Reading Reviews for Reliving: Task One Challenge
  
18 Reviews Found

Review #1, by AlexFan Reliving: Task One Challenge

9th April 2013:
Oo, this was really interesting and to be perfectl honest, the only Task One Challenge I've read. It was really good though, you had lots of discription which was great and I didn't spot any punctuation errors which was also great.

The flow was really great as well and you had me hooked from the very beginning of this. I could really feel Cho's nervousness and fear and her sadness at the same time.

Anyway, this was a really great story and I'm glad that I read it!

Author's Response: Hey there, thanks for stopping by! Haha, there's loads of them out there - I definitely recommend WitnesstoitAll's which was simply beautiful!

Thank you so much! It was actually fairly difficult to write since I'm hopeless at writing action scenes, but I enjoyed it so much! I'm glad you liked it and enjoyed reading it! :)

Aph xx


 Report Review

Review #2, by patronus_charm Reliving: Task One Challenge

5th March 2013:
Hello there!

When the house cup happened I was a newbie, so I didn’t really know what was going on, so I really wanted to read this, as being a fellow ‘Claw, I wanted to know what to do for this years cup!

I really loved those memories of Cho and Cedric, they were just so cute and fluffy. I’ve always had a soft spot for this ship, yet you never find stories about them, so I was glad to find this! You got a real sense of the genuine feeling for one another, and it seemed as if it wasn’t just one of those teen romances, but they actually liked one another and that was really nice to see.

I hate how much hate Cho gets for being a teary eyed girl, but come on her boyfriend died! I thought it was really nice how much you showed she was affected by it, and it almost brought tears to my eyes that even years after he died, she was still affected by it, and was grieving for him.

I liked the analogy of Cho fighting the dragon, also meaning that she was fighting her feelings, and trying to banish them from her. It really created a powerful idea in my head, and it just made you realise how much she had suffered.

I really enjoyed this one-shot, so I was glad that I read it!

-Kiana!

Author's Response: Hey there! Yeah, this was the first house cup I've participated in on the forums, so it was pretty exciting for me - I think I was around for the previous one as well, but, like you, had absolutely no idea what was going on, so didn't participate.

Same here! There's just something so beautifully tragic about them, you know? The whole fact that she likes him and he likes her and everything seems great and then, out of the blue (for them, at least) he gets killed and... that's it. I've always liked the idea that they were serious - insofar as teen romances can be serious, since Cedric seemed like that kinda guy...

I know! Her boyfriend may or may not have been murdered when she was fifteen/sixteen. That's going to leave scars for a long, long time and of course she's going to cry! Yeah, I never thought there would be some kind of quick-fix type thing for Cho... hence she's still grieving here.

Haha, I love you for this. Honestly, since writing this I've had so many different interpretations of what this one-shot means and is actually about and what's actually happening, etc. I love it - seeing what people think of it kinda makes what my original idea was irrelevant. So yeah, thank you so much for that! :)

Thank you for the wonderful review - it really is great!

Aph xx


 Report Review

Review #3, by Deltaris Reliving: Task One Challenge

18th July 2012:
I really like how you've chose to show a literal form of Cho 'facing her dragons' with Cedric's death and everything that came after. It's not only fighting the dragon that will help Cho, it's actually facing her own feelings, and both tie together wonderfully here.

'and didn't have an oven which needed cleaning either.' - that made me laugh.

Cho's memories of Cedric's death are extremely emotional. You really handled her dealing with death wonderfully and tastefully in this.

You did a great job showing the game of cat and mouse between Cho and the dragon as well. It could've very well come out awkwardly and unneeded, but your descriptions and pace were fantastic.

Great job!
Del<3

Author's Response: Hey there! Yeah, it sort of stemmed from the idea of Cho seeking closure after the tournament and somehow this came out O.o She's sort of facing everything: herself, the dragon, Cedric's memory, her grief... everything. Kinda intense, lol.

Yes! Random comedy is always good! Unintentional - but good! :D

Thank you! I'm so glad you thought that. Death and grief are obviously very emotive subjects and I tried not to be over-the-top or too comical with it or to make Cho too obsessive (by the time this is set, Cedric's been dead for four or five years, after all). And yeah, the whole cat-and-mouse thing... well, a dragon is a predator, right? It was a predator/prey thing, really :P

Thank you so much for this wonderful review!

Aph xx


 Report Review

Review #4, by StEpH_M Reliving: Task One Challenge

18th July 2012:
I really like this story, it's nice and to the point, admittedly at first I was a bit confused by it all, I was questioning why she would go looking for dragons and try to fight one, but after a while I understood her reasoning behind it. Her need to try and dull the pain she had been feeling ever since Cedric died. That she had to relive all her experiences with him so that maybe she could get some closer. It's definitely a different way of looking at grieving. That she is not wallowing more using actions to try and release her pain, instead of tears.

