Reading Reviews for Missing
  
201 Reviews Found

Review #1, by MissOliverWood Me

8th March 2014:
Hello!
Not meaning to be rude or anything, but the plot seems awfully familiar to the book 'New Girl' by Paige Harbison. I'm sure it wasn't intentional or anything, but it's just that it's strikingly similar.

Putting that aside however, I really enjoyed this chapter. It was written thoughtfully and well. And the characterisation was beautifully executed through realistic dialogue.

Can't wait to read on!

 Report Review

Review #2, by MagykNargle Tori

24th October 2013:
Oh, Merlin. She... 0.0 That's...
I have no words. I'm sorry. I feel so conflicted now, because I can't really hate Tori after all that, but I really, REALLY want to. So... good job, I suppose...? D:

 Report Review

Review #3, by MagykNargle Tori

24th October 2013:
I knew it. Oh, my gosh! I NEVER get stuff like this right, but I KNEW she was pregnant! Wow, I feel so accomplished, ahaha. Anyway, GREAT story! :D I'll check out your others (if there are any?) when I finish this one. ^_^

 Report Review

Review #4, by MagykNargle Tori

23rd October 2013:
This'll be a sort of strange review. I personally think Tori gets pregnant and is too embarrassed to face Hogwarts again. She just didn't tell anyone. Meh.
This is a great story! It's really well written, and very compelling. Great job! :D

 Report Review

Review #5, by AgentGalini Me

12th August 2013:
I'm crying...I really fell in love with this story, and it's such a shame it's over. Those characters will stick with me, and when I'll look for an awesome story which will make me forget everything but the characters's adventures, I'll re-read 'Missing'.
Charlie was so freakin' awesome. Seriously, even with those human-contact or lack-of-socialism issues, she was seriously one of the best and epic OCs I've read in this site. She's so bloody hilarious that sometimes I want to cry from so much laughing.
Tori was a quite unique character. I truly pity her, and wish things didn't turn out this way for her. In her search for happiness after all the tragic events of her past, she only ended up with sadness. Hurting people. Hurting herself. By pushing people away, turning herself into a different person, and doing everything possible for people to...love her, she ended up in the wrong side of the road. You can only lie for a while, until something happens and everything spreads out for the world to know. In the beginning, I hated her. But in the end, I felt great sadness for her. She wanted to change her life...but with the wrong way. I'm sure she'll never be forgotten.
James was awesome. He once fell in love, and got hurt in the end, not only by his girlfriend, but also from his brother. It's great how he managed to find love again, when everyone though of Charlie as just "Tori's replacement". It hurts to imagine that not only Tori died that night -and I'm not sure if I want Rebecca to tell the truth to James. It will hurt him so much. He deserves the truth, but sometimes it's better not to know some things.
Anyway, I truly enjoyed this story very much. Maybe a sequel hehe? :3 Good job!
-Galini

 Report Review

Review #6, by AlexFan Me

10th July 2013:
Oh my god, I lost it at "strutting like gay models." That bit was absolutely hilarious! Ah, the humorous parts of this story.

I think James needs to get his brain checked as well because this is just ridiculous. I can't believe that Tori had everyone wrapped around her finger so tightly! I really wish everyone would just give Charlie a chance instead of just calling her Tori's replacement.

I don't even want to think about Rebecca, that girl just gets on my nerves so much! But anyway, I liked the chapter! The plot is moving forward and everything is interesting! The only thing I would give advice on is not rushing the romance.

Author's Response: Wow, I can't even remember writing that line! Obviously my memory is pretty terrible...but I'm glad you enjoyed it, anyhow!

I wish people would give Charlie a chance, too! She's a much better person than Tori was, and James needs to know that!

Thanks again for the lovely review, I hope to see you back here when you have the time!

Courtney:)


 Report Review

Review #7, by AlexFan Me

10th July 2013:
Someone needs to get Rebecca checked in at St. Mungo's or something and do some psychological tests on her to make sure she's unstable. I can understand grieving someone that you care about but Rebecca is not grieving, she's gone absolutely mad.

