Reading Reviews for Task One Challenge - Coliseum
  
11 Reviews Found

Review #1, by alicia and anne Betrayal

30th December 2012:
Haha brilliant! I love the Salazar brought a Dragon into the duel :D Oh how I wished I could have been there to see that.
That was really good, it was great how you wrote the friendship between the two and how the duel was getting out of control, and how hurt Godric was that Salazar was betraying them all in his eyes.
That was a very well written battle and I like how all of your prompts flowed so nicely together :D
I wonder if the two will ever meet again, and if they'll have another dangerous battle :D
Another wonderful story of yours :D
Love your Secret Santa full of Slytherin Pride :D

 Report Review

Review #2, by adluvshp Betrayal

18th July 2012:
Mike!

Wow this was a very different piece. I like how you portrayed Salazar and Godric. The narrative flowed well. I liked how you didn't drag the duel. The use of the prompts was clever too. I also liked how you didn't make anyone win but made it a draw. The flow was well written too, and the plot well-structured.

I loved this line - "Godricís bravery shone brightly while Salazarís ambition shone just as bright." It really expressed so much in such a few words.

Good job!
9/10
Cheers!
AD

Slytherin for the Cup 2012.

Author's Response: Hey! xD

Woohoo for being different! Glad you liked everything and that the duel wasn't dragged out. The prompts. *dies* Thanks!

Hehe, I like that line too :D

Thanks!


 Report Review

Review #3, by kalkay Betrayal

18th July 2012:
MIKE! I absolutely love this story! I can't believe how well the story flowed with all the prompts. One of my favorite things about this was the opening. You wrote it so wonderfully and really put the reader in the story.

The last line too! OHHH my. I want to read more soo bad. I hope that you continue this!

-Kaykay :)

Author's Response: KAYKAY! Omg, this review is basically all squeeing to me. I'm glad you loved it so much! And *Phew* I thought the opening was a little cheesy :P

I loved writing the last line. I had too much fun writing that. And don't worry, there's a chapter 2 ;) I couldn't NOT continue this. :ninja:

Mike. :D


 Report Review

Review #4, by Levana Betrayal

18th July 2012:
Hey Mike!

I really love your story. The action is awesome and it's well written. I love how Salazar has the Dragon. I can see him doing something like that, I know that I would. It made me feel bad for Salazar, when he kept saying "I will win" but it turned out to be a draw :( Good Job Mike, I really love this!

~Maggie

Author's Response: Maggie!

Hehe thanks! I love action, I think I'm the best at it :p well... Not like the best person at writing it but I write it the best in my capabilities... You know what I mean xD I, for some reason, see Salazar as one who would really love dragons so I'm glad you do too! :D Hehe :P Thanks!! :D

Mike.


 Report Review

Review #5, by ScorpiusRose17 Betrayal

16th July 2012:
Hi there!

I am finally here with your review!

I really liked the way that the story really kicks off getting straight to the point and action. I also really like the way that you set it up to be like some sort of annual thing that witches and wizards do.

Salazar was well characterized and held his darker, inner most emotions and thoughts to himself. Very Slytherin. I also liked his cunning with the rock to call the dragon and the determination he has to beat Gryffindor.

Godric was really well characterized as well. You really got that sense of bravery when he summoned the sword to him. Nothing screams bravery to me more than a sword. I also got the sense that he wore his emotions on his sleeve. He really puts it out there for everyone to see. Flaw or strength? I don't know.

I thought that the flow of the chapter was great. You did a great job at keeping the action going, without making it confusing or messy while it transitioned over.

Keep up the awesome writing!!! =)

-SR17

Author's Response: Hey! :D

Hehe thanks! I'm glad you liked how I set it up, I was worrying over that when I was writing it!

I'm glad you liked the characterization of the two! I was a little unsure about that too. And Godric's show of emotion could be a mix of both. ;) You never know.

Yay! :D Flow! Thank you so much!

I will :D

Mike.


 Report Review

Review #6, by NaidatheRavenclaw Betrayal

13th July 2012:
Mike, you have improved so much since I last read your stories! I'm really impressed :D I think this is the first fic from Slytherin that I've read, so I can't say I have much to compare it to, but it was honestly a wonderful read.

