Reading Reviews for Abandon
  
98 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Unicorn_Charm Strangers and Fireworks

11th July 2015:
Hey Gabbie! I'm here for our swap!

Yeah, I know what you mean. I've also seen you around the forums and the archives but haven't really been by your AP. I'm quite sad that I haven't been before now, because I absolutely loved this. :)

I haven't had a Next-Gen immediately suck me in like this in a little while now, so this was completely refreshing. I really, really love Roxanne. I know she's a daddy's girl and says she's spoiled, but she's not a brat. At least she's not coming off as one yet. Who knows what the future chapters hold? :)

I do think it's completely realistic that George would deal with his grief by spoiling his children and being more friend than parent to them as well. You could absolutely see that Roxanne and George have a very loose relationship as father and daughter. She speaks to him like he's a peer, and same with him regarding her. One part that it really showed was when George was trying to convince Rose to stick a spider down Ron's shirt (which that whole thing had me literally laughing out loud) and she came over and scolded him for it.

The way you introduced all of the characters was basically flawless. With the Next-Gen there are SO many Weasleys/Potters to start showing and you did it without it all becoming overwhelming. You managed to give a brief little snippet or mention of almost all of them, yet it didn't feel like you were just listing characters. There were bits of their personalities shown in each description, which really keeps you engaged. It was so beautifully done!

I enjoyed the little wink from canon that you threw in with Angelina's dancing. GoF her and Fred's dancing was described as almost potentially hazardous to those around them, and it was funny to see that brought about here with her and Albus. And the comments made about how she might harm him haha. Loved it! :D

Roxanne and Perce(Fred)'s relationship is really cute. They have that nice balance of picking on one another and truly caring for the other. It was an entirely realistic brother/sister dynamic. It wasn't over done at all.

The plot is intriguing. I'm definitely interested in this adoptive son of Malfoy's and to see what he has to do with Roxanne and how he came to be a Malfoy at all. The reaction she had to him was very mixed, so that had me needing to read on for sure!

Overall I thought this was a fantastic opening chapter of what looks like will be an awesome story! I've put this on my reading list. I will with out a doubt be back to continue on!! Thanks so much for the swap!! I'm so thrilled I had a chance to read this. ♥

xoxo Meg

Author's Response: HELLO!

Thank you so much for this great review, I certainly didn't expect you to give this a shot but you've made me so happy! :D

I really love Roxanne too and I adore Next Gen. Sadly, we don't see her character being the main voice for stories on the archives very often. It's strange, because she's great! I think that she's a bit spoiled as well but I'm not sure if she's a brat until much later. Actually, it's Benjamin that kind of tells her that she is and it doesn't go well for him. Hahaha.

You know, I didn't think about that point with George. I know that grief can take many forms and spoiling his children is actually a great way to bring that up, I never even considered that! I do think that him spoiling the kids is going to backfire on him though and he does seem like he's more friend than father. I figure that Angelina would be more forceful with the kids if she had to be, I can't picture George doing that for some reason.

I really, really don't like having a lot of characters in one scene! All those Weasley's are hard to write! I tried to weave through them all as easily as I could and I'm glad that you liked it. You'll see Lucy, Molly, Dom, Victoire and a few others more in future chapters but for right now, just knowing who they are right now helps.

Angelina is a horrible dancer and thank you! That WAS a nod to GoF, which is my favorite HP book! :D

Roxanne and Perce are really cute together, I'm glad that they came across as real siblings.

Oooh, I wish that you would keep reading if you wanted to learn more about Benjamin Malfoy! Roxanne's mixed feelings for him will become clear in the next three chapters but by then, you may not like him so much. ;)

Thanks again!

Much love,

Gabbie


 Report Review

Review #2, by ms simone Pressure

1st June 2015:
roxanne does feel something for ben, not sure what!! adam like her, she should get him... cool that rox thinking the intership in potion!!

Author's Response: HellO!

Thanks for stopping by again, its been a while! I'm not sure if Roxie is going to go for Adam or not but we shall see. I kind of have an idea for the next chapter so you'll just have to stay tuned.

Much love,

Gabbie


 Report Review

Review #3, by ms simone Poison

1st June 2015:
an interesting scene between roxanne and ben!!

Author's Response: Hello!

Oh, there will be many more. I promise you that things aren't over between them just yet!

Much love,

Gabbie


 Report Review

Review #4, by ms simone The Ultimate Quidditch Royale

1st June 2015:
cool- to see another major sport event at hogwart, after what years ago.

Author's Response: Hello!

It's been a long time since anything like this has happened at Hogwarts. I do hope that I'll make it interesting to read!

