Reading Reviews for Final Bloom
  
9 Reviews Found

Review #1, by megthechef43 Final Bloom

17th September 2012:
Moondanser83,

Wow, That was a beautiful story and it showed Draco in a good light. I love reading story where Draco is seen as having good qualities and knowing he made mistakes when he was young. It made it more believeable that Draco would cring at Scorpius's contact with Albus and Rose but not saying anything to affect the relationship in a negetive manner. It did show that he had grown but somethings that had been ingrained in his head as a child were still in there. Great Job. I love this because it was believeable and it showed true growth in Draco.

I did enjoy this story. It was great and I'm so glad I read it.

Megthechef43 aka Meg

Author's Response: I'm so glad you enjoyed this story. I love to write about Draco, and since he's one of my favorite characters I like to show his redeaming quilities as much as possible. LOL
I figure every, even Draco Malfoy, has to grow up. And by the end of the series you could tell that he was questioning his parents beliefs and the direction his life was taking at that point... this is how I feel he would have turned it around in the end.

Thanks so much for the R&R
~Moon~


 Report Review

Review #2, by starryskies55 Final Bloom

11th September 2012:
Oh wow, this was a really touching, beautiful piece. I'm so glad that your Draco had a happy life after the war- and he's right, from what you've said, he did live a good life. This was really well written, your characterisations and the way your wrote Draco's emotions was very well done- I had a tear in my eye when he mentioned the doctors (although shouldn't it be Healers?)

The continuing motif of the cherry trees was beautiful, and the image of each cherry tree side by side on Draco's and Narcissa's graves sounded so pretty, and it was really touching.

Well done on a great one-shot.

Author's Response: I'm glad you enjoyed this story... and as far as the doctor thing, I changed it back and forth a dozen times between healers and doctors... guess I ended on doctors. LOL
Thanks for the R&R

~Moon~


 Report Review

Review #3, by True Author Final Bloom

8th September 2012:
Hello! I'm True Author with your requested review! =]
This was a highly emotional and touching story... =[ oh and i liked it so much! it is always not easy to show the emotional side of a villain, but i must say this was a great attempt and you succeeded. We all know how Narcissa and Lucius cared for their son, and bcoz of that Draco was so selfish and all. but this story makes the reader think about it again. i agree that Draco was a human so he had an emotional side.
so this was a nice story and I don't have any corrections!
Ashwini

Author's Response: I'm glad you enjoyed the story. It's so funny how much opinions vary when it comes to Draco's home life growing up... You can't help but wonder what was going on behind closed doors.
Thanks for the R&R!
~Moon~


 Report Review

Review #4, by Shay_Gryff Final Bloom

4th September 2012:
Hello! I popped over from the common room!

Great job! Ususally, Draco is one of my least favourite Hogwarts students, but this really put him in a new perspective for me. I also like the fact that you put in ScorpOse! My favourite ship!

Great job :D
Shay_Gryff

Author's Response: LOL I always happy to convert another person into a Draco fan ;) As far as the Scorp/Rose ... yeah... they dated... but it didn't last.. ;)
Thanks for the R&R!
~Moon~


 Report Review

Review #5, by AlAndAl Final Bloom

3rd September 2012:
This story sheds a light on the softer side of Draco Malfoy. In the books you see a sense of vulnerability, but you never get to see what kind of person he actually is.
The connection to his son and even his grandchild was beautiful. He really accepted the person Scorpius is and wasn't too quick to judge his own son (unlike Lucius).
I think your connection to the challenge was well done (I had considered entering myself), considering how difficult your color and character were.
Excellent job! I really felt the emotion behind it.
-Allie

Author's Response: I was actually excited when I got Draco and pink! One of my favorite characters and my favorite color... It doesn't get any better than that! I'm glad you liked my portrayal of his relationship with Scorpius. I've always assumed that after everything he had gone through as a child, Draco would refuse to be anything like his father when it came to raising his son.
I'm so glad you enjoyed this story!
Thanks for the R&R!
~Moon~


 Report Review

Review #6, by classicblack Final Bloom

3rd September 2012:
Hey it's Ali with your review!

What I liked most about this one-shot was the reflection that Draco went through throughout the story. He looked back on his life, realised all that he had done wrong, and knew that he had changed for the better because of it. Draco felt badly for what he'd done and it shows that he had a heart hidden underneath all that arrogant exterior. It tied in nicely with some things we learned in the Astronomy Tower scene.

Just something that I noticed you tended to do in regards to punctuation. When you write compound sentences with "and" joing the two thoughts, it isn't necessary to place a comma before the "and." Also, if it isn't a compound sentence, but rather a compound predicate, definitely don't put a comma before the "and" because it splits up the subject from its predicate. Also, at points you leave out a comma where one is needed (such as in the beginning of the third paragraph. There should be one after "Growing up"). Also, not going with punctuation, but I noticed some words (like Dark Lord and Death Eater) that you forgot to capitalize.

I really enjoyed the part where Draco recollected all his happy memories with the cherry blossom tree because it tied the entire story together. You also didn't just leave it at that, but encorporated the tree throughout the one-shot.

I would have liked to know what exactly caused Draco to become estranged from his father. In the HP books, we see how Draco truly idolizes Lucius, so it seemed strange that they weren't even on good terms, even if Draco knew what Lucius believed was wrong.

It was very creative that you revealed that Draco was dying at the end of the story. It really explained and pounded into the reader's mind why Draco was reminiscing in the garden. I would have liked to know why exactly he was dying. Was it old age, an illness, or...? I think that tiny detail would add a lot.

