Reading Reviews for The Wrinkles of the Road
  
111 Reviews Found

Review #1, by writeyourheartout Anxieties

22nd March 2014:
Hey again, Beeezie! So sorry it's taken me so long to get to this second review! March has been a little hectic, and while it's not exactly slowed yet, I'm taking a break from the madness to review again! Yay! ^.^

This was another great chapter! Sort of simple, though not at all boring or slow or without purpose! Nothing wrong with simplicity! And in this case, it really gave us a more in depth look at your main pairing!

I really do love the relationship between Rose and Scorpius, and this chapter in particular really showcases the two as a couple and their dynamic with one another. We get to see a lot of sides to them here - the way they wheedle information out of one another, the forms of distraction they use to get away from something they don't want to admit to or talk about, the way they can go from annoyed to comforting to scared and helpless to... adult time happiness. hehehe There's just something so real about the two of them. It's great.

Rose is such a fun character to follow. I love when we get to see the sneakier side to her, because I think most people have that side to them, and so it's easy to relate to her when she uses Scorpius' mention of Van and the face he pulls to poke for information without having to bring up the fact that she'd been eavesdropping. She wanted him to know that she knew he was feeling insecure about Van, but she did it in a way that kept her out of trouble - it's very compelling to read her thoughts during that section - especially because she's still such a likeable character.

I loved seeing the broken down side of Scorpius, sad as it was. I imagine this is probably how a lot of people who work in medicine might feel because they know how easily people break and how often they don't recover. They start seeing the world for all the ways it can hurt the people they love and how, ultimately, there is only ever so much a person - even a professional Healer - can do to fight off permanent damage or death. Having so many people so close to Scorpius being off with their dangerous jobs must be really hard for him to handle all the time. But I bet he feels better after a nice cry; I know I always do! :-p Still, makes me want to snuggle him! Poor thing.

So I know I mentioned this in my last review, but I really do like the bit of trouble that Van's stirred up between Rose and Scorpius - it's just a fun additional level that adds a bit of tension to the story without feeling overbearing or overly-dramatic. I also love that Van is a character who's going to be around (unless he gets hurt or killed or something), and so Rose will continue working with him while Scorpius has to fight his insecurities. It'll be interesting to see how it continues to play out! I still have it in my head that it won't actually be a thing that comes between them, but hey, what do I know? ^.^

The pacing of this chapter is really great. You fit a lot of details through dialogue into this chapter, but still pause for more descriptive phrasing where it's needed, allowing the more emotional moments to have some reflective depth. It gives the chapter, as a whole, a really great flow - quickly paced in some sections, but slowed down in the moments that require a bit more feeling. Really good.

And just a few very minor things:

"Be... be careful tomorrow. You might not care much about your life, but I do." - I think this is the first time something was said about one of your characters that I didn't quite feel like I understood - like maybe I'm missing some information (possibly from the prequel). Of course, it's very possible that I just missed or forgot something mentioned earlier in this story, but I'll ask anyway: Is there a reason Scorpius doesn't think Rose values her life all that much? I've never gotten that feeling from her. I know she has a dangerous job and was a Gryffindor at school, but I don't think there's been anything that's made me question her self-preservation in a dangerous situation. Not that she wouldn't be the type of person to risk her life for someone else, but I think there's a difference between that and not valuing your life.

"It (The, not It) door suddenly opened wider, and Scorpius stumbled back into his cousin Johanna."

"But... Scorpius, look, our jobs our (are, not our) dangerous, but it's not like we're Hit Wizards."

Overall, I really liked this chapter! I'm really enjoying the story and like your characters more and more with each new chapter! They're all developing really well, as individuals and in relation to one another. And the hints of action and adventure and mystery to come still have me intrigued! I look forward to the next chapter!

Tanya :)

Author's Response: Aw, no worries - my March has been hectic, too. I haven't forgotten your third chapter, though, and I'll head over to do the review soon. :)

I'm so glad you liked this chapter! Thank you so much for all your kind words.