Much love,

Gabbie


 Report Review

Review #5, by CassiePotter Pressure

30th May 2015:
I'm back again, and am caught up with another one of your stories!
I thought the beginning of this chapter was hilarious, but I felt kind of bad for Roxie. Georgia and Leanne were so funny in the way that they were pining after Benjamin, and the guys' reactions made it even better. Perce getting all huffy and jealous was funny to read, and you could really tell that Teddy is like Roxie's older brother from the way he was acting whenever the talked about her and Ben.
I was so surprised when Blaise Zabini himself made and appearance and was actually almost happy! I think it's great for Roxanne that they want her to do the internship. I hope that it works out!
And they talked about the changes in Teddy, too. I still think that it has something to do with Dom!
The end really caught me off guard! I really didn't expect Roxie to respond to Adam the way she did! I thought she would reject him, but she's actually giving him a chance! I'm not sure how I feel about it, though... And Ben saw them, which can't end well!
This chapter was really great, and I'm so excited for more! Especially the Quidditch Royale. Great job, Gabbie!
Cassie :)

Author's Response: HellO!

Thanks for stopping by with another lovely review. It means a lot, I don't too many of these for this story so this always makes me feel better!

I had a lot of fun writing the beginning of this chapter and Roxie's reactions were really great. She was going through so much emotionally that it kind of heightened everyone's reaction to Benjamin. The twins really enjoyed teasing the boys and I think Perce was about to boil over with anger. Hahaha.

Teddy considers Roxie his sister so he's very overprotective. He's carrying a secret as well though so he can't quite judge her too harshly but you'll find out what I mean later. Hehehehe.

Blaise Zabini DID make an appearance in this story! You know how much I adore him and while he has gone through a lot in Albus Potter and the Dark Lord's Prince, he's had some time to heal. I think it's been good for him but anyway, Roxanne may get a chance at that internship if she takes a shot at it.

Teddy's change has a lot to do with Dom but since Transparent is still going, it might be a while before you find out exactly what happened between them. :3

Hahah, I don't think a lot of people expected Roxanne to settle on Adam. I think that she was weighing her options and oh, how unlucky was it that Ben happened to see them? I did that on purpose to propel you all into the next chapter and while it doesn't end well, you'll probably understand why.

Or something like that.

Thanks so much for the review!

Much love,

Gabbie


 Report Review

Review #6, by CassiePotter Antidote

29th May 2015:
Oh, man. Oh. man. This chapter was so packed with emotions!
I loved that Roxie and Adam got some time together. Even though Adam wants to be with her, and Roxanne doesn't feel the same way about him, they're still really close friends, and I think it's important for her to have someone to talk to, even if she isn't always completely honest with him. But I really liked that Adam let Roxie know where he stood in the whole situation, and told her how she felt, so there's at least one thing in her life that she doesn't have to be confused about.
I loved the second part of this chapter when Teddy, Perce, and the twins joined them! The dynamic of that group is always so interesting to read! I thought the tension between Teddy and Leanne really added to it. And Dom showed up again! It's fascinating seeing her and Teddy interact without knowing exactly what their deal is, especially since I'm also reading Transparent.
And Ben showed up again! I'm surprised he went to far as to use pet names for Roxanne and actually touch her when other people were around. But things are definitely really, really intense between them. Again, I have no idea how they're going to eventually forgive each other and be happy!
This chapter was a long one, but worth it. I hope there are more group scenes like the end of the chapter, and can't wait to find out more about the Quidditch Royale, as well! Great job, Gabbie!
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Hello!

Thank you so much for stopping by again, Cassie! It's great to see that you're still with me on this.

I honestly have no idea why this chapter turned out to be so long but I couldn't get all that I wanted if it had been shorter. Hahah. Anyway, Roxie and Adam needed this moment alone together. We've seen her with Ben and her friends but I hadn't developed their relationship much. I wanted to show that Adam wasn't just interested in her because he had a one-sided crush, he actually appreciates her as a friend. I also wanted to hint what would happen in "Pressure" too, Roxie's thoughts about Adam shifted from this point on.

Now, what she'll do about it is what I can't wait to write. Hehehehe...

Anyhoo, yes! I LOVE writing Teddy and the gang together. They've all grown up together so they know each other well, so writing their dynamics was fun but challenging.

Oh, Dom. I'm afraid you won't find out what's going on with her and Teddy until way later. It's not what you think but if I finish Transparent before that's revealed, you'll understand why she's avoiding him.

Hahah, Ben. I think that he enjoys toying with people a little too much. He doesn't care about what Perce or the others think either, if he wants Roxanne, he'd take her. Hahaha. I think he wanted to make her realize that things aren't over with them yet and you know how he is, he likes stirring the pot too. Perce's reaction was what he wanted to make fun of.

Things aren't over between Roxie and Ben, I'm just getting started. Hehehehe.

