9 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Secret Santa Neville and the Dragon Research Bureau

2nd January 2013:
Santa's back to show a little house pride ! :) And Rudolph wanted to know about Dragons ;)

Ohh, I like the idea of Neville being an Auror, that's soo different to everything I've read, but yet, the way you explained it made it seem like that was he true calling.. I really like the way you referred back to his feelings and ideas back when he was still at Hogwarts; I think it makes him seem more realistic as a character.

It made me laugh how Neville thought it was all a prank at first, and suppose after sharing a dorm with them for so long at Hogwarts would have that effect.

I like how he's intimidated when he gets to the Dragon Research Bureau, it seems really realistic to me. I guess I would be a bit confused if he just strolled in there and acted as if he owned the place..

I have a quick question: Id the Dragon Research Bureau of your own creation, or not? Because I've never heard of it before but I could be wrong..

What I like about it though, is at the end, where the woman suggests that they aren't using the dragons as protectors, but they're keeping them for their blood. I think it’s a really good way to do that, hw at the end she finally tells him, after she puts him through the big ordeal of being next to the dragon etc. only to tell him, the Auror department probably won't ever encounter them.. For me it just makes me laugh, especially as Neville previously thought he was going on a wild goose chase, which in some ways it kind of is.

Anyway, we're lucky to have you in Gryffindor, as it's an excellent piece of writing, and you've done us all proud *hug*

Time to go now Rudolph…
*neigh*

Thank you for being such a great Santee to have :)

Happy new Year!
Love, Santa xx

Author's Response: The Dragon Research Bureau was mentioned a few times - I'm not sure if it was explicitly mentioned in the series itself, but it certainly was in interviews/extra information from JKR and probably also in Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them. It's part of the Beast Division at the Ministry. It was really just mentioned briefly, though - I've filled in the blanks myself.

Thank you so much for your lovely reviews, Santa! :) I'm really glad you liked this!


 Report Review

Review #2, by Debra20 Neville and the Dragon Research Bureau

12th July 2012:
Heya!

I can't get enough of Auror stories! There's always something fascinating when reading about Neville, Ron and Harry's adventures as fresh Aurors. Needless to say I enjoyed yours a lot as well. You fit in the prompts very nicely and none of the stood out in a bad way to me. Not to mention the interactions between Diana and Neville. I laughed more than once at some of Neville's reactions, thoughts or words. A very spot on characterization if you'd ask me. Great job!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm always very nervous about writing canon characters because I'm afraid they'll be OOC, so I'm glad you thought that Neville was in character! :)

 Report Review

Review #3, by Shortie Neville and the Dragon Research Bureau

12th July 2012:
I didn't even feel that all the prompts were used in the story. they were very well used!!! Seriously. The only thing I couldn't catch was the theme "Flourishing in adversities" but that might just be me being blind :) I really like this story. Job well done Beeez *hugs*

Author's Response: Yeah, flourishing in adversity is a bit hard, because it's based so much on interpretation. Blegh. I'm really glad that you felt like the prompts were used well. :) Thank you for the review!

 Report Review

Review #4, by ginerva_molly_weasley Neville and the Dragon Research Bureau

11th July 2012:
So I read this and thought you incorporated the points really well within this and the prompts seemed pretty well embedded within the scene.

The flow seems to be very good within this and although I found a few awkward sentences I think the whole piece is good :)

Author's Response: Thank you for the review! I'm glad you liked it. :)

 Report Review

Review #5, by CambAngst Neville and the Dragon Research Bureau

11th July 2012:
Hey, Beeezie! I'm trying to read and review all of these before I vote.

Very interesting. I like the idea of Neville the Auror, hero of the Second Wizarding War, still not 100% sure whether his school friends are messing with him.

Your plot was really interesting, and it made for a very natural way to incorporate the prompts. It's always fun to see the canon characters stretching themselves and being put into new and unusual situations. I also liked the way that you characterized the dragon research bureau. I could definitely see them being secretive and somewhat stand-offish toward the rest of the Ministry.

The only one of your prompts I wasn't completely sure about was the wand details. You mention that it's a good wand for an Auror, but not the exact wording of "good for defensive spells". I have no idea how that will be graded. Let's hope for the best!

Overall, nice job!

Author's Response: Hey! Thanks for r&r-ing. :)

I'm really glad you liked this, and that you felt like I worked the prompts in naturally. I was worried about doing that and not making it feel forced and awkward, for fairly obvious reasons. :P

And yeah, the wand details weren't exact - I actually had them that way, but it felt... well, a bit forced and awkward, and then I saw that someone had asked in the House Cup forum about whether the details all needed to be specifically mentioned, and one of the staff said that you just needed most of them.

Thank you again for the review, and I'm sorry it took me awhile to respond.


 Report Review

Review #6, by WitnesstoitAll Neville and the Dragon Research Bureau

10th July 2012:
Hey, hey!!

I thought that this was a really interesting use of the provided prompts. :) Gosh, I always love a good Neville fic. I thought that the plot was fun and different and fairly realistic in the aftermath of the second wizarding war... I mean, furniture dye is pretty coo ;) (alright, alright, its affect on unicorns may be a bit more profitable). I also think you fit the prompts in wel, without making them feel forced or unnatural. Diana's character was very entertaining and hilarious, not that I'd tell an author her business ;)

All in all, a very enjoyable read!! Gryffindor house should be proud. :)

Author's Response: Thank you! I was actually really nervous tackling Neville - I usually avoid focusing stories on major canon characters, because I'm so worried about them being OoC. This was probably the closest I've come, so I'm glad you liked it! ♥ (And also that you liked Diana - I have another story about her that I'm working on.)

Thank you so much for the review.


 Report Review

Review #7, by TyrannicFeenix Neville and the Dragon Research Bureau

10th July 2012:
Excellent work. Really good flow, feels nice and simple. Good idea too, another original one from the Gryffindor team, nice work. Enjoyed it top to bottom.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm glad you liked it. :)

 Report Review

Review #8, by Pen2Paper Neville and the Dragon Research Bureau

10th July 2012:
Nicely done Beezie! :D I loved the descriptions and I could't help but adore Diana!:) Neville seemed well in character and you've done your research on the Welsh Greens:) your story has great plausibility and the prompts blend into it seemlessly! Well done! Go Gryffindor!

Author's Response: Oh, thank you so much! I'm glad you liked it - this was such a fun task. :)

 Report Review

Review #9, by Jchrissy Neville and the Dragon Research Bureau

9th July 2012:
I think you did an amazing job at using the prompts without me feeling like you had to use them, if that makes sense.

Dark wizards using dragons is a very creative idea, and makes me want you to create maybe something along the lines of a short story, following that idea ;)!

I also like that you had Neville a bit sarcastic, he's obviously come out of his shell even more and really seemed like an aged Canon, in my opinion.

You even managed to give Diana a very complete feeling character in this short amount of words!

I also liked Neville's thought about killing Harry also, for good measure ;)!

Your submission is wonderful, I'm so proud to have so many wonderful writers in the same house with me!!!

Good Job, darling!

Jami

Author's Response: Oh, I'm really glad you liked it! I actually have a story that I'm working on about dragon pox right now (which will involve both dragons dark wizards at times) called "Memories and Time." (The main character is actually Diana, whose last name is Potter. ;) ... I have lots of backstory.)

Thank you so much for the review!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login