Reading Reviews for And the Moon Lingers On
  
9 Reviews Found

Review #1, by BookDinosaur And the Moon Lingers On

4th January 2014:
Hello Annie! I'm here for the Ninth of the Twelve Days of Reviewing Challenge. :)

Ah, I really enjoyed this! From the name, I suspected it was a Lupin story, but I was so glad to find a Sirius story. I've always had a soft spot for dear old Sirius, and I love well-done Sirius/OCs, which is exactly what this is.

I think you did a fantastic job with Sirius' characterisation. He can't just be a carefree pranker all the time, and him being a playboy has always just bugged me. I really loved how you've given him insecurities, and how those are mostly down to his horrible family. It was really interesting that he was insecure about being a good Gryffindor, I've never encountered that, but it's realistic that he's afraid he'd never belong.

Ah, Violet. I don't know what to say about her. She seems like a really nice person (although I'm doubting the niceness of anybody who goes to Halloween in a sheep outfit) and helping Sirius was a nice thing to do. I love how Sirius has liked her, rather than the other way around, like it always seems to be in stories.

I think that you did a really good job here with your description, your imagery is really powerful and I could see everything in my mind as it unfolded here. I loved this quote in particular: They fall slowly and burst into a thousand smaller, needle-like droplets. It describes both raindrops and Sirius'pain perfecctly and just gaahhh so beautiful.

Okay, so overall I really enjoyed reading this, it was a fantastic story and I'll definitely be looking at more of your other works. :D

 Report Review

Review #2, by patronus_charm And the Moon Lingers On

5th February 2013:
Hi!

Can I just say that your penname is awesome, wahaha when I saw it was gingersnape I knew I had to come and check out your stories ;D

Your description in this story is excellent, it's so vivid, and creates such powerful imagery, so it was such a pleasure to read:)

Even thought it was such a small chapter, you imagined to establish Violet's character really well, so you got a sense that you knew her, so kudos for that.

It was a really nice one-shot to read, and I'm glad that I stumbled upon it:)

Author's Response: Ahaha, thanks! All of my penname's origins are pretty great, from cookies to Snily, so I'm quite glad I made a typo and thought of it! :P

I'm so glad you enjoyed the story, and thank you so much for leaving such a wonderful review! I really appreciate it and I'm happy you stumbled upon it too! :)


 Report Review

Review #3, by caomoyl And the Moon Lingers On

5th January 2013:
Annie! I loved this so much!
I love how you showed a different side to Sirius than what is normally portrayed. I have always believed that it is there, but most people just show him as a lady's man and nothing else. People also make it out that he doesn't get hurt by what his mother said, but it's so obvious that he did because it's pretty much impossible not to, no matter what your view on the situation is. So great job with the characterization.
Hehe sheep.
I also like the way you showed his feelings for Violet. They were caring and normal thoughts, rather than the typical thoughts given to him. He liked her for who she was, not just for her body.
Again, I loved this! (h)

Author's Response: (h) THAAANKS AMEZ!
Your reviews always make me so happy and thank you for being a lovely wifey. (h) I'm glad you liked the new side to him - I always thought he wasn't quite the character normally portrayed in stories, even if I'm a real sucker for some ladies-man!Sirius. :P


 Report Review

Review #4, by Harrypotterbookworm And the Moon Lingers On

11th December 2012:
First off, you have a gorgeous banner too. And it's a Sirius/OC, which I also love. And it's by you, who I love. Overall, as you know, lovely. Extremely loveable. *snuggles*

You know what I like about this piece? The plot that isn't a plot. Nothing much happens, just a conversation, but yet, so much does happen. It shows exactly what can happen in life, one thing can make an impact. And it doesn't even have to have a big impact, just a small one. Like making Sirius seem a little less lonely. I applaud you, for capturing human interaction so wonderfully and truthfully.

I love the characterisation of Violet as well. You know the cliche of the overly admirable girl, awesome at quidditch, pretty, brilliant, sassy ect. I love that you made her ... normal. XD It really made this piece stand out and seem more realistic. Placid, nice word. I love her sass though, dressing him down like that. You gotta love banter. :D

If anything, it was maybe a little short, but I'm biased because your writing is excellent. Maybe a little more description of actions while they are talking and such, building more of an image of what is going on. But however, that may just be me reading it too fast.

Anyhow, I loved it m'dear. Such a difference to the normal Sirius/OC's out there.

Snuggles and love, Nikki

 Report Review

Review #5, by EverDiggory And the Moon Lingers On

8th December 2012:
Returning the review! Thank you love *hugs*

I love, love, love Sirius/OC.

I really enjoyed this. Your writing style is beautiful and I was thoroughly impressed. The only thing that wasn't absolute perfection was imagery. You had some, and believe me when I say this piece was wonderful! I would recommend just a little more imagery and that would cause this one shot to go from near perfection to stunningly perfect.

You had a little imagery, such as a little descriptions of Violet's fluffy dress, but I think it wouldn't do any harm to elaborate further.

Your style of writing was definitely what I enjoyed the most.

Great writing and happy holidays!

xx

Ever

 Report Review

Review #6, by Elenia And the Moon Lingers On

8th December 2012:
Oh my. I think I'm experiencing a loss for words here.

