Reading Reviews for Of the Weird and the Lovely
  
12 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Rosie Dare You to Move

29th May 2013:
I love this so much, please update soon!

 Report Review

Review #2, by Bella Dare You to Move

5th May 2013:
I am in love! This was so cute and emotional and capturing and well written!

 Report Review

Review #3, by momotwins Dare You to Move

8th December 2012:
Hey sweetie! I feel silly (and repetitive) reviewing Memory Dust since you've already heard my thoughts on that story, so I'm reviewing this one! I always enjoy a Luna story, and I really enjoyed your take on her.

I also really liked your characterization of Dean. He does appear regularly in canon but we don't really have a strong sense of his personality, which makes him a lot more open to interpretation. I think you did really well with him. I like his wariness of Luna, cause she really is an odd duck, and I suspect after their imprisonment in Malfoy Manor, he would find her a little uncomfortable to be around. But they do share a bond from their time together, and Luna does love to make friends. She's very open in her affection. And her being raised wizard - extremely eccentric wizard at that - to Dean's sort of everyman Muggle upbringing, they're really sort of polar opposites. He just doesn't understand her. She is an odd duck, that's for sure.

Poor Luna, she wants to have faith in her dad and that he's okay. She's such an optimist. And poor Dean, I've always felt very sorry for him in the Deathly Hallows era. And he never knew his dad was a wizard too.

The kiss was super sweet XD I loved it. Dean is a doll for giving her her first kiss.

It's a really lovely story. I liked the simplicity of Dean and Luna's interactions at the battle, and that nothing else needed to be said about the kiss. They can just be, you know? He seems to get her better in that moment. Love it!

 Report Review

Review #4, by caoty Dare You to Move

20th November 2012:
Hey, I'm here with a little something for your birthday.

So I've been shipping Luna/Dean since DH - they are pretty much together during that book, and you've shown it wonderfully. Your Dean stood out in particular as being perfectly IC. He's quiet and down-to-earth here, yet with enough appreciation of the unreal to fall for someone like Luna. That's exactly how I see him, and that doesn't always translate as well in a lot of fic as it does here, so well done on that.

The way you've written Luna is also interesting - she seems so... ephemeral? Like she's almost not there. It works, surprisingly - she's totally the world's biggest tease, yet she's still full of surprises. It's cool. I like her.

The contrast between the kiss and the impending battle is a lovely image. Maybe I would've expanded the tight focus you've got on these two here, to really drive home that contrast - dark skies, Gothic architecture, the sounds of war, all that kind of stuff... it just really helps to set that scene a bit more. I know we all know what Hogwarts looks like, but still, I think more description there would've been more effective.

Anyway, that's all from me today. I hope you continue with this, but more importantly, that you're having a fabulous birthday! :D

 Report Review

Review #5, by LoopyLemon Dare You to Move

15th November 2012:
Love Switchfoot, just saying :P

I adored this chapter, from start to end. It was fascinating and had me hooked.

I've always loved Luna and I love how you have portrayed her. She is never sad in the traditional sense, but rather she shows her sadness through almost imperceptible movements.

I love that this is from Dean's point of view. You have done an amazing job with his emotions and the constant comparison to Luna's emotions.

Both Dean and Luna feel so real. I just love them. This is an amazing piece that captured my imagination from the beginning.

I love how you used that time at Shell Cottage. I feel like Dean is overlooked in that time. After all, he was a close school friend of at least Harry and Ron as they did share a room for six years.

The kiss was done beautifully. Luna's take on it was really nice.

In case you can't tell, I loved this piece. You did an amazing job with it. Your writing was flawless and really nice to read. Great job :D

 Report Review

Review #6, by Phoenix_feather123 Dare You to Move

11th November 2012:
Tag.
I thought this was a really good story, though a little rushed when Bill told them to leave and fight.

I really liked the ending, I thought it was so sweet.

 Report Review

Review #7, by MissMandarin Dare You to Move

8th October 2012:
I love this chapter! I love Dean and Luna together, even though there isn't much of Dean's character to go off of, but Luna was beautifully portrayed. The Luna at the end of the story may have been my favorite, I always thought her as much more fierce than she was given credit for. I do hope you finish this or add to it soon.

Author's Response: I'll try expanding Dean's character in future chapters. it's my first time writing both these characters, so i struggle a little bit in places. It means a lot, though, to hear you liked Luna. She's especially hard to write. I really hope I'll be able to update, too. Thanks so much for reviewing. :)

 Report Review

Review #8, by magnolia_magic Dare You to Move

6th September 2012:
Hi! I read your blog post in the forums about this story, and since Dean/Luna is my favorite pairing ever, I just had to make time to review it :)

I think you've got a wonderful first chapter here. I think you did a great job of exploring Luna's subtleties and little quirks...she's so difficult to write (I can attest to that!), and your version of her felt very true to the books. Her dialogue was perfect too; she says things so matter-of-factly, but they sound strange to everyone but her. Great job with her! And I'm looking forward to getting to know Dean a little better in future chapters :)

My favorite scene was the part right after Bill tells them about the battle at Hogwarts. For some reason that just struck me, the two of them hugging right before the battle. It was just a wonderful quiet moment before all the craziness that is the Hogwarts battle.

I do have just a little bit of concrit, and it's really just a personal preference kind of thing, so you can take this or leave it :) In your summary, you mention that the relationship might not last. I get that you want to stick to canon, but for me that statement almost takes away from the significance of what they have while they're together. Does that make sense? If it were me, I'd keep the focus on the present with this couple, instead of drawing attention to the fact that they aren't permanent.

