Reading Reviews for Family Reunion
  
10 Reviews Found

Review #1, by DoctorUnderwood A second cup

10th March 2014:
I love one shots like this that offer a crucial scene that took place after the book!

This is always a topic that I ponder; I'm almost surprised that Jo never wrote a scene detailing this. I bet she has but it's locked away in a Gringotts vault.

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing. I really like the relationship between Harry and Dudley and was so sad that their good-bye scene was cut from the movie. This is actually the second story I've written between them. The first one was just an alternate version of Harry and Dudley saying good bye.

I know that Jo has said that Harry and Dudley never really became friends, but they did keep in contact somewhat. Harry would bring his kids by to play with Dudley's kids, and they exchanged Christmas cards and such, but they were never close, but I don't know that she wrote anything specific, so I gave it a try instead :P


 Report Review

Review #2, by toomanycurls A second cup

9th November 2013:
Hi!! Doing a review for the RRT!

I've been quite interested in seeing how people intrepret Harry and Dudley's relationship after DH (if it exists at all).

I'm not surprised Harry came across as a bit cold and edgy to Dudley. I got a laugh out of how Dudley brought up his relationship with Harry (with the "why don't you talk to me like that" question).

Harry's bitterness is quite understandable. I'm on the fence about why Harry even showed up. I suppose his explanation makes sense that he'd see Dudley if Dedalus said Big D wanted to see him.

I love the idea of Dedalus telling Dudley about what Harry and his parents got up to in their various heroic situations. :D

You make a great case against the Dursleys (and Dudley). Harry's importance in the wizarding world doesn't magnify their child abuse. Harry admitting that he wasn't the best of cousin was quite a moment for me too.

I really like how you ended this. They've had words and talked through the harder points of growing up together. But I feel like they're at the path headed towards reconcilliation - of sorts.

-Rose

Author's Response: Thanks for your review!

I wrote this story as a bit of a companion piece to another one-shot I had written, which is basically just a longer version of Harry and Dudley's goodbye from Deathly Hallows. At some point, I read somewhere that Jo said Harry and Dudley, while never close, do keep in contact as adults, and I wanted to explore how that could come to pass.

I really think Harry showed up just out of a sense of curiosity. He never expected to hear from the Dursleys again, and didn't figure they had any desire to see him either. Dedalus also played a bit part, of course.

Thanks again for reading and reviewing. I really enjoyed reading your comments :D


 Report Review

Review #3, by HollyStone73 A second cup

17th July 2013:
Awww! Yea!! I liked this a lot! I am really glad that Harry and Dudley managed to get on speaking terms and to be honest I was pretty upset that the Dursley's departure from Privet Drive was so seriously cut short in the file version. I think you did a great job creating such an awkward little scene between these too. I especially like how Dudley admitted asking for information about Harry and the things that he was facing and doing. Very well written! Great job!!

Author's Response: First of all, allow me to apologize for taking so long to respond to your reviews. I really have no excuse besides the fact that I'm a slacker, but I really am sorry, and I honestly do appreciate your reviews so much.

This was actually written as a companion piece to another story that I had previously written, which is basically just a longer version of Harry and Dudley saying goodbye in Deathly Hallows. It's called "Dudley Departing" if you want to check it out (shameless plug). I basically wrote that story because I, too, was really disappointed with how short their farewell was cut in the movie. Then I wrote this story when I found out that Jo said that Harry and Dudley exchanged Christmas cards as adults. I was curious as to how that came about, and this is the explanation I came up with.

Thanks again for reading and reviewing. I really appreciate it!


 Report Review

Review #4, by momotwins A second cup

8th December 2012:
I feel very vindicated getting to hear (so to speak) Harry say to a Dursley that they locked him in a closet and tormented him. Ha! Take that, jerkwads. And when Harry says it shouldn't have mattered if he was important for them to treat him right - yes! Yeah I'm totally doing a righteous anger fist-pump here. I have the urge to start cussing like Samuel L Jackson but I'll refrain, since only about 40% of his vocabulary is 12+.

So aside from the overwhelming feeling of "Take that!" that this gave me, which I greatly enjoyed, it's extremely well written. Now, I know that's not a surprise or anything because everything you write is extremely well written, but it always bears saying. I really enjoyed your characterization of Harry. He was very much book!Harry and not movie!Harry. Love that. And Dudley, his evolving world view that we began to see in Deathly Hallows really came out fully here. Nicely done. Just overall really great stuff. I noticed a missing period at the end of the "different choices than the ones his parents had made" sentence but aside from that, I got nothin', no concrit here. Sorry. You'll just have to cope with being awesome all-around. ;)

By the way, it took me a while to find a chapter of yours to review for the swap, since I've already reviewed most of your stuff. lol. But you are one of the authors on my favorite author list, and I only keep 10 on there so I really do think you rock, y'know. :)

Author's Response: Sorry it has taken me so long to get back to your review. I always love hearing from you.