I definitely agree about Scorpius - a huge part of what's fueling this is that at this point, he really is very aware of how easily it is to break human beings and how hard it can be to put them back together (metaphorically speaking), and he hasn't really been doing this long enough to get real perspective... because Rose is right, too - there are plenty of people in dangerous professions who live to retire in perfectly good health.

I can see how that line could come off a bit strange. It's not something that I think would really have been clarified if you've read Curiosity is not a Sin, though. Rose can definitely be a bit reckless sometimes and doesn't always think out what she's going to do, which is what Scorpius is talking about... but he's definitely taking that and making an assumption that isn't completely warranted.

Thank you so much for the review! :)


 Report Review

Review #2, by writeyourheartout A Coming Storm

28th February 2014:
Hello Beeezie! ^.^

So I've been reading this story for the past two days and have really, really been enjoying it! I wanted to leave reviews on these final two chapters because your fic - like many chaptered stories - has hit a bit of a review decline for the last two - which is quite silly, really, because this one was so great and I expect the next one will be as well! The entire story has been great, to be honest! I'm not a particular fan of Next Gen either, so the fact that I've enjoyed this so thoroughly should tell you how good it is. :)

Before anything else, I want to tell you that I know this is a sequel to another Next Gen story you have - presumably a Hogwarts-centric fic where we see where this Rose/Scorpius relationship began - but it really has worked as a stand alone story too! I don't know if there are a lot of hints back to the first story, but if so, you've managed to make it easy to follow for those who haven't read the original, which is great, in my opinion! I think a big reason for this is because even though the Weasley clan in the next generation is absolutely huge, you plucked out a few stand-outs to focus in and concentrate on, and that's been really helpful in keeping track of everyone's lives and personalities and relationships!

Anyway let me shift my focus now to this chapter in particular! ^.^

I love your Rose. She's so real! Lines like this are what really do it for me: "On the other, she was feeling more than a little petty, and if he wasn't going to be open with her, she didn't see why she should be honest with him." - hahaha It's such an imperfect trait, her pettiness, but one that is so vastly human that it makes Rose as a character feel so authentic! You've struck a perfect balance with her as far as making her likeable without being even the slightest bit indicative of a Mary Sue! She's flawed, but good at heart, and that's what makes me root for her.

In fact, all of your characters are greatly layered in this way! I'll stick to the ones we see this chapter, though, for now! I love your James! He doesn't seem quite so over the top as I've seen him portrayed often in other stories - like a photo-copy of James I or something - which is really nice! But he's still got that sort of free-spirited thing about him, which feels very fitting given the small glimpse we had of him in the epilogue. And look who's finally admitting to some relationship problems! Poor guy... I just want to hug him in this scene! hehe I don't know if I'm meant to be rooting for James and this Marion person, but I am rooting for James and his happiness, at least. I can't believe Roxanne would do that to them both, though! haha She seems a little intense of a character, from the brief times I've seen and heard about her! I love how you've been able to make each character so distinct - that's really hard to do with so many people!

Van has been fun! He walks that line between intimidating boss and crush-worthy older guy! And I love the little bit of trouble that his presence alone stirs up, even though it doesn't feel (right now, at least) like something that will be acted upon in any way - from either Rose or Van - but is still enough to add that extra layer of conflict into the story without it being this giant, overly-dramatic mess, like we see so often in fanfiction. I love that the conflicts you give to Rose and Scorpius as a couple are all things that a lot of real life couples have to go through themselves - like meeting families and trying to suppress jealousies when they're meant to trust one another fully.

(Albus doesn't make an appearance here, but in case he's not in the next chapter either, let me just tell you now that I've adored him so much so far. I'll expand this thought if he shows up in chapter 11. :-p)

I love the way this chapter ended! So much stuff is happening all at once for the D.C.B. and it's got me really intrigued about where this story is heading! You built the suspense really well and it was so intense when the fact that these may not be coincidences was brought up. Very exciting and scary and you've definitely captured my interest! I find myself trusting you very much as an author because you seem to have this effortless control over the story - you know exactly where it's headed and it's got me anxious to follow you as you take us there!

