Reading Reviews for Something Unforseen
9 Reviews Found

Review #1, by StarFeather Something Unforseen

6th October 2015:
Hi, Molly.

I wish youíll have some time to read and I understand how long itíll take you to get used to a new life.

Wow, first sentences hold profound meaning. And what you described how the summer passed for Albus and his friends, introducing the weather, made me enter your world of Albus and Scorpius smoothly.

There was one spot I couldnít understand well: Scorpius always made a big deal of telling us about that if he had been only five days older he would have been in the year above us at Hogwarts. He was a pain sometimes back then.
But after reading the last scene, I could understand. Scorpius wanted to spend time with James as a peer at Hogwarts, right?

When Molly entered, the atmosphere got warm.
I wondered why Scorpius felt disappointed when he knew James didnít show up. Then he met James, the riddle was revealed. Did he have special feeling towards James?

And I enjoyed the two-aside Quidditch scene. I like the idea Harry made sandwiches for children before they went to bed.

Hmm, scones and clotted cream and with blackberry jam Grandma Molly made sound yummy. Iíd like to eat them all.

Wow Harry taught his son new charm on his birthday. Cool idea!

Oh, I could guess what would happen but when I think how Albus felt, it must be shocking for him.

Thank you for review swap! Letís do it again.


Author's Response: Thanks Kenny for reading and reviewing, and thank you for swapping with me!

It was a long time since I wrote this, but I still like this story. It was written for a challenge originally, but the challenge was abandoned... My point was to surprise, and it seems like I did. ;-)

I'm glad that you could feel the atmosphere when Molly showed up. I always love writing her. (Yep, it's no secret that I love her...!)


 Report Review

Review #2, by Unicorn_Charm Something Unforseen

17th May 2015:
Hey Molly, here for our swap! :)

Oh my goodness! Poor Al was blindsided! But like he said, he really should have seen it coming. It was right in front of his face the entire time. :)

I've never read a James/Scorpius before. You've created a monster and I'm team Scorbus all the way haha. But I did enjoy this quite a bit. I really liked the voice you've given Al here. He seems really sweet, a little naive and just a good person. I don't think that he reacted too badly to finding those two in such a compromising position either. It would be a shock for anyone to find their best friend and their sibling like that, I'm sure.

I really liked how you wrote the dynamic of the Wotter clan, too. They really did seem like the tight knit group that I imagine them to be. Especially with Molly at the head of it all. :)

Another thing I liked a lot was how fixated he was on not quite being an adult yet, by mentioning how everyone around him, except Lily (but she didn't count haha) could do magic, except him. It was a great way of having him seem his age. A lot of times, and I'm even guilty of doing it myself I think, we write these teenaged characters to sound much older. And you didn't here, which made it seem much more realistic.

I would so love to see more of this. Is that anything that you're planning, or have thought of? Maybe a sequel to this? I'd love to see more of how Al reacts or what happens with James and Scorpius.

I truly enjoyed this very much! It was a great one shot and, like I've said, I would love to see more at some point! :)

Thanks for doing the swap with me! ♥

xoxo Meg

Author's Response: Hi Meg! Thanks for reading and reviewing, and thanks for a great swap!

This is my only James/Scorpius, and I suppose I'm going to keep it that way. (Unless of course I somehow weave this together with my Roxanne story in a joint storyverse...? I don't know yet.)


 Report Review

Review #3, by CassiePotter Something Unforseen

15th May 2015:
Hello! I'm here for our review swap!
This was so interesting to read, after having read your Scorbus stuff! I never would have expected a James/Scorpius story, but I thought it was really interesting! It definitely showed the characters in a new way, which I really liked.
I thought your descriptions of the all the lazy summer days that Albus loves were really great. I definitely agree with him on that, too! I also liked the different present he got for his birthday. I thought the book of jokes was really creative!
Also, Albus's comment about how he's the only one who can't do magic because Lily doesn't count was so funny! That's such an older brother thing to say.
I thought this was a really great one-shot, and you wrote Albus's emotions really nicely. His reaction to the sudden change in his life when he found out about Scorpius and James was excellent, and I liked that while he knew it would take him a while to get used to things, he accepted that things were changing.
Great job on this one-shot, Molly! Thank you for the review swap!
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Thanks for a great swap!

Yes, this story was meant to be somewhat of a surpise. I suppose I surpised myself a little too... It's pretty obvious that I'm a Scorbus shipper, so this is an exception of sorts!

 Report Review

Review #4, by toomanycurls Something Unforseen

14th May 2015:
Thanks so much for doing a swap with me!!

I really love seeing James and Scorpius get together from Albus' POV. Stories that play with the idea of a limited perspective from the narrator are some of my favorites as it shows such control to not throw everything at the reader. I was surprised to see you not ship Albus and Scorpius in this (only because you've written about them so much and I personally have a difficult time juggling multiple headcanons). Until Albus was musing about Scorpius' cousin, I really was expecting them to be the LGBTQA relationship. I like surprises so I was glad to be wrong.

You did a great job slowly revealing James' interest in Scorpius (and vice versa). I can see how Albus wouldn't read into his friend's motives or James and Scorpius hanging out a bit while living under the same roof. I could really tell that Albus and Scorpius have a great friendship but absolutely zero attraction between them (which is remarkable because I would struggle to give someone a different characterization/relationship pattern than I had in the past).

If there's a point where Albus should have seen a hint about Scorpius and James, it was when James arrived at the Burrow. At least Scorpius' greeting is very eager for just his best friend's brother. I can only imagine the kind of flirtation and innuendo that happened between James and Scoprius before they really started kissing (assuming they weren't up at 1:30 in the morning making out). As much as I want to see how their relationship developed, I like the restricted view.

