Reading Reviews for Aresto Momentum
  
16 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Karou_Marauder Time is my enemy

12th July 2014:
Hi there!

This was really sad. I guessed it was Rowena from the library you mentioned, that was well-placed, and by the end I was guessing that the narrator was Helga? Because I think Slytherin had left by then. Tell me if I'm wrong!

It was so sad, how Rowena was calling out her daughter's name. Even though she stole the Diadem, she still wanted forgiveness. It's better that you don't say exactly what happened - even though we all know, it gives you the sense of unresolved-ness that Rowena must have felt before she died.

-Karou

 Report Review

Review #2, by UnluckyStar57 Time is my enemy

12th July 2014:
Oh, this was really sad. :/

Who was the narrator? Was it Hufflepuff? I didn't want to assume that it was Slytherin, because he was probably gone by that point, but you never know. :)

I like how Godric Gryffindor is in the library, of all places. Considering how Gryffindors don't often turn to the library to solve their problems, this says a lot about the sort of man Godric is. He's desperate for a cure for his dying colleague, and he would do anything, even read a book, to find one.

Poor Rowena, never learning about the fate of her daughter. Of course, it would've only broken her heart even more, but the fact that she never got to see Helena and she never knew the reason why is just very sad.

This was a wonderful story to read. Thanks for writing it! :D

House Cup 2014 Review

~UnluckyStar57

 Report Review

Review #3, by monstrosity Time is my enemy

12th January 2014:
This. Is. Beautiful.

It's amazing how much can be conveyed in so few words. You don't even have to say Rowena's name for the reader to know who you are talking about. Saving it for the end just makes it all the more powerful. The words almost have a poetic feel to them.

I love the emotions that just shine from the story. The characterisation is amazing. Helga's personality is so different from Godric's and you've manage to portray that by simply showing how they've reacted to the situation. Helga prefers to sit by Rowena's side, holding her hand and knowing that however much she wants to cure Rowena, it is impossible. It shows true Hufflepuff characteristics- loyalty, practicality and true kindness.

Godric on the other hand is desperate to find a cure for whatever Rowena is suffering from. He just refuses to believe that there is nothing he can do to save her. He just refuses to give up trying. Again, it shows try Gryffindor characteristics- the will to find a way, no matter how impractical it sounds.

The last lines of the story are truly heart-breaking. Helga's grief is so palpable that it nearly drove me to tears. It's that real.

Amazingly written story and I'm so glad that I had the opportunity to read it!

Author's Response: Aww, thank you so much!!

I'm so glad you liked it!


 Report Review

Review #4, by maraudertimes Time is my enemy

11th January 2014:
Oh...Kay?
I don't... I just...
NO!
Why did you...
How did you...

Give me a moment.

I'm back!

Okay, so this was wonderfully written. I could feel what the narrator was feeling in my very bones and your words moved me. It was so beautifully well-written that if you did not have the HP canon references, this could definitely qualify as OF.

The thing that hit hardest was that Godric was too stubborn and that he couldn't say a final goodbye. And that Rowena did not know of her daughter's fate, although I suppose that it was for the best.

I never would have thought of a Founders piece being so... This. It was everything I couldn't have imagined. It was heartfelt, it was real, it enveloped me. I could not tears my eyes away (until it ended in which case I started this review and then stopped to stare at a wall for a minute and then kept writing).

You are a brilliant writer and you should never stop. Hopefully I have time soon to check out some of your other pieces, because I truly want to read more of your writing.

This was amazing! Spectacular job!
Lo:)

Author's Response: Aww, your review is making me cry! Thank you so much for your kind words!

 Report Review

Review #5, by Secret Santa! Time is my enemy

28th December 2013:
Ho Ho Ho! Secret Santa here with a very special delivery! I'm dreadfully late, but all those kiddies needed my attention.

First of all, I love your use of first person. I'm a sucker for a good story in first person. For me, I think it's the hardest of all POVs because you've really got to connect with your character and create a round and diverse characterization. I definitely think that you've reached through straight to your character's heart. I like that it's all focused around the loss of her dear friend and how it affects her - but at the same time, she's conflicted about what her friend is suffering through.

I also really enjoyed the fact that you're not overly descriptive nor do you use a lot of figurative language. I like that. It shows that your character is in the moment and represent, for me at least, a true first person POV. It's very realistic. In 715 words, you've managed to convey a lot of emotion and that's fantastic.