"It's been pushing acromantulas have started coming closer to Hogsmeade and Hogwarts." - This sentence is just a little wonky. ^.^

My only small critique is that I wish when you introduce us to a new magical creature in this story (regardless of whether or not you did in the prequel) that you would explain what the creature is exactly so we can understand the danger better! Only for things we probably don't know off the top of our heads, of course - like we obviously know enough about basilisks, but lethifolds could've used a little more information. The erklings from a few chapters back made me feel the same way, though we slowly (in later chapters after they were first introduced) learned a little bit more about them, but I had to google them to fully understand their danger. Even if you plan to expand on lethifolds during the potential investigation, I think it would be beneficial to give us a little more insight on them when they're first mentioned as a threat, cause at the moment I don't really know what they're up against. But that's honestly my only CC! And not just of this chapter, but of the entire story thus far! It's that good. ^.^

I don't know what else to say! I'm gonna have to favorite this, though. I think I'm slowly opening up to next gen stories and it's because of fics like this. Excellent work, Beeezie! Yay!

Tanya :)

P.S. I'll be over to chapter 11 within the next few days!

Author's Response: Oh, thank you so much! I'm going to leave you your reviews tomorrow - I'm so sorry about the delay, I've been under the weather and school has been very busy.

I totally know what you mean, re: your critique - that's a great point, and I'll definitely start doing that in the future (at the very least). I forget that not everyone is as in love with Magical Beasts and Where to Find Them as I am. :P

The decline in reviews is actually mostly my fault - I took a long hiatus. When I was updating this regularly, it got a lot of reviews, but at this point, I think it's going to take a little time to draw everyone back. Which is okay!

It's really interesting hearing from someone who hasn't read the prequel. I'm really glad you feel like it can stand alone, because that was definitely my goal, and you're definitely coming at it from a bit of a different pov than people who read CINAS - though Rose continues to come off exactly the same! I'm glad - I definitely wanted Rose to be likable-but-highly-flawed, haha.

The prequel actually takes place during their fifth year, so while there are a few hints (Rose and James talking about wanting to join the DCB, Marion being tense about James's career aspirations, Albus being bad with relationships), it really is a very different kind of story. Roxanne was a major part of that story, and I miss writing about her more, but… yeah, she definitely messed up with James. A lot.

I'm also really glad you like Van! Along with Johanna, he's my favorite OC. I actually set pretty much all my fics in the same universe, so they both pop up a lot. They're so much fun to write.

Thank you so so much for this lovely review. I will be off to return the favor shortly, and I hope that it can live up to yours!


 Report Review

Review #3, by love_is_magic_ Anxieties

25th February 2014:
Hello there!
So I just went on a reading spree of this, CINAS, and your Lily/James. I sincerely wish I could have left a review on every chapter, but that would have been incredibly time consuming, and you would have had to reply to all of those, which I'm sure wouldn't have been very much fun for you :/ But just know that they were THAT GOOD! They would have deserved each and every repetitive review.

You are one of those authors that is just genuinely talented. I could honestly see you publishing OF in the future and, if that day comes, I would want to be reading your books.

You have such a way of writing that just makes it seem natural and real, not like somebody came up with this story and is trying to fill in plot to get from point A to point B. That may seem a small thing, but I know how difficult it can be. It's all in the details and I know that from very early on in my reading spree, I was paying close attention to everything you were doing with the dialogue, plot, layout... everything! I honestly hope that some day I can even come close to being as good of a writer as you are.

I love what you've done with the characters. They are so unique to how I have seen them written before. Most people fall into a rutt of how everyone else has written next-gen characters, or making them carbon copies of their parents, but you have done an amazing job of breaking that mold, and I just love each of your characters now!

I absolutely adore your stories and I really hope you continue on with this one soon :)

Christy

Author's Response: Aw, thank you! It's okay, haha - I don't mind answering a million reviews, it just takes me a little while, but just leaving one is appreciated just as much - it's really nice to hear that you've enjoyed them so much! :)

I'm glad that everything seems consistent! I have a big spreadsheet to keep track of everything, because all my fics are in the same universe and I don't want to forget anything. Sometimes I slip up a little, but I'm glad I haven't here, and that you felt like the story flowed naturally!

