Reading Reviews for The Last Ones Dying
  
18 Reviews Found

Review #1, by patronus_charm The Last Ones Dying

12th July 2014:
Hey!

Ok, this was brilliant because the idea of Fred always watching over George and being the good older brother was so amazing and I loved it. You wrote his comic humour so well that it wasnít a sad reminiscing thing with Fred feeling as if he had missed out on all of this but something so funny that it seemed as if he had more fun watching down on George. This line Ďseriously, from Harry to Bill, they are all a sad competitioní was really great and just exemplified what I meant about his humour.

I really loved the ending and you turned to a more serious note so well that Iím so impressed. The way Fred was ready to meet George was so sweet as it seemed as if they were finally one at peace with one another now they were together again and I really loved that!

-Kiana
House Cup 2014 Review!

 Report Review

Review #2, by Pretense Of Perfection The Last Ones Dying

10th July 2014:
Aw, this story was heartbreaking, as things from beyond the grave tend to be. You did a wonderful job portraying the less seen side of Fred, his serious side. It's reassuring that he can watch over George, and with happiness for him despite the fact that his twin brother got to have everything that he never had the chance to. I'm glad he's happy for him and Angelina, and enjoys watching over them and their children. It made my eyes tear up a bit when Fred realized that George was dying, especially in the end when he says that he can feel him, and all the interconnected psychic twin type thoughts that they used to feel. It's wonderful how Fred feels he kind of did get to lead the full and happy life that was stolen too early from him through his brother. I didn't notice any spelling or grammar errors, and the pace was perfect. I really love the title you chose, and I think it fits perfectly with the story.

--house cup 2014--
pretense of perfection, gryffindor

 Report Review

Review #3, by LadyL8 The Last Ones Dying

7th July 2014:
Hello there.

I was looking for stories to review for the House Cup, when I came across this story. I wasn't sure whether to read it or not, because Fred's death still hurts. But ultimately, I decided to read it.

And I'm glad I did. I'm crying right now, because this was just so beautiful. I can really imagine Fred watching over his brother until the day that he too died, and they'd finally be together again. And you captured his sadness of having to watch but never interact with his brother for so long, how proud he is of him (especially liked the naming of their children after Goblin Rebels) and how much he misses him and wants to be him.

And I hear Fred's voice when I read the story, and I can imagine him watching his brother take his last breaths. And all of this just has me crying. Because yesterday, it was exactly a year since my grandfather's death, and I was having a real hard time today because I really loved him. Your story somehow helped me- made me hope that he too is watching over us like Fred watched over George. So I actually want to thank you. You really have no idea how much this story meant to me today - how much I needed it. So thank so much.

I absolutely loved it. In fact, I'm still crying, so that just says a lot about how good this story was. 10/10!

- Lotte

House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #4, by nott theodore The Last Ones Dying

6th July 2014:
Hello, reviewing for the house cup and I came across this story - oh no, this has given me all sorts of feels!

I love both Fred and George as characters and every time I read the books or read fanfiction about Fred's death and George afterwards, I just feel so sad and I think it's great that you took a lighter spin on the event here. It was really original to choose to write from Fred's perspective when he's in heaven and he's looking at George and following his life and really just waiting for him to come and join him. I love the part at the end when you mention his selfishness in wanting George to join him but at the same time not wanting him to die - I think that's exactly how he'd feel. I think my favourite part was the way he mentioned his nephew Fred taking after the pair of them as jokers!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup Review 2014

 Report Review

Review #5, by ImagineHarmony The Last Ones Dying

15th July 2013:
Hi!

Oh heartbreak everywhere. This is increasingly sad and so deppressing but you wrote it beautifully! I love the first sentence, so catchy and so Fred like. And the plot is just amazing; how fred watches over as George lives his life and dies. Oh it's just heartbreaking. And the second-last paragraph is those amazing, long paragraphs with simple facts and details that weigh up the story.

