Reading Reviews for The Boy With The Blue Hair
  
10 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Unwritten Curse Off to King's Cross!

18th February 2014:
Hi there! I'm here for my end of the Review Swap (sorry for the wait!).

AH!

I am so glad I chose this one-shot. It's adorable. I teared up a little when Darcy asked Teddy to tell her brother that she'll miss him. Such a tender moment. And Teddy--YES. He's such a sweetheart here, just as I imagine him. Excuse me while I babble incoherently at the cuteness. AASOHDJEINUAE!!!

I really enjoyed the narration, too. Seeing through the eyes of a child is so refreshing. The things she notices and thinks are so fitting. The bit about her socks made me chuckle. And how his pink hair matched her ribbon. It's egocentric because at that age, children believe they're the center of the world. But it's also precious because she cares about her brother not missing the train. She's quite a character!

Anyway, I'm glad we could do this swap. I love reading stories from authors I haven't read before!

-- Gina

Author's Response: Hello!
I'm so glad you enjoyed this one-shot! I love writing little kids, and Darcy was really fun for me because she's so outgoing and spunky! I also loved writing Darcy and Teddy together because he's so nice to her and humors her when she asks him to turn his hair pink :)
I'm so glad you enjoyed this, and enjoyed Darcy! My story A Spoonful of Sugar is actually about Darcy when she's seventeen if you're ever curious as to what she's like when she gets older! Thank you so much for the lovely review!
Cassie :)


 Report Review

Review #2, by patronus_charm Off to King's Cross!

19th January 2013:
Hello, I'm spreading the fun of random reviews, so I'm here with yours!

It took me a while to figure out what the time frame was, but once I got the grip of it was fine!

I really liked the fact that Seamus and Padma ended up together, I thought it was really nice, and I've never read one about them being together before so it was interesting to read! As I think in the GoF Seamus remarked about how Ron and Harry ended up with the prettiest girls in the year, he in fact ended up with one of them in the end!

I loved Darcy, she was so adorable, and I really could believe that she was 6, which was really good! The way she made Dean pinky promise was just so cute! And her wearing green and purple socks, n'aw!

I loved her and Teddy, and the way he changed his hair colour for was especially nice, I can really believe he's the son of Lupin and Tonks!

I'm glad you posted the link to this, as I just read a really sad story, so this has definitely brightened my mood a lot! I mean who could resist Darcy's charms? Kiana :)

Author's Response: Hello!
For some reason, I picture Seamus and Padma really clearly, and always thought that they would end up together. I haven't read anything about them as a couple either, but that might actually be a good thing, because I can have everything how I'd picture to be without any outside influences. Haha.
I'm so glad you liked Darcy! She was incredibly fun to write, and definitely reminded me of when I was that young! And Teddy also made me smile. He's just so sweet to Darcy :)
Thank you so much for the lovely review, and I'm glad you enjoyed the story!!!
Cassie :)


 Report Review

Review #3, by Santa again Off to King's Cross!

27th December 2012:
So this is where A Spoonful of Sugar was born :D

I love it! I love the child Darcy here and that was such a cute encounter between her and Teddy! Gah, your writing just makes me smile and giggle. You have such a knack for writing fluff and other warm tender moments without being all melodramatic. And you're really good in capturing the child's voice! And I was right in thinking that Seamus was Darcy's father :D And Padma is Darcy's mother? That's lovely!

Great work :D

Author's Response: I wrote this one-shot and then HAD to write Darcy again! I love her character, and writing her as a six year old was really fun for me! And Teddy was also really fun! Thank you so much for the lovely review!
Cassie :)


 Report Review

Review #4, by TenthWeasley Off to King's Cross!

1st December 2012:
Hi, Cassie! I'm sorry I'm a bit late in leaving this review for you -- I grew quite tired last night out of the blue, but here I am now with your promised review. :3

This was so adorable! Darcy's so sweet, and I love the way you've written her -- even in this short one-shot, her personality really shines through. I think I'd like to have a daughter like her. And I love that she's the daughter of Seamus and Padma, too. I've never read a story where the pair of them end up together, but you know, it works! Bless the girl, though, for dressing herself in such clashing colors. I don't think anyone could have missed her from a mile away.