Thanks so much for the review!

Much love,

Gabbie


 Report Review

Review #7, by CassiePotter Poison

27th May 2015:
Hello! I'm back again!
So this chapter was quite the intense one! Whenever Ben and Roxanne are alone together, I always get nervous that one of their fights will get really out of hand. Luckily, they usually end before anything too horrible happens. But I always feel really bad for Roxie after she and Ben fight. The downside of knowing each other so well is that they each know what to say to the other to get under their skin. Ben knows exactly how to push her buttons, so it seems like they never make any progress in their relationship after talking.
Ben got really scary towards the middle of the chapter! Since Roxie physically couldn't get away from him, I was really worried that this fight would get really bad! But then she got out of his grip, and Adam found them.
I'm really curious to see how their relationship develops from here. Since Roxie said it's definitely over, and seems like she doesn't want to talk to Ben again for a very, very long time, I have no clue how they'll forgive each other and eventually get together! I guess I'll have to wait and find out!
Great job on this chapter, Gabbie! Only a few more and I'll be all caught up on this story, too!
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Hello!

It's good to see you back reading "Abandon", I missed you! I always love writing Roxanne and Benjamin but I wince a little whenever they start fighting. They can't be in a scene without snarling at each other but I would never have Ben laying a hand on her or vice versa. The thing about them is that they still love each other but don't want to admit it and knowing so much about a person can be dangerous, especially when you're not in control of your emotions.

I think Ben is far scarier than Roxanne when he's pushed to the limit. Roxie has a bad habit of running away from her problems and he wasn't going to let her go this time but in the end, they both lost something in this fight.

Ah, Adam to the rescue! Roxie is finished with Ben for sure but her relationship with Adam is going to develop pretty slowly, I'm not sure what will happen to them but it's not going to be an easy road. Ben isn't out of the picture yet!

Thanks for stopping by! :D

Much love,

Gabbie


 Report Review

Review #8, by CassiePotter The Ultimate Quidditch Royale

25th May 2015:
Hi Gabbie! I decided to get back into Abandon since I'm caught up with some of your other stuff!
I forgot that Teddy was at Hogwarts! But since he's there, that means there has to be some trouble that he's involved in... Does this story take place after Transparent? Because, if so, that would explain his interest in Dominique!
They announce the Ultimate Quidditch Royale! Woohoo! I can't wait for some of the foreign students to arrive! I'm so curious to see how you write all the new characters, and how they'll interact with the Hogwarts students. I thought Adam's line about Americans was hilarious!
And what an interesting choice of Head Boy and Girl! We knew Ben was Head Boy already, but I don't think you'd mentioned that Samantha Travers was Head Girl... Interesting that McGonagall picked two Slytherins.
I'm really excited for more of this, and I'll try and come back soon!
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Hello!

It's good to see you back reading some of this story! I kind of doubted that I was going in the right direction with it for a while. There's much less Roxie/Ben interaction after this chapter (Well, after the next chapter, I should say) and it hasn't been received well. Hahahah. T-T

Anyway, Teddy is here! I thought that you would enjoy seeing him again. This story actually takes place a year after Transparent so yes, you're correct in assuming that his interest in Dominique has something to do with what happened back then. I shall not give anything away! ;)

Yesss, the Royale has been announced! I haven't really gotten into the details of what the foreign schools will be like but they'll give the Hogwarts kids some very good gossip for a while. Hahaha. This story was originally my version of Goblet of Fire and with all the Roxie/Ben stuff, I kind of forgot all about that. Hahahaha.

Oh, Americans... (Says the American)

I have never mentioned the Head Girl until right now but her name is actually a mistake. Her name is actually Rachel Travers, Samantha is her mother (You know, from A Force of Wills) so that was a fail on my part. Too many characters, man!

Anyway, thanks for the review!

Much love,

Gabbie


 Report Review

Review #9, by Ray Pressure

14th May 2015:
Love the direction Roxanne/Adam have taken. Haha can't wait to see how Benjamin reacts :) Can't wait for the next chapter!

Author's Response: Hello!

Thanks for magically appearing for this chapter, I hope to see you again soon!

Much love,

Gabbie


 Report Review

Review #10, by merlins beard Strangers and Fireworks

4th May 2015:
Hi there.
Sorry it took me forever to get to your story.
I'm glad I finally made it.

I really like Roxy's POV. It's something that isn't written very often.
I think Roxy's brother is taking things a little too far teasing Molly all the time.

I always pictured Angelina to be the voice of Reason for George, not the bad influence, but -to my surprise- it works to see her as crazy as George.

I like the similarities George's flat has to the Burrow.

