Reading Reviews for Tomorrow's A Hope
  
9 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Lululuna Chapter One

16th December 2013:
Hello! :) I'm here from review tag!

Wow, this is such an original concept for a story! I love how you've begun it right at the beginning of Deathly Hallows, and how for all we know in canon Hermione could in fact have cancer and be concealing it from the boys for the sake of the quest. It's a really interesting idea for an AU-type story and an original perspective to have on Hermione, since most of the stories I see which focus on her are all about the romance aspect.

I thought her character was great here in how she worried about being too selfish and related the situation to Harry. Hermione always seemed to me like a very selfless and practical person so the way she was letting go but feeling a little off about it was very realistic. I can't even imagine how receiving news like this would feel but her reaction was very heartbreaking and felt genuine, but also putting on a brave face for the future. She is a Gryffindor after all! I also appreciated how logically she approached the problem with dealing with both muggle and magical approaches for cancer and going through the logical choices and questions and books. It was very Hermione-ish. It made me really sad when she said that at least if she died her parents wouldn't remember her and be sad about losing her, which was really tragic.

The moment where she Obliviates her parents and says goodbye to them. I remember watching the scene in the movie where they elaborate on the mention of what she did in the book, and it was really moving how that was brought to life and you definitely emulated that there. Now that I think about it, that would have been really difficult and frightening for Hermione to do, especially since she couldn't really keep tabs on how her parents were doing without giving away their identities. So sad!

I'm very curious about how this storyline would mix with the rest of DH and what impact having cancer would have on Hermione, especially since she was so strong throughout the book. This is a really original idea and I'd love to see how you continue the storyline and expand on the AU aspects of it. Good job! :)

Author's Response: Wow this review is just amazing! I'm really glad that you think it could fit right in and is an interesting idea. Mind you there will be some romance but yes the idea off this story is more to focus on her, the quest, and her dealing with cancer. I'm really glad that you are enjoying this story and want to see more! Thanks for reading and reviewing!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #2, by evaseber Chapter One

13th July 2013:
the first chapter was absolutely heartbreaking...I really hope you continue this story, I loved it!

Author's Response: I do have plans to continue on with this story at some time. I'm currently going through a bit of a writers block for my posted stories but hopefully nano will help me break through it. Thank you for taking the time to read and review.

~slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #3, by Owlpost68 Chapter One

2nd April 2013:
wow. This puts Such a different spin on what Hermione goes through now. I personally love the scene where Hermione leaves her home in the movie, and even when I know it's not what happens, I feel like it definitely could have, and that takes talent! I hope you continue this story, 'cause now I'm wondering what other scenes you could make incredible.

Author's Response: Ah yes this story, I still need to come back and finish this one some time. This review though has made my day! The fact that you feel this could fit in really well with the story makes me really happy and that you are looking forward to seeing what other scenes I could make incredible. I have a few ideas up my sleeve for this story so hopefully some time soon I can get back to it! Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #4, by ScorpiusRose17 Chapter One

19th January 2013:
Hi there!

This is brilliant! I really enjoyed how you took a moment from the books and gave it your own twist. I also really like the fact that it is tied in with something that is so human that people can understand and relate to. There aren't many stories on the archives that talk about or have the character deal with such a life altering diagnosis such as Cancer. It really gives the character more impact.

You did a wonderful job with your descriptions that I could easily picture myself as if I were standing nect to Hermione as the chapter went on. I really like that quality when I read and you made it flow effortlessly.

I loved the emotion and the understanding of what the character is going through, how it affects the others in her life. Whenever I picture Hermione I always see her as this strong, independent, smart woman who would do anything for anyone even if it meant making her upset. You really understand her character.

The only thing that I did notice was that when she was listening to her parents, you had mentioned that previously midnight had already arrived, but when she is listening and thinking about what tomorrow is going to bring, it is technically already the day that she will be altering their memories. I don't mean to sound critical over something small, but I just wanted to point it out.

Keep up the awesome writing!!! I am definitley adding this to my favorites!! :)

-ScorpiusRose17

Recensio 2013

Author's Response: Awe thank you so much for the awesome review! I'm going to skip right to the last bit about midnight and then saying tomorrow. I know for myself, even if its after midnight and I'm still awake, I will still refer it as tomorrow even though it is technically the next day. I know at least quite a few other people do the same thing as well. I say it that way because I have not yet gone to sleep so I still see it as tomorrow. I hope that's not too confusing to understand.

I'm really glad that you feel that I understand my character. Hermione is actually one of my favorite characters to write, which may be noticed if one takes a look at my authors page as I have quite a few that feature her as the main character. This review is really wonderful! Thank you so much for reading and reviewing!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #5, by academica Chapter One

28th November 2012:
Hey! I'm here for Review Tag :)

Wow, what an interesting plot! It's sad enough to imagine poor Hermione getting such an awful diagnosis, but then when you revealed that it was the day before she planned to Obliviate her parents and take off with Harry and Ron, that just crushed my heart. I love how you tied in her emotions to figments from canon, like how she once said "fear of a name only increases fear of the thing itself" and how she compared fighting cancer to Harry fighting Voldemort, knowing death was possible. I'm also really scared for her, knowing that she'll be going out on this journey with no support from her parents and no continued medical care. I wonder if she, being so clever, will figure out a way to monitor and treat her cancer while she's gone.

