Reading Reviews for Ugly
  
12 Reviews Found

Review #1, by grace Ugly

27th August 2013:
When I was halfway throught it I was like their gonna kiss their gonna kiss and when they did It was cute

Author's Response: haha they are cute, aren't they? ;)

Thank you! :)


 Report Review

Review #2, by Anne Ugly

16th March 2013:
You pulled off a really difficult story to write and did it really wonderfully! It was original and thats kinda hard to find around here, my only thing is that you could add more description. Keep writing :)

Author's Response: Wow, thank you! :D

I suck at description, I really do. :p When I have a bit more time I'll add some more, but thanks for the tip! :)

Thanks for reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #3, by pinkpanther16 Ugly

18th February 2013:
I am in love with this story. Aria and Albus are magnificent characters, and I love their relationship. Al's flirting with Aira was cute, too. :) I hope you keep writing more stories, I'm sure they'll be as amazing as this one. :D

Author's Response: Wow thank you! I'm glad you like my story, characters and their relationships! :D

Don't worry, I'll keep writing more. ;) I have a lot of other stories as well, if you ever want to read more. :D

Thanks for the lovely review! :D


 Report Review

Review #4, by AllieGal22 Ugly

12th February 2013:
This was a very interesting story! I was fascinated by how you used a phobia, and I wanted to read more. Your writings give me a good idea of how the character looks, thinks and feels. Keep writing :)
xoxo,
Allie

Author's Response: Aww thank you! All your compliments just made my day. :'D

Don't worry, I will keep writing, feel free to check out more stories of my stories, I have plenty. ;) (shameless self-promoting. :p)

Thanks for the lovely review! :D


 Report Review

Review #5, by Drama Ace Ugly

9th February 2013:
This is cute I liked how much detail you put in it. You seem to know a lot about cacophobia. One tiny thing though, you said ivory hair when I think you meant ebony hair because ivory is white and ebony is black. Just saying. I really liked albus in the story :)

Author's Response: Thank you! I researched A LOT for this disease. I must have looked through nearly every page on Google for this one-shot, I wanted it to come out as authentic as possible!

I DID THAT IT ANOTHER ONE-SHOT AS WELL. Ack. I start singing 'Ebony and Ivory' and then I write the wrong one. *smacks self*

Thanks for pointing that out, I'll go change it now!

Thanks for the lovely review! :D


 Report Review

Review #6, by PhoenixFlame8629 Ugly

5th December 2012:
This was great! I loved how everything unfolded! It was paced perfectly, the characters were likable, and the plot was good. What more could you ask for?

Author's Response: Aww thank you! :D

I'm very bad at pacing, I'm glad to hear that you liked it! :D

Thanks for the review and thanks for giving me first place! :D


 Report Review

Review #7, by RosieQueen Ugly

6th November 2012:
Wow...just...wow. I've heard of cacophobia before and wondered what it must be like to have it, and just reading from Aria's PoV on the phobia made me learn so much about it!

It's so sweet how Al tried the best he could so that Aria could get over her fear. :)

The detail was mind-blowing! And you wrote Aria's feelings on the phobia so perfectly! It must have taken a lot of effort into writing this, especially about a fear that you don't have yourself.

Awesome job with this! The realistic element was very powerful in this one-shot, especially since cacophobia is a real phobia. Did you have to do any research on this? Because the symptoms seemed very realistic. Once again, this was an amazing piece! :D

~Rosie

Author's Response: Wow, thank you for your kind compliments! :D

ahaha, it was sweet, wasn't it? ;)

It did take a lot of effort, so I'm glad that it reflected that! I don't know anyone who has a fear like this (and I don't have it either) so it really was a challenge!

I did have to do a lot of research, I spent weeks and weeks researching this! Looking through so many articles and websites... yet I'll only look at Wikipedia for a major project! :p

I'm glad it seemed realistic! Thank you so much for all these wonderful compliments, I'm really flattered. :)

Thanks for leaving me another review! :D


 Report Review

Review #8, by ginnypotter242 Ugly

22nd October 2012:
Hello there :)

This was so beautifully written. I loved you characterization of Albus (he's so cute! Gah, I love him). Aria was a great character. The phobia was written very well- it was believable and enjoyable. I liked Aria's inner conflicts throughout the story, it made it very real.

I've never actually heard of this fear before. Looking it up, I think you did it justice. It's just...wow. I love your writing style!

I also liked how you ended the peace. (First of all- cute couple!) Even though they kissed, Aria knew she still had issues, everything wasn't magically better. This made the story so real. Aria still had things she had to face, even though that went right- that is something that would happen in real life. A lot of stories have a 100% fairytale happy ending, and I'm glad yours was different. Great job!

