Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for Flames of Calamity
  
12 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Marshal Brave.

29th April 2017:
Funny enough the last fic I read was for the same competition! Anyway this was an interesting story reading the battle of Hogwarts from the perspective a different character I tend to like fics that do that. (I have a few written myself.)

I will say you take a different view of Susan that I don't often see but it is realistic. Some people would be scared stiff in the throws of battle they know what is right, what they need to do but they fear to take action to do what needs to be done and fear for their own lives. While some say that is low I don't think it is. It is human and I cannot fault Susan but you have her as an amazing character who over comes her fear and does fantastic when she does.

Honestly, good work with this story and how you mixed in some of the challenge words was very nicely done too! Kudos for mixing in some unrelated topics and objects and making them a natural rather than forced part of the story.

I am truly becoming a fan of your work, having read this and a few chapters of Seer, I can readily say I enjoy what you write and I am hoping you are the flag author not just for the game but then I get to read more of your lovely work!

 Report Review

Review #2, by adluvshp Brave.

29th April 2017:
Oh dear, this was sad and heart-wrenching but very hopeful at the same time too - a bittersweet fic indeed. I loved how Susan bones is the main character and she reacts like how a normal average person would react in war - she is frozen, terrified, confused, and doesn't know what to do or how to fight. The reaction and her emotions are totally natural. Plus, her best friend Maxine dies, my god, that is awful. Again, her grief and not wanting to carry on totally made sense. The bit about her crying in a corner and hoping no one hit her with a curse and feeling so small that no one even noticed her, so beautifully and tragically written and my heart simply went out to her in that moment. The presence of Zacharias Smith as the one who encourages her was surely a surprising one but it was also very sweet. I liked seeing this side of him where he is helping her and motivating her to keep fighting. The fiendfyre dragon and the way it instilled motivation in her that each one had a dragon inside - that analogy was brilliant and I loved how she did not give up and was able to keep fighting. The last line was simply beautiful and even though this was a short one-shot, it was lovely how you could see the transition in Susan's character and her frame of mind change.

CTF Review by Angie

 Report Review

Review #3, by nott theodore Brave.

14th April 2017:
CTF Review

Hi Drue! Ah it's been so long since I read any of your beautiful writing, but I'm glad I get to come back and read this, even if it's only a one-shot.

I honestly love this story here. It's so different and unusual but I think the concept behind it is really fantastic - of course people were scared and terrified during the Battle (they're still just children, for goodness' sake!) but we don't often get to see that portrayed in fic, I don't think. So I loved the fact that you wrote this story and explored that fear and that 'cowardice'.

Susan Bones was a great choice of character too, particularly as she's one of the original DA members and so I think she's kind of just expected to have been brave and fought without any problems. The fact that her and Maxine ran away from the fighting was so understandable though. They're not prepared for this and I can't blame them for wanting to stay alive.

Your choice of Zacharias Smith as the one to come and convince Susan that she is brave enough to come and join the fight was really interesting. I always thought that he'd left before the battle started so it's interesting to see him play such an important role here.

I loved the little details in this as well like the fact that Susan was trying to convince herself Ernie had just slipped Maxine a sleeping potion - it really builds up a fuller picture of the characters.

The beginning and end of this story were so powerful, and the imagery- especially the dragons - was fantastic. I loved seeing Susan roar and try to fight for her friend.

Sian :)

 Report Review

Review #4, by crimson quill Brave.

14th April 2017:
CTF

so I really enjoyed this! I know you were doing a challenge and you did it so well. I think starting with the killing curse was really shocking and powerful statement then the way you went on to describe it was so intense you created some amazing imagery here! I'm so impressed with how you did that. so from the first few words I'm already so interested in where you going with this.

I thought it was so good to get another character's point of view of the final battle especially as we don't quite know who it is at the start. I like the little mention about not thinking she would use to that magic.