Honestly, she scares me.

I like Aine though, she's my favourite character so far. She's just so nice and understanding. I liked hearing her version of what type of person Tori was. I don't know why but I always enjoy it when characters tell stories.

I'm pretty sure James already knows about his brother and Tori. I don't think anyone else has realised that if James really was in love with Tori or cared about her alot he would be a lot more upset about it than he is. Again, awesome chapter!

Author's Response: Haha, wow the opening of this review made me laugh out loud - and I couldn't agree more! She definitely has gone a little mad, and she definitely is quite scary - I'm not quite sure how people, especially Aine and Charlie put up with her.

I really liked writing Aine, actually. You're completely right about how understanding she is. I think she's the character the balances out the, erm, mental baskets like Rebecca and Tori.

I'm glad you enjoyed the chapter!
Courtney:)


 Report Review

Review #8, by AlexFan Tori

10th July 2013:
I found it really ironic how Tori hates people who act like they think they're better than everyone when she herself is one of those people. Just looking at things from her point of view makes me hate her so much and I want nothing more than to slap her.

I hate how she uses people just to gain control and I especially hate the fact that she's so disrespectful, even if it is to Smith (I forgot how to spell his first name). On the other hand, all of these things make her realistic which is what you want to achieve with your characters.

There were a few errors throughout the chapter but nothing major. Other than that though, I enjoyed reading this.

Author's Response: Tori certainly is, erm, one of a kind to put it VERY politely!

She definitely is very manipulative and, like you said, uses people for her own gain. But I'm glad you think she's still realistic, sometimes it's hard to find the balance.

Thank you again! Your reviews are always so lovely!
Courtney:)


 Report Review

Review #9, by AlexFan Me

10th July 2013:
I'm finally getting around to leaving those four reviews now because I've been too lazy to do so before (there's no excuse, I know). Anyway! I read this chapter before so I read some of it and skimmed some of it just so that I could remember what happened.

Charlie is so awkward, I feel so bad for her because she gets put in these awkward situation and she kind of mumbles her way through them or word vomits everywhere.

There were a couple of spelling errors like "coz" or "cos" instead of "'cause." My grade 6 teacher always told me that that wasn't a word so now it's stuck in my head and it just jumps out at me.

I find Charlie really relatable because I could understand some of the things that she did. She's very realistic. Anyway, awesome job on the chapter!

Author's Response: To be honest, I know what you mean by being too lazy to get round to leaving reviews (or in my case, responding to them).

Yep, Charlie certainly is a very awkward character! Part of the reason I loved writing her so much - I kinda miss her actually.

Haha, me and my spelling errors! And you're definitely right about things your teachers from primary school getting stuck in your head - is it elementary over where you live? I'm not sure...

Thank you for the review!
Courtney:)



 Report Review

Review #10, by wicked101 Me

7th July 2013:
This story was amazing! I don't know why I put off reading it for so long, but I'm glad I finally got to it! I loved the characters to bits and while I was reading this story I couldn't but think of Pretty Little Liars. Not that the two are the same, but Tori reminded me a lot of Ali. I am deff going to check to out more of your work! Love IT!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm really glad you enjoyed it - and I definitely see what you mean about PLL! Thanks for reviewing, I really appreciate it.

Courtney:)


 Report Review

Review #11, by patronusflight14 Me

7th July 2013:
i loved your story it was so good! you write realy well! would you consider a sequel?

Author's Response: Wow, thank you so much! This comment made my day!

I did consider a sequel for a while, but I've gone off the idea, sadly. However, I am tempted to write a couple of one-shots about the 'Missing Moments' of this story.

Courtney:)


 Report Review

Review #12, by Kitt Me

21st June 2013:
This story was just amazing!! I loved how intricate the plot was and how you were able to write from both characters point of view so flawlessly.. truly you are a very talented writer and I'm about to go read the rest of your stuff :)

Author's Response: Aw, thank you so much! I really appreciate it! Thanks for the lovely review.