And her interactions with Teddy were adorable! I thought it was so great that he humored her like he did. :) That's an awesome thing to do for a little kid, and especially when you're eleven years older than them. It takes a brave boy to turn his hair pink for a little girl he's only just met!

You know, I'd love to see you write a few more little one-shots like this; Darcy really is too cute, and I want to know if she ever writes to Teddy. Or if Teddy ever relays Darcy's message to her big brother! Something to think about, yeah?

So sweet! I'm so glad you pointed me in the direction of this little story; it made my afternoon that much cheerier. ♥ And hopefully I'll be talking to you again quite soon!

Author's Response: Hello! Thank you so much for the review! I don't mind that you were a little late, it's totally fine!
I'm so thrilled that you enjoyed this! It was a blast for me to write, and Darcy came really naturally to me. She is definitely a big, bubbly personality, and I love that about her. She's not one to be shy! And I haven't read anything with Seamus and Padma together, but for some reason, they seem like a really sweet pair and I love that they ended up together.
Ah Teddy! He really made me smile! I've met guys like him, and it always makes me happy to see that they don't mind being kind and giving their time to a little kid that they've never met. And I think Teddy secretly enjoyed an excuse to turn his hair pink!
I would love to write some more of these one-shots as well! My story A Spoonful of Sugar is about Darcy when she's in her seventh year at Hogwarts, and her letter gets revealed there, but I think it would be fun to write a one-shot about her message for her brother! I wonder how Dean would react to Teddy?
I'm so, so glad you enjoyed this, it really means a lot! I hope to talk again soon, too! Thank you for the review!
Cassie :)


 Report Review

Review #5, by magnolia_magic Off to King's Cross!

8th September 2012:
Hi, here from Hufflepuff review tag!

This was so sweet! I've never read a fic from the POV of a six-year-old before, and I thought you did a great job of making Darcy's voice childlike. I just grinned through the whole thing :) Seamus and Padma have a sweet little family, and I really loved how sweet Seamus was with Darcy.

Have you written any more about any of these characters? I had fun reading this little moment in their lives, and I just wondered if you had more in mind for them. And I couldn't help but notice you have a character named Darcy in one of your other stories...perhaps a grown-up version of this Darcy? I'll have to find out :)

This one-shot is super cute! Keep up the good work :)

--Maggie

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm glad you enjoyed this! It was really fun for me to write as a six year old. Also, I loved the idea of Seamus and Padma together, I think they'd make a cute couple. In the other story, it's the same character just grown up! It's when she's 17 and going to her last year at Hogwarts. haha. I'm really glad you thought this was so sweet and I hope you'll check out more of my work!
Cassie :)


 Report Review

Review #6, by Moonyxluna Off to King's Cross!

4th September 2012:
Hi! I'm here from the Puff review tag :)

Right away I think you did such a lovely job capturing the voice of an six year old. She's still got that young innocence to her and through the whole story you kept to that, making this really enjoyable :)

I think it's kind of neat that Seamus named his son Dean. I always loved their friendship in the books and it was a cute little reminder. And her socks! I'm just going to keep gushing about how cute this is :D

Teddy! He's so adorable, and I love how well he handled Darcy. I'm guessing he gets that a lot with his blue hair so it was sweet that he was so nice and understanding with her.

Really, really adorable work on this! It was light hearted and cute. Great job!

-Julie

Author's Response: Hello! I'm so happy to get a review from a fellow Puff! :)
Writing in the point of view of a little girl was so much fun for me! I got to unlock that side of me from when I was a kid, which was such a treat! I knew Dean's name before Darcy's actually. I thought Seamus would definitely do that, and that it was a cute reminder of his best friend. And the socks! That is something straight out of my childhood. Haha. I loved writing Teddy, so I'm glad you enjoyed him! I think he would be patient with kids, seeing as there are so many little Potters and Weasleys!
Thank you so so much for reviewing, and I'm so glad you enjoyed this!
Cassie :)


 Report Review

Review #7, by RavenclawWayToBe Off to King's Cross!

16th August 2012:
I really loved this! I loved that you wrote it in the perspective of a 6 year old and I think you did an amazing job with it! Darcy is sooo cute and I think Teddy was really nice too! A great one shot!!!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I love writing Darcy, and think I'm going to stick with her character for future stories... If you want to, I have other stories you can check out, too!
Cassie :)


 Report Review

Review #8, by Gabriella Hunter Off to King's Cross!

