10 Reviews Found

Review #1, by nott theodore Pre Match Buildup and Romance?

17th March 2013:
I really enjoyed this chapter too, because I think that you're developing your characters (particularly Wendy) well. The mention of Harry, Ron and Hermione was cute and you included more references to what we know from the books which make the story seem more realistic.

And the beginnings of a romance! Who doesn't love a bit of romance? I'm looking forward to seeing what happens next!

nott theodore :)

Author's Response: Most Oliver/OC fics or Hogwarts era fics that don't include Harry, Ron and Hermione as the main characters generally tend to pretend they don't exist- I wanted this to be as canon as possible, taking Cedric out as captain is a big leap, I didn't want too much to be AU since that's not what this story is about ;)

Yay for romance! I'm hoping to finish this story over Easter and get the chapters up after that so, stick around :D


 Report Review

Review #2, by nott theodore Classes and Glasses

17th March 2013:
I really like the way you write these characters and also the way that you have given us details that we already know from the books which really help set the scene in this story. I thought the bit when Wendy was plotting the best ways to kill Oliver Wood and Marcus Flint was hilarious! I'm interested to see what's going to happen next!

nott theodore :)

Author's Response: Characterisation is one of the major points for me when I'm writing something. When I read a story, no matter how good the plot line is, if the characters aren't down, then I don't like the story, so I try to make my characters realistic and interesting at the same time ;) Ha ha, I liked writing all the different methods of torture, I can totally use them myself if I wanted :P

Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #3, by nott theodore An Introduction to the life of Wendy Williams

17th March 2013:
Hello!

I really enjoyed this chapter. I like your writing style and the way you introduced the character and more information about her, and I thought this was a good opening to your story.

I noticed a few grammatical errors but these weren't enough to affect the flow of the chapter. I really like your main character already - outsiders are always the best protagonists! This story wasn't what I expected when I started reading but it's reall interesting and I'm looking forward to reading the next chapter!

nott theodore :)

Author's Response: Hiya!

Thanks so much for the review :D I'm glad Wendy isn't what you expected, I feel as if she's one of those characters who can't be predicted. That being said, it is a parody, so some parts of her are pretty obvious. This was supposed to be a one shot entry for a challenge but I loved Wendy so much I extended it to a short story :P

Thanks again for your review!


 Report Review

Review #4, by my_voice_rising An Introduction to the life of Wendy Williams

24th February 2013:
Oh my gosh. It's a parody. Okay. hahaha. I was like "I CAN TELL THIS PERSON CAN WRITE, WHY IS SHE SAYING ALL HUFFLEPUFF GIRLS ARE DITZY NO NO NO."

Well, with that new knowledge... ;D

THANK YOU FOR ATTACKING THIS TROPE. (Please excuse my excessive use of caps lock; I've had quite a bit of coffee today.) I could go on forever about the negative effects of chastizing women for wearing miniskirts and makeup when it's what society has set up for them to do. Why do some authors feel like anyone who dares to own a tube of lipgloss is an incompetent fool? No less, why does everyone hate the poor 'Puffs? They're so brave, and unafraid of toil!

Oh my, the opposing house Quidditch captains. You're really on a roll here! I almost wish you'd gone so far as to have them hating each other too xD (Can I also just say that your title is perfect for the kind of story you're satirizing?)

The examiners probably took pity on them. Hufflepuff was after all the charity case of the school. Lit-rally snorted aloud. God, that's perfect! I support the idea that not everyone who gets into a certain house exhibits all of the traits. But you're right; a lot of Hufflepuffs seem to be more set for Ravenclaw, like your OC.

My only suggestions would be some physical descriptions. We can see from your banner that she's clearly a poorly-disguised beauty, hiding behind a pair of "nerdy," yet actually hip, glasses. But some written physical descriptions would be nice too.

Very funny! I'm on to the next chapter.

Author's Response: Thanks for acknowledging the fact that I can write, that made me feel a lot better ;) Grr, it frustrates me that Hufflepuffs are seen as the duffers and the blondes, because that's not the requirements for my house last time I checked :P It also annoys me how girly girls are portrayed in fanfiction as well (She wears makeup and skirts? Must be a tart then!). I wrote this for a challenge where my two prompts were 1. A character that doesn't fit into their house and 2. All Hufflepuffs are ditzy. I was like, mmn, I can't make this work without parodying it! These ideas are so commonly used and abused in ff, it does rile me up so I'm fighting it, starting with this story ;) I'm not very good at physical descriptions, but I'll try and drop in a few lines here and there, let the reader piece it together.