The last lines in the last paragraph is just so real, and so heartbreaking to realize that is what Fred has gone through and now he's finally going to be happy.

A marvelous, marvelous job!

 Report Review

Review #6, by HollyStone73 The Last Ones Dying

13th April 2013:
I love this!! It so so original and I can actually imagine Fred speaking these words. I thought the part of naming their children after goblin rebels was particularly cute. The whole idea of being the last one dying is genius and makes so much sense! I have never thought about things in that way. I actually teared up when I came to the last line and the whole "grasping thin air." You have a gift with words in this piece and the whole thing flowed perfectly. The emotions that you were able to portray in your words was incredibly effective. Very well done!!

 Report Review

Review #7, by slytherinchica08 The Last Ones Dying

18th January 2013:
Wow, what a very interesting and unique oneshot! I love the idea that Fred has been watching George live out his life and just waiting for the time when they will be together again like they always had been. I think you did a great job with telling us what George's life was like as well, what with the joke shop becoming the best, though of course it would I mean it was the twins who set it up after all. You also did a rather great job of keeping Fred, well Fred. He was still joking around a bit and being sarcastic. It was really fun. The ending was great. He was happy to finally be reunited with his twin but also sad that his twin had left his earthly body and all his loved ones behind. I enjoyed reading this! Great Job!

~Slytherinchica08~

 Report Review

Review #8, by Phoenix_Feather123 The Last Ones Dying

10th November 2012:
I thought this was really nice and sweet, I really liked this!

 Report Review

Review #9, by manno_malfoy The Last Ones Dying

23rd August 2012:
Hello, I'm here with your requested review! I'm sorry for a taking a while to get here.

I absolutely am loving all the 500-word stories! I still don't understand how feelings could be conveyed so wonderfully and thoroughly in just a few words. It's magic, I tell you!

I like that your take on this had a humourous side to it. Usually such stories would be completely depressing. Here, though, you use humour in order to evoke emotions, and that's great! Although I think the beginning was a bit too light-hearted, I still believe that the overall piece was really effective and pulsing with emotions. And I really admire the opening paragraph!

In some stories, I've seen George addressing Fred and writing him letters and whatnot; therefore, it really is refreshing to see things from Fred's side. Also, it really feels like Fred! And agreeing to name their kids after goblin rebels does sound like something the twins would come up with.

My favourite line was this one: "...but seeing you so brave, mature, happy, and oh my dear even responsible, made me feel warm at my un-beating heart when I watched."

This has been such a sweet story! Also, I don't think I've come across any technical mistakes, so that's wonderful too! Great work!

-Manno

Author's Response: No problem with taking some time since I've taken ages to reply. Sorry :( anyway, I agree that this challenge was a wonderful idea. I always liked simplicity, and finally I got my own shot at trying it out here.

I wanted to add a little humor, because it's Fred and George, and even despite the great tragedy that had befallen them, I can't imagine either of them being completely depressed, especially after some time. I can see why you think it's too light-hearted, but I didn't want to delve on the issue too long and George's death was something Fred couldn't do anything about, so he didn't delve on it as well.

Thanks so much for this lovely review. I'm really glad you liked the overall effect. :)


 Report Review

Review #10, by marissa lily potter The Last Ones Dying

18th August 2012:
Hey there, marissa lily potter here with your review!

So even though it was a pretty short story, it was really cute and well thought out. The thoughts were just enough to let the audience grasp the situation. I think it would have been nicer if you could have set up the scene more, more imagery and descriptions would have allowed for a better setting.

It was fun to read and pretty cute. I love stories about Fred and George and although it's a sad thing, I'm glad you conveyed the point through a bit of humour. It was very Fred and George like. The flow was a bit choppy but the spelling/grammar was great! Overall, good work! :)

xx
Marissa

Author's Response: Hey Marissa! :) Thanks so much for reading this.