Thank you so much. I hope you continue to like this story as much as you have been, and if you check out any of my other fics, that you like them just as much. :)


 Report Review

Review #4, by Avanell 2 Anxieties

15th February 2014:
That was a lovely chapter...so glad they finally had a talk!

Author's Response: Oh, thank you so much! :)

 Report Review

Review #5, by Hope's Mom Anxieties

15th February 2014:
It's nice to see Rose and Scorpius on the same page again. He finally was able to vent bout his feelings about her (and his friends) job - and her boss. Good job with the dialogue - it I could really "hear" them talking in my head. I look forward to the next chapter - thank you for this new one!

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked the dialogue so much! I was a bit worried there was too much, but I felt like this was a really important conversation for them to have, you know?

Thank you so much for the review!


 Report Review

Review #6, by ohmymerlin Anxieties

14th February 2014:
Hello!

This was a sweet chapter! I love your Rose and Scorpius! Actually, I love all your characterisations - they're just so brilliant and believable!

It was nice seeing the guy be the emotional one rather than the girl. It's extremely refreshing and it's true. Poor Scorpius must feel so... inadequate? I don't know if that's the right word but you know what I mean.

Anyway, this was a really great chapter! I can't wait to read the next one!

- Kayla :)

Author's Response: Aww, thank you so much! And yeah, I definitely like making my guys at least as emotional as the girls - that's a stereotype that gets under my skin, because you're right, it's so true that that can often happen.

I'm so glad you liked it, and I hope you enjoy the next one just as much! :)


 Report Review

Review #7, by Hope's Mom A Coming Storm

8th February 2014:
I was so glad to see a new chapter! I am sorry that life is so stressful for you right now - I hope the stress level decreases soon. This chapter is more than a little ominous - coordinated attacks by these dangerous creatures are certainly scary. I am glad that Rose feels that she needs to see and talk to Scorpius now. Thank you so much for a new chapter!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your lovely review! :) I hope you like the next chapter, too. :)

 Report Review

Review #8, by AlexFan A Coming Storm

8th February 2014:
Wow, things were going all slow and calm throughout this story and then BAM! All of a sudden there's creatures crawling all over the place and injuring people.

I bet when Rose imagined herself fighting monsters she hadn't pictured this many all at once.

It sounds like it isn't safe to step outside of your house anymore at this point. I hope Rose stays safe and doesn't get herself seriously injured though.

I wonder how Scorpius is going to react to the news once Rose tells him (if she decides to tell him).

Author's Response: No, Rose definitely hadn't pictured this many all at once… and yeah, safety is definitely becoming A Problem.

You won't see much of it in the next chapter, but the chapter after it will definitely have a bit of a surprise. ;) I hope you enjoy it!


 Report Review

Review #9, by Avanell 2 A Coming Storm

6th February 2014:
Very exciting and intriguing update...but of course, we need more Rose/Scorpius! Or at least, what is going on with him! :D

Author's Response: Thank you so much! :) I promise, next chapter will have a lot of Rose/Scorpius. ;)

 Report Review

Review #10, by ohmymerlin A Coming Storm

6th February 2014:
Aw, I loved this chapter! Even though not much happened, I love all your characterisations! Glad you're back though, hopefully real life isn't too demanding!

Can't wait to read the next chapter! :)

- Kayla :)

Author's Response: Aw, thank you so much! :) There will be a lot of Scorpius action in the next chapter, promise. ;)

 Report Review

Review #11, by Rae Ella Falling Into Bad Habits

28th January 2014:
Updates? I just got back from travel and read all nine chapters at once, but now i need more! Please Please update soon i really do love your writing. How many chapters do you think this will be?

Author's Response: Hmm. I'd guess about 18-20, but it's tough to be sure, because I can see this taking off in a different direction as I work on the next chapter (which I will hopefully have up in the next day or so!).

Thank you so much for the compliment - I'm glad you like it so much!