My guess is tha Albus is too preoccupied with turning 17 and everything that brings to have noticed Scorpius and James. Coming of age for wizards is a bit all consuming. I really liked the contrast between Harry and Hermione (though it's sad that Hermione is the stodgy old aunt). ha, maybe they were making out pre-chocolate cake (though, I wonder why Scorpius was distressed).

Albus' reaction to his brother and best friend making out is bang on. I mean, I think that's the same reaction a person would have to any friend and sibling making out. I can sympathize with Albus feeling like the third wheel (with his departure from their make out locale) or feeling like his friendship would be displaced by a romance but it sounds like he's on the path to being okay with their relationship.

Great story!!


Author's Response: Thanks Rose for a great review, and for swapping with me!

It was really hard not to make this a Scorbus story too, but it was fun to try something different. :)

I guess Albus is too occupied by himself to notice anything until it's literally right in front of him. I suppose he needs some time to adjust, mainly because of the fact that his older brother uses to be pain to him, but now his best friend is in love with him,. I think I would be jealous if I was in his shoes.

 Report Review

Review #5, by milominderbinder Something Unforseen

8th March 2015:
hiya! i'm here for our review swap! :D

so i'm a HUGE al/scorpius shipper, which made this feel a little weird to read at first ;) but i'm not stuck on that ship or anything and by the end of this i was totally loving scorp and james together! it was so cute, all the little snippets of them together. they were such small glimpses into their world and their relationship, but at the same time, each one said so much. it was really adorable.

i was slightly like AL HOW CAN YOU BE SO OBLIVIOUS but really i can totally see how he would have missed it. without all those little moments being written right next to each other like they were here, it'd be so easy to just brush them all off, and then be totally blindsided by the reality. as much as i loved scorpius and james together i felt bad for al at the end, too - it's such a big thing for him to realise his best friend and brother are together, and i imagine for a while he'd feel pretty left out. but the way you ended it was great. him being shocked and not really okay, but recognising that he'd be okay with it someday - he'd have to be, if he wanted to keep them both in his life.

so, yeah, overall i thought this was lovely! well done!!

~Maia x

Author's Response: Hi!
I'm an Albus/Scorpius shipper too, so this felt a bit odd to write. But I kind of like this ship too.

I'm sure Albus will be okay with James's and Scorpius's relationship. But I guess he'll feel left out at some points. It can't be easy to lose your best friend to your annoying big brother, so to speak.

Thanks for a great swap!


 Report Review

Review #6, by Jchrissy Something Unforseen

9th March 2013:
Happy Birthday fellow Gryffie! Well, a day early ;).

I was really anxious to see what the unforeseen even would be that the title suggested, and oh my gosh it didn't disappoint!

I loved that you gave us such an awesome look into Al's and Scoprius's friendship. The relaxing summer days after exams, just hanging out and talking about girls, and the fact that they still spent time together over summer were really awesome ways to show how close they are as friends. That made what he saw and wasn't told about even more serious, because he'd expect his best friend and brother to be honest with him I'm sure.

This is a small detail, but I really loved how at Al's birthday when you were talking about all the speeches, Hermione's was a more serious one. That really was an excellent bit of personality to make her so canon. And Al not being able to imagine his aunt as an adolescent is SO cute! Probably because we saw Hermione as only that, so it's easy for us. I really loved that, as well.

I also liked that you showed us a bit of James and Al's relationship early on to help us understand that they're close. Again, it goes even farther to help us see how hard this probably as for Al to accept at first.

I loved that you didn't have him freaking out at the end of it. He didn't seem happy that he hadn't been told, but he didn't seem angry at them either. It really went along with the calm sort of character you built for him through this.

Awesome story, m'dear! And again, a very happy birthday ♥

Author's Response: Thank you for a lovely review! That was a really nice bibirthday present! :-)

I'm glad you like the story. I wrote it for a challenge, and this is not a pairing I'm awfully used to (being an Albus/Scorpius shipper myself...) But it was fun to write.

I'm also happy that I managed to surprise you. I wasn't sure when I wrote it how to write clues to the ending without giving it away.

Thanks! :-)

 Report Review

Review #7, by Siriusly89 Something Unforseen

4th October 2012:
Hi there! Siriusly89 with a review as requested :) To be honest, I've never really read slash, but this was really good! Sometimes, it felt a teeny bit plotless, but it all made sense at the end! My one recommendation is to jazz up the middle of the story just a tiny bit! Maybe Scorpius could bring Minnie over??? Just a suggestion :)

Author's Response: Thank you for reviewing! I think you made a good suggestion about having Minnie over in the middle of the story. It might help to keep up the pace. Thanks! :-)

 Report Review

Review #8, by hushpuppy Something Unforseen

11th September 2012:
Wow, James is a total prick. They kept the relationship secret and didn't even give Albus the chance to figure things out. The betrayal of going behind his back and Scorpius kinda using the excuse of staying with his "best friend" Albus for the summer, when he's actually there for James, is enough to anger and alienate most people for a time. Albus needs to man up and express his disappointment in how he was treated and let Scorpius and James know that it's not okay.

Author's Response: Thank you for reading and reviewing! Yeah, I guess Albus has a right to feel a bit disappointed and confused.

 Report Review

Review #9, by Emily Something Unforseen

10th September 2012:
Never seen that before.

Author's Response: Thank you for reading and reviewing! :-)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login