Courtney:)


 Report Review

Review #13, by Jchrissy Me

6th June 2013:
I can't believe I'm at the very end! Boo!! Well at least this means I can start another one of yours.

Ugh. Where to start?!

You've grown so much over the course of this story, Courtney. Getting to read the new chapters and read how much your writing improves over each one was such an awesome experience. You wrote an insanely compelling and addicting story while continuing to push your talent and improve it, and I just think that's awesome.

I got so attached to all of your characters. Even Tori. I find myself liking her a little more knowing what she did -- I"m not sure why. She lived in this bright shiny sort of world where she glowed everywhere she went, but in reality she was in this terrible cold and numb place where she wouldn't let anyone really reach out and help her. I think that is so damn sad. But I also think you crafted the perfect character for the role. She was beautiful and breathtaking but insanely detached form reality, until her reality became too much.

And Charlie! She was such an awesome OC to spend time with. Her combination of naive nature and sarcasm, and the fact that she really is just adorable and funny, sometimes annoying, just made her feel very realistic. Watching her and James learn to be together was really exciting, and this last chapter was such an emotional way to end it all.

I love that she didn't feel okay about the funeral and that it caused some issues, but even more than that, I love you fixed those and ended us on a positive note.

This story was so much fun to slip into, Courtney, and I hope you're so proud of yourself for it!

Author's Response: I'm so, so glad you think my writing improved! When I first started writing fanfiction last year, I just regarded it as a bit of a fun time waster - something to do when I was bored during the holidays. I never realized how much I would learn from it!

I actually really enjoyed writing Tori's chapters, probably more so than Charlie's. It was definitely enjoyable to write about a generally cruel, unkind, mean girl with a mysterious past who met her ultimate downfall. Dun, dun, dun!

Sorry. I felt like the words 'ultimate downfall' needed a dun, dun, dun after them.

I'm really glad that you liked Charlie (and this story) and it made me unbelievably happy to see a review from you each chapter!

Thank you!

Courtney:)

PS: I am eagerly anticipating the next chapter of Before They Fall. Gasp!


 Report Review

Review #14, by Jchrissy Me

6th June 2013:
As odd as this may sound, I love 'stress exam' sort of chapters. It's so much fun seeing how all the characters handle it, and I loved the balance you had between them all. Charlie was stressed, but not snapped. Aine was stressed AND snapping, and of course the boys were meandering through life as happy as could be. HAHA.

I really loved the line Aine said to James about his head being full of fluff. But still, with last chapter, we knew this one would keep to it's light, easy (well, for the reader. Not easy for the exam takers) mood for long.

Rebecca's apology was actually really sweet. She's seemed a bit less insane lately, and I think with the end of the year coming she probably reflected back a bit on how she's treated Charlie. And, if what I'm thinking happened, she probably doesn't want to risk leaving things on bad terms with someone else the way she did with Tori. If the note proves true, and Tori really did do what we think, I think it's going to be a hard blow to the whole school.

Awesome chapter, Courtney!

Author's Response: Oooh, my last response was actually quite long for me! Go Courtney!

It was definitely interesting, writing the different ways each of the characters looked at exams, especially the boys attitude, which probably reflects my own outstanding opinion and attitude towards exams.

I decided that Rebecca couldn't be completely evil at the end of the story! She had to have something redeemable about her and your comment about reflection sounds completely right!

Thanks for another lovely review - sorry for the less than amazing response. I'm so embarrassed of myself! And I'm not sure that was grammatically correct, but that's okay.

Courtney:)


 Report Review

Review #15, by Jchrissy Tori

29th May 2013:
Oh Courtney! I had a feeling you were going to end it with something like this, the way Tori has been spiraling out of control. For a while, when the story first started and we all realized either we'd learn Tori was gone for good or would come back, I tried to think what could have happened to her. Something like this crossed my mind, but I thought she loved herself too much to do it.

But then with the last handful of her chapters, when we just watch her break more and more, it became clear that it's not she loves her self too much, it's that she doesn't love herself at all. She struggles to get people to love *her* because she can't do it, so I started thinking this might be a very real possibility but actually reading it was so much different than what I thought.