 Report Review

Review #12, by Anna Begen Falling Into Bad Habits

3rd October 2013:
OMG you are such a great author and your scorose stories are PHENOMENAL!!! I mean ScoRose ha always been my favourite couple since I came to this site!! I love all your stories and I hope things between Scorpius & Rose turn out good xx I really want to hear more about Roses job and maybe even more monsters xx I absolutely ADORE your writing and please update ASAP xxx I can't wait any longer!! I AM IM SUSPENSE!!! Please reply to this comment caus it would mean the world to me xxx you really inspire me and I want you to keep writing LOTS AND LOTS XX You are BY FAR my fave author and I just can't explain how much I love your stories xx AIMSICJDJDJRJDJSOAOWMCKGPR You are the bomb dig giddy xxx

Author's Response: Aw, thank you so much. This review really made me smile, and I'm sorry my response is so late. I've finally updated it, and hopefully you like the new chapter, which definitely talks more about Rose's job. :)

Thank you again for the amazing review!


 Report Review

Review #13, by Olivia Falling Into Bad Habits

23rd September 2013:
This is such a good story!! When are you going to update?

Author's Response: Now! :)

Thanks for your review!


 Report Review

Review #14, by Rachel Payne Falling Into Bad Habits

21st July 2013:
Dun dun dun. Can I just say that I think it is totally wrong of Scorpius to be jealous?

1. He seems to have no intention of marrying Rose any time soon, and he even said he was distancing himself. I've also noticed that whenever Rose says "I love you" to him he doesn't respond with, "love you too" he says something along the lines of mocking agreement. But he still never says it.

2. The fact that he is distancing himself from Rose and then has the nerve to become jealous or annoyed when she is absolutely never going to cheat is just. blegh. It makes ME mad just thinking about it, and this is a fictional story!

Obviously you have something brilliant planned for the couple, and it feels like it might just be a big fight. Especially when Scorpius finds out that Rose was dropping the eaves. Again. (usually that is something I would associate more with a Slytherin)

I'm also looking forward to finding out what Narcissa Malfoy really thinks of Rose, because that is something else that needs resolving in their relationship.

Dramas aside, the characters and plot are developing nicely, and great chapter name, it really is a bad habit. You always seem to come up with fitting and proper chapter names. It is a gift considering that a lot of authors find it so difficult that they don't even really try.

(ex. one story I love, the chapter names are things like, "shatter", "crumble", "gold", etc. I'm sure it makes sense to the author, but as the reader I have a little trouble finding the purpose behind the names sometimes. With your writing I never do.

I hope you update again soon, you said that you were going to aim for once a week and it has almost been a week since your last update. Looking forward to it!

Best of luck with the writing
-Rachel

Author's Response: Oh, I'm so glad to see this review! I think a lot of people have just automatically been taking Scorpius's side in this whole thing, which isn't really what I intended. Yes, there are things Rose could be doing better, but he's definitely playing his own role in their issues.

I was intending to update once a week, but school has (unfortunately) taken up most of my time - more than I was expecting. I have been working on the next chapter, though, and hopefully I'll have it up soon.

Thank you so much for the review! :)


 Report Review

Review #15, by Faith177 Falling Into Bad Habits

18th July 2013:
Wow!!:) I've read the story about James, next the first story of Rose, and now this one. I love your writing style, the characterisation, the way of dialogue and the humor in it ;)
I hope you update soon, I'll wait for it!!:)

Author's Response: Aw, thank you so much! I had a period where I wasn't updating, but I'm back to regular updates now. I hope you enjoy them!

 Report Review

Review #16, by PolyJuice_ Falling Into Bad Habits

14th July 2013:
So I've been reading this series since the first one was barely a few chapters old and I've loved it all the way.

You've got some of the most original characters, one of the best plots and just fabulous writing. I love your humour, I love your dialogue and I love the sarcasm.

ScoRose has always been one of my favourites, but people can't seem to get past the cliches while writing, I often find, and while it doesn't make their story bad, it is jsut so refreshing to find something wholly original.

I'm sorry this review isn't longer - I just have no criticism for you. :p

Liz

House Cup ~ 2013 ~ Slytherin

Author's Response: Aw, no worries - you were also working under time constraints. I get it, and I appreciate the fact that you thought of my story to come and review! :) I'm glad that you're continuing to like this, especially since you've been following it for so long. That means a lot to me.