I was thinking about expanding it, but I also wanted to keep it short and simple. I'll check over the flow. I felt, too, that it's a bit weird in places. Anyway, thank you so much for all your comments and feedback. I'm glad you liked it overall. :)

Liz


 Report Review

Review #11, by Jchrissy The Last Ones Dying

15th August 2012:
Wow, I really enjoyed this EWC challenge. I have an obsession with those, because to read something that actually tugs on my heart string with only 500 words is amazing.

I really like that you still kept Fred as Fred. It's been years since he lost George, Or. George lost him, I suppose. So the fact that he is joking about it really makes sense to me. They were never serious when they were alive, so I'm happy you didn't let the afterlife change that.

I also enjoyed the transition you made to a more serious tone, I think it made this piece so much stronger to see those sides of him. The idea of Fred getting to watch George's family, watch his twin grow and mature, is a really comforting one.

I think you summed up his feelings about not being happy that he died, but being happy he gets to see hm again, perfect.

Absolutely great 500 wc challenge! I'm so happy I found such a wonderful afternoon read!

Jami

Author's Response: Yes, I wanted Fred to joke despite the situation, because I think that's who they are. I was always so heartbroken about Fred dying, I wrote this as a sort of closure, I guess, and I really tried to make Fred sound as Fred-like as possible, bringing out his humorous side but also the serious one, so I'm glad that worked. And thank you so much for such a lovely review, I don't know what else to say, but it means a lot to know you enjoyed it.

Thank you. :)


 Report Review

Review #12, by academica The Last Ones Dying

14th August 2012:
Hello! I'm here with your requested review :)

This was very sweet. I like the way you tied in the title and the message it sends, of getting to see lost loved ones again when it's your turn to pass on. I also like the idea of Fred watching George and his family from heaven. It seems very like Fred to have an opinion on everything.

The emotion conveyed here was interesting. My personal critique would be that it seemed a little too silly in the beginning, for about the first half of the piece. I don't know, it just seemed a little over-the-top even for Fred, to actually make all those little side comments, despite what he might have been thinking. (I get that these are his thoughts, though, so I can see where it came from.) I did like the way it turned a little more serious in the end, because there I can see Fred growing in his time in the afterlife and really feeling love for his brother and concern for his family.

I didn't spot any technical problems, so that's good. I liked the flow of the piece, and overall, I do think it conveyed a good message even in its brevity. I think this is a refreshing EWC entry :)

Nice job! I hope this review is helpful!

-Amanda

Author's Response: Hey Amanda! Thank you for taking the time to review. I'm so glad you liked it and noticed the title and the message connection. As for it being silly, I see what you mean, but it was my personal take on how Fred would think. It's his little inner monologue and there's very little silliness in there, but I feel it had to be there. I guess that even when Fred is serious, he always had something positive to say. And he knows George would understand what he meant. I'm a little sorry you thought those comments were snide, I didn't want them to sound like that. I'll go and reread that bit.

Thanks for mentioning the flow. I find it so interesting to write these pieces, in which a character speaks to another character. Thank you again for your honesty and for reviewing. :)


 Report Review

Review #13, by Ginger Lust The Last Ones Dying

14th August 2012:
Yes. This definitely is a beautiful story. I enjoyed it quite. And I didn't feel too sad. They would be together again.
Good job.

Author's Response: Thanks so much. I'm really glad you liked it. :)

 Report Review

Review #14, by momotwins/WTM The Last Ones Dying

14th August 2012:
Oh my god I love this! It's so sad and sweet and funny all at once. Love the line about naming the kids after goblin rebels, I can just see them agreeing to that! Loved the way Fred talks to his brother, it's very in character. Clever and joking and adorable. And I totally was tearing up at the end. It's just lovely, thank you for linking me so I could read it! Fantastic job. :)

Author's Response: You're the best, Megs. I'm so happy! Thank you so much. Goblin rebels names would be really cool, wouldn't they? :D Thanks again for reading and reviewing. Your opinion means so much to me, I'm glad you liked it.

