Reading Reviews for Exam Day
  
13 Reviews Found

Review #1, by 800 words of heaven Exam Day

22nd February 2013:
REVIEW TAG!

Why would you want to take this story down? It's hilarious! It's completely weird and whacky and wholeheartedly loveable!

I'm not a big fan of Cho Chang or Cedric Diggory, but I enjoyed reading about them! Cho reacted in a manner that with which I would expect Cho would react. Cedric seemed stereotypically Hufflepuff - unexplainably happy, and eager to help. His efforts concerning the dragon might not have been the stuff of heroes, but were entertaining nonetheless - making him quite admirable!

Can I just say that when I read Egyptian Paper Dragon, all I could think was "Oh, my God - Professor Flitwick's been reading The Quibbler!" because this fantastic creature sounds just like something about which Luna would talk!

A charming read, and I thorougly enjoyed myself!

Author's Response: I'm not used to writing such... mindless stories, I guess? I have been told to leave it up here, though, and so it shall remain here! For now, at least. I've never deleted a story, anyway, and it would be painful to start...

Cedric. ♥ I am REALLY not a Cho fan, though, but for last summer's House Cup we were tasked with writing her, and it was more enjoyable than I anticipated! I'm glad you thought her reactions were on point, too. That does mean a lot.

I have absolutely no idea where the Egyptian Paper Lizard comes from. It does sound like something out of The Quibbler! Maybe Luna passes around free copies in the common room -- who knows?

Thank you for reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #2, by CassiePotter Exam Day

21st July 2012:
That was so funny! I loved how you incorporated all of the prompts, and it still, flowed very nicely. It didn't seemed forced. And I really enjoyed Cedric in this one-shot! He seemed rather snooty, didn't he? Haha. Great one-shot! 10/10
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Ahaha, you have found my silly challenge story! I wrote this in a relatively short span of time, and it's gone through almost no editing processes, so I'm happy you enjoyed it nonetheless. :D And after saying that, I'm quite glad it didn't feel forced to you!

Thank you for reviewing this -- you definitely made me smile. :3 Snooty Cedric forever! ♥


 Report Review

Review #3, by academica Exam Day

18th July 2012:
Jane! Oh, dear.

This was really adorable. I cannot possibly imagine a more ludicrous format for an exam, but then again, it is Hogwarts, so... yes. Go Cho go! And you've got Cedric in there being all pretty, and I especially like how the whole thing is so silly that she doesn't even think to cry about him until she wakes up at the end. You did a great job of fitting in so many prompts, and I find the whole thing realistic, in a strange way - after all, my dreams are usually filled with regression equations around exam time, and that's plenty ludicrous.

-Amanda

Author's Response: "Oh, dear" is probably the best term to sum up this story. :3 I've said this in a fair number of responses below, but this story is a result of being clueless about prompts and not really liking Cho all that much, so it's all just rather ridiculous and silly.

I'm glad you liked it, though! Of course I've got Cedric, too -- best thing about this character was it allowed me to write him in there. :D I've had a few ludicrous dreams in my day, too, although nothing quite as exciting as a book-dragon. Something my subconscious should work on!

Thank you for taking the time to review this story for me, Amanda! It really does mean a lot to me to see you back here again! ♥


 Report Review

Review #4, by StEpH_M Exam Day

18th July 2012:
Haha, I loved it, a paper dragon? It was great and imaginative :) Fair warning this Review shall have no struck but completely out of order context. :)

I liked how ridiculous most of it was, ollivander on top of a bookshelf, Cedric magically changing clothes, did I mention the dragon? I also loved how he sprayed ink instead of spouting fire. It was a nice touch to the rather amusing dragon made of pages of books. I also love how you used muggle books in your story instead of Wizard books with would be more common in the Hogwarts library then a muggle book such as Moby Dick.

I like how the dream in some weird way made sense, it's something she would dream of. Books and examination, both Ravenclaw things to worry about or indulge in. And a dragon, fitting nicely with Cedric and her 4th year.

There were a few little errors here and there but nothing that ruined the flow of the story :)

Lovely story and it made me smile, great job :)

- Steph

Author's Response: Quite frankly, I'm really not a fan of Cho, nor did I have the first clue how to go about using the prompts -- so I literally just set my fingers to the keyboard, and this is what came out. :D It's all supposed to be rather ridiculous and silly, of course, and nothing /has/ to make sense (it is a dream!), so any and all justifications as to what I chose to use and not to use can be pushed towards that excuse. :P

Ooh, errors? I'm always interested in making my stories as perfect as possible; there's no such thing, of course, but if you could tell me what needs fixing, I'd be happy to do it. I'm glad this story made you smile, and thank you for taking the time to leave a review on it, Steph! :)


 Report Review

Review #5, by Alopex Exam Day

12th July 2012:
Wow, a lot of people have gone the dream route! I guess that does allow for some more unusual scenarios, though, which does help to work the prompts in. Also, I am quite intrigued by the way you invented an unusual type of dragon . . . a dragon made of paper that spits ink? It seems like a logical extension of the HP world.