Benjamin Malfoy is a very interesting character. I hope we'll get to know more about his background story in the next few chapters. I can't wait to find out where he's been, and why Roxy is reacts so apprehensive to his reappearance.

This was great to read so far
Love
~Anja

Author's Response: Hello!

It's all right that it took you a minute to get back to me! No worries about that at all. There aren't a lot of stories that feature Roxanne as a main character or even an influential character and that's a real shame. I tried to make her relatable and I'm glad that you liked her.

Angelina and George are a little wild but she does manage him well. I think that they balance one another out nicely, she can get him to stop doing the craziest things and pull him out of depression as well. I don't really think that I mention that much in this story but it might be hinted at in later chapters.

Hahaha, I can't imagine WWW without picturing the Burrow for some reason.

Ah, Benjamin. You're going to be seeing a lot of him in the next few chapters and I'm not sure if you'll like him by the end of the sixth one. Hehehehe.

Thanks so much!

Much love,

Gabbie


 Report Review

Review #11, by Hope Poison

20th November 2014:
I love this story so much and the tension in that chapter ugh... keep going I have to know what happens next to your amazing characters

Author's Response: Hello!

Aw, thank you so much! I have a fresh chapter up and I hope that you stick around for the end of this story!

Thanks again,

Gabbie


 Report Review

Review #12, by crestwood Stealth and Lies

9th October 2014:
Hi Gabbie!

This was my favorite chapter of this yet. I know you said that Benjamin comes off as a jerk here, but I kind of liked him a little bit more here and felt like he was being at least a little bit reasonable. I find him fascinating because as aloof as he seems, he does wait around for hours just to hang out with Roxanne. Of course, that could be for some sinister reason, but I like to think he just really wants to see her and actually has a heart.

You really have a thing for writing uncaring characters haha. You've written him and Teddy both as very callous individuals, but you've still managed to give them very distinct personalities in my opinion. Your character development is actually ridiculously good. I feel like every chapter tells me so much more about each character of yours.

I am so happy that Dom-Dom has a role in this story! Her character was the first of yours that I read and she fits in here so perfectly. She is pretty much correct about Benjamin, I'm afraid. I wonder what it is he's done to make her realize it though. I wonder what timeline this is happening as well. I'm not sure if this is all happening at the same time as Transparent or not. That's probably been answered already and I just missed the hint or something. I am endlessly interested in this shared universe of stories.

I knew Roxanne would go with him, but it's still kind of shocking. I just love her a lot and I don't want Benjamin to do anything terrible to her. I hope things go well at his place. I want him to just admit that he likes her. He was clearly jealous of her boyfriends that she's had in his absence. I have a feeling that he'll find a way to mess things up a few times before the end of the story, though. You don't tend to write stories in which everything goes right. That just makes things more interesting of course. I can't wait to see what happens next. This was so good!

Author's Response: Hello!

I'm sorry that it's taken me so long to get back to you! This wasn't one of my favorite chapters to write for some reason but it's gotten a very positive response. Benjamin does come off like a jerk here but you get the feeling that he would do anything for Roxanne. He's traveled all this way just to be with her and that says far more about his feelings for her than his words. If that makes any sense.

I love writing Ben and Teddy because not only are they rather cruel, they're so different from one another. I could never get them confused and they're nothing at all alike, personally.

Dom-Dom DOES make more than one appearance in this story! I was happy to include her but at the time of this chapter, her story had never even been thought of so I'm sorry if it confused you. I've done my calculations and this happens a year after Transparent. If you go back to reading that story, you'll understand why she feels so unsettled by Benjamin. They have a brief encounter at some point that makes her realize something that she's been denying about Teddy.

Ben will not hurt Roxanne because he wants t but I won't spoil the fun for you!

I hope to see you again! I miss you!

Much love,

Gabbie


 Report Review

Review #13, by mangoskin Poison

2nd October 2014:
I absolutely love this story. I've read it one sitting. I like how you've chosen Roxanne to make such a complex and human character out of. She's a blank canvas that has room for characterization. This chapter was gut wrenching but amazing. The relationship Ben and Roxanne is deep...I look forward to where it'll go and the that journey. This universe you've created is so rich! I love the connections and nuances in it.

I'm anxious to see Roxanne's growth, one that she'll recognize within herself and one that her friends and family will have to acknowledge.

I look forward to your update. I hope you do more Roxanne-central fics in the future.

Author's Response: Hello!

Well, well, well. This is a pleasant surprise, it's really nice to meet you and thanks so much for reading this entire thing in one sitting! That's amazing!

There aren't a lot of Roxanne stories on the archives for some reason, I feel like she and Molly II get sort of sidelined. She's actually one of my favorite female characters to write for because you can do so much with her. I tried to make her more relatable because she's nothing at all like my other girls. Thank goodness. Hahaha.