Overall, I really liked this one-shot! Nice job!
Happy writing,
classicblack from the forums

Author's Response: I'm so glad I'm not the only one who saw through to the real Draco during not only the Astronomy Tower scene, but in the Malfoy manor scene as well when he didn't give Harry up. As this story grew the cherry blossoms seemed to take on a life of their own, and I'm glad you enjoyed that.

In regards to Draco's relationship to Lucius, I don't think he idolized him as a child. To me it was more of fear tempered with respect that was drilled into him for his father. I believe that after Voldemort's second defeat, and after seeing what his father's beliefs/weaknesses had cost them, Draco would have started turning towards a different lifestyle. I can't see him wanting to raise his own son in the same emotional environment that he was raised in. And the ending... well, that's just part of the mystery I guess ;)

As far as the punctuation, commas have been the bane of my existence for more than 15 years now... One day I'll get them right ;)

Thanks so much for the R&R!
~Moon~



 Report Review

Review #7, by Athene Goodstrength Final Bloom

3rd September 2012:
Hi, I'm here from review tag (unless someone beats me to it!)... I looked at your author's page and saw this, and I was intrigued as I drew Scorpius and fuchsia for the True Colors challenge. I wanted to see what you'd done with a similar theme - oddly enough, we've both gone for flowers!

Well, this whole thing was just lovely. Your characterization is so well thought-out; I could really believe that these were Draco's thoughts. I love the amount of information you give us about what happened in Draco's life and his relationships (particularly with his presumably long-dead parents) ... there is a lot of information, but you slip it all in so naturally that it doesn't feel forced. J.K. Rowling didn't even manage that with her epilogue, so well done you!

The imagery was lovely, I want to go hang out at an arboretum now! The thought of Draco bewitching the tree over his mother's grave to blossom forever was so beautiful.

I liked the fact that you mention Scorpius and Rose but that he hasn't married her. It feels to me like you're not bowing to what many people accept as canon, which actually isn't canon! (That said, my True Colours story as ended up with Rose in it!)

I really feel that you've handled this whole story and Draco's backstory, his reflecting on his life, really sensitively and with a bit of a master's hand. I want more!

Really enjoyed this.
Athene xo

Author's Response: Scorpius and fuchsia... You know I'm going to have to check that out now! LOL
I'm really glad you enjoyed this story. It was different for me to write one of the main characters at that age, and I really enjoyed it. As most of my readers know, I have a serious soft spot for Draco and getting the chance to show this side of him was great. This whole Scorpius/Rose thing is still a new concept for me... I'm just starting to dip my toes in nextgen, but it seems to be the popular pairing (and I admit, I'm writing it myself in a different story... lol)
As far as back-story, I'm learning to love it! I think there are going to be a lot more stories coming from me having with our beloved characters as adults ;)
Again thank you so much for your R&R, hope to see you back on my AP in the future!
~Moon~


 Report Review

Review #8, by Jchrissy Final Bloom

27th August 2012:
Wow, this was a very beautiful yet simple take on Draco. I really enjoyed how natural you had things, usually people write about some huge life changing thing happening that turned Draco into a decent person, but you have time and understanding as the key factors here, and I really loved that.

You didn't hide Lucius's horrible nature, you exposed it and kept true to the man we were introduced to. You also made Narcissa feel very realistic.

I love that you had Scorpius dating Rose, but not actually marrying her.

Your imagery in this is beautiful, I really got an understanding of everything around Draco and felt like the flowers had come to life around me.

This was an absolutely beautiful one shot, though bittersweet with the ending, in happy Draco was able to find peace in his lifetime!! Great Job!

Author's Response: I'm so glad you enjoyed this piece. I've written Draco many different ways, but this was a first for me. I just figured that after seeing everything he had growing up and living through that hell would have changed him. I'm glad you see it the same way.
Thanks for the R&R!
Much Love
~Moon~


 Report Review

Review #9, by JessiesGirl Final Bloom

24th August 2012:
Hello there, it's JessiesGirl here from the forums with your promised review.

Among the many aspects of narrative used in this story, I would have to say that the chief one that stood out for me was your preference of setting. I can't help but marvel at the time and imagination that must have been spent on this; your use of imagery and symbolism is quite lovely.

I also very much enjoyed your characterisation of an older and much wiser Draco Malfoy. Despite him being moderately different to his younger self, everything that you have proposed strikes me as being plausible taking into consideration the context of his life that you have provided for us. It's nice to think that Draco could have transpired to this - although personally I would never have gone as far as to say he would have become Harry Potter's friend. Regardless, that's of no real importance taking into consideration that this is just fanfiction and you've approached the situation with very realistic intentions.

Your writing style was also quite beautiful and I felt as though your acute use of imagery really helped to make it all the more easier to read. I also really liked the ending...it was a sad surprise to discover that Draco would have to suffer from this fate but it made the purpose of this One-Shot a lot more relevant and logical.

This was a lovely One-Shot, and in answer to your areas of concern yes, I did happen to enjoy it - very much!

Well Done

Katherine

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the R&R. I'm glad you enjoyed it ;) This was the first time I've really written any of the main characters as an adult so I was a little nervous. LOL
I've always had a soft spot for Draco, and really believe that the effect the war had on him and his family would have seriously changed his outlook on life, so I'm glad that came across successfully.
Thanks again for checking it out and being the first to review it!
Much love
~Moon~


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login