Thank you! ♥


 Report Review

Review #17, by E Falling Into Bad Habits

14th July 2013:
Love the story excited to see what comes next!

Author's Response: Aw, thank you so much! I'm glad you like it, and I should have the next chapter up soon!

 Report Review

Review #18, by AlexFan Falling Into Bad Habits

8th July 2013:
Hey! You're back! I missed this story but I know how life can get busy and stuff.

I feel so bad for Scorpius though. He's so insecure about Rose, I just want to give him a big hug to make him feel better even though that's not usually how it works. It seems that Rose just can't seem to stop eavesdropping on people. At some point she ends up listening in on a conversation between two people that she knows.

Anyway, great chapter! I really enjoyed reading it!

Author's Response: I am! Being a grad student is hard work, haha. I'm actually almost done with the next chapter, though, and it should be up at some point this weekend or early next week. Hopefully it won't disappoint!

 Report Review

Review #19, by bffchey Falling Into Bad Habits

30th June 2013:
:( hope everything turns out well between them. Things were lookin up too. Love the story!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! :)

 Report Review

Review #20, by MrsBlackkk🐍 Falling Into Bad Habits

26th June 2013:
Hurry up and update!! 👌

Author's Response: I'll do my best! :) Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #21, by AriesGirl40 Falling Into Bad Habits

24th June 2013:
I missed you!

I had to re read the last chapter to get up to speed. I liked the new chapter. Rose having a stew and then blurting her heart out, then her boss blurting back the way he did, showed a human side. Good job :)

Author's Response: Aw, I'm sorry! :( I missed you guys, too. Hopefully the updates will get more regular now, though.

Thank you so much for the review! I'm glad you liked the new chapter. :)


 Report Review

Review #22, by Avanell 2 Falling Into Bad Habits

23rd June 2013:
Awesome, long awaited update! Loved it, hope Rose clears some things with Scorpius. I hope the ride isn't too bumpy :D

Author's Response: Aw, thank you! :) I'm glad to hear that you liked it so much!

 Report Review

Review #23, by mellypotter1223 The Letter

1st May 2013:
its been way too long since your last update. PLEASE keep writing! this is a sequel, so it'd be a shame if it wasn't finished, as such a well written and developed story.

Author's Response: I'm sorry! Don't worry - I haven't forgotten about this story at all. Real life has just been very hectic lately. It should be settling down as the semester ends, though, so I should be back updating regularly by June. :)

 Report Review

Review #24, by ilovegeorgeweasly101 The Letter

20th April 2013:
So first you used Gillian... And then gallegher...

Are you an ally carter fan? Because if so that's AWESOME.

Sorry I haven't really been reviewing much, I just wanted to finish so badly! I read the first one and loved it and I love this one too! I love how you write Rose, she's a great character. Just wanted to tell you I love it your fantastic and to keep the updates coming!

10/10

Clea

Author's Response: I'm actually not - I'm not really familiar with Ally Carter at all. I guess it's just a coincidence. Sorry to disappoint!

I'm really glad you like it so much. I should be back updating regularly by June - thank you so much for your reviews and support! :)


 Report Review

Review #25, by OwlsAreAmazingAndSoAreYou The Letter

4th April 2013:
Sorry I have not reviewed yet, I started reading the previouse story tonight and have now progressed onto the sequel and its now 3.30am. This is why fandom ruins my life -.- haha but you are an excellent writer so KEEP GOING! Please continue this story! There are always fans out their waiting, me being one of them :) what ever you do don't give up, I don't think I would survive without an ending for rose and scorpius's story! Thanks again for allowing me to experience this and I can't wait to see what happens next :) I should probably get to bed now! I blame you! Haha, nah of course I don't, this is turning into a pattern and I really should learn some self-control!... Pddfff like that's going to happen harry potter has always been and probably will alway be one of my biggest weaknesses... :) KEEP GOING

Author's Response: Aw, no worries - I'm not giving up on this story at all. Life has just been really hectic for the last few months. I should be back updating by June. :) Thank you so much for the support, and I'm glad you like Rose and Scorpius so much!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>