Reading Reviews for Task One Challenge: Tales
  
13 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Ginger Lust Tales

28th July 2012:
This is a lovely story. We learn a little more about Neville.
Good job.

Author's Response: Thank you for the review!!

 Report Review

Review #2, by The Last Marauder Tales

21st July 2012:
Neville was just too adorable in this. He was so sweet and just made me smile when I was reading. You can see that he's a really eager and inquizitive five year old, but you can also see the strict influence of his gran and what that is going to do to him in years to come,just sort of squash those child-like beliefs and dreams, which is a little sad, but that's the way it has to be!

Fair play on this one, the idea is really original. When I saw the task, the thought of this type of story never occured to me, all I thought about was what Harry had to do in the first task. That's why I loved this, it was just something a bit different, you know? And it was so cute too!

Great job, well done ;)

Author's Response: I was worried I had made him too sweet and eager compared to how we know him, but I figured that was what all five year olds were like. I hope I set up Augusta well enough to explain how he ended up the way he did!
It took me a while to think of the idea since I was so determined to do something out of the box that no one else would think of, so I'm glad I managed that!!
Thank you so much for the review!!


 Report Review

Review #3, by Levana Tales

18th July 2012:
Ameh!

Your story is awesome! I have a weakness for Neville, especially in awesome stories. I love how you incorporated all the dragon stuff in the story through a story, it was really interesting and I love Neville's enthusiasm about being a Dragon Tamer.

My favorite part was when you were describing what the blood could do. Awesome story Ameh!!

~Maggie

Author's Response: Maggeh!
Thank you so much for the review!! I have a weakness for Neville too! He is just so awesome!! :P


 Report Review

Review #4, by Mihali1432 Tales

18th July 2012:
Amy! Neville was so adorable and I thought he acted just like a kid would! Interrupting every second with his own thoughts. I also thought that touching on his fear of his gran was really good! I liked his enthusiasm with dragons and even his bravery shows forth in here. "I'd still win." This was a great Story Amy! :D

Mike.

Author's Response: Mike! I don't think I've met a kid who doesn't interrupt with their own thoughts and opinions in the middle of a story! :P Neville's bravery had to come from somewhere!
Thank you for the review!!


 Report Review

Review #5, by academica Tales

18th July 2012:
Hey!

This was really adorable. I love how you tapped into the theme of Neville's grandmother not being totally confident in his abilities, and how you used his aunt to draw a contrast to that. I can imagine his parents telling him stories about fighting dragons. I also liked Neville's reactions to the various elements in the story, like how confident he was and how excited he was to grow up into a really impressive young man. At least we know that he did end up being strong in the end :)

-Amanda

Author's Response: Hey! Thank you so much for the review!! I tried to set everything up to explain all the future events so I'm glad it all seemed to work well! :)

 Report Review

Review #6, by Athene Goodstrength Tales

18th July 2012:
This was lovely! Little Neville was adorable. I actually forgot that I was reading a task entry as you included the prompts so subtly and naturally - really well done with that!

Auntie Enid is so nice (with her story-telling powers she made me think of Enid Blyton!)... I wish Neville lived with her!

I liked the foreshadowing at the end, the aunt's faith that one day Neville will show himself to be brave. I also loved the 'Forgetfulness Dragon'! I wonder if Neville's had one following him around all his life. It's like something Luna would talk about!

This was lovely, and a great HC entry - you've done Gryffindor proud!

~House Cup Task Two~

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the review!!
I'm so glad I got them in so well! I was really worried about it!
I always felt like there was more to Neville's bravery coming out that we all thought, so I kind of imagined him thinking back on this moment and it giving him strength.


 Report Review

Review #7, by xelha horse Tales

18th July 2012:
Really enjoyed reading this -- especially all the quips that Gran makes! Great job capturing Neville's character; it's very believable to read that five year old's voice :)

Author's Response: Thank you for the review!! The voice in my head is five years old, so it all comes naturally to me ;)

 Report Review

Review #8, by MalfoysCarolinaGirl2010 Tales

18th July 2012:
I loved this i thought it was sweet how Neville's aunt reassured him that he can tame dragons when he gets older. As sweet and as insecure as you wrote Neville to be creates a good path for his character in the books. It is really well written and I have no complaints what so ever. Again I thought the characterization was done really well for all involved including Neville's Aunt and his Gran.