You managed to slip the prompts in nicely, and wrote a creative story to boot. I enjoyed reading it, and the dream sequence went well also, I thought. Nice job! :)

Author's Response: Ahaha, I just told maskedmuggle this, but I had no idea how many people wrote their stories as dreams before that was mentioned to me. :P That probably is why people wrote dreams, and it's definitely why I did -- I'm not a huge Cho fan, but I wanted to contribute, so this just happened in a little more than an hour. :D Coherency was more than I expected from it, too, so I'm pleased!

I think it's really commendable you managed to review all the Ravenclaw entries -- seriously, I don't know how you managed it. ;) I really do appreciate your taking the time to read this for me, and I'm really, really happy you liked it! Thank you very much! ♥


 Report Review

Review #6, by maskedmuggle Exam Day

12th July 2012:
Hey! :)

AHH I LOVED THIS! You know, dreams are a very common interpretation of the prompts + Cho, but what I absolutely love about yours is that your dream is not Cho-mourning-Cedric-nightmares, but fun, crazy, weird, wacky and out of the normal! I love the Egyptian Paper-Lizard, and how to defeat it you need to read it - such a creative idea!
Also: robes make of leather. GOLD.

All the characters were fantastic. Cho was really great - it wasn't what you'd expect, but she still felt so realistic and canon. I loved Cedric and Flitwick and Ollivander - they all still felt so canon even amidst the craziness of the dream. Basically, the plot of this is so fantastic, and really so amusing and fun to read. I really enjoyed this story! WHY DO YOU WRITE SO BRILLIANTLY?

You incorporated the prompts so flawlessly, and everything seemed to be there. And you did it so cleverly too, I loved that Cho was studying for her Care of Magical Creatures O.W.L, and I loved the names of these textbooks: Caring for Your Hungarian Horntail, A History of the Chinese Fireball, When Your Blast-Ended Skrewt Might Need a Friend. So clever! SO. I LOVED THIS, IN CASE YOU CAN'T TELL. You are so brilliant! And this story is brilliant!

- MM

Author's Response: Charlotte! ♥ Thank you so much for coming by and reviewing this for me -- that's just so awesome that you were willing to do that. :) And sorry for the long delay in responding to this, too!

I didn't realize how common dream-stories were until you and Alo mentioned it, but it was a way I saw of dealing with a) a character I'm not very fond of, and b) prompts I had no clue what to do with. :P I literally just started typing... and this was the result! Gahh, I'm so happy you liked this. ♥ I tried to keep everything somewhat canon, despite, you know, the craziness -- you are so sweet!

The textbook names were also wild inventions from the top of my head, and really, it's pretty much a success for me that this ended up coherent at all. :3 I'm really happy you liked it! You are fab!!


 Report Review

Review #7, by DracoFerret11 Exam Day

11th July 2012:
Hey there! This is DarkRose from the forums. :] Well done with your Task One entry! I'm definitely loving all of our Ravenclaw stories! I think yours was great, especially since it was a lot happier than everything else I've read so far. :o It made me laugh. I could tell the story was a dream, but that didn't bother me at all. I liked how goofy everything was. It definitely seemed like a dream someone might have if they were stressed out before their exams. And you worked in all the prompts so creatively! Good job! I can't wait to see how this challenge ends on the forums. You've done Ravenclaw proud.

--Emily

Author's Response: Thank you for taking the time to drop by and review this for me! :) This is a silly little story, to be sure, but I'm glad you liked it all the same. I don't like Cho very much, so I wanted to make this as light-hearted and fun as possible, to make sure I liked writing it! :P

Thanks for all the organizing and teamwork you've done so far in the Cup; you're making Ravenclaw proud if anyone is. :) Thanks again for taking the time to stop by and leave your opinion on this!


 Report Review

Review #8, by charlottetrips Exam Day

11th July 2012:
OMGE!!

(Yes, that actually came out of my fingers.)

This was SO different and unique and I’m so happy that Cho wasn’t the sobby Cho or the angsty Cho (though I’ve read a few good ones today) because this Cho was someone that I could actually be friends with! I would totally love to see a test like that! Just because we’re all bookworms and library-squatters doesn’t mean that life isn’t exciting for us!! Witness this story!

