Reading Reviews for No More Happy Thoughts
  
8 Reviews Found

Review #1, by patronus_charm No More Happy Thoughts

12th July 2014:
Hey!

Ok, random note first but something I loved was your spacing, I donít even know why but it was just so good and set the story in a really good stead. Another thing I loved was Georgeís reflective mood as you wrote it so well and how each little thing impacted upon him so much as that was really great and just showed how much care you put into this. It was such a bittersweet mood you wrote with the way George wanted to associate happy things with these places but just couldnít let himself feel those things and I really liked how you wrote that as it was really good.

The final few lines! ♥ Woah, they were good as you put so much emphasis on those tears I was so impressed and blow away with the imagery they produced and it was so good!

-Kiana
House Cup 2014 Review!

 Report Review

Review #2, by Veritaserum27 No More Happy Thoughts

10th July 2014:
Hello!

Wow! I read your author's note and was shocked! I had never heard that about George before. How sad that he could never find something happy enough to produce a patronus! This was really well done. You portrayed George's anguish beautifully. The very end, where a tear was left behind in Diagon Alley left a vivid image in my mind. It reminded me that parts of George are forever left behind in Fred's death. How sad - and beautiful at the same time. I know that you said he would never return, but I like to think that he did. That George found a way, through Angelina to return to the shop and open it up again. Thanks for writing this. It was really worth reading.

House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #3, by Pretense Of Perfection No More Happy Thoughts

10th July 2014:
Poor George, his sadness literally jumps out at you. Realistically, in my opinion at least, a month isn't a very long time to get over something like this happening. It's so sad that a place he was once so proud of and associated with immense joy is now a huge source of pain, and a constant reminder that he has lost his other half. I think you set the scene and tone of the story beautifully in the beginning, especially in the way you described the actual building. It sort of struck me as an analogy for how George feels inside, like all of the wizarding world is moving on and rebuilding, but he's stuck in the same place, damaged beyond repair. I really think you wrote this story beautifully, and it broke my heart a little bit. My only suggestion is to go over your word choice in a few places, I think you used the same word twice in one sentence.

--house cup 2014 review--
pretense of perfection, gryffindor

 Report Review

Review #4, by gingersnape No More Happy Thoughts

15th July 2013:
Oh my goodness did you capture the excruciating sadness George must have felt - from the first sentence to the tear that closes the story, I couldn't help but read wide eyes and heavier breaths as I took it all in. You really made is so I could fall into George's place as he stood in front of the joke shop and tried to find his old happiness but couldn't get past the walls of pain and I also felt purposeful apathy? It was haunting, but came across so clearly and painfully. Your description is beautiful and your vocabulary is even more impressive. With all of this, I just fell into your story and let it flow effortlessly as I read on. I didn't catch any spelling or grammar mistakes and can say nothing but praise about the story itself. This was difficult to read because of how twisted a place George was in to consider the rest of the family unscathed and such, but the writing was wonderful and it really hit me.
Annie

 Report Review

Review #5, by Jchrissy No More Happy Thoughts

9th March 2013:
Hi darling, and a very happy Birthday to you! Well, a day early ;)

Wow. You really want to break my heart, don't you? This was so powerful in such a short amount of words. The classic every word counts challenge is one of my favorite, and you absolutely did it justice here. I can't believe what an impact you managed to have on every single word, placing just the right one where it needed to be to just tug my heart out of my chest.

I think the idea of George having to go back to that shop, back to real life where Fred didn't exist, is such a painful one. He'd never been alone, and now he's forced to learn to live without half of himself. That's so terribly sad, and I can't believe how much this piece made all those feelings just dart to the surface. The part about life moving on behind him as he started at the building, until he ultimately turns around and decide to leave. UGH. :(.

Also, your section where you talked about George looking in the bathroom mirror trying to figure out how to create a smile, to get his lips to curve up, oh my god. That's such a small, minute fact -- but it's positively crushing. George should never be without smiling :(.

