Reading Reviews for Task One Challenge- Stranded
  
10 Reviews Found

Review #1, by lumos_knox The Snow Storm

3rd June 2014:
This was a very brilliant piece! I had a look at the review thread back at the forums, and I just had to read. Still, there's so much choice I had no idea what to read!

Silly Godric. That's all I can think of. I would have thought that perhaps he had a little more of the Gryffindor bravery in him, perhaps know better than to follow Salazar Slytherin somewhere. Look where he ended up!

You began the story with quite the bang which I enjoy. You give me some brilliant descriptions as well- the one of the dragon sounded pretty fantastic. I had to laugh when you said Godric gave a 'cold stare' to Salazar. The irony's great!

I also had to laugh about the dragon blood, only because Dumbledore was supposed to discover these! That means he might have even stolen these and never have actually even discovered these 0_0.

My strange thinking.

I think the addition of the cane to the head and making Gryffindor fall on Marmaduke's part was a very good idea. That way, the climax wouldn't end early. Instead of getting rescued and all being sunshine and rainbows, a little extra action can NEVER go amiss. That's what I say, anyway!

Well, fantastic story! This was very well written.
-lumos_knox

 Report Review

Review #2, by FredWeasleyIsMyKing The Snow Storm

14th March 2013:
Hello again!

So, this is the first founders era fic I've read and I really enjoyed it! It's really cool to see Godric and Salazar as friends and they're actually quite different here from the wizards I pictured. I'm guessing that's because they seem to be teens here and still at school maybe as Godric called marmaduke 'Sir'. I wasn't quite sure who Marmaduke was aside from telling the boys about the dragon - it would be nice to get some more back story on him.

I thought you descriptions were excellent throughout this and your characterisation was also great. Even though they are so different to what I imagined, I really liked it as it gave me another perspective on the two founders.

Was the dragon a Swedish Short Snout by any chance?

There were a few spelling/grammar mistakes but nothing huge. All in all I thought this was a great one-shot and I really enjoyed it!

Lauren :)

 Report Review

Review #3, by CambAngst The Snow Storm

13th March 2013:
Hey, there! How did I never notice this story before? Well, actually I'm pretty sure I know how. So much going on during the House Cup...

Anyway, I really liked the tale of friendship between the two legendary founders. I think a lot of authors forget that these two were supposed to be friends before they had their falling out. Even though Godric is probably very upset with Salazar for dragging him into this life-threatening situation, there's an obvious camaraderie there. They have a mutual interest in exploration and discovery that comes through very clearly in their discussions. There's also an obvious love for adventure.

It was interesting to see the two of them at a younger time in their lives. Godric seemed more like Salazar's sidekick than the fearsome warrior he eventually became. He's even chastised a bit for it. Salazar comes across like more of an eager, adventurous young man than a powerful sorcerer and the patron saint of pure blood supremacist ideology.

Your descriptions of their suffering and the bleak conditions of the cave were really good. Not hard at all to put myself in their position.

I saw some typos scattered about, but they're no big deal. This was written for a one-time challenge, after all.

Lovely job!

 Report Review

Review #4, by fauxthefox The Snow Storm

3rd March 2013:
This is the first Founders story I've read in a while, and I love it!

First of, I think that Slytherin and Gryffindor are characterized very well throughout the chapter (even Gryffindor's physical description is fitting). I'm not sure if this is meant to take place before any sort of kerfuffles started happening between them, but I would have liked to see at least a little tension in their relationships over the whole Pureblood supremacy thing.

I have two little canon problems that are probably going to make me seem annoying/over-attentive, but I'm okay with that. First off, I'm pretty sure it was Dumbledore who discovered the uses of dragon's blood, so Gryffindor and Slytherin wouldn't have known them, would they? Then again, maybe some were known and Dumbledore put them together. Or something. Also, Blast-Ended Skrewts are an invention of Hagrid's (I think?), so Gryffindor's reference seems a bit off.

The dialogue and prose in general were very good - the danger of trying to write a Founder's era story is that most people aren't too used to writing that time era. But you've managed to write it without sounding too modern or too in-your-face-Shakespearean, which is a pretty serious accomplishment.

Faux

 Report Review

Review #5, by NightStar The Snow Storm

4th August 2012:
Nice story! I loved it!
It was a bit boring in the beginning when they were listing the uses of dragon's blood but I know it was necessary..
I like Salazar a lot (GO SLYTHERIN! xD) and Godric's nice enough!
Well written of course, as always:)
I'm a huge fan of 'The Immortal Lords' but why aren't you updating? :/
Its been years! Please write..?:)

Author's Response: Heeey! Sorry for the uber long delay in the response. Emphasis on the uber long, hahaha!

Yeah, I know it got a little boring but they had to be there in order to get the points.

As for The Immortal Lords...that story is in hiatus...I plan on going back to it eventually but don't know when as of right now.

Anyway, thank you for your kind review! I appreciate it!


 Report Review

Review #6, by classicblack The Snow Storm

27th July 2012:
Hello there! It's Ali from Pass the Parcel!