16th August 2012:
Hello!

Sorry that I haven't responded to your messages on the forums, I've been too busy listening to Korean pop and getting lost in boring grown up stuff. Anyway, here I am!
This was probably the cutest thing ever, I have to say! I think you did such a good job with portraying Darcy's character in the first few paragraphs and she seems like such a dear. I would have totally smothered her in hugs and kisses! Also, I really did like her thought process, especially when she wondered if her dad was just saying she was beautiful because she was his daughter. Very adorable.
And Teddy Lupin! Their interaction was so sweet and he must have been really amused to find some little kid asking about his hair! I could really sense her wonder and fascination with him too, it was very well written! :D
I really enjoyed this and was sad that it ended! How could you?! Hahaha. The ending was sweet as well, with her wanting to write to Teddy so she could learn how to change her hair too! He's given her some inspiration! I've never written Teddy Lupin before in any of my stories (Where he's actually in a scene) but I liked the way he was written in this. No moodiness, thank goodness! :D
Now! I said that my laptop shall be fixed by the end of this month, but its going to take a while for me to type and get caught back up on my stories so you'll have to wait for a while longer! Sorry! :(
Up next, of course is Benjamin/Roxanne like I promised and I can't wait to hear from you then! I'll most likely be stalking you with your stories so you won't have to worry about not hearing from me! Mwhahahaha!
Until then!
Much love,
Gabbie

Author's Response: Hi Gabbie! I'm so happy you enjoyed this one-shot! I loved writing Darcy, and like I said, may write her again... Teddy makes me so happy! I didn't want him to be an obnoxious teenager, and I thought he'd be nice with young kids, because he's been around James, Albus, and Lily as they were growing up. I also think Darcy is so fascinated, because she's never seen anyone like him, especially because he has blue hair! Haha. I'll keep updating, and let you know on forums when something new comes along! I'll be patient for updates from you, but can't wait until they come! Thank you so much for this review!
Cassie :)


 Report Review

Review #9, by luvdobby26 Off to King's Cross!

15th August 2012:
Cassie!!

This was A.M.A.Z.I.N.G! It was so so so so so sweet! It was too cute x
I love little Darcy, she's awesome! And Teddy... my second favourite next get chanracter! I. LOVE. HIM! Oh my God he's too cute!
I love you writing in first person! It was awesome, and you did a good job with writing a 6 year old,I know how hard it can be! The only thing I would say is that her speech is a little mature in some places, but thats all. And also,little kids tend to say mummy and daddy, rather that mum and dad... plus I think it so much more cute! x

Amzing work and I can't wait to see your entry to my challenge!

10/10

~Eilidh x

Author's Response: Hello Eilidh! I'm so happy you enjoyed this, it was so much fun for me to write! I LOVE Darcy's character, much more than I ever expected, so I might write about her again... And Teddy was so much fun for me to write! I'm happy you like him! I agree about her speech being too mature sometimes, so I might go back and look through the story again, to see where I can simplify it. I can't wait to get down to business with my entry for your challenge, and hope you like it! Thank you so much!
Cassie :)


 Report Review

Review #10, by Smattering_of_Fairy_Dust Off to King's Cross!

14th August 2012:
Awww. That was adorbs. I like how Teddy wasn't six as well and they didn't have a kindergarten/first grade romance because while that's cute, too, it is way overdone. It wasn't anything like I expected it to be. Teddy was so kewl. I loved the way he didn't talk to Darcy patronisingly or in that sweet honey-voice people use to talk to little kids. This fanfic is a real mood pickup and I'm happy I came across it.

Keep on writing,
Smattering_of_Fairy_Dust

P.S. Please tell Darcy I think purple looks good with green, too, and please ask Teddy if he would care to teach me how to turn my hair dark purple. My hairstylist told it would be a good color on me.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I wanted Teddy to be older so they had a different type of relationship that two little kids or two teenagers, but like you said, I didn't want it to be patronising. I'm so glad you enjoyed this, and will tell Darcy and Teddy what you said!
Cassie :)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login