Reading Reviews for The Harder Struggle
  
117 Reviews Found

Review #1, by thestral517 Epilogue

13th April 2014:
Thoughly enjoyed the story. Keep writing.

 Report Review

Review #2, by skate9001 Epilogue

7th April 2014:
Absolutely amazing. I was addicted until the end.

Author's Response: Thanks. Glad you enjoyed it.

 Report Review

Review #3, by merlins beard Epilogue

30th March 2014:
i have enjoyed to read this very well written story. it is funny, exciting and had me captured - everything a harry potter story needs. Thank you for this enjoyable story.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review and your generous comments, they are very much appreciated.

 Report Review

Review #4, by Joni Resistance

23rd March 2014:
Love your story! Believe you're the first and only author to connect Ron's experience with the locket to Ginny and the diary. Great connection.

Where's Snape though? His role and sacrifice are sorely missed.

You're talented. Thanks and I look forward to more!

Author's Response: Glad you like the story. I'm not sure I'm the first writer to connect Ginny's experience with the diary with Ron and the locket, but many do ignore it, they even have Ginny giving Ron a hard time over leaving.

I'm sorry about Snape. I couldn't cover everything in my story - its already over 135000 words. I ignored Kreacher too for much the same reason, they weren't essential to what I was trying to do.

Thanks for the review.


 Report Review

Review #5, by harry_ginny4ev Epilogue

18th March 2014:
Your story was great, but I feel that you could have elaborated a bit more. Thanks so much for giving me this story to read.

Author's Response: Hi,

Thanks for the review and I'm glad you liked the story. What aspect of the story did you think needed elaboration?


 Report Review

Review #6, by Odie Epilogue

13th March 2014:
A GREAT STORY! I am not much into politics, but you made this version of 'after Voldemort' very interesting. Thank you. I look forward to reading more of your stories.

Author's Response: Thanks, Odie, I'm glad you liked the story. Not everyone was into the politics, and some hated it, and that's fine. I guess I'm a bit of a political junkie and I wanted to look at an aspect of JK Rowling's world that is not often explored.

I am sure our young heroes would be as keen to win the peace as they were to win the war and that makes some involvement in politics, even if only tangentially, neccessary. I can especially see Hermione getting involved. After all she started a political organisation(SPEW) when she was only 14, even if it was naive and didn't get very far.


 Report Review

Review #7, by Odie Why we Fight.

10th March 2014:
What a great story you are weaving. A few chapters ago when the group was in Hagrid's hut, I laughed out loud when you used the phrase: "better out than in". It brought comic relief to a very strong emotional time. Your story is not just a Harry/Ginny story. It is the whole story...of everyone involved. I have enjoyed it so far, and look forward to finishing it.

Author's Response: Thanks, Odie. You are right, its not just about Harry and Ginny or Ron and Hermione either, though it does concentrate on this core group. I am trying to paint a larger picture of the wizarding world as it emerges from the war and the challenges it faces.

Thanks for reading and for your review and I hope you enjoy the rest of it as well.


 Report Review

Review #8, by Ajharrypotterfan07 Epilogue

8th January 2014:
great story. I loved it. I didnt understand much of the political stuff, but it was great story all the same

Author's Response: Great, glad you enjoyed it even if your not into the politics.

Thanks for taking the time to review.


 Report Review

Review #9, by HPaddictEllie Epilogue

9th November 2013:
And so I come to the end of reading this realising I have not as promised, been a great reviewer, although hope you will take it as a compliment, as I have been to encompassed by your story to take a break from reading it. There have been so many inspiring quotes, and I can't decide which to give you back, the speeches provided have been inspiring so I hope you read through them as you write more fanfiction.
Love the idea of the eplouge, looking forward to reading more of your creations.

Author's Response: Hi HPaddictEllie

Thanks for all your reviews and apologies for not responding earlier. It is a long time since I have visited these pages and it is a pleasant surprise to see people still reviewing the story nearly a year after I have finished it.

I am glad you enjoyed the stories and in particular took inspiration from the speeches. I thought long and hard about them.

Thanks


 Report Review

Review #10, by HPaddictEllie Sydney Bound

7th November 2013:
short and sweet!
“They don’t give seconds to people who spill things, Ron.”