Anyway, thanks so much for enjoying this chapter in particular. It's really one of my favorites because that gap between Ben and Roxie has just gotten even wider. I'm not even sure if they'll speak again for a while after this. :(

Thank you so much for the compliments, I try my hardest and you guys really make me feel better when I'm not very confident. :)

Much love,

Gabbie


 Report Review

Review #14, by Ray Poison

30th September 2014:
Ahh you updated! So glad you did. I love this fic. Poor Roxanne - she's really having a tough time with Benjamin, and I was sorry to see that she believes they're no longer friends. I can't wait to see how Ben reacts to this when he find outs, which I'm sure will be soon. The Adam/Roxy thing is also really cute, especially considering Adam's puppy love for her. Anyways, can't wait until you update again! :)

Author's Response: Hello!

Thanks so much for returning to this fic and leaving another awesome review. I love that you keep coming back for more even though my updates have been a little slow! :D

Well, I don't think Roxanne and Ben's relationship was really what she thought it was and they weren't on the best of terms for a long time. I think it all just sort of ended here in this chapter. It's not the last time that they'll talk to one another again though so I hope you can hold out for that. I have a lot of other things to get started with this story so it's going to be a while before I get back to Roxie and Ben's relationship. Or lack thereof. Hahahah.

Anyway, I'm not sure what I'm going do with Adam and Roxanne right now either but it is really cute though. Hahahaha.

Thanks for stopping by again!

Much love,

Gabbie


 Report Review

Review #15, by crestwood Yes and No

27th September 2014:
Hey Gabbie!

I'm here a lot sooner than last time. I've actually been clearing out my review thread in a reasonable amount of time and I'm rather proud of myself.

I definitely get the feeling from this chapter that Roxanne and Benjamin were more than just friends whenever it was that they knew each other. Is their past going to be explained in later chapters or was that addressed in some other story that has escaped my notice? Because I actually would really like to know what went down between these two that got them to this point.

Honestly, Benjamin seems incredibly rude from the word go in the flashback. I don't think I'd ever speak to him again after that. Apparently Roxanne can take a lot more verbal abuse than I can because she barely seems phased by him at all. I wonder what it is that makes him so hostile.

In the present day he's no nicer, I see. Roxanne isn't taking his attitude quite so easily anymore though, something he did must have changed things drastically. I really can't believe she agreed to go back to his house with him. But then, I kind of can because he's clearly alluring to her in a strange way. I wonder what kind of trouble these two will get into..

Your characters are always so interesting and never predictable. Really outstanding writing!

Author's Response: Hello!

Yay, you're back! I wasn't expecting to hear from you so soon but this is a nice surprise, it's always good hearing from you.

A lot of people have said that Roxanne and Benjamin have something more between them and they're both right and wrong. I think that in all honesty, there was a lot of sexual tension between them that never was released so it DOES make you wonder if they were a couple at some point.

They had a bad falling out but it's obvious that they still have that something between them. >:)

HAHAHAHA. Oh, you haven't been introduced to how rude Benjamin can be and I'm serious, you'll just have to keep on reading. HIs hostility comes from always being treated badly by others but you'll understand if you keep on reading.

Benjamin rarely shares his nice side but Roxanne isn't so much of a pushover either so they clash. Hahaha, that trip to his house will not go well for her...

Thanks for stopping by, I'll re-request soon. I think I'll wait until your thread is a bit lighter though. ;)

Thanks again!

Much love,

Gabbie


 Report Review

Review #16, by crestwood Strangers and Fireworks

20th September 2014:
It's been a ridiculously long time since you requested for this. I can't even believe I've taken so long. But, I'm here now!

I am really loving your version of the Next-Gen Wotter family. I've read quite a bit of your stories, so I have a pretty solid wealth of information to work off of when it comes to some of these characters. I'm really interested in a story about Roxanne, as she's someone I've only met briefly during other characters' stories.

I found it believable that Percy would still feel some level of guilt about abandoning his family all those years ago and want to throw them these awesome parties and throw around his influence a bit in order to prove that he's sorry for it; even if they forgave him a long time ago.

It's actually really sad that George still goes into moods about Fred, but of course he does. I can't imagine him ever really getting over that honestly.

Loved the little details you slipped in about Oliver Wood and his daughters. And you have George telling Rose to slip a spider down Ron's shirt! You give these one off things that pack so much information or recall things from canon and it's just really, really good.

Percy and George seem to be actually quite close now in your world, which I always appreciate. I think your Audrey has loosened him up a bit.