Random side note: I now have a strange urge to watch Snakes on a Plane...

I tried to write this story several times, and Harry kept coming out super bitter, so hopefully that's tempered a bit here. It's definitely more book!Harry than movie!Harry (I always enjoyed book!Harry's fiestyness and snark :)).

I'll have to try to find time to write more so you'll have more things to read in the future. I'm really falling behind on that, but I really appreciate you taking the time to find a story that you hadn't already read. And thank you so much for all of your lovely comments.


 Report Review

Review #5, by CherryBoom A second cup

23rd October 2012:
Hey, Big D is all grown up. =P Well, I really liked this fic. While the Dursleys and Harry had quite strained relationship, I'm sure that Harry was in some kind of contact with them after the war. If only to check out that they were still alive. =)

This felt very natural continuation to the DH's events. I'm glad that they cleared the air a bit and both acknowledged that they had been wrong about some things. The characters felt natural and your writing was smooth and easy to read.

I haven't read fics about Dudley before, but this really piqued my curiosity. I wonder if he ended up working in Grunnings or if he carved totally different career for himself after the war. Your take on it would have been nice to read. =)

Well anyways, I had fun reading it. And by the way, thank you for all your work in the House Cup!

Author's Response: Sorry for the late reply, but I wanted to thank you for taking the time to read this story and leave a review. I remember reading somewhere that Jo had said that Harry and Dudley had a "Christmas card" relationship as adults, so that's what I was drawing from. Too much has happened for the two of them to ever really be friends or close, but I think they made an effort to keep in touch.

I don't have plans to write anything else involving Dudley at this time, but who knows where the plot bunnies will lead.

Thanks again for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #6, by Remus A second cup

19th September 2012:
Heya! Perelandra here with your review!

I've always wanted to read a story about Harry meeting up with the Dursleys once more. So of course, I had to read this one!!

I couldn't help but giggle when Harry greets Dudley for the first time.

I have one complaint...why is it so short?!?!?!??! I wanted to read more! Hahaha!

I have nothing to say to this except that this was short, a refreshing read and definitely well written. Despite the length, I found myself watching and dreading how Harry was going to react. His anger is believable as is Dudley's resentment towards what he had done when he was young.

I found it both sweet and rather creepy that Petunia was asking about Harry but it makes sense. Deep, VERY, VERRRYYY deep in her heart I truly believe that she cared for Harry and his well being only for Lily's sake.

You managed to capture the balance between dialogue and narrative very well. Some authors, when writing a One-Shot, forget about detail and whatnot and write a story that moves only with dialogue. Doesn't work that way. You managed to put me right there in table with Dudley and Harry watching as the cousins argued.

Anyway!! Thanks for the great read!! :D

--Rosie

Author's Response: Thanks so much for offering to review this story. It hasn't gotten much love, so I really appreciate you taking the time to read and review it. :)

I'm glad you found it to be believable. The intensity of Harry's reactions kind of surprised me, and I tried to rein him in a bit, but he wasn't having it. I don't think Petunia is a terrible person, she just made lots of really bad decisions and rarely has the strength to stand up to her husband. I think, deep down, she does care about Harry on some level. She kept letting him back into her home every summer after all. But it's like the situation with Snape, affection for Lily only goes so far.

I can be very guilty of writing dialogue-heavy one-shots, so I'm glad that you thought this one had a nice balance of dialogue and narrative. It's definitely something I'm trying to work on doing better.

Thanks again for reading and for leaving your thoughts!



 Report Review

Review #7, by academica A second cup

18th August 2012:
Hey! I'm here with your requested review :)

Overall, I really enjoyed this! I think you chose a good subject for a one-shot; sometimes I feel like people pick moments that are too short and draw them out, or leave me wanting a lot more information at the end of it, but I think this one fit nicely into a one-shot sized package. I like that for Harry's friends, mending things between Harry and Dudley is part of Harry's duty in repairing the world following Voldemort's fall, even if it's not strictly magical.

As for characterization, I liked Dudley a lot. It's nice to see that he's grown up a bit from the boy he once was - I suspect that's more his mother's influence than his father's - but I like that we still see some elements of canon Dudley in there, too. For example, I liked his comment about Harry being nice to the waitress, because it struck me as being a moment where he was sort of oblivious, and we've kind of come to expect that from him.