Thanks so much for the review!


 Report Review

Review #5, by soapman333 Classes and Glasses

16th February 2013:
Oh snap!!! Oliver was around the corner?! That sly dawg!

I enjoyed this chapter thoroughly!

Oh and I also liked the part where she punched the slytherin captain's nose! Go GIRL!

Sorry, anways I wanted to say that this chapter made me laugh, and I like laughing. The first part where she was lounging in the common room, and Zacharias Smith bounded towards her, floor shaking, made me cough up my coffee. This is a fun story, I'll probably check it out later.

Thanks,
soapman333

Author's Response: HE IS! He is such a sly spy :P

Ha ha, she had to, she wasn't going to let him get away that easy, was she? Smith is a character that to me, will always be a bit of a clumsy tosspot who lets others influence him, but is a good kid really...whether his good side comes out though is another thing!


 Report Review

Review #6, by soapman333 An Introduction to the life of Wendy Williams

16th February 2013:
I'm not going to lie: When I read the series, this is how I imagined Hufflepuffs. It's like you read my mind!

Moving on, I like Wendy! She's certainly a curious character. The tom-girls always catch a guy's heart.

What else shall I say? I like how she misplaced her textbook, oh, and I like Woody. Woody is one of my favored characters, so I'm excited to see how this progresses.

I'm going to read the second chapter and leave a review there. . .this was a really pointless one, but I enjoyed the read. So. . .yeah :D

soapman333

Author's Response: I think it's how everyone imagined the Hufflepuffs ;)

They always do in the fanfiction world at least! His obsession with Quidditch the thing that interests me about him, and it's going to be fun writing more of him!


 Report Review

Review #7, by LeeAnn Classes and Glasses

10th December 2012:
I like it. You've got an interesting story going here and I look forward to reading more of it.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #8, by SnitchSnatcher An Introduction to the life of Wendy Williams

5th October 2012:
Hey, it's Molly from TGS. First off, I must apologize for taking so long to get to this review. I'm normally not so slow on the turn-around, but the truth is that I forgot about my thread on TGS, just as I said I was prone to do, and I apologize if you've been expecting this sooner.

Secondly, I was pleasantly surprised by this, though at first I must admit that I was a little wary. In my head, I kept thinking 'is this girl for real?' and then I reread the summary and saw that it was a parody of sorts. I breathed a sigh of relief, and everything made sense. And then it became immensely more enjoyable from that point on.

Wendy's characterization is quite brilliant, if I do say so myself. She's everything that her housemates aren't - or at least seems to see herself that way. I love how among all of the cliches that comprise her personality, there are still spurts of originality that really make her unique. Had she not possessed those traits, I don't think I would have been very interested in her story, but she does, and I am!

The flow was good! I wasn't confused at any point. It didn't feel choppy or disoriented. There was a good blend of narration and description. I particularly enjoyed the descriptions of the dorm room! For your first foray into third person, I think you did a magnificent job!

Really well done!

- Molly

Author's Response: Hi Molly! Don't worry, it wasn't that long of a wait ;) If this wasn't a parody, I wouldn't be able to tolerate this story. It was for a challenge where I had to work with two cliches and what better way to do that than by parodying it? Thanks for the review, it really helps a lot hearing what other people think and I was a tad worried with the third person narrative because it was my first time, so your review is very reassuring. Thanks again!
Aisha


 Report Review

Review #9, by MiSTY_VoLPe An Introduction to the life of Wendy Williams

15th September 2012:
another story?! you've been busy! (which im secretly very happy about!)
oh i like this already! (well that really goes for all your stories)
loving the alliteration in the title by the way!
cool idea- cant wait to see where this goes! i really love the character of wendy! shes different!
update soon please?

Author's Response: Yep, somehow, when school starts again, I start churning out the stories :P Quite literally, I think I've typed more chapters and made more graphics in this month than any other :D I'm also starting another story soon which I'm psyched about because it's gonna be all dark... Yay for Wendy!!! I have to update soon 'cause this is for a challenge and the deadline's soon... so yea! Updating right now :D

 Report Review

Review #10, by Hannah An Introduction to the life of Wendy Williams

14th September 2012:
Brilliant first chapter! You've taken the cliches and stereotypes and made it into something I wanted to read, great job :D

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the review! I'm glad you liked it ;)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login