Reading Reviews for Give Chase
  
17 Reviews Found

Review #1, by xMsFiggx Brazil Bound

9th July 2013:
I think you're a good writer. I like the start to the story and am interested to know what happened between them that's got her so upset many years later. Definitely intriguing and well written!

 Report Review

Review #2, by kandekisses Morning Encounter

11th October 2012:
Hmm.. very interesting.

I liked the way you introduced James. Of course he's the heartthrob famous quidditch player. But I really want to know if he broke her heart or if she broke hers. Obviously they both we're hurt. Hmmm..

I like that Lily was strong enough to talk to Emmy like that. It really shows how much she loves her brother. &I'm proud of Emmy for not getting defensive. Shows maturity.

I have a bad feeling about the wedding now. Poor Alison lol. I think something is going to happen just because Emmy is so determined to make it go perfect.

&The plot thickens!

You've done a great job so far hun. I'd love to read more. Make sure you stop by my thread again =)
I don't think the plot is moving too slow. You're building it up nicely! Keep it up!

Author's Response: I struggled with whether or not to have him play Quidditch, because I know it's the norm, but I came to the decision solely on trying to decide what he could throw himself into. Quidditch was the easy way out, I'll admit. He gets to travel, gets to practice long hours, and gets to not think. I wish I could show more of him and his thought process to the reader, but that's the major problem with first person. It's really limited.

Yes, they both were hurt, surprisingly. The end of their relationship is something that has always bothered him. There was no closure because she up and disappeared right after, so it's always lingered at the back of his mind.

Yes! She loves James dearly, and she really doesn't want to see him hurt. And, I didn't want Emmy to lash out because it's not really her. She doesn't like being catty towards other women. Besides, she's in her late twenties. She may not always act it though, ha.

You may be surprised about the wedding xD. It may just have gone off without a hitch!

Thanks so much. I'll make sure to do so at a later time. Give others a chance to get some of your wonderful reviews first (:!

Leigh


 Report Review

Review #3, by kandekisses Coming Home

11th October 2012:
Okay okay I know you said in your note that Emmy has her moments where she's very unlikable but I love her so far. She is hilarious! Omg.

She's very headstrong and bold. But I can't help but wonder what made her so heartless towards love. I have a sneaky suspicion that it was her relationship with James. So I'm excited to see what their background will be.

Your plot seems very original and different. I love it when people are immersed in both the muggle and wizarding worlds.

Great introduction to who Emmy is. Intrigued to see whats next =)

Author's Response: Hi (:.

Haha. I happen to find her hilarious too, but as I was writing her, I became aware of the fact that she could come off as unlikable. So, I'm glad that you like her so far.

Yes, she is. As for her being heartless, it has everything to do with her relationship with James. The way it ended absolutely crushed her, but I won't reveal why, aha. You're welcome to a guess though ^^. Their background is a complicated one, I'll tell you that much.

Oh, I love that too. I've always wondered what it would be like to balance both worlds, especially if you have no aspirations to work in the wizarding world. Do you cut off ties with those magical, or do you somehow manage to have the best of both? It's difficult, I'll assure you. She tends to spend a lot of time with her Muggle friends as opposed to her family and old friends though.

Thanks for the compliment, and for reading and reviewing!

Leigh


 Report Review

Review #4, by Cherigarcia Brazil Bound

11th October 2012:
I can't wait to find out who the mysterious guest is. (: Great job, keep it up. (:

Author's Response: Hi (:.

Not someone too surprising, methinks. But their exchange should prove interesting.

Thanks for the compliment! And for reading and reviewing. Appreciated (:.

Leigh


 Report Review

Review #5, by Lexi Brazil Bound

10th October 2012:
Loving this story! Keep it up!

Author's Response: I'm glad you're liking it so far! And, I'll try. Working on the next chapter right now.

Thanks for reading and reviewing!

Leigh


 Report Review

Review #6, by countrymusicfanatic Babysitting Duty

8th October 2012:
Wow, this was so good! I feel a bit bad for Fran though, I hope she doesn't get her heart broken. Selene was funny, though. The way she just blatantly said that her dad was a player and didn't think twice about it.

I have a feeling it's going to be hard for her to leave now that she's running into everyone and I love the contrast between her and Llewellyn (how do you pronounce that?).

I really want to find out what exactly happend between her and James and since he seems to be the one who screwed up, I kind of want it to be thrown in Lily's face since she seemed to think her brother was the victim. Anyways, update soon!