I like the fact that we went to the dungeons to hide out because it's such a mind blowing and scary thing this battle. harry and his friends knew this was coming for along time but others within hogwarts didn't know so it's a total shock to the system which you got across really well.

I love zach smith's role within this story, I know a lot of people ain't keen so if they include him in fics then it's not really too positive but I loved his role in helping susan and maxine feel braver. poor susan but maxine died a hero. I think there is something really creepy that the phase 'death took her' so it was really affective how you used this here.

now, the next part with susan fighting, I love all the references to be dragon. Susan at the end was amazinggg. she was doing hufflepuff really proud!! I love that she found her feet and was ready to go to war!! go susan!! the imagery was all so spot on! good job! xo

 Report Review

Review #5, by melian Brave.

11th April 2017:
What a great story! I was hooked from the start. I admit it took me a while to figure out who the narrator was, but that was your intention, right? Maxine is of course an OC, but our heroine here is Susan Bones. It was a really interesting look at the final battle from the perspective of someone who wasnít a major player, or someone even mentioned in the books in that scene. Fleeing to the dungeons, waiting patiently (yes, a Hufflepuff trait, as you said), then having Zacharias Smith, of all people, talking her into continuing the fight once Maxine had died. What made you decide on Smith? There were others you could have chosen, other Hufflepuffs ... but maybe you wanted to write his redemption. Heís a rather intriguing character in many ways so I donít think I blame you.

My memory of the final battle is rather hazy and I donít remember if FiendFyre being used in the dungeons is canon or not, but frankly it doesnít really matter. Itís believable enough to be part of the story as we know that particular weapon was being used with abandon elsewhere in the castle. What I did like, though, were the little details you put in Ė the fact that the person attacking her was a Snatcher, for example, or the idea that she just went to the DA meetings to learn things, and she hadnít expected to actually have to use those skills in real life. That was what the Gryffindors did, not the Hufflepuffs. She wasnít meant to be brave.

So yes, this has made me think about the battle in a different way. And thaíts a good thing because itís helping me with my WIP Ė an added bonus!!! Lol. Great piece of writing; I really enjoyed it.

Cheers Mel

 Report Review

Review #6, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Brave.

11th April 2017:
Aw! I love Susan. There aren't enough Susan stories out there. I do think she was a secret kickass sort of girl. I think she could take down dragons and death eaters and anyone who ever got in her way. I liked the slow build up in the story. The fact that she was scared and really didn't want to go out there and fight. Believing in yourself is so difficult especially in times of peril but she had someone who believed in her. That speaks volumes about her character and his too. I kind of wish there would have been more Zacharias Smith because he seemed like a little gem in this story. I guess I never think about the other characters and what they were doing during the battle and how they were handling it. It's true. Harry had prepared others for the battle but I think that was unintentional. I mean he obviously had a closer relationship to others who were around him but then the DA meetings, though short lived, he tried to help everyone but there were people that were clearly at a different skill level than others. I'm glad she was able to push past her self doubt and her fear and just be. In war it's every hands on deck but I think she survived because like Zacharias and Maxine showed it's not every man for himself. The good side prevailed in my head because they worked together. Susan Bones, beating some bad guys down. I like it!

 Report Review

Review #7, by Debra20 Brave.

16th July 2013:
Hey! I'm here for the HC review-a-ton to leave some thoughts on this great entry from last year. I think you've done a marvellous job at including all the needed prompts. They blended in perfectly with the plot of the story.

Susan's characterisation was amazing. We could literally see her transforming throughout the one shot, from the frightened girl who refused to even face what was going on, choosing to hide in the dungeons, to this fierce fighter who would not allow anyone to hurt her or any of her friends again. It was brilliant to witness her forming determination. It made me feel strong as well (even if I haven't fought in the Battle of Hogwarts :P). You've really done a great job at writing an inspiring character :D

 Report Review

Review #8, by MissMdsty Brave.

13th March 2013:
Hello there dear!