I have to admit, I was cheering for Gordric throughout this whole story. I kept thinking that there's no way he could lose before remembering that it would be hardly be fair to kill of your own champion in your one shot :P I liked your ultimate ending though - your champion still got away and no one had to get hurt xD

Slytherin was absolutely perfect in this. He did seem properly cunning and power hungry and I loved that last sentence. It summed him up perfectly (and it gave me way too much pleasure to know that he won't win, muahahahaha xD) You wrote the action sequences really well, and it was probably the most suspenseful one shot I've read so far (and believe me, this is like the 20th story I've read :P)

Great job :)

-Naida

Author's Response: Woohoo! I'm glad you think I've improved so much! :D And that's you're impressed!!

Hehe that's alright! :p But yeah, no killing of Salazar from me :P Weee yay! You like my ending xD

I'm glad he seemed perfect, being cunning and power hungry. I personally like that last sentence too hehe (And AHA xD Niiicceee :P ). Woo!

THANKS NAIDA!!

Mike.


 Report Review

Review #7, by luvinpadfoot Betrayal

12th July 2012:
Wow! I was sitting on the edge of my seat waiting to see who was going to win/survive! The emotion and strength of both men was played so well throughout the story. Salazar and Godric seemed so close, even while dueling it was like they knew each other's minds.

You incorporated the prompts so well! Great story!

Slytherin House Cup 2012

Author's Response: Sitting on the edge is a reaction I am glad I got from you. :D I'm especially happy that you thought the emotion was used well! And that the two were close which is what I wanted! :D

Woo! Thank you so much!

Mike.


 Report Review

Review #8, by Dark Whisper Betrayal

11th July 2012:
Ooh... I really liked this duel in a Coliseum. Very cool. And who wouldn't want to watch two wizards battle it out... with a dragon thrown in the mix? Great job!

Dark Whisper
Go Slytherin!

Author's Response: Ahh! Thank you! :D I'm so glad you liked this! And who wouldn't is a good question? :P

Mike.
Woo Slytherin!


 Report Review

Review #9, by BKL8008 Betrayal

10th July 2012:
Exciting! I can see Slytherin leaving in just a fashion, too. Taming a dragon might be a bit of a stretch, though. Maybe he raised it from an egg? Still, a great read.

Author's Response: Hey! I believe I mentioned that he raised it but I probably skipped over it, in my head he raised it from an egg :P Thanks for reviewing! :D

Mike.


 Report Review

Review #10, by CloakAuror9 Betrayal

10th July 2012:
Hello there, Mike! (Like you didn't see this one coming!) :P

This is a really great story, the fact that its written for the HC challenge just makes it a thousand times more awesome. ;)

I really like how you didn't dilly-dally at the start. It was just right off the bat, and it got me interested so quickly. (Not that I wasn't interested in the story, beforehand).

I love the dragon! There's so much thrill in that, great description and explanation. I can just so imagine this happening in the Coliseum in Rome, the Hungarian Horn Tail breathing out fire; Salazar standing on his so-called 'pet'; and Godric probably confused and scared of what's happening around him.

Did I mention how much I enjoyed the amount of description that was in the story? I thought you really painted a great scene for us in such a short amount of words. I especially liked how you didn't forget about the crowd, though I was hoping more reactions from them...maybe they were scared out of their wits too. Hungarian Horntails are no easy business, who even calls them 'pets' anyway? The thing is a monster!

The traits of Godric and Salazar were also displayed very well, a factor that I enjoyed very. You can just feel the loyalty radiating from Godric at the start of the battle, then his so-called 'best friend' just betrays him -poor guy. Then there's Salazar, being the angsty guy he is and representing our house with so much cunningness. The Sorting Hat's right 'Those cunning folks use any means to achieve their ends' Man, Salazar must've been pretty desperate...keeping a dragon as a pet and using it on Godric like that. :P

Anywho, I thought you did a really fantastic job with the story and since this is a WIP, I'll be on the lookout for more (By this I mean, tell me on skype when there's a new chapter published!)

Fantastic Founders story, I'm so happy that you tackled it so well! :D

Slytherin For The Win,
Izzy xx

Author's Response: Hello there Izzy, I'm reading this in a terrible british accent, but that makes this response all the much better eh?

I'm glad you liked it so much! :D Like, I was extremely happy when I read this review. I really don't know how to respond but OMG I LOVE YOU. :p Glad you liked everything! And I'm pretty sure I wrote that the crowd ran away right? xD I think I did? :P

THANK YOU SO MUCH. *squishes*

Mike.


 Report Review

Review #11, by TyrannicFeenix Betrayal

8th July 2012:
Very interesting. Salazar using the dirty tactics there, very nice. Certainly a good fic, keeps you reading right up until the end. Such good work from all the entrants in the Task so far.

Author's Response: Thank you for reviewing! :D It made my night. Glad you liked my story!

Mike.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login