And I finally get to meet Benjamin Malfoy! I've heard talk of him in a lot of your other stories, but I've always wondered who exactly he is. All I know now is that he is the son (possibly adopted) of Draco and has some strong ties with Roxanne. It's a little creepy that he was hiding out in Arthur's shed though. I wonder what he was doing there and I wonder if Roxanne is happy to see him or not. She called him her dearest friend, but also said that she knew everything was about to go wrong, so I'm not entirely sure. It might be that she likes him, but knows that he's a troublemaker. As if she doesn't have enough of those in her own family. This world is as intriguing and detailed as ever. I really liked this! I will be coming back to this story eventually when I'm a little less busy. I want to make my way through this one!

Author's Response: Hello!

Thanks for stopping by and don't worry about being so late, I can totally understand that you were busy. I really like writing the Weasley/Potter clan and I'm glad that you're able to get a feel for each of them. Roxanne I hope, you'll enjoy since there aren't that many stories of her on the archives and you haven't gotten a chance to really meet her yet.

I don't think Percy would ever really be able to forgive himself for what he's done in the past. It kind of makes me sad but his family still loves him so I guess that's all that matters.

George would probably still be thinking about Fred for a long time, I think. I didn't want it to be really heavy on that note just yet but I wanted to hint that the pain was still there.

Bwhah, I think the old Quidditch team would still be friends after the War. Hahah, George is naughty and I try to weave in canon as easily as I can!

Hahaha, Percy is kind of an odd ball himself though but he's loosened up a lot. I can't imagine him and George not getting along after writing them for so long.

Hahaha, I'm glad that you're excited to finally meet Benjamin. He's been talked about but never seen, I'm thinking of having him show up in "Transparent" for a brief cameo. Yes, it's creepy that he was in Arthur's shed. Roxanne is happy to see him but there are a lot of issues between them right now so you'll have to read on. :D

I hope you come back soon, it's been good swapping and reviewing with you!

Much love,

Gabbie



 Report Review

Review #17, by maraudertimes Strangers and Fireworks

19th September 2014:
Hi! Review swap!

Okay this was kind of strange, but good. There was a lot of Weasleys to talk about and at some points it was a little disorienting, but all in all it flowed well.

I liked the little points about how each of the Weasleys grew up, although some of them were a bit of a shock, such as the information about Audrey, and the fact that Fred (Perce) likes bullying his younger cousins, while it does seem realistic, seems a bit exaggerated. Although Hermione's reaction was golden!

One thing I noticed was that the losers of the dance battle had to house the kids all summer, and apparently George lost, but then Roxie says she doesn't mind living with her aunt and uncle, so perhaps just looking over that part.

The end was really scary and I'm so frightened for Roxie. I hope she's okay. You did a very good job setting up the scene and keeping the tone of the scene dark and scary, so great job there.

Overall, this was quite good, a few of the sentences were kind of run on sentences, but other than that it was really cool. Great concept.

Lo :)

Author's Response: Hello!

Thanks for coming by with the swap, I really enjoyed your story as well. I hope we see more of each other, I'm always lurking around the forums. :D

I've been meaning to clean this chapter up a bit since there's a bit of confusion with all the Weasley children. Hahahha. If you're shocked by how Audrey is, you should really read "This is Audrey Tang: The Bad Taste" to get a better understanding of her. I'm glad that you were shocked though! Hahahah. Perce is a bully but if you ever get a chance to continue reading, you'll see that he's nothing compared to Teddy.

I think that Roxanne meant that she wouldn't mind staying with her aunt and uncle if they lost but I see what you mean. Hahaha.

Oh, there's no need to be scared for her yet! If you read on, you'll see what I mean but as for right now...hold your breath.

Thanks a lot!

Much love,

Gabbie


 Report Review

Review #18, by AdinaPuff Strangers and Fireworks

29th July 2014:
Hi, hi, hi!

Super sorry for the wait--I feel terrible. But i'm here now!

Roxanne seems like such a wonderful main character. She has a strong personality, which is very important for the character you write your story through, so there isn't a single thing to critique about that. :D You also gave me, as a reader, a great grasp on the family dynamics, and you've already managed to introduce a fair few of the family friends, as well as part of the family, though I know it's not nearly all of them. You explained everything wonderfully, and set the stage! You don't have the readers confused about anything, which is good. Though, except for Benjamin Malfoy being in the shed. That threw me off, but I suppose it was supposed to.

Great start you've got here! I'm sure the other sixteen chapters were just as amazing. I'll read on in my free time! :D

-Leigh

Author's Response: Hello!

Thanks for the awesome review and I'm sorry that its taken me so long to get back to you, real life is such a pain. Hahaha.

Roxanne is a very interesting character to write for me, she's very girly and very sweet compared to the others that I've written. I'm glad that you were able to grasp the family dynamics well, I think that was the main thing that I didn't want to change for this first chapter. I wanted you guys to be able to see how close Roxanne was to her family because it might not be the same towards the middle but I won't spoil that for you.