Hilarious and ridiculous but in a brilliant way, girl. Love it, seriously, just love it to pieces! (Flitwick was perfect in this.)

xChar

P.S. When Your Blast-Ended Skrewt Might Need a Friend - extra ♥

Author's Response: Full disclosure: I really, really dislike Cho, and when I found out I'd have to write a story about her, I very nearly didn't. :P So I'm really glad that you found her likable, in the end! I was sort of at a loss as to how to deal with these prompts, so I just sort of threw them into a crazy scenario as I saw fit, without much rhyme or reason at all. ;)

I'm so happy you liked this, Char -- and thank you for taking the time to leave me a review on it! ♥ I had a lot of fun just being silly, and I'm glad to know it turned out (somewhat) all right in the end! :)


 Report Review

Review #9, by BKL8008 Exam Day

9th July 2012:
That was funny! I almost didn't read it because it was Cho, I have to confess, but I'm glad I did. Nightmares are such fun, aren't they? And this was a good one. Then twist of an ending was nicely done, too.

Author's Response: Quite frankly, I almost didn't write this because it was Cho! But it did turn out to be fun, and I'm glad I did write it -- and that you chose to review it, too! You're a very dedicated reviewer of mine, and I really must thank you for it.

This story came from scenic nowhere, and it's really just a very silly drabble, but I'm glad you enjoyed it all the same. Thank you for taking your time to leave your opinion on it! ♥


 Report Review

Review #10, by Aiedail Exam Day

9th July 2012:
. . . wow i am laughing really hard still and i am done reading ahuhuhu i am just sitting here in my room alone with one lamp on and it is almost two a.m. and i'm not sorry for anything

how do i begin? what better way than to quote back at you your own fic with the utmost respect and appreciation:

"I nearly got caught by Filch, had to knock him out with a quick Sleeping Draught --" WHAT EVEN CEDRIC (need i say more)

"rather good for Charms, if I'm remembering correctly, and I always am..." DAT LINE OMG

""Egyptian Paper-Lizards hate leather," Cedric informed her helpfully" YES, cedric, that is the most important / useful fact of all of them at this moment omg stop stoppp

" "We can't waste all that dragon blood, can we? It's great, you can use it to clean ovens or get spots out of clothes, or to heal injuries, and sometimes you can see the future in it, and it makes a lovely red hair dye --"" i'm sorry but i lost it at "and sometimes you can see the future in it" bc i can just imagine his voice right there and he is adorable and hilarious how do you write how do words

also can i just defend joyce right now has anybody read the lines "and i saw myself as a creature driven and derided by vanity..." and fallen asleep how can you close your eyes with all those tears in the way hmmm

i'm actually disappointed it was a dream bc that madness = hogwarts, to me, but all the same, this was a spectacular entry and i am really in awe of your skill as a humor writer. you can tell that these are all extremely smart plot points, whether or not you intended them to happen as they did or not. it's a bit sad that old ced won't make a reappearance but, alas, i suppose that is life.

call me ishmael was perfect, too, i'm still chuckling, which is an r.c.-blacklisted word to use, but i'm chuckling anyway.

-lilyeth

Author's Response: So, I'm quite tired (as I'm sure you were upon leaving this) and so you're going to have to excuse this response, because it just will not be up to snuff. APOLOGIES ~ ♥

All your quotes. :D You have basically succeeded in picking out all my favorite bits of the story, which should surprise me more than it does. Tbh, I do believe ghost!Cedric inspired a lot of pesky!Cedric -- that, and some horrendously cracky Cedric things I've written for Sarah in the past. But yes! Lots of YOUR Cedric is there, too!

Poor Joyce. :) We shall pretend the earlier boy read from one of his novels, yes? I really do appreciate your humor comment, especially since your AIF humor is basically my favorite. ♥ Thank you so much for this review, Lily! And I'm so sorry for the response quality. :( I (hope) to do better in the future!


 Report Review

Review #11, by TyrannicFeenix Exam Day

8th July 2012:
Hilarious, best Cho fic I've read yet. Truely unique setting. Where on earth did this one spring from? Had you been planning a dream fic and this just slipped nicely into the outline? Abosulte cracker. Nice stuff. 10/10

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked it -- especially seeing as I don't particularly care for Cho! :D This came, I'll be quite honest, from an adverse attitude towards the prompts, and a need to write something for the Cup combined with a desire not to. That sounds horrible, but this is rather a silly story, so there you have it! Absolutely nothing planned. ;)

Thank you for taking the time to review this, though! It really does mean a lot to me that you did, and I hope to see you back this way before long. :3 ♥


 Report Review

Review #12, by WitnesstoitAll Exam Day

8th July 2012:
Goodness gracious, Rachel.

Please, let me borrow your brain for a day. You do gorgous stylish one shots, amazing action chapters, and now you can add brilliant humour to your list of acalades that I've discovered. This had me rolling (especially since I know how much you love Cho :P ) You wove the prompts into it very well, it was possible to almost forget that this wasn't an entirely organic piece of writing.