 Report Review

Review #11, by HPaddictEllie Respect

7th November 2013:
Haven't reviewed the last couple becasue I have been so eager to read the next chapter. There were so many quotes to choose from in the chapter but I'm going with -
" Respect yourselves enough to be the best person you can be, to stand up and resist tyranny and injustice wherever you find them and to stand up for your own best values."
as it not only speaks to the wizards in your novel but also to everyone reading it.

 Report Review

Review #12, by HPaddictEllie Debrief

7th November 2013:
What an incredible summery. You managed to convey the emotions I felt while reading the book. I am going to try and comment on ever chapter as I read (no promises) with one of my favorite quotes from the chapter so...
"Luna was looking like, well Luna. She was smiling happily, totally in the moment and with no expectation that the world should be any other way than how it was."
The only bit that has upset me in this is that you did not include the realisation that snape was in fact good and love conquers anything. 'Always'

 Report Review

Review #13, by santosh Epilogue

24th August 2013:
I like it! It is good please write more stories of day to day lives of the weaselys harry Ron and Hermione plus the rest of th d.a. and Hogwarts and the wizarding world!

 Report Review

Review #14, by Mackh Epilogue

10th August 2013:
Although I think the lengthy political debates took up too much of this story, I can see why you chose to include them.
This is very well written and having Harry treated for PTSD is something that should be done by other writers as well.
I will be watching for your next story.
Well done!

 Report Review

Review #15, by Larry Hotter Heroes

25th July 2013:
Good chapter.

I dislike that many writers tend to make Harry and Hermiones relationship more than it is.
Harry doesn't have the over-protective brotherly feeling towards Hermione.
He looks at her as a sister, but not so literal.
It means no interest otherwise, while many people exaggerate and thinks he cares for her like Ron does for Gin.

My only annoyance with this chapter.

 Report Review

Review #16, by Larry Hotter We're Alive!

25th July 2013:
Great start!
A nice recap without being boring. I like your writing style and look forward to read your story.

 Report Review

Review #17, by Ron Lover. <3 Epilogue

6th June 2013:
this story was so awesome. I thought that it wouldn't be because it seemed so serious. but it hooked me and when i finished it, all i could say was.. wow. good job! pls continue writing more stories. you're so brilliant! the characters were not out of their character (which is the usual tendency in post-deathly hallows fics), and everything was so believable. I hope you make more fics! ^_^

 Report Review

Review #18, by katjsh Epilogue

12th March 2013:
I loved these characters so much that I am constantly searching fanfiction so that I can be in this world just a little longer. I usually stick with the next generation because I hate when the characters become so different from the ones we loved. You did a wonderful job maintaining their essance. I would enjoy reading anything you add. Check out hp and the summer after the war and hp and the winters after the war also beautifully written stories. Thank you for sharing...

 Report Review

Review #19, by katjsh Let's Do a Deal

12th March 2013:
Loving this! Amazing I hope u continue to write other stories

 Report Review

Review #20, by Malfoy_lover Vote of No Confidence

28th January 2013:
this story was great you captured everything htey way our queen would have most after war story concontrate on what harry would have done but you didnt you gave the view of everyone and that is important i gave your story to a few of my potter loving friends and told them how great you are. i hope that in the future you write more because your writing style is lovley and easy to follow

 Report Review

Review #21, by Kc Epilogue

27th January 2013:
Excellent, I loved it!

 Report Review

Review #22, by River Vote of No Confidence

22nd January 2013:
I truly enjoyed your story and thank you for a Ron that was not a two left footed geek with bad table manners. Ron was always more then that and you brought that out. I loved the way you weaved the tale of two powerful forces and that it was not all about Harry, he is an important part but not the only one. I also am glad not to see superman Harry those stories kind of leave me cold. I think you captured our hero's very nice and I look forward to more. Authors choice I am a fan.

Thanks again for a great read,

River

Author's Response: Thanks for your review and especially your comments about Ron. I find it difficult to read stuff about post war Ron where he is still portrayed as having the emotional maturity of a 14 year old. It as if the extra four years and particularly his experiences during the war would not have changed him profundly - just as they would have Hermione.



 Report Review

Review #23, by zipzin Epilogue

19th January 2013:
Sweet ending loved how you had it out of a textbook or something like that. I would love to read more, on anything really. Maybe some Harry/Ginny stuff but whatever you write I'll be sure to read and I'll look forward to whenever you decide to post it. This is a great story and I loved the way that you approached it all. Great writing!

Author's Response: Thanks for review and your support throughout this story.