The memory of the fire, of her being the cause of it, was a really powerful way to lead Tori into the kind of desperation she's feeling. And it's obvious to see why Rebecca is so intent on finding her. She realizes what may have happened, and is probably blaming herself, thinking that if only she'd been a friend to Tori when she needed it the most maybe it wouldn't have happened. But someone like Tori wouldn't ever have been okay, and ugh now I just feel so sad for her and wish she'd have held on a little longer.

I loved the way you wrote it, by the way. Obviously you have to stay on the right side of a very thin line for ToS, but even if you wouldn't have had to I still like this way better. Not descriptive, not graphics, just the line 'and then, very suddenly, there was no now.' was an amazing way to make it clear what happened but keep it almost poetic.

Awesome, awesome chapter Courtney!

Author's Response: Jami!

First of all, sorry about how long it has taken me to reply! I'm useless, I know. And as much as I hate to admit it, I really don't like replying to reviews! I love reading them, and I love learning how to improve my writing (and being given positive feedback is always nice, too) but I'm absolutely rubbish when it comes to replying to them. But I'll do my best! In my short, lazy format.

I really enjoyed writing this chapter, so I'm glad you enjoyed it, too! (See how cheesy that sounded! I cannot write a review response to save my life!) Anyway, it was a lot of fun to watch/write as Tori slowly fell to pieces and lost control over her life.

The flashbacks were fun to add in there, too, especially since i'd been hinting about an 'accident' a little throughout the course of the story.

Ahh, and the ending! You have no idea how many times I rewrote it! When I started writing this story I actually hadn't read the ToS (whoops) and when I found out there was quite a strong non-suicide rule, I was really worried this wouldn't make the cut! But it did, luckily.

Thank you for the review! (Again? I can't remember whether I've already said that. Ah, well.)

Courtney:)


 Report Review

Review #16, by True Author Me

28th May 2013:
Hi Courtney! :)
I know that I've already let you know that I read and enjoyed this, but still I wanted to review and tell how much I enjoyed your story. =]

I'm a huge fan of mysteries and the mysterious disappearance of Victoria Heron brought me here. I didn't really get what the plot was in the first chapter but then the plot became thicker.

I especially liked every character in this story. They were so original and different from each other. You did a really good job in handling so many characterizations at once. Their thought processes and behaviours were always perfect. =]

I know that Tori was kind of bad and everything but I liked her more than Charlie. I can't tell you the reasons, but maybe because she was the one with the mysterious background and I love mysteries? I don't know. She was absoulutely original. Her last chapter was the best one. :( I wish she had survived. Albus would've married her and James would've been happy with Charlie. Albus and James would've been friendly with each other. *sighs*

I just thought that you should have connected Charlie and Tori in more ways. I thought it would've been very nice if Charlie was actually investigating Tori's disappearance. But still it's pretty awesome. :)

The epilogue was nice but I was hoping James and Albus would make up. Harry's kids are the most darling kids for me and it was odd to see them here in different avatars. Though it was sort of nice. A new experience you know?

Anyways, this was a good story and I really enjoyed it! I hope you'd have some time for a sequel! :)

Ashwini

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the lovely review. I'm sorry at how slack I've been at replying - I haven't had much time for fanfiction recently, but I'm definitely back now. Yay!

I'm really glad you liked the characters - Tori, especially was a lot of fun to write, mainly because she was just so unpleasant and definitely had a dark and mysterious sort of story line, like you mentioned.

I felt bad about leaving James and Albus fighting, actually, but I really didn't want this story to have a completely happy ending, as terrible as that sounds! But I'm glad you enjoyed the epilogue anyway.

Thank you again!

Courtney:)


 Report Review

Review #17, by Jchrissy Tori

21st May 2013:
Oh :(!!!

This was the closest I've ever come to really feeling bad for Tori. Every is falling apart so, so much. I didn't even think of her being pregnant! Why, I have no idea, but oh my gosh. This is also the first time that I can see a tiny bit of hope that she may have the chance yet to become a good person. She's changing and she knows that, but she doesn't want that. Yet she needs to realize that's the only thing that can possibly give her a chance at become a person again, ha!