I thought this was a rather clever story. I decided to review this one in spirit of the House Cup going on.

I loved that, even though you said you didn't do much research, you included the Middle Age names for Britain and Sweden. May I guess that the dragon was in fact a Swedish Short Snout?

I liked that you showed how close Salazar and Godric were, even before the founding of Hogwarts, before Slytherin went all evil... I found it funny that you had Godric have red hair. I guess the Weasley's truly are Gryffindors!

I found a couple of errors, but nothing too big.

I'd have liked to know more about Marmaduke and Godric and Salazar's connection to him. Possibly also why Salazar was so eager to find this new dragon. It would have helped me get to know the characters better.

Overall, I thought this was a great one-shot and a wonderful story. Nice job!
Happy writing,
classicblack

Author's Response: Over a year later and I finally come to give you a response. Ugh, I'm SOOO sorry!!

This story was definitely interesting to write. Doing the whole time crunch writing was both fun and frustrating. And yes, that was in fact a Swedish Short Snout.

I've always liked the idea of the two friends getting along before everything hit the fan. Something had to happen that caused Godric and Slytherin to have a fallout. I mean, they disagreed about the muggle born thing but there HAD to be other factors.

Marmaduke is an old character of mine. He's from the story Time it all Began. I've always seen him as their teacher in a way.

Anyway, thank you for your kind words and review!!!


 Report Review

Review #7, by luvinpadfoot The Snow Storm

14th July 2012:
I could definitely imagine a young Salazar doing something stupid like this and bringing Godric along for the ride. Marmaduke's reaction was also played perfectly.

Great story! It was so clever and funny, the pair were well written enough to make me laugh almost the whole time I was reading it! Very enjoyable to read. =)

Slytherin House Cup 2012!

Author's Response: Thank you for your review!! :D

 Report Review

Review #8, by Dark Whisper The Snow Storm

12th July 2012:
Remus,

Wonderfully descriptive. I got so cold from reading this, I had to turn off my fan. No lie. I'm freezing now. LOL!

I loved your (Godric's) opening line. And you had me laughing at how his hair looked like the lion on his family crest, but Salazar was too cold to laugh. Brilliant! XD

And I loved their scolding as well, being hit, they might remember to not go around doing dumb things.

You really did a great job with this, especially in such a short amount of time.

Thank you for the enjoyable read. :)

Go Slytherin!
Dark Whisper

Author's Response: Hey Dark Whisper!

Thanks for your lovely review! I like random reviews...so you made my night! XD

I can't believe that I made you cold! Hahaha! I guess right now, with Texas 'wonderful' weather we're having, its impossible to believe that anyone is cold. Darn Texas summer.

Seriously, Godric's opening line was literally how I felt when I posted on the forum that I was going to commit to write a task one story. I actually muttered that to myself and I knew that I had to add it to the story one way or another!

They actually deserved the scolding, honestly! As teenagers they think they're impossible to kill or destroy. That's why Salazar left without thinking of the consequences.

Thank you so much for your review!!

Indeed,
Slytherins for the Win!!

--Perelandra


 Report Review

Review #9, by Jchrissy The Snow Storm

12th July 2012:
I love that you showed them in the early years of their friendship, and through they weren't actually there, Rowena and Helga were still apart of it.

You did a good job with their speech, also. It sounded very realistic for this era.

And the imagery! I could feel their cold, chilly bones. It was done very, very well!

I now want a staff to hit people with, FYA.

I think that you included the prompts smoothly, also. It didn't feel forced, they helped enhance your story as opposed to take from it.

The last paragraph with Salazar seeking eternal glory gave me chills. It was the perfect foreshadow to the men we know they become, and the circumstances that end up taking them.

You made their personalities very clear and realistic in this, also. Salazar with his need to achieve great things, his lack for life and limb in the face of glory. Godric, following him simply because he is his friend, sticking with him because he is loyal enough to want to see him through. Brave enough to undertake this task...

very good!

Anyway, this was a great entry!

Jami

Author's Response: Heya!

Some people makes them out to be mortal enemies from the beginning even though they were suppose tobe good friends when they were young. That's the moment I was trying to capture. In my head they are bit like James and Sirius but in the end...their believes just get in the way of the friendship.

I have a staff and trust me...handy weapons at times!

I was trying to add a bit of the Salazar we know. Sort of like foreshadowing. He's been seeking eternal glory for a long time and thats what he wants to do with the dragon's blood.

Thanks for the review,hun! It definitely made my day!


--Rosie


 Report Review

Review #10, by TyrannicFeenix The Snow Storm

10th July 2012:
Now that was a brilliant read. I love the interaction between the two. You can see the relationship is as strong as all the stories claimed at that point of there lives. And I feel sorry for Maramaduke, having to teach that unruly lot, he must really have his work cut out for him. Really good fic.

Author's Response: First off, thanks for the review! It made my night! That's what I was trying to portray...their friendship before everything went sour between the two of them. Marmaduke really does have his work cut out for him as I've always seen Salazar and Godric the same sort of friends like Sirius and James. Glad you enjoyed my entry! :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login