I think I need to thank you first for dropping by at my review thread and giving me the reason to review your story too. Because I love this little one-shot and I would be very sad if I had not found it!

Sirius is one of my favourite characters and I really liked your version of him. He was very different than he usually is, showing a more serious side of him. But it really fit his character, to see him ponder such things, to feel so lost and not really understand who he really was.

I really liked Violet too. The difficulty with OC's and one-shots is that it's hard to tell everything you need to in such a short story, but I think you did a really good job with that!We didn't learn that much, but I think it was just enough to make her stand out.

And oh my, all those poetic sentences you have in there! This was a really hard pick, but this is my favourite one of them: 'Alone was a little less lonely.' It's such a beautiful sentence.

I think this was a very complete little story. Sometimes one-shots leave you wanting to know more and wanting the author to expand the story, but I think yours was perfect the way it was. That is always an accomplishment!

I'm really glad I got a chance to read this!

Take care!

~E

 Report Review

Review #7, by Mystique And the Moon Lingers On

6th December 2012:
This was really sweet, yet at the same time rather bittersweet. I liked the contrast that was between Violet and Sirius and how Sirius wishes that he could be a bit more like her.

I found this story to be really vivid, I have an extremely clear picture in my head of Sirius sitting on a rock letting the rain pour down on him with an inky sky and a sliver of the silver moon behind him. This image still has yet to leave my head.

As I was reading through, I thought that Sirius might go after Violet and ask her to dance. But as I finished, I realised that the way you had wrote it was better. Sirius starts to accept himself a little bit more.

So congratulations on a really vivid and beautiful story.
Charlie

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I was really tempted to have him run after her, but young Sirius was so broken from all the stress in his life that I don't think he had much of a romantic left in him. Thanks so much for your review, and I'm glad you liked it. :)

Annie


 Report Review

Review #8, by manno_malfoy And the Moon Lingers On

21st October 2012:
So I came across this story through HPPC and I thought I'd come by and gush a little on how I truly admire this story!

I am in love with your opening paragraph! It's just so poetic and deep, and it's vivid in an inexplicable way! It's the kind of thing you can see, hear, and feel! And I think starting a chapter out like that really grips the reader. Well, I know it gripped me! :D

Another thing I liked is the characterisation of Sirius here! Mostly, we don't see a sincere side of him, and it was refreshing change to see him be this profound and this confused. You also wrote about the way he was feeling so well that it was so easy to sympathise with him. I really just wanted to go and give him a hug. And that's just for what he felt regarding himself.

Then, Violet came into the scene and you began to describe how he felt about her, and how he saw her as a person. He knew what kind of a person she was while he didn't know what he's like and that made me wonder if she knew him, if she saw something he missed. Of course his view might be a little biased, but still!

And this line was absolutely brilliant! "And then there was Violet, who simply walked in, changed the world, and walked out without even claiming credit."

This story is absolutely wonderful! I first listened to it and was mesmerised, then I came and read it and was blown away again! I'm so glad I've stumbled upon this story!

Keep up the great work! :D

-Manno

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the reviews! (Although Robbi gave it so much life, so most of the podcasting goodness came from her! :P) I'm so glad you liked it. It was really fun to write Sirius in a new light - I've tried so many times, but this was the first that I felt as if I came close to capturing him. Keep up the podcast reviewing - they make HPPC so bright and happy! :D

Annie


 Report Review

Review #9, by Loony_Scorpy And the Moon Lingers On

9th October 2012:
I was just listening to this and I am absolutely shocked that no one has reviewed the story yet! :( It should have a million reviews! I love this. Your portrayal of Sirius is so different to any other that I have read and it seems like it could have been so real.
"It was all just an illusion to hide the real Sirius. Because there wasn't a real Sirius." I expected to hear something about who the real Sirius was but then you said there wasn't one and my thoughts basically froze on the word woah. I have never read something that explains someone like that and I think it could have fit so well with Sirius' character.
Incorporating his mother was a really good idea too - I've often read where Sirius just blocks his family out of his head and that's that, but I think that seemed so realistic and captured what a teenager could have really been feeling in that situation.
I loved Violet. I also loved the Sirius admitted she was boring at first - it would have fit with the sort of image and thoughts Sirius had created for himself. I really loved the conversation between them.
This was a really beautiful one-shot Annie and I absolutely love it ♥
Caitie :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the review (and the podcast review, although Robbi did much more in making that as beautiful as it was than I did :P)! I've tried to write Sirius before (and Violet, actually) but he's always so difficult to capture and has morphed into some other character every other time.
I've never really felt like Sirius was ever terribly secure in his identity. He's always questioning everything he was raised in and what he became, and it takes a lot to be the sort of person who seems so principled and confident. Especially while he was still in school, I imagine he must have had a lot of internal conflict about his place in the world from keeping such strong appearances. It's taken a lot to get the conflict, but I think I liked how it turned out and I'm glad you liked it too. :)
Violet's one of my favorite OC's - she's been in my head for years now, but she too has been devilishly difficult to capture. In my head they're both fascinated by the other's existence and actions, but at the same time draw to other people, so all they could have are brief interactions built on their curiosity. I'm glad you liked it and thank you so much for both of the reviews! I got so excited when I saw the HPPC one and then just about did a happy dance when you said you had pulled it up to review on HPFF too. :D
(h) Annie :D


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login