Oh I do NOT condone her actions at the party! You are pregnant, missy! Not that she cares, I'm sure. And it seems very in character. But still, bad!

You really did an awesome job in this building us up to the sort of breaking of everything. The pregnancy, James catching her with Albus, Becky seeing it... it was all just so, so perfect. And it starts to show is why Rebecca may be so devoted now. Something must happen very shortly after this chapter and we'll see why that resulted in Becky's unwavering devotion. I'm guessing whatever happens, they don't make up before it does and then she feels terrible.

So much stress and drama in this chapter! I loved it! And now I'm torn between trying to figure out if Tori will do something bad to herself or if she'll just up and leave... eek!

Also, awesome job showing more of James's anger in this. It was the same sort as when he told Tori to shut up as when Charlie is wearing her costume. Not nearly as angry of course, but you really do well with keeping him the same person! Just a worse version of himself with Tori and a better version with Charlie.

Author's Response: You felt almost bad for Tori? I must have done something right in this chapter then! That is definitely encouraging! I think Tori definitely started breaking down in this chapter, which was very fun to write.

Yep, this definitely was a very drama filled chapter - I mean, Tori loves the drama, but not this kind of pull-you-hair out drama.

I've always thought of the Potter's as having a very angry streak in their genes - I mean, Harry becomes a typical angry teenage boy in book five, and I definitely think that shows in James!

Thanks for the lovely review!
Courtney:)


 Report Review

Review #18, by Addicted Me

16th May 2013:
It's me again, I really wanted to "meet you" and ask you questions, however my email keeps coming up as an error.
:( anyways, I really love your work, and I just wanted to say that you have gained a fan today!

Author's Response: Aw, I wish you could 'meet me'! if you start up at account over on the forums, you'll be able to;)
Courtney:)


 Report Review

Review #19, by Addicted Me

16th May 2013:
Really, really amazing. I loved it just as much as the Harry potter series! I wish you could publish it,I would be first in line to buy it! As always, keep it up!

Author's Response: Thank you so, so much! Your reviews have put a big smile on my face! It means so much to hear you say I could publish it!
Courtney:)


 Report Review

Review #20, by Addicted Tori

16th May 2013:
Omg. I can't believe it. Awesome like usual. I love how you made me pity her right before she died. Best chapter yet!

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked this chapter - it was definitely a challenge to write!
Courtney:)


 Report Review

Review #21, by Addicted Me

16th May 2013:
Stop making amazing things! :) how on earth am I suposed to study when I'm constantly wondering about what will happen next! Flawless! Keep it up!

Author's Response: I'm so happy you're enjoying it! Thank you again!
Courtney:)


 Report Review

Review #22, by Addicted Tori

16th May 2013:
I feel so bad for James and albus. Tori is seriously messed up. Great though, I'm still addicted! Your writing is like a teen version of jkr's. keep it up!

Author's Response: Haha, thank you so much!
Courtney:)


 Report Review

Review #23, by Addicted Me

15th May 2013:
Wow. (Pun intended) Another great one! Again James kind of scared me a little bit, but I realized I was comparing him to harry, and he is his own character not a shadow of his father.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! And thank you for taking the time to leave a review.
Courtney:)


 Report Review

Review #24, by Addicted Tori

15th May 2013:
Tori is seriously the biggest b*. I like that you had her say that she had made mistakes. It brought out a more human side of her, and made me like her more. I like James and Charlie, but James seems to have some serious anger issues, I'm not sure he is ok to be anyone's boyfriend until he gets over tori... I will keep reading and rating each chapter if I can. Keep it up!

Author's Response: Yeah, she kinda is;) Thank you for the review!
Courtney:)


 Report Review

Review #25, by Anonymous Tori

15th May 2013:
Wonderful, as usual. Keep up the good work with your current story... I'm so addicted.

Author's Response: Aw, thanks so much!
Courtney:0


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>