10/10

Author's Response: Hi again (:.

Yeah. I hope she doesn't suffer from heartbreak, either. But hey. Maybe Ethan's different from he was back then? Only time will tell.

Haha. I have a special spot for Selene after I got into her head. I really like her, because she's so outspoken. And got to love that could care less attitude.

Actually, leaving for her is easier than you'd think. She realises what she left behind, in terms of friends and so forth, but she also knows that she can't stay.

Llewellyn is Lou-ellen in my mind. Just so that it sounds feminine, haha.

Bahaha. Yeah! But I have this strong suspicion that Lily will still find a way to make it Emmy's fault. Big brother can do no wrong, aye?

And, chapter five is in the queue. If the backlog doesn't change, it should be validated by tomorrow or the day after.

Thanks for reading and reviewing!

Leigh


 Report Review

Review #7, by IceCubism Babysitting Duty

6th October 2012:
I love Emmy (I know she hates this nickname but... Sue me.) - she's such an original, headstrong character that I can't help but fall in love with. I think I can guess why she doesn't trust men and all, I'm guessing that James actually broke her heart in the past (and not the other way round, as everyone presumes). That'll be one bombshell you'll drop further on in the story. Probably. Even if I'm wrong, well, I'm just speculating.

Also, I don't understand why James is suddenly so interested with her. Lily's being quite a bit** to Emmy for hurting James, but somehow I think it's quite obvious how James is actually the one raking up the past and hurting Emmy instead.

Anyway, the story's fine so far, though I don't really see much of a plot coming on. But your writing's fairly wicked, so I'd be intrigued when the story starts taking a twist and the plot develops a bit more.

Great story. :)

Author's Response: Hi there (:.

Haha. I love the nickname, so it doesn't matter what she thinks (in the name of the great one --if you get that reference, haha). I'm glad you like her. I'm trying my best to make her original, because I don't usually write from a female's perspective. So it's nice to hear that people like her.

I can't say whether you're right or not, but I do feel that the entire series of events is really interesting. In my head they are, anyway. You guys can be the judge.

As for James's interest in her. That never fully died away. With her leaving school abruptly, and then England altogether, there's a host of unresolved issues. What happened between them has always bothered him, and he'd like for her to forgive him. I honestly can't say more without potentially revealing a lot, unfortunately.

I can't blame Lily, though she is being a bit unfair since she doesn't know what happened. But, James is her favourite and she'd like to think that he can do no wrong. So it's only reasonable, in her mind, to blame Emmy.

It's a slow-rolling plot, unfortunately. It doesn't really start to properly unfold until Emmy's forced to remain in England for a bit of time that she won't be devoting to work. The next chapter is where things will start to pick up.

Thanks for reading and reviewing!

Leigh


 Report Review

Review #8, by MAXappeal Babysitting Duty

6th October 2012:
I LOVE IT! Keep going!

Author's Response: Hi there (:.

I'm glad that you do. And, I will. The next chapter is awaiting validation as I type this.

Thanks for taking the time to read and review!

Leigh


 Report Review

Review #9, by TimeSeer Wedding Day

22nd August 2012:
I need to know the history with James, like now. Could you please put that in the next chapter. I will give you cookies if you do :) anyway great chapter and please update soon!

Author's Response: Hi.

Ahaha. I know I've been vague with that, but it's not going to be revealed just yet. Even though the cookie offer is tempting.

Thanks for reviewing. Chapter four is almost done, so it should be submitted soon.


 Report Review

Review #10, by countrymusicfanatic Wedding Day

17th August 2012:
I love this! I can't wait for the next update!

Author's Response: I'm glad you like it. The next chapter should be submitted soon.

Thanks for reviewing.


 Report Review

Review #11, by Mazz Wedding Day

16th August 2012:
this is really really good - Emelia seems very cool, kind of cold but I like her all the same :)

and the whole history with James - i want to know all about that.

do Lily and her not like each other, or is Lily just very protective?

please update soon! x

Author's Response: Hello.

Yeah, she can be a block of ice sometimes, and makes no apologies for it. Though, she does have her moments too.

Heh. You'll have a wait to learn exactly what happened with James, but all will be revealed eventually. Promise.

As for Lily. Emelia doesn't hate her. They used to get along back in the day, but after the breakup and the way James was for a little bit there after, Lily's not her biggest fan. She's very protective of her family, and could care less that she's the youngest. Lily's feelings towards Emelia will change for the better or the worse when the truth's all out. That much I can tell you.