I absolutely love your ending. That promise of a new beginning...it's just such an inspiring way to end a chapter (and begin the rest of your story.) I especially love the line: "There was longing in that look-to live and love and to not waste another minute ever again." I just think that's beautiful. A great note to end on :)

Keep up the good work! I really enjoyed this, and I hope you know that there are Dean/Luna fans out there that will follow it :)

--Maggie

Author's Response: Dean is a delight to write in some places, Luna is a never-ending struggle, therefore it pleased me so much that you liked this version of her. Yes, Bill telling them about the Battle felt very poignant for me too. That moment they both realised they're going somewhere dangerous and that it was important to admit they cared about each other to a certain extent. I'm so glad you picked up on that.

Your concrit makes sense to me, and I already took that part out. I'm horrible with summaries, always adding these things that I think will make it more interesting, but in reality they just dumb the summary down. Thank you for being honest about that. :)

The ending was nice to write, I could dwell a little on the happy part instead of the more sinister ones.

Maggie! This review is fantastic and I am forever grateful. I appreciate you taking the time to review and I hope you're not angry with me for taking such a long time to reply. I hope you'll want to still read the next chapters if I ever get the courage to post them.

Liz


 Report Review

Review #9, by AdeleShare Dare You to Move

5th September 2012:
I really enjoyed reading this :D I've never thought of Luma and Dean together, well because I'll forever be convinced that she and Neville ended up together (none of this Scamander business for me) But I did like how you told a bit of the story that wasn't in the books. I like stories like that. There is so much that wasn't in the books, being as it was told focusing on Harry. It's lovely that there is so much for us to work with :D I did find it interesting, since you asked. I hope to see more from you in future!

Author's Response: Yes, we should both boycott Scamander! :D

Stories in between the lines are my favorite, too.

Anyway, thank you so much for this lovely review. I'm sorry it took me ages to reply, I swear I appreciate your time and effort to review my story and it made me very happy. :)


 Report Review

Review #10, by kjp Dare You to Move

5th September 2012:
This is a very interesting pairing, I honestly can say I've never read a Dean/Luna paring, during the books i always thought there was a connection between the two but that was all and I've not thought about it really but after reading this story I find it more believable actually.
You wrote Luna really well, she was weird but in a wonderful weird way, which is how I've always seen her. Actually I'd say you write her perfectly.
I would suggest getting a banner from the dark arts to get more popularity to this story, it really does help the story be more eye catching and appealing to readers.
I don't understand why this story has mild language as well, there was no inappropriate language as far as I can tell.
You asked me if i found it interesting, yes I did find the story, the plot, the characters and the pairing extremely interesting, so good work :D. I'm terrible at trying to find grammar, spelling, punctuation mistakes so I won't be pointing them out but overall a very entertaining story that i found fun to read, I'll be looking out for more of your stories I think
- kjp and a 9/10 from me :D

Author's Response: Hi! Thank you for taking the time to review and sorry for taking so long to reply. :( I, too, thought they shared a connection, and it occurred to me there might've been something between them. Aw, I'm so thrilled you liked my Luna. She's so tough to write for me, because I'm so different from her. The mild language is there just in case for the future chapters.

I already have the banner, do you like it? :) It took a few weeks to get done, because the request wasn't picked for a long time, but I think the final result was well worth the wait.

Thank you again for this wonderful review. I'd be very happy if you decided to check my other stories.


 Report Review

Review #11, by AlAndAl Dare You to Move

2nd September 2012:
I've never really thought of Luna and Dean's relationship and this is a really sweet one-shot.
Luna to me has always been intoxicating. Her outlook on world is so bright and as you said in your story, nothing seems to phase her. She goes through life looking at everything as a new experience.
I enjoyed how over time, Dean begun to admire Luna for her strength in those difficult times and had grown to be very fond of her.
This is very well written and lighthearted. It was a good read.
-Allie

Author's Response: Thank you, Allie, so much, for this review. Luna is lovely in every sense of the word, and even months fromt his attempt, I'm still struggling. I guess I'm just too different and unpleasant in contrast to her it's just difficult. :D

Dean, on the other hand, is so nice to write. I'm glad you liked their growing relationship.

Thank youuu!


 Report Review

Review #12, by Jchrissy Dare You to Move

1st September 2012:
Hi darling! I wish I had more time to review your other stories right now, but I hope this one will do until I knock out another handful of pages for this contest!

Okay, I saw your post about not being sure how to write Luna, I have to say that I really think you captured her in this. The feeling of her just being something different, like she knows more than everyone but at the same time she knows nothing but the happiness of her own world. She's too strong to be broken by everything, but still so fragile and gentle. I just think you captured her pure spirit beautifully.

I really like the way you've contrasted Dean and Luna, they contradict each other in saw a flawless way. Dean is realistic, he's raw and he's real and he's there. Luna is optimistic and glossed over in a dreamy state and half the time she feels more like an angel floating around than one of them, it feels so perfect.

The way you let her saw whatever she wants, and you acknowledge that it is odd for Dean, but that he is compelled to it, goes so far in making me feel like these two being together is something that really could have happened.

This was such a beautiful first chapter, I'm happy to see it's a short story because I'm excited to see where you take it!

I'll be back soon, thanks for this intoxicating distraction!

Author's Response: Thank you. It's not that difficult to write Luna from Dean's perspective. I'm really scared of writing her on her own. But even with this I struggled, so thank you so much for your words. Dean and Luna are perfect together because they contrast so well. I weep for JKR not making them canon.

I'm so glad you liked this. Also, sorry for this belated reply. This was the first review I received for this story and it still makes me very happy and encouraged. To hear that you're enjoying something I've written is so nice, because I'm a big fan of you. Once again, thank you so, so much.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login