 Report Review

Review #15, by Broken Butterfly The Last Ones Dying

13th August 2012:
Wow. This is so sad, and so sweet. It does accomplish something, there is only a few words needed to accomplish this chapter, and make the reader feel something. Characterization is great and realistic, exactly as I imagined fred would be like in the next life, still the same old Fred. Good work.

Author's Response: Fred is a cool guy. I can imagine it must've been hard on him as well, in the beginning, but he managed and watched over George for all the rest of time. The only thing that made me get over Fred's death (although that never really happened) was the thought of them reuniting one day. I'm glad you liked it. Thank you very much for reviewing. :)

 Report Review

Review #16, by SiriuslyCrack The Last Ones Dying

13th August 2012:
You are awesome for picking Fred to write. I have always enjoyed the twins. And I have rarely read a story like this, featuring beyond the veil musings of people. And this was funny and sad at the same time. I admire the way you write, Lizard. In mere 500 words, you managed to convey so much. I'm sooo glad you're writing again. I'm coming back to your page. A review for Memory Dust is long overdue :)

Author's Response: Tahi, my dearest Weird Sister. I JUMPED when I saw your review. Thank you. I tried. It worked this was a 500 words only challenge. I don't know if I could write Fred and George longer. I lack the humor for that. :D I also wrote this to get the closure after Fred's death, although I'll never really accept that. Thank you for reading and reviewing, dearest. You know how much it means to me. Love you. :)

 Report Review

Review #17, by MadamePuddifoot The Last Ones Dying

13th August 2012:
Hello!

As we all know, there are lots and lots of stories focusing on George and how he felt after Fred died, but this is the first time I've read one that showed ( literally!) the other side! Through the narration, you captured Fred's persona wonderfully; it obviously was very funny, but also had a serious, slightly darker side too. The comment about naming their children after goblin rebels was definitely my favourite!

I think the final paragraph is very interesting to consider. Of course Fred doesn't want George to die but on the other hand he can't wait to see him again. I think that's so fascinating!!

Author's Response: Hi! I know there are stories out there. I've read a few of them and they were usually very nice. I felt like I needed to write something of my own, just to get a little closure over Fred's death. I'm flattered you think I managed to capture his persona, I was worried it wouldn't be achieved in so little words. And I was going for the funny streak despite the obvious sadness.

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing. I'm really happy you liked it.


 Report Review

Review #18, by daretodream The Last Ones Dying

13th August 2012:
Hello!

This one shot was cute! I think you did a really good job of capturing Fred's voice and the joking tone that he and George so frequently used with one another.

I laughed out loud at the comment about not being original with Fred II's name! It would be so like Fred and George to agree to name their children after goblins.

I also liked the way you went about Fred acknowleding all of George's achievements. He may poke fun at them, but you can tell he really is proud of his brother and regrets that he didn't get the chance to have the same accomplishments.

Personally, I love beyond the grave fics. I think there is a lot of emotion to explore there and that you did a really good job. Fred misses his brother just as badly as he himself was missed.

I loved the last segment of this one shot. I think it expressed a lot of the emotion this piece hinted at, because Fred is so eager to embrace his brother again.

Great work!

~Cassie

Author's Response: Thank you, Cassie. I love Fred and George as much as anyone, I always wanted to write something about them, i just never knew how. Then this came to me one day and I guess I was okay with the simplicity. I'm glad that got through.

I think that if Fred hadn't died, they would definitely name their children something hilarious. Although their wives might try to stop them, lol. Fred is really happy for George and that he had lived his life to the fullest. And they were always like one soul, so through George, Fred got some of the life he missed out on.

Beyond the grave fics are my favorite too. I have this weird obsession with death. In this piece, Fred is sad that George is dying, because there's always so much to live for, but like he said, he's also glad to finally meet him.

I'm so happy you liked this. Thanks a lot for reviewing. :)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login