Excellent oneshot, my dear! Happy Holidays! ♥

Author's Response: Thank you, Santa! I'm awfully late with my response! You're probably on a holiday now, getting all tanned and taking a break before the next Christmas (x

Ooh, I love writing in first POV, definitely easier for me! So I'm really glad you like it!

Haha, I was actually trying to hit the 500 words, that's why I left most of the descriptions out. Couldn't do it in the end, but I still liked the way this turned out, so I left it (:

Thanks!


 Report Review

Review #6, by Secret Santa Time is my enemy

24th December 2012:
Hey, it is your secret Santa here! Firstly, sorry for gettin these gifts to you so late, I've been so busy. Anyway, I want to get most of them done to tonight!

Back to he story, I really enjoyed this. Firstly, your way with words is brilliant and the description just left me speechless. As the reader, I get hooked to every word! This was beautiful.

It flows really nicely as well, and as soon as the first sentence had finished I wanted to read the next, to find out who it was talking about and what would happen. Even thigh this is a short one shot you managed to fit everything in. If it was too long, it might kill the idea.

I like the idea of having no dialogue in this story and t was really effective. However just a suggestion, but I think you could add even more impact in the end if the last sentence was dialogue. It's great how it is but just an idea.

Anyway, I really enjoyed this story and I'm going to give you your next reviews shortly. I'm sorry they are so late,

Santa. :)

 Report Review

Review #7, by CherryBoom Time is my enemy

11th December 2012:
It was a very moving way to capture Rowena's death and Helga's guilt over choosing to not to tell her what happened in Albania. I love the way Godric tried stubbornly to find some solution that could heal her, even when other people already saw the inevitable.

I knew when I started reading this, that it would be a short fic, but still it left me hoping for more. =) If you ever decide to write more about the founders, let me know.

Your writing was smooth and it swept me with it right from the start. You managed to create very believable emotional scene with such few words, which is an accomplishment on its own. All in all, it was a lovely read. I just wish there was more of it. =)

 Report Review

Review #8, by gingersnape Time is my enemy

7th December 2012:
Ooooh, I really liked the flow in this! Your words seemed to fall exactly into place and the story just came alive in my head as I was reading it. I don't often read Founders stories, so I had to consult other reviews to figure out about whom the story was written, but upon learning and rereading, I think it fit the story very well. Extra clues would still be helpful, since I know I was very confused the first time through, given my Next-Gen filled head! * whistles*

I really liked the friendship aspect of this story. I do love a good twisted romance, but it was very refreshing to read something more about friendship than turbulent love, and I think you portrayed their relationship really well.

The Arresto Momentum references were also really well done, as it fit the story perfectly and was a nice tie-in to the magical world in which the Founders lived.

Other than making the characters more clear, I can't think of anything else to give as cc for this, and I really enjoyed reading it!

Happy holidays!
Annie

 Report Review

Review #9, by ChaosWednesday Time is my enemy

26th September 2012:
Hey, it's Whiskey from the forums with your review! Sorry for the insane amount of time it took me to get to your story :P

One-shots are indeed difficult if you usually write novels (at least I feel that way), so I think you did a good job here! It's important to have build-up and a point to the story, no matter how short it is, which you acheived by choosing to not to immediately reveal who was on the deathbed (and who was narrating).

I like how you made this into a piece about friendship and not about love. Love torn apart by death, although a very popular plot-device, is quite melodramatic sometimes and I was glad to see you stear clear of that.

I know you said you like the length this way, but I would still advise you to try expanding the piece sometime anyways, just because you set up so much that wants exploring. What was the nature of Hufflepuff's and Ravenclaw's friendship? Did they have some unresolved issues (most close friends do)? Where is Slytherin? What state is Hogwarts in if he had already left? Basically, what sort of world is she leaving behind when she dies? Why is time an enemy, really? Rvenclaw's death jsut really needs more context...

I think your piece could gain a lot if you pick a topic and develop it. You started well with the mother-daughter theme, maybe add some more ideas on that? It's a rather tragic side story in the HP books and deserves more attention I think :)

Your writing was wonderful and so was the idea, so I have very little critique :) I hope this was helpful!

 Report Review

Review #10, by Moonyxluna Time is my enemy

11th September 2012:
*hides*

I can't believe I took this long to get here and review! RL... But this was seriously so beautiful!

I loved how you used the spell Arresto Momentum for the title and how you brought it to live with the first paragraph. I think it was a really great way to introduce things and to wrap in a certain magical element to a mournful situation.