Like I said, the emotion is the strong point of this piece. I love how she went back and forth about being too selfish and needing to be selfish, and how you chronicled the whole night through the passage of her thoughts and fears. It'll be interesting to read the next chapter and see if anyone at the Burrow notices her new distress.

You mentioned this at the bottom, so I won't harp on it, but I think a beta could help smooth this out. There's nothing glaringly wrong, just a few tense changes and punctuation errors that need fixing. Otherwise, you've got a really nice start here! :)

Amanda

Author's Response: Yes I do need a beta for this big time and I am looking into getting one! I'm so glad that you thought the emotion was great and that it fit really well with where I've decided to start this story with her taking her parents memory. I do hope to continue with this story soon but other works have taken a focus at the moment. Thank you for taking the time to read and review!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #6, by caoty Chapter One

29th October 2012:
Hey, I'm here from tag.

So, cancer. Well done for tackling a difficult subject, there isn't enough in that in fic, and you've done it with a great deal of emotion. Tying that in with canon events is undoubtedly going to be tricky should you choose to pursue this, but it has potential.

You may want to look over your tense changes and punctuation - I know I like to play with them a lot, but in this case it was a bit confusing at points, particularly at the beginning.

Anyway, good luck writing! :)

Author's Response: I am hoping to continue with this story I've just been a bit side tracked with everything else going on and a bunch of other fics! Yes I know I need a beta.. I'm particularly horrible about changing tenses and such. thank you for taking the time to read and review!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #7, by ginerva_molly_weasley Chapter One

16th October 2012:
This is heartbreaking!

Setting it just before she had to leave, before she had wiped her parents memory of her really tugs at the heartstrings and I think you've conveyed that really well with her panic, the little bits of selfishness and also the idea of them not remembering her.

As a mother myself I can completely understand the actions of her parents, going off to cry in peace whilst on the outside looking strong for their daughter and I think you showed that really well especially with Hermione creeping outside the door for her to hear what was going on inside.

Only one thing bothered me in this though and it was the part about no seventeen year old having to worry about surviving. In general I do agree with this statement however Hermione already had to worry about surviving because she knew where she was going and she knew the idea that she may not come back from fighting Voldemort as that was why she was wiping her parents memory in the first place. Just a little thing though.

All in all I really liked this!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the great review! I'm so glad that you could see where I was coming from with the parents looking strong but then falling apart when they thought they were alone. Yeah I guess I didn't really think about that part being with the whole going off to fight Voldemort so she would have already been thinking that she wouldn't have come back from that. thank you for the kind review!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #8, by Jchrissy Chapter One

10th October 2012:
I LOVE what you've done with her taking away her parents' memories. It ties in so well and just gives a deeper meaning to what she was going through during that time, how hard it was to leave her home and her parents with no recollection of a daughter.

I think this subject would be beyond hard. My mom had cancer, and even with that first hand experience I don't think I could ever hope to do the emotions justice. This was very well described and the way she moved from grief to her decision felt not only smooth, but as natural as it could be in that situation.

I also really like what you did with the name cancer, because after you find out you have it, it would be an entirely different thing. It's such a frighting word in the first place.. but then when it's applied to you.. gah.

Wonderful one shot!

Author's Response: Oh thank you so much! this means a lot to me, it really does especially since you have first hand knowledge of what its like to have a family member with cancer. My aunt had cancer and she's with me every minute of the day so this story is in a way for her! The emotions are hard for me to write sometimes without getting myself emotional but I'm so glad that you think I have done a great job with them and that tying this into hermione taking her parent's memeory works! thank you so much for the wonderful review!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #9, by pennyardelle Chapter One

10th September 2012:
Hey Slytherinchica! I saw your status update about your new story and thought I'd come over and give it a review. (I seem to have been struck with a reviewing bug lately...must be all the free time. :P)

I always really admire people who have the courage to write from the perspective of a character suffering from cancer. I just feel like I could never do all of the emotions justice! But I think you did a really great job, and I found it particularly interesting that this is happening at the same time as the events from DH. At first, I thought that this was supposed to be post-DH, after Ron and Hermione were married, so it made me do a double-take when I realized that this was a different view of the moment when she erased her parents' memories.

I know you said you're looking for a beta, but in general, I didn't find a ton of grammar or spelling mistakes. The only thing I thought might be useful to you as feedback was that I felt you could vary the length of the sentences a bit more, just to punch up the rhythm a bit. I also wonder whether it might be more effective to have actually shown some of the scenes you describe as having already happened--maybe the one at the doctor's office when she gets diagnosed, for example. It would break up the inner monologue without requiring you to sacrifice any of the emotions you included, I think.

Anyway, great work! :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the wonderful review! Cancer is such a hard topic, one that is close to my heart so writing stories with cancer in them is a bit of an emotional journey for myself. I'm glad that you liked it and felt that I did a great job with the emotion. I'm thinking about going back in and adding in a part at the hospital when she finds out that she has cancer like you have suggested. Thank you again for taking the time to read and review! it really made my day!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login