Because I laughed so much and don't know what else to do in this review, I'm just going to list a few of my favourite quotes:

Flitwick laughed happily. “Why, Miss Chang, I thought you read the memo! Today, you are going to be fighting” – and he pointed his wand at the set of double doors behind him – “this! It's an Egyptian Paper-Lizard! The strangest of all dragons, to be sure!” -- I don't know why, but this just seems /so/ flitwick. I can hear his little squeaky voice saying it.

She was about to open her mouth and inform him of many things – namely, that he was dead, and Egyptian Paper-Lizards didn’t exist – but before she could, there was a tremendous bang, and the library’s double doors flew open. --- Just LULZ. So funny.

And, finally: The boy before you read out a passage from Joyce, and goodness knows, he nearly put me to sleep…” He wiped an invisible tear from his eye. --- What a perfectly place academic joke to cap off this brilliant ravenclaw entry.

Lastly I just wanted to say that this entire one shot (not the specifics, but the concept) is my life in vet school. Things I study always turn up in my dreams prior to big exams. :)

Well done
xoxo

Author's Response: I would love to let you borrow my brain, if I thought I might be able to survive without it. :3 I'm honestly so, so happy that you think I can write humor, though! It's one of the areas I struggle with most in my writing (that and action scenes) and positive feedback in that direction is just asdfghjkl; ♥ Thank youuu!

I loved writing Flitwick in this, and I think I took a lot of my characterization of him from Lily's portrayal in Adventure and AIF. :D And for some reason my headcanon Flitwick always wears Birkenstocks, and who can hate a little old man in Birkenstocks? ♥

I love fic dreams; I get those quite a lot, and can totally sympathize as far as vet dreams go. Even though that's not quite the same, but let's make-believe. :3 THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR REVIEWING THIS, THOUGH! You totally didn't have to, and it's not meant to be taken seriously, and yet your review was so lovely (as always) and I appreciated it more than words convey. :)


 Report Review

Review #13, by Toujours Padfoot Exam Day

8th July 2012:
OH HEY, ARE YOU READY FOR ME TO REGURGITATE YOUR STORY BACK AT YOU?

*lots of cheers*

OKAY, AWESOME.

Firstlies: So, so proud of you for putting your Cho-dislike aside and making her fun! She's definitely in what is probably the worst period of her young life right now, but she's managing to keep her head above water. Even with the ghost of Cedric (I KNEW you would work him into this story, I just knew it!) loitering all around, telling her she has to focus on her task for the dream!exam, she's still keeping her head on her shoulders and not running around wildly in a panic, doing some gross sobbing, etc. She and ghost Cedric make a good team!

OH ALSO, Flitwick! Canon! Seething in envy because I love the dialogue you gave to him. Very realistic, and very him. I did a lot of seething while reading this, actually, with jealousy; and you are probably rolling your eyes but it's true. (I can't believe you contemplated getting rid of this after the Cup! It's got such humorous stuff in it!!)

Also love how you incorporated all of the prompts. You spaced them out well and made them very subtle and natural - like with the dragon's blood. That was my favorite line of Cedric's, I think - seeing the future in it and dragon's blood as a hair dye. Cedric ♥ I love how earnest and funny and trying-to-be-helpful-but-actually-being-pesky he is here.

I think that my favorite part of the one-shot is that it's exactly the sort of thing that could happen in a dream - the giant paper dragon that you had to read, and it spewed ink, and Cho triumphantly calling out CALL ME ISHMAEL, it had me in stitches. XD

Also, Cedric in leather robes.

:D :D :D

YOU ARE BRILL~

Author's Response: I CANNOT RESPOND TO THIS. THE END.

But not really the end, ofc. ♥ I'm still mini-cringing at the fact that I had the audacity to put this up on my page, but now it's got a banner and 5 reviews so I'd feel bad taking it down. Ah, well. The show goes on, as it were!

Lulz, it was so hard to give Cho some credit here. xD Is that a horrible thing to say? I very nearly said sod it all and went with someone else, but it was easy points, so meh. Although she is a crybaby. And I still do not like her. :3 (P.S. Flitwick wears Birkenstocks, full stop. That is canon. But in all seriousness, I'm really happy you liked him!)

MMM CEDRIC. All up in those leather robes, yo. ♥ He's such a pest here, though, more like chapter-thirteen-and-a-half Cedric (pulse pulse pulse) and now that I'm thinking about it, I do think that's what my mind was calling up. Whoops.

Baww. You are honestly the greatest. Like, forillz. You totally didn't have to read this story, and you probably shouldn't have, and yet you DID and you were SO NICE and I have a lot of emotions right now, which shouldn't even happen because this fic is like whoa weird.

My brain cannot form words right now. ♥ Seriously, thank you so much for loving this. You made me love it, too, and that's a lot. :3 LOVE YOU ~


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login