I liked Harry, too, though I'm a little wary when I see characters reaching for more extreme emotions. I think I would have expected his interaction with Dudley to include more awkward silence and less of his direct confrontation (for example, in the paragraph before Dudley's formal apology). I also thought his recovery was a tad quick for my taste; I can imagine Harry maybe thinking about sending a Christmas card, but I don't know if it sits right with me for him to casually chat about it with Dudley here so soon after blowing up at him, so to speak. These are super nit-picky opinion-oriented comments, of course, so you can do with them as you like.

Though the details I've discussed above interrupted the pace of this a little bit for me, I did think that overall it flowed pretty well, and it was an easy read. I also thought it carried an appropriate amount of imagery for a piece of this type and length and that you did a good job keeping those pesky technical errors out of it. Overall, nice work!

I hope this review is helpful :)

-Amanda

Author's Response: Thank you so much for taking the time to leave me this great review. I really appreciate it!

I'm quite relieved that you liked Dudley's characterization. That line you pointed out (about Harry being nice to the waitress) is actually one of my favorite parts, but I wasn't sure how well it fit, so I'm glad you mentioned it.

I'll look back over what you said about Harry's characterization and see if I can make some changes there. I think you have a point. He is quite angry for some reason.

Thanks again for the review. I really appreciate you taking the time to read and comment!


 Report Review

Review #8, by Athene Goodstrength A second cup

18th July 2012:
I thought this was great! Your characterization of both Harry and Dudley was fantastic, very well thought-out. I particularly liked Harry's anger, and the fact that whether he was special or not he didn't deserve to be treated in the way the Dursley's did. I also liked the way his anger ebbed, as he realised that Dudley had been through a lot.

The mention of Petunia wondering how Harry was, was perfect. Knowing what we know of her, I can really believe that she would do that.

The reminder of all those people who had shown Harry love and cared for him was a special moment too.

Finally, I found myself pitying Dudley, right from the very start when you introduced him like this: 'He was sitting in a corner booth, glancing around nervously and fiddling with a cup of something. It wouldn’t be right to just stand him up, not after Harry had agreed to come.'

Really nice work, beautifully written. It felt like canon to me - I enjoyed this very much. Adding to favourites!

~House Cup Task Two 2012~

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and for leaving such a lovely review. I really appreciate it :D

I originally started this story as a follow up to my AU version of Harry and Dudley's good bye in DH, "Dudley Departing" *cough*shamelessplug*cough*, but it ended up following canon more than it followed my version of events, so I posted it as a separate story rather than a second chapter.

I really appreciate your comments on characterization. That's something I work really hard on, and worry obsessively about, so it's great to get feedback...especially when it's positive ;)

Thanks again for reading, reviewing, and for the favorites add!


 Report Review

Review #9, by BKL8008 A second cup

16th July 2012:
Reconciliation with the Dursley family is usually something I don't care for. I've only read one other that was any good (author tgfoy), and this is the second one. It's awkward, just as it should be. Is Harry holding his wand because he's fighting down the urge to hurt his cousin, or does some part of him want revenge? It's only natural, and you hint at the fragment of scared child within Harry quite subtly and well. The ending fits perfectly. It's like "Well I'll let you know." and still wide open. Very well done!

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and leaving a review. I'm glad that you gave this story a chance, even if it's not what you usually read. I'll have to see if I can find the story you mentioned. I'd love to read other interpretations of Harry and Dudley's post-DH relationship.

I think a small part of Harry is probably hoping that Dudley will give him a reason to use his wand, but for the most part, I think Harry is really trying to move on and leave that part of his life behind him. Harry's had a really tough life, and at this point, I think he's trying to focus on moving forward. That's why he was reluctant to meet with Dudley. In his mind, there really wasn't anything more to say. That chapter was over, but Dudley surprised him.

Thanks again for reading and reviewing. I really appreciate hearing your thoughts :)


 Report Review

Review #10, by MadamePuddifoot A second cup

15th July 2012:
It's so interesting seeing your take on Harry and Dudley's relationship! There have been lots of different interpretations of the subject (I've even tried one myself) but yours is very original and well written. Both Harry and Dudley's characterisation was great, and very true to canon, though I liked how you showed the changes in Big D's personality!

I'm a great fan of your other pieces and this one is definitely 10/10!

Author's Response: It's so nice to hear from you again :D Thanks for checking this story out. I started out planning to write this as a follow up to my story, "Dudley Departing" but it ended up following canon more than my slightly AU version of events, so I posted it as a separate story. I'm glad you thought that Harry and Dudley seemed true to canon. I wasn't really sure how well I had done with that.

Thanks again for reading! I'll have to see if I can find the story you mentioned. I'd love to see your take on their relationship.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login