~Sara

Author's Response: Hello! :D

Oh wow, thank you so much! Your compliments are lovely! Here, have some love! ♥

I'm glad to hear I did the fear justice, I researched and researched and researched, I'm so happy that it paid off! :D

Omg Al/Aria, didn't even plan to ship them but they are an adorable couple and I couldn't NOT ship them. Getting over a phobia, especially one with such big issues don't really HAVE fairytale endings. It's sad, but it's the truth. And after researching it, I knew I couldn't do a fairytale ending or something so I decided to make it as realistic as possible! :)

I'm glad you liked it, thank you so much for this lovely review! :D


 Report Review

Review #9, by Faith100z Ugly

26th September 2012:
Hi!! All right, so I found this really interesting to read. I felt like you went really in depth with the phobia, and also managed to make the reader feel sorry for poor Aria.

I thought the flow was really good. The whole Al-being-a-pyschologist thing was an interesting take on his character, but I kind of like it :) I can imagine him trying to "fix" all of his cousins' issues all the time. :P

I feel like you told the story in a very realistic way, but it was still creative and unique! If there was one tiny thing I would suggest, maybe more description in the first half? The story was really great though, awesome job! :)
- Faith

Author's Response: Hello there!
I'm glad you found it interesting to read! :) I did heaps of research on this phobia, it just wouldn't have been a good fic if I hadn't - so at least it showed! :D
I'm happy about the flow, I always worry about that! Al-the-Psychologist was unique, I'd never read it and most people don't really have a working knowledge of things like this - so I needed a character who liked psychology! :p
I'm glad my story is realistic yet creative! :D
I might go back and add more description in later, when I have a bit more time! I'll definitely add something there, thanks for the tips! :)
Thank you for reviewing! :D
P.S. Sorry if this doesn't make sense - I've had a jam-packed week and even though it's quarter past seven, I'm ridiculously tired. :p


 Report Review

Review #10, by Siriuslover177 Ugly

22nd September 2012:
Hello,it's Siriuslover117,

This was a great story. I really had no idea how you were going to pull this phobia out, because the fear of ugly people is quite a difficult phobia to understand that it truly is real.

I really love how you pulled it off, how it was herself that she was afraid of, it was very creative, and very sad.

I really liked the idea of having Albus helping her get over her fear, and I really did like how in the end, she is still afraid, but she IS trying.

I wouldn't like it if after a day she is all good and dandy, because that isn't what happens. I like it that it was true, that real. You made it very realistic, and that is what I was looking for.

This was truly a good story, and it broke my heart as I was reading it.

Good luck, and thank you very much for doing my challenge.

~Sarah
Xxxx

Author's Response: Hello!
I was originally going to do a humour fic with Sirius/Marauders but then when I was researching it I realised how real it was! So then this little plunny popped up! :)
I'm glad to hear that I pulled it off well! It was quite hard to do!
I totally understand, someone isn't cured of a phobia after a few minutes - it can take up to years, so I couldn't make her completely perfect. I tried to make it as realistic as possible! :)
I'm so sorry that it broke your heart! That was never my intention! D:
I'm glad you liked it though! :D
Thank you so much for giving me this lovely review and the challenge was excellent! It was one of my favourite challenges so far! :D


 Report Review

Review #11, by lol Ugly

19th September 2012:
I loved it! cacophobia seems a to be really difficult phobia to write about, but you did it very well!
I also liked the way you ended it - she's starting to get over her fear, but she still has to work about it... it's great because she has Al to help her with it, and it would be unrealistic if she overcame her fear immediately... but I would have loved it even if she did get over it in the end (:

Author's Response: It was quite difficult, I was originally going to write a humour fic but when I researched it I realised it was quite serious! :/
I'm glad I pulled it off! :D
Yeah, people getting over their fear in less than a day is unheard of. This way is more realistic. :p
(as realistic as fanfiction can get!)
Maybe she did get over it, maybe she didn't - you'll just have to make up your own ending! :D
Thanks for reviewing! :D


 Report Review

Review #12, by ScarletEye158 Ugly

15th September 2012:
Ooh, I really liked this! :D You definitely did have a hard phobia to write about but I thought you did a really good job with it(:

I loved Al and Ria's relationship! I could tell they liked each other as the story went on and I kept rooting for them the whole way through ;)

I'm glad you had the story end where she was finally getting over her fear, yet not quite over it completely. It would've seemed very unrealistic if she got over it that quickly so I liked how it implied that it's gonna take time before she officially and finally gets over it. :D

Nice job! And good luck in the challenge(:

-Amanda

Author's Response: Yay! I was really worried that I didn't write it well enough! I was originally going to make it a humour fic but as I researched it I had this plunny and I thought it was much better! :)
I didn't even plan on making them get together, actually! As I was writing I was like I will not ship them. I will not ship them.
But when I re-read it I was like I SHIP THEM! :p
Yeah, I didn't want to make it completely unrealistic because when I was researching it, websites said it took years to get over the phobia.
I'm so glad you liked it! :)
Thanks for reviewing! :D


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login