BTW Loved how Gran is compared to a Dragon :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the review!! I'm glad I managed create that path since that is what I was aiming for. I thought I might have made it slightly unrealistic with his aunt, which is why I tried to make his Gran worse to balance it out.

 Report Review

Review #9, by Debra20 Tales

13th July 2012:
Hey Amy hunny!

I must say this was the swetest submission of all! There is just something too cute about little Neville that makes you want to hug him eternally. Too bad we know how shy he becomes for a while. Fortunately, that didn't last long!

Especially happy about how you managed to include all of the prompts without making it look forced at all. Great job with that. Not to mention the whole innocent and loving feel of the story. I know you struggled a lot to find an idea and I must say that this is one of the best you could have come up with.

Author's Response: Hey!!
Aww, thanks! I loved writing little Neville so much! To be honest, just writing little kids is fun! You can just be childish and stupid :P I did try to set it up so that you could understand why Neville ended up the way he did a bit more.
Getting the prompts in was hard. I just went with the idea of writing and including anything that could possibly come up when doing it, but making it flow at the same time. I'm glad I did it well! The main reason I struggled was because I wanted to make it different to how I thought everyone else would do it, but I'm so happy I thought of this since I think it turned out better than I thought!
Thank you so much for the review!!


 Report Review

Review #10, by Shortie Tales

12th July 2012:
AW AMES this is so cute!!! I love it. I love little Neville and I love the way you've portrayed Enid and Augusta. Just love it :D And Neviile is just so cute

*hugs*

Author's Response: ASHI! Thank you so much for the review! I'm so glad you loved it! *hugs*

 Report Review

Review #11, by ginerva_molly_weasley Tales

11th July 2012:
This is fabulous!

I think you wrote this really well especially with it being a story within a story which I think is really good!

I love the fact that Neville was younger within this which makes it very different to all the other entries and it is very believable that a witch could tell a little wizard about a dragon! I think it is very clever in the way you got in all the prompts here as it was very subtle which I loved the most!

I really loved this Amy... You need to write more often!!!

Author's Response: Aww, thank you!
I am a hater of dialogue since I can never make it sound right, but telling a story to a kid is something I can do ;) (Mainly because it's full of little words and silliness :P)
You know how stuck I was with ideas, and that was mainly because I didn't want to go with the obvious that many people did. One of the things we don't know much about is how much kids from wizarding families get told, but I always thought they would know about dragons since it's something all kids know about anyway! I'm so glad I got them in well! I was very worried about it!!
Thank you so much for the review! And I have so many things planned, I just need my muse to kick into action and write them ;)


 Report Review

Review #12, by TyrannicFeenix Tales

11th July 2012:
Great entry, really good. Only problem i saw was you said feat instead of fear. Otherwise top effort.

Author's Response: Thank you for the review!! That has now been edited :)

 Report Review

Review #13, by Toujours Padfoot Tales

10th July 2012:
Hello, fellow Gryffindor!

I very much enjoyed this story! It's definitely one of my favorite entries that I've read. I really want to commend you on the way you wove in the prompts, because you did it with such skill. It flowed well and none of the prompts stuck out; they were all very natural, especially with the dragon's blood. Out of all the prompts, I think that the dragon's blood one has the most tendency to stick out to the reader, but you listed them in such a natural way. You should definitely be proud of that! I love Enid and little Neville. He's so adorable. :) Poor thing, living with Augusta. She's definitely as scary as a dragon!

One thing I caught:
Neville's eyes sprang open with feat

I think you meant 'fear'. ;)

Overall, this was a very cute, entertaining story, and I'm so glad I read it!

Gryffindor ftw!

Author's Response: Hey! Thank you so much for the review!!!
That was the one thing I think we were all worried about more than how many we got in (well, I certainly was anyway :P), so I am really glad I seem to have done it well! The dragon's blood was the one I worried about most because it did feel like a list, but I just hoped it sounded natural with how you would talk to a child!
Ooh, thank you for pointing that out! I've edited it now :)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login