiction. I'm sure there are also stories where he is a slimy git. Very good chapter. The story is really getting somewhere now and I like where it is going. Great job!

Author's Response: I did a lot of thinking as to how I could write Scorpius in an original way. I've read stories where he is a rival to Albus as Draco is to Harry and I've read stories where he forms a new trio with Rose and Albus, and while both of those can be really good and work really well, I wanted to do something different. I didn't want to subconsciously copy any of the stories I'd read. Now whether that something different involves making him the villain or something different altogether, I'm not going to give away here.

Glad you are continuing to enjoy this.


 Report Review

Review #20, by Teddy1993 Caught Red-Handed.

30th April 2014:
Another great chapter. I laughed at Filch muttering about Mrs Norris the first and the second. I also liked how McGonagall handled the situation. She seems pretty well in character as I remember her from the books.

Author's Response: Glad you found McGonagall in character. As you may have noticed, I write a lot of OCs or really minor characters, like Hesia Jones, where the issue of keeping them in character doesn't arise to the same degree.

And I got a lot of fun out of Filch and his cats. I was debating whether to give him the ghost of Mrs. Norris or whether he should have a new and lazier cat, but eventually decided on the latter.

Thanks again for your continued reviews. They are much appreciated.


 Report Review

Review #21, by Teddy1993 Hallowe'en.

30th April 2014:
I enjoyed reading about the Halloween feast. We didn't really see much of that in the books, mainly because Harry was getting himself in trouble most Halloweens. This was a nice, easy chapter that ended on a sinister note. I'm looking forward to reading the rest of your story!

Author's Response: Yeah, things tended to get rather interrupted in the books, due to the whole Dark Lord trying to kill Harry at all costs thing. While this is a mystery series, it's nowhere near as extreme as the events of the books.

Hope you continue to enjoy the story and thanks for the review. Glad you enjoyed the description of the Hallowe'en feast.


 Report Review

Review #22, by Teddy1993 Ravenclaw v. Gryffindor.

29th April 2014:
I liked the Quidditch game. You wrote it very well. Good story so far.

Author's Response: Really glad you liked my description of the Quidditch game, as I'm not very good at descriptive writing.

Thanks for the review and I hope you enjoy the rest of the story. More is about to happen in a couple of chapters!


 Report Review

Review #23, by Teddy1993 The Flying Lesson.

29th April 2014:
Another good chapter. It's funny you chose Cho as flying instructor (at least I presume it's her). She's actually the new flying instructor in my story too.

Author's Response: That IS a weird coincidence. I took a look at your stories a few days ago - just the summaries - and they look interesting. Must have a read sometime.

Yeah, I realised I was short a flying instructor and decided to find somebody we already knew to fill the position. I went looking through the books for Quidditch players who might fit the bill and eventually came up with Cho. I COULD just have kept Madame Hooch, I guess, but I decided against it.


 Report Review

Review #24, by Teddy1993 Mysteries.

29th April 2014:
I wonder if Professor Blackburn might be a werewolf. It would explain her foul mood the other night and maybe Slughorn was there to give her Wolfsbane. Either way, there is something going on with her and I'm sure we'll find out in the future. The whole situation with Albus and the chocolate cauldrons seems innocent enough, but I can understand it would be more creepy once he found out his brother didn't sent them as a prank. I think this was my favourite chapter so far. Great job!

Author's Response: *grins* Glad you enjoyed it. This was MY favourite chapter of the early ones too. Although I liked the end of the previous one, as it was so bizarre - giving detentions for essentially walking down a corridor.

And I LOVE your theory. Her being a werewolf WOULD explain a certain amount - her absence, her bad mood, what she is thanking Slughorn for. I love to hear what people think is going on. It all will be explained eventually, but not for a while. This is going to carry on having significance into year two.

And yeah, sending somebody swelling solution isn't MAJORLY serious, but you can imagine that Albus would find it a bit creepy that nobody seems to show any sign of having done it, especially as he's just started boarding school and is a bit nervous anyway.


 Report Review

Review #25, by Teddy1993 The Gryffindor Quidditch Team.

29th April 2014:
Nice chapter. I enjoyed the Quidditch try-outs. Great writing.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. Glad you enjoyed it.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>