Benjamin Malfoy will continue to throw you off. Muauahahahhahaha.

Thanks so much for the review and I hope to see you again soon!

Much love,

Gabbie


 Report Review

Review #19, by Ray The Ultimate Quidditch Royale

25th July 2014:
I love the update, and the fact that Teddy is taking a greater role in Hogwarts. The Teddy/Ben dynamic so interesting, and I'd love to see how it plays into Roxanne's future decisions concerning Adam and Ben. Anyways, I'm really glad you updated = I look forward to the next chapter!:)

Author's Response: Hello!

I'm glad to see that you're back, its always lovely to hear from you. Teddy is going to be hanging around Hogwarts for a while and I think that you might like how his character develops later on too. :3

Roxanne is going to have a lot on her plate now too now that she has Adam, Ben and Teddy to deal with and I hope you stick around for that! It might take a while for me to get the next chapter up but I hope to see you again!

Much love,

Gabbie


 Report Review

Review #20, by CassiePotter Past and Present

9th June 2014:
TEDDY! He's knows more than he's willing to say, doesn't he? I'm really curious to see how's he's involved in whatever is going on at Hogwarts! Although I am surprised he didn't hold it over everyone's heads more, because he knew something they didn't!
The flashback you threw in there was awesome, and added so much more depth to Roxie's relationship with Fred, Ben, and Teddy, and also the boys' relationships with each other. Hopefully Ben is ok!
I really liked Georgia and Leanne! I hope you'll write more of Leanne and Fred together, I really liked what we saw of their relationship! It's nice and complicated :) Also, I loved that it felt like they were a natural part of the scene and Roxie's life. It felt like we've known them for a while, even though they haven't been in this story very much.
And the end with Teddy and Victoire! They are so fun to read because they don't hold anything back when they're together! Also, Teddy asking about Dom was a nice detail. Since she's a Ravenclaw and he mentioned a smart girl, maybe he wants to see her while he's around? If so, that can't end well!
I can't wait for more, and especially can't wait to see Ben again!
This chapter was wonderful, and I can't wait to read more! I told you about my Victoire one-shot, and I also have the first chapter of a Molly Weasley II story up! Let me know when you update next! 10/10
Cassie :)

Author's Response: HELLO!

Its good to see you again my dear! Teddy is the sort of person that only gets worse before he gets better and trust me, he has a long way to go before he's decent. I think he was trying to restrain himself from telling too much, he could actually get into a lot of trouble himself if he were to spill the beans and holding things over their heads was something that might lead to him revealing a little too much I suppose? Hahah.
I had to put in another flashback that didn't necessarily include just Roxie and Ben together. Teddy's involvement with Ben and her brother is very complicated and I was glad that I was able to put in their dynamics for this chapter, it had taken me a while to get it just right.
Ben will be okay but after that, I don't think he'll be the same. :(
I loved writing Leanne and Georgia, they're very different but very fun to write for. I have a thing for twins, I guess. Hahah. Leanne and Perce have a curious relationship, there's always a lot of drama going on between them but you'll see them again!
I tried to weave the girls in here as smoothly as I could. They're only talked about but never seen until this chapter and I was glad that it worked out all right. Thank goodness. Hahaha.
Teddy and Victoire don't ever need to be around one another, I think it would be dangerous for the entire universe. Hahaha. They hate each other and are so familiar with one another's personality that they can fight one on one without any problem.
Ah, the thing with Teddy and Dom is different than it is in "Transparent", which happens a year or two before "Abandon" so things might not be what you think. ;)
Ben shows up in the next chapter for a minute, I have so many other things to do but he wants to have the whole chapter to himself. You know how he is. Hahahahaha.
I shall check out your Molly Weasley II story as soon as I can! I left a review for your one-shot too~!

Much love,

Gabbie


 Report Review

Review #21, by ms simone Past and Present

18th April 2014:
love every minutes of the chapie!

Author's Response: Hello!

Hey there, thanks for stopping by! I hope you can hold on until I manage to get the next chapter up there! :D

Much love,
Gabbie


 Report Review

Review #22, by Roxanne Antoine Past and Present

10th April 2014:
Wow... I really loved that you brought past tensions of Roxy, Benjamin, Perce and Teddy into this chapter... I thought that by doing this you really gave the characters present negative emotions real authenticity. As a reader, you could really start to understand Benjamin's tensions with Roxy's family better. The foreshadowing was also awesome!!! Dom-Dom has got a boyfriend and Teddy ain't liking it... What could happen?... AND from just a few words, you could TOTALLY tell that Georgia has some feelings for Perce. The only constructive critisim I can give is that this chapter did make me feel a tad deprived of Ben and his smart mouth!(Though, you did have Roxy day dream at him, so I guess I can forgive you!) I am very interested to find out if their will be future conflicts in this story. What can I say? Brilliant chapter (as always) I shall stay tuned for the next chapter to this fabulous fanfic! :)

Author's Response: Hello!