Honestly, every sentence flowed so well and it was so heartbreaking! You captured death with such a beautiful elegance that I enjoyed every moment. The narration through Helga's eyes was so fitting and I loved the element of fleeting mystery as to what was really going on.

Lovely work, dear!

-Julie

Author's Response: Aww, don't worry, dear! I'm just as late with my reviews! But I will get to them soon, I promise!

I'm glad you liked it. It was the banner that gave me the plunny for this. I was trying to come up with a good name for it and then it just hit me, along with the plot bunny ^^

Thank you, you really are too sweet ♥ but I'm really glad you liked it so much (:


 Report Review

Review #11, by Aiedail Time is my enemy

27th August 2012:
Hi! Here with your requested review, sorry it's been so long!

To begin with an entirely bald statement, I wasn't sure who was narrating until I read other reviews and took a look at the banner again. I thought it was Salazar at first, probably because I am more used to that pairing. However, I like it almost better as a woman-to-woman piece.

It seems really fitting that Helga is the one to stay by Rowena's side--what with Hufflepuff being the loyal house, and the kindest. And I do like the idea that these two are friends. It seems like they would be, as two women who have made their way so powerfully into the spotlight at a time in the world when most women were looked upon as objects. I so often forget that they must be friends, because I have this picture of Rowena as someone so cold and distant, almost as having shirked off the physical world in favor of her mind, but perhaps the true wisdom and miracle that you've presented here is merging both.

I like this as a short piece, but I think as a short piece it shouldn't be so blunt at the beginning. This is probably a personal preference, but I'd leave out the whole actual mention of "aresto momentum." To me it seems poetic to have the title be aresto momentum and then to have the idea of "time" as the enemy. I'd really love to have seen you bring in time more explicitly. Because even though she wishes she could stop time, Helga does, so that Rowena couldn't die, there's this element at the end of your story of Rowena surviving her own death through the memories and hearts and love of other people, and there's something quite powerful in that. There's this longing that I think a lot of us share to be immortal, and that's what Helga is giving to Rowena, immortality, by saying that she'll never be forgotten. Time is the thing that works on the body and breaks it down and allows for poisons or ills to take hold of the body, and time is sort of transcended, and a person is without measure, when they're immortalized through thought or memory. That's the idea of "shall I compare thee to a summer's day," that people never die who are loved. I think I'd just appreciate more explicit ties to time itself, because that idea--time is the enemy--is so intriguing, especially when the last line of this fic would suggest that time is also Rowena's and potentially Helga's savior. Time will immortalize Rowena through memory.

Other questions I have but that also aren't entirely important: what's happened to Rowena? Does it matter? Where's her daughter? Where's Salazar? Has he already left the school at this point, and perhaps is that the reason Rowena's ill and dying? Why isn't Rowena at peace? I feel that I would feel more for both characters if I knew more about the reasons for their friendship and also for Rowena's demise. There's something horrible about the idea that the most brilliant, good people ever have to not be alive, and that it can be because of some incurable disease, as it looks like here, and it seems before Rowena's time, too.

I think that this would, overall, be more believable if I had more information about those things that I mentioned above ;)

Overall, this is interesting, and I enjoyed reading it! I hope this has been a somewhat helpful review.

-lily

Author's Response: No worries! Sorry it's taken me so long to respond! *shakes her fist at hectic RL*

Haha, really? I thought it was clear enough. I'll have to take another look and see if I can slip something in that'll make it clearer (:

I wrote this piece after reading Rowena's info page in HP lexicon where it was mentioned that she was dear friends with Helga, so I thought it would be quite fitting that she'd be there with her in her final moments.

I actually pondered that a lot! First I had it without the mention of Aresto Momentum, but then I started over thinking it and felt that I needed to include it somewhere.

When I wrote this, I was actually aiming for 500 words, but after finishing it, I realised that I couldn't make it happen, there was just too much that I wanted to say. And I really liked it as a short, stoic version and didn't want to expand it. But I get what you're saying, and I think that I should've expanded that part a bit more. I'll think about it (:

I wrote this, thinking about the few canon facts we know about Rowena. She died of a broken heart, or so the legend says, so I think it would've been a mystery for the people close to her. Also, Rowena never told anyone what happened with her daughter and why she ran away, so Helga wouldn't know. But I think she would've heard what happened in Albania, and that's what I referred to with the letter.