And, I will.

Thanks for reviewing.


 Report Review

Review #12, by hushpuppy Wedding Day

16th August 2012:
Her attitude towards him switched so abruptly that I have whiplash. If he really did do something awful to destroy her faith in men and romantic relationships, then she is TOTALLY pathetic to be acting like this.

Author's Response: Um.

Totally pathetic to be acting how, exactly? Causing a scene at her sister's wedding would be kind of silly, especially when she's the one that said nothing bad would happen there. She tried to be nice, then ended up insulting him, plus denying his request for a date. If she'd have said yes and fell all over him, that would be different, I think.

If you're meaning her attitude towards him after he helped her out, I don't see what's so bad about that? He was nice, and she couldn't be a total loser about it. If you can't forget your past to be nice to someone (for just a couple of paragraphs) who has helped you out, then there's something wrong with you.


 Report Review

Review #13, by hushpuppy Morning Encounter

12th August 2012:
I'm not usually fond of characters that are this much like Samantha from "Sex and the City" but it's kinda refreshing here. I like that she really and honestly doesn't care what people think of her and she doesn't feel the need to defend herself to Lily. She doesn't forgive him and perhaps she's acting out by running through men so rapidly but she isn't so bitter that she needs everyone to know what he did to her.

I'm excited to see how James and/or Emilia will ruin the wedding 'cause it's certain that something will happen, right?

Author's Response: Hi ^^.

I wasn't sure who Samantha was, because even though I've heard of the series, I've never watched it. I looked her up, and I hope Emmy never gets that wild. But from what I've read, I can see the similarities, and I'm glad you find Emelia refreshing. She is the type of girl that doesn't make much bother her. Not to say that it doesn't sometimes, but she can't let herself be bogged down by worry and other people's thoughts.

She is acting out by not staying in a lasting relationship, but she doesn't realise it. I'm hoping she does eventually, because it is unhealthy.

Ahaha. I can't say, but we'll see if they do, yes?

Thanks for reading and reviewing!

~Leigh


 Report Review

Review #14, by bookworm_hermione Morning Encounter

12th August 2012:
interesting story. i hope you update soon. I'd love to read more of it. Toodles!

:)

Author's Response: Hi!

Thanks for thinking that it's interesting, and I'm glad that you want to read more. Chapter three's in the queue, so the wait shouldn't be long.

Thanks for reading and reviewing!

~Leigh


 Report Review

Review #15, by blue_splash Morning Encounter

12th August 2012:
And the plot thickens!!
Haha hello! Well this story is really picking up which I like because honestly no one likes a story that drags on. Anyways I like how James is introduced and I'm under the impression that he's the reason why they're not together? If so then I really like that because usually it's the girls fault so it's good to see a change! I like Emelia's attitude towards Lily, not sure why but I think it suits her. I'm really interested in this story now so can't wait for an update! (:

Author's Response: Hi again ^^.

Yes, it does! Ha. I'm sure Emelia's happy that you're under that impression. I can't say whether he is or not, but since it's told from Emelia's pov, she'll certainly give that impression. And yes, that would be a change. The woman should be at fault sometimes too!

Ehe. She's trying not to be rude to Lily, because she is Alison's best friend. And really, she can sort of understand why Lily's upset.

Update shall be coming soon, since chapter three is already in the queue!

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!

~Leigh


 Report Review

Review #16, by blue_splash Coming Home

12th August 2012:
Hello!
I like this beginning and I can't wait to find more about Emelia. The plot seems new and different so that's always good! (: Can't wait to keep reading!

Author's Response: Hi there!

I'm glad you like it so far. I was definitely trying for something different when I started it, and as the plot progresses, I hope you still find it new and interesting. There's so much story yet to be written, so it's going to be a long ride.

Thanks for the review!

~Leigh


 Report Review

Review #17, by NoxFlame172 Coming Home

7th August 2012:
Interesting start to your story. It's easy to read and flows well. I like what we've seen of Emmy, even if she is a bit unlikable and snarky, she has her moments.
Hope to read more soon! :)

Author's Response: First review! Hi there :). I'm glad you like her so far. Because yes, she does have her moments where she's nice, or sweet. Even if at times they are far and in between.

Thanks for reading and reviewing. The next two chapters are already written, but I can't update until my computer's returned later this week.

Leigh


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login