Its always so lovely getting one of your reviews and I'm glad to see you back again for more of this story! I had the idea of making the past seem a little more important in this chapter because I was introducing so many new characters and Roxie's tension with her family had to be made a bit more clear.
Teddy is like her older brother so the flashback clearly showed how much it hurt her when he picked on Ben for no reason at all and you can understand his dislike of them so much better.
Oh, the foreshadowing...I've got some great things planned and I hope you stay tuned. Its about to get wild! :D
Teddy and Dom-Dom have an interesting relationship or had at some point (You can try reading my fanfic Transparent to get used to the pair of them) and what will happen, indeed? I can hardly wait to type out those future chapters! :D
Georgia and Perce have something that might blossom as well but for now, we need a bit more Ben in our lives, don't we?
It was the only thing that I didn't like about this chapter as well, I had originally intended for Ben to show up but didn't have the time to put it in. SO, I'm saving it for later. Hahaha.
I'll update as soon as I can!
Thanks again!
Much love,
Gabbie


 Report Review

Review #23, by GJ Past and Present

7th April 2014:
Just found this story and wow, it's amazing! Roxi and Ben are so addicting to read about! Update soon :)

Author's Response: Hello!

Hi, its nice to meet you newbie, I'm Gabbie and thanks for checking this out! This story is one of my most popular stories and I'm glad that you liked it! Have you read the entire thing? My goodness...hahahaha.
I'll try to update soon and thanks so much for the review, it means a lot! :D
Much love,
Gabbie


 Report Review

Review #24, by Ray After Shock

18th February 2014:
Ahhh this is so good:) FInally got a chance to read the last chapter, and it was so good! Cannot wait until you get a chance to update this! Looking forward to seeing what happens next.

Author's Response: Hello!

Hey, there its great to see you back again, you know how I love getting your reviews! Hopefully I'll be able to post a new chapter in the next few weeks but we'll have to see, real life is being a major jerk! Hahaha.
Much love,
Gabbie


 Report Review

Review #25, by CassiePotter After Shock

8th February 2014:
And I'm back! This chapter was even better than the last one! They just keep getting better and better but also more and more intense! If I was Roxanne I definitely wouldn't be able to keep my composure like she's doing now!
I loved the opening of this chapter with Roxie and Molly! They're so fun together, and I love reading them! Their relationship is so, so believeable, both as cousins and best friends. They balance each other out really well, and it makes their interactions really fun!
I feel bad for Molly, since she feels like she'll never find someone who will like her! And because I think she sometimes feels overshadowed by Lucy, even though she's younger. I hope she finds someone who will make her happy!
Speaking of Lucy, she's a riot! I hope we see her again soon, because she's wild compared to the other girls we've met so far in this story! (Except for maybe Victoire) And Dom is one of my favorites, because the way you write her is so interesting and different from any characterizations I've read of her before.
OH MY MERLIN THE END OF THIS CHAPTER. I don't even know what to say about Ben! He gives me chills sometimes, just because I'm so anxious for Roxie! I have a feeling she's going to be alone with him again very, very soon...
This was another wonderful chapter, and I can't wait for you to update this story! I'll let you know when TFD is up and ready for you to read! 10/10
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Hello!

Its great seeing you here again with your reviews, they're always so lovely. These chapters were very difficult for me to write but I'm glad that the intensity stayed with you! I was having some trouble with this chapter in particular. It never quite worked up right to what I'd wanted it to be!
Roxie and Molly are so different that its easy to imagine them as best friends, you can understand their love for each other and also what keeps them together. :D
Molly is going through a lot at the moment and you're right when you say she feels overshadowed by Lucy, she thinks that no one will find her attractive. She's got some growing up to do!

Lucy is hilarious! If you were ever wondering who was more like Audrey, then here's your answer. HAHAHA. She's very fun to write for and we see her again, though not as much as I would like but I love her already. She shows up in Transparent soon as well, so look forward to that!
Oh, Dom...she only gets more interesting as this story goes. Just wait until Teddy Lupin gets involved...hehehehe.
BEN!I don't know what to say about Ben either, aside from the fact that I adore him. He's so terrible but he gives me the chills sometimes too, why do I write him the way I do? Am I secretly a perverted man? HAHAHAHA.
Oh, Roxie and Ben see each other again but I'm not sure if I want them to be alone or not. Oh, the possibilities...
Thanks for the review, I'll have to pop on over to TFD soon too. :D
Much love,
Gabbie


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>