This was such a lovely story about facing your fears and doing what's right in the face of danger.

I liked how you pictured this battle that goes on inside of Susan at the same time with the Battle of Hogwarts. She is torn between running for safety and staying behind to fight with her friends, which is something so true. We have all these characters in the series, like Harry, Ron, Hermione, Neville, Ginny who just jump up at the chance to go into a war and fight. But they knew it was a long time coming. They did it before. But for the innocent bystander, you get woken up in the middle of the night with the Dark army knocking on your bedroom door. Well, the first instinct is to run and hide! So I loved how real this character was!

The resolution she reached after finding out her friend was gone made my hair stand up and it was such a powerful moment! Good job!

I liked the style in which this was written and the spelling and grammar were very good! Congratulations on 50 stories! :)

Ral

Author's Response: Ah thank you so much for the review! I'm glad that you enjoyed it!!

Thanks so much for your input. I'm glad you found it believable.

Thanks so much for the review again, Ral! :)


 Report Review

Review #9, by Ginny45 Brave.

25th August 2012:
Hi!
I really loved this. When I first read the prompts, I had no idea how you were going to get them all in but you did it and it didn't seem forced.

I just spotted the one little mistake:
"she began welcoming them bravery as they approached her"
I assume that was meant to be bravely.

I really love the voice you gave her, she was real and honest. I always love reading things like this because war isn't all about heroic acts. I love the little moment between Zach and Susan. It really shows a distinction between the two sides for me, it is unlikely that a deatheater would have stopped and helped a fellow deatheater into the fight in that way. It just emphasises, for me, the difference between good and evil within the story.

Your first sentence immediately hooked me in and your writing and pace didn't falter the whole way through the story.
I am really glad I got to read this! Have a nice day :)
Emma

 Report Review

Review #10, by xelha horse Brave.

18th July 2012:
I enjoyed reading about this tale of a scared little girl who turned into a brave young woman, ready to take on the world one fire breath at a time. Great writing!!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm so glad to hear that you enjoyed it! Thanks so much for taking the time to share! :)

 Report Review

Review #11, by Violet Gryfindor Brave.

17th July 2012:
This is great, Drue! I love how you interpreted and made use of the prompts, making the dragon into fiendfyre rather than a real flesh-and-blood creature (but no less deadly, of course), and you weaved in all the details naturally (which was something I had trouble with, which is why it stands out to me :P).

The plot itself, however, is the best part. Susan's whereabouts during the battle remains a mystery, and you've done a wonderful job at filling in that gap. Her story is at once heart-wrenching and heart-warming because, through her loss, she's able to push on and fight back against her fears. It's sad that she thinks herself a coward - she's caught up in something way beyond her understanding. She's a scared seventeen year-old - she wasn't raised into this like Harry (and even he was scared at times). You make her sound very real and sympathetic. What stood out most to me at the beginning was the honesty and sincerity of Susan's narration. Those first paragraphs of the story are amazing - they captured my attention right away - and you closed off with an equally well-written finale.

Excellent work with this story! Not that I'm surprised, because you're one of the best action scene writers on the site. But what you've done with Susan's portrayal is fantastic - enough to make any Hufflepuff proud. ^_^

Author's Response: Oh my goodness, Susan! You are SUCH a sweetheart! Thank you SO much for this review! I can't tell you how much it means to me. To hear this from you, really makes my day.

You know that you're one of my idols on this site, so it always makes me so happy to hear your opinion.

I'm so glad you enjoyed it! And thanks so much for taking the time to review! You're amazing, hun.


 Report Review

Review #12, by TyrannicFeenix Brave.

10th July 2012:
I like it. This task is proving Susan can be a really fantastic character if given a moment to shine. All of the Hufflepuff entries I've read so far have been just brilliant. Good stuff, keep it up.

Also there were one or two minor spelling/grammer things need a little tweak. Might be worth giving it a once over before the deadline.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login