 Report Review

Review #24, by Lyddie Epilogue

18th January 2013:
THANK GOD you are going to write more stories!! But Neville didn't have a distinguished Wizengamot career? That's surprising. I would've thought he'd do both Hogwarts and Wizengamot. Can't he do that? Or can't he. After that rousing speech I wouldn't think they would let him go so easily. He must have had some strong feelings about this. Hmm.

I would be interested in:
-How George gets on with WWW
-Hermione's political career
-More about our friends in the Aurors
-More magical creatures
-fun adventures !
-Neville and the ladies (I don't think he marries Luna or any canon characters...although I leave that to you)

If you can continue weaving in more historical and cultural background details that would be great.

Can't wait to see what you come up with!

Author's Response: In this story, Neville is in the Wizengamot as British Youth representative. I can't see him being enthusiastic about getting back into the Wizengamot once his term expires. Neville is doing it out of a sense of duty, just like his stint in the aurors which he also will not pursue over the long term. His heart is in herbology and Hogwarts.

According to the canon Neville eventually marries Hanna Abbot and there are a few hints as to that eventual outcome in this story. Still, I think he and Luna deserve a fling. Neville is certainly the type of person who both gets and appreciates Luna.


 Report Review

Review #25, by Lyddie Vote of No Confidence

18th January 2013:
WOW. Just WOW! This chapter was incredible!!! The suspense!!! The sophistication!!! The history!!! The details! It was an emotional roller coaster!!! Neville's speech was AMAZING!!! You're amazing!!! Seriously, are you sure you're not JK Rowling?? ;) I ate this up. It was like the experience of reading a Potter book. I don't even know where to start, so I'll just list some of the highlights for me:

-Nice detail with Grantham's kids playing outside. He really is a good guy, isn't he?
-Your character names are fantastic. Gemalla Wenglespoon, Rufus Lazarre, Paula Pestle... These are the details that make your fic so authentic!
-The story about Ogden the Odious and the Battle of Hogsmeade Hill! So surprising and quirky. I love it so much. We're learning more about the history of the Potter world! It's amazing!
-I like how you explain how truly rare the Order of Merlins are, especially the First Class. That sets it up nicely for the emotional reveal at the end, which you handle masterfully. Even though I knew the trio would be getting First Class, I still felt surprisingly choked up about it. Especially the description on Ginny's award; I thought it was so sweet how you worded it: "for the protection of the student body of Hogwarts undertaken at great risk and heavy personal cost." It made me think of what a strong, kind and brave person she is. And I love that Molly is a Knight of the Order of St George! She's so badass ;) Kudos on the concept of the Knight of the Order of St George if you made that up, by the way--it's really cool! I am assuming you did invent it, but it's so Potter-worthy I wouldn't be surprised if Rowling had written about this somewhere!
-The shocking twist in Grantham's speech!! I wasn't ready for this story to end, so I envisioned him winning and then being some kind of villain...which would have been kind of predictable, really. I LOVE how it ended instead! Thank you for being so surprising--which, again, is very JK Rowling!!
-I really do love Neville's speech. He utterly destroys Wenglespoon. You do a great job of showing what a confident and eloquent man he has become. I can just imagine how distinguished the rest of his term on the Wizengamot will be. (Also, with his Knight of the Order of St George, I can imagine how popular he will be with the ladies!)
-I almost forgot to applaud you on the detail about the tradition of not interrupting a maiden speech!! Great detail!! You really made the Wizengamot come to life, in general. It was very vividly imagined.
-George's joke about being too respectable was funny and touching
-The dynamic between Bill and Percy! "Party treasurer," "Mr Secretary." So sweet and genuine and believable!! and it's these small details that make your fic SO amazing. Seriously. how do you do it? It's amazing. It's like reading Harry Potter. And I've read them all, multiple times. I am really impressed.

I'm so sad this story is over, although I suppose this was a nice place to end it. I'm curious how Grantham handles his career in the aftermath of the speech. He was a really interesting character.

Your story is awesome. i hope you write more soon!!!

Author's Response: Thanks for this detailed review. I am glad you like the little touches; they make it fun to write too.

I spend a bit of time trying to get good names for people. I think it can very much affect the way people respond to them.

I did invent the order of St George but there are parallels in the British honours system. The tradition of not interrupting a member giving a maiden speech is, I believe, common in parliaments based on the Westminster system. It is certainly observed here in Australia.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>