The only thing I noticed that sort of had me wondering is when he talks about the rest of his family being unscathed. I might have just read it the wrong way, or understood it incorrectly I suppose, but it felt like he was saying that none of them were hurt. I'm sure losing Fred hurt him more than any of his other brothers, but I think that losing their child would kill Molly and Arthur. Again, I probably just misunderstood. But that one sentence was the only one I wasn't sure about; everything else was absolutely amazing!

This was a really, really beautiful one shot!

And again, a very happy birthday ♥

Author's Response: Thanks for the birthday wishes!

Well if this story got a tear or two from you, my mission is complete! I admit, I was snifflign while writing it, and even cried a bit re-reading it! Something about George without Fred is just heart breaking.. no matter how long we've had to adjust to it.
As far as the "relitivly unscathed" part.. he wasn't talking about emotionaly, he was mean physically.. there was damage, but everyone but Fred is still alive. Of course the loss of Fred killed them all emotionaly, but I think it wold be worse for George.

Thank you so much for the amazing R&R (as always)



 Report Review

Review #6, by SnitchSnatcher No More Happy Thoughts

11th September 2012:
Hey there! It's Molly from the forums, here with your review!

George-without-Fred stories are always really hard for me to read as they're always very taxing on my emotions, and this was no different.

It was a very realistic scene. Of course it would be hard for him to go back to work after all that he and Fred had shared together, building the shop from the ground up. I thought you did a great job portraying his sadness without getting too flowery about it.

I particularly liked the description of what the joke shop looked like on the outside - I felt like it was a good metaphor for how George must feel/look, even if it was unintended.

Great job!

- Molly

Author's Response: I think George-without-Fred stories are rough on everyone lol... but I'm glad you liked this one. I agree that broken down structure is a good metaphor for George's pain... because was all know that inside (at this point) he is broken beyond repair.

Thanks so much for the R&R!
~Moon~


 Report Review

Review #7, by kjp No More Happy Thoughts

11th September 2012:
Why do people keep on making me read Fred/ George stories, don't they realize they make me cry! (sorry-exaggeration there)
As the stories so short I can't really review much about it but I like the idea of it, you really pulled George's emotions straight through in this and it made it come real to me (which sometimes isn't a good thing if you make me cry!)
I'd advise making the chapter more than 500 words, it seems too short for me and I think that other readers might see it like that as well. Nothing much can happen in 500 words.
Other than brilliant! I loved it and I really look forward to seeing more work from you. I'm not going to bother with grammar/ punctuation/ spelling because I'm terrible at spotting it. Please come get a requested review again because I'd love to read some more of your talent
9/10 from me- one mark of from perfection because of the length of the story
- kjp :D

Author's Response: I'm glad you enjoyed this story and that the emotion got through ;)
As far as the lenght, it was written for the Every Word Counts - 500 word challenge - hence the lenght ;)
Thanks for the R&R

~Moon~


 Report Review

Review #8, by WitnesstoitAll No More Happy Thoughts

9th September 2012:
Hey! I saw your status and figured I'd pop in and see what you've been up to writing-wise (hopefully you remember me?? If not discount this opening statement :P ). I have always had a very soft spot in my heart for George, especially now that I'm about half-way into a George and Angelina-centric novel. It's always very interesting to me to see how people handle his grief. This was a very touching moment, and I'm very glad you shared it!!

Excellent work and congrats on that 500 word count! I am much too wordy to ever pull something like that off. :P

Author's Response: Of course I remember you darlin! I was actually going to message you the other day because I was going through my old reviews and wanted to see what you thought of some of my new stuff ;)
I'm so glad you liked this one... It was one of those things that just sort of hit me out of nowhere and was written, edited and done in under an hour. LOL
I've always avoided that 500 challenge becuase I tend to be pretty wordy myself... but Merlin's beard! I pulled it off ;) LOL
Thanks so much for stopping by! Hopefully I'll hear from you again soon ;)
Much Love
~Moon~


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login