So this was just based on the canon facts. Salazar wasn't included since he had left school at that point already, but he wasn't the reason for her broken heart, Helena was. And she's the reason why Rowena wasn't at peace, but Helga didn't know that. All she could tell was something was bothering Rowena. So I'm completely relying on the reader's to know that d: Maybe I'll need to include it to my A/N somehow, so it will be more clearer (:

But thank you for your review! It was very helpful and gave me stuff to think about! Thank you ^^


 Report Review

Review #12, by Owlpost68 Time is my enemy

19th August 2012:
This was a heartwrenchingly good story. I want to know what she was dying of. It couldn't have been old age because Gryffindor was trying to find a cure. The beauty of this story was in the friendship, and the love they had for each other. Even though Gryffindor wasn't in the room, we knew he was going through tombs of books trying to prevent the inevitable.
The one criticism I do have is with the 2nd sentence:
Have the power to slow everything down like Aresto Momentum does.
I feel like either it'd be better as part of the other sentences or to word it slightly different. I feel it's kind of important because it is the title of the story.

I do love this, it's very touching and you did a great job :D

Author's Response: It is actually stated 'in canon' (well, on Rowling's webpage, if you count that as canon) that Rowena died of a broken heart. But as she never told her friends about what happened with her daugter, I don't think they knew exactly what was bothering her.

Thanks, I'll try to think of a better way for that sentence. It is an important one, so I want it to be perfect (:

But thank you for your kind words (:


 Report Review

Review #13, by CambAngst Time is my enemy

17th August 2012:
Aww, that was beautiful! Such a gripping, sad portrayal of a heart-wrenching moment of loss. I thought you did a fabulous job of capturing Helga's struggle to be a good and supportive friend until the last. And Rowena's dying thoughts were of her daughter and her desire to heal the feud that separated them. It was very touching, and terribly sad that it came too late.

You did an amazing job of snatching a small moment out of canon and painting a vivid scene in my mind. While the piece was spartan in terms of physical detail, it had lots of emotional depth. Everything was collapsed, in a sense. The whole world was reduced to just these two ladies and the parting moment that they share together. For me, that was very realistic and true to how such a moment would feel.

This was beautiful! I wouldn't change a thing.

Author's Response: Thanks ^^ It was just something that popped in my head, so I had to write it down. Glad you liked it.

I could've expanded this a lot if I wanted to, but I don't know, I think it was good the way it was. I wanted to keep it short and not go into too much detail, but focus on the emotions. I'm glad it shows, and that it feels real (:

Thank you for the lovely review once again ^^


 Report Review

Review #14, by Badname Time is my enemy

17th August 2012:
Wow, I think your writing here was beautiful. It wasn't until you mentioned Albania that I got where this one was going (which I think was your intention?) and I enjoyed the slow unfolding of events.
Thanks for the read.

Author's Response: Thank you ^^ Yeah, that's exactly what I was going for. I didn't want to make it clear until the end. I'm glad you liked it (:

Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #15, by RainyDayWriter Time is my enemy

17th August 2012:
I've never really read a 'Founders' era fanfic but when I saw yours I thought I'd read it just to see but WOW! That's actually really good! I've only recently starting reviewing stuff and have done for 'The burning one' and promise I will for tntly next time you update. (hint hint). Anyway, great story; couldn believe you had no reviewers so now I'm the first! I hope! (; xxx

Author's Response: Hi! Nice to see you again ^^

I haven't read that much Founders era either, even though I like it quite a lot. But I'm really happy that you liked mine!

I'll try to update 'Tntly' as soon as I can just to get that review from youb d:

Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #16, by atellam Time is my enemy

17th August 2012:
Mine mine mine.


Reading this through a second time, I like it even more. Seriously, I love the way you've written Helga, I think it really works for her lovable nature, the way she's there by the bedside while Godric's off trying to do something, and keeping himself busy to cope.

I think this is one of those stories that sneaks up on you. Those ones that you love more and more each time you read them. You should consider writing some more founders stuff in the future. I think you'd be brilliant at it. ^_^

*still excited because I got first - again.*

Love love love,
- Adele ^_^ x

Author's Response: Yours yours yours.

Aww, thanks ^^ once again, dear, I don't think I'd get anything done without your constant support! So thank you ♥

I'm glad you liked Helga! I tried to show her characteristics, even though this fic was all about Rowena. So hopefully they're showing.

Thank you for your kind words ^^ I'm so glad you like it so much. Maybe I will write more, if I get a good plunny. This one just popped into my mind after I made the banner. Maybe I should try graphics making more often d:



 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login