I like that through it you bought in memories of her time with Cedric of the time when he did exactly what she was doing at that moment it was a nice touch. I also liked that sort of internal dialoge, her telling herself that now wasn't the time for reminiscing, that it could be done after the impending dragon wasn't in her current vicinity. It made the story more realistic and easier to follow.

Some bits where a bit jumpy in the story and made a few section hard to follow but I think it was more a matter of wording then anything else. Otherwise this was a lovely story and I enjoyed reading it.

Great Job. W.W.W.W.W :)

- Steph

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Yeah, I know, it is a bit confusing. It didn't seem that confusing when I wrote it - then I read it over and kinda went 'huh', but then of course it was too late and I didn't really have the heart to change it. I'm so glad you got it, though - the whole 'closure through experience' thing is exactly what she's doing! By imitating the tournament, she's trying to understand why he died and just how dangerous the tournament was.

I really enjoyed writing the memories of Cedric. I think if the word limit had been higher, I might have expanded on those a bit more, maybe put in a bit more detail and spread the action out a bit more... I dunno...

Yeah, I wrote it really quickly and some bits are pretty rough in place. I'm intending to go on a huge editing spree this Christmas, so beware! ;)

Thank you so much for the review and sorry the response is so late!

Aph xx


 Report Review

Review #5, by javct Reliving: Task One Challenge

13th July 2012:
TAG!!

I adored this! Any Cho&Cedric centered story. They were just so beautiful together and all of this fics (even if it was only for a sentence) had its bittersweet moments. This was no different; that paragraph about the things Cho remembered about Cedric. beautiful (to say the least).

Shamefully, I haven't read many House Cup stories (GO 'CLAWS!) but from the ones I have read, this one is my favourite so far.

Just one thing, is this an elaborate dream? Or a memory? Or one of those weird-physic dreams/memories some people have when they're going through trauma (they experience other people's memories)?

(Okay, I don't know where I pulled that last one out of...)

Because of Cedric's wand just... appearing, and then the golden egg (why did she have it? This, however, may just be entirely obvious and I'm just missing it because I'm so tired) and then the last line as well.

Was/Is she going through some-weird-form of the Triwizard tournament? Okay, I'll stop with the theories now but I really enjoyed this story. You wrote it beautifully! *favourited*

Author's Response: Thanks! Cho and Cedric are just an adorable couple... it's such a shame we didn't see much of them in the books and that every time we did see them it was coloured by Harry's jealousy... Oh well. Thank you so much!

Gosh, really? Thank you so much!

Mm... a lot of other people have asked me if this is actually real or not. Honestly, I wrote it assuming that it was real, that it was all actually happening, but I'm just going to be annoying and say you can choose to look at it however you like ;)

Cedric's wand was the one she was holding in her hand first, and the egg was just a metaphor, lol. Don't worry about it - it is kinda ambiguous. That's what happens when I write one-shots in two hours or so... :P

Thank you so so much for this lovely review! :)

Aph xx


 Report Review

Review #6, by sophie_hatter Reliving: Task One Challenge

13th July 2012:
Hello! I loved this house cup entry - so many great Ravenclaw stories, so hard to choose! What was great about this was the dry humour you included in amongst the tension: '...didn't have an oven which needed cleaning either.' Genius! Your use of prompts was great too - well done for including them all!

Author's Response: I know, right? We have so many great writers in our house! Haha, I didn't originally intend for that to be funny, but, like so many other things about this story, it seems to have taken on a life of its own.

Thank you for the great review!

Aph xx


 Report Review

Review #7, by manno_malfoy Reliving: Task One Challenge

13th July 2012:
I don't know what to say really but I must first congratulate you on always being able to write things so beautifully! I know for a fact that description is hardly a problem for you and you've shown that very well in this story. You made us feel that everything is real and vibrant around her -I especially liked the rock part where she knew her hands would be red and all... It really felt authentic.

But then, weird things began to pop up, like Cedric's wand and I began to question the reality of the whole situation. I'm not sure if I'm right or not about this not being real -I am not sure how it could be a dream yet be so elaborate and sensible, but I'm sure there's a more logical explanation... Maybe a Pensieve?

I think I'll keep on trying to figure it out anyway!

Also, I liked the bit where you made her begin to 'flourish in the face of adversity' through remembering the special moments she and Cedric had shared. It really is sweet and somewhat romantic!

Anyway I do believe that you've done a marvellous job on this entry and that there certainly is something about it -the ambiguity of its theme, perhaps- that distinguishes it from others'!

-Manno

Author's Response: Thank you so much! :) I tried really hard not to put too much description in this one to keep it within the required wordcount, you know.

Yeah, it is a bit weird. I didn't notice that at all until a couple of people pointed it out to me and I looked back over it with that in mind and was like 'oh,yeah' :P I wrote it assuming that it was real - Cedric's wand was really there (I think the little backstory-type-thing in my head said that it was given to her by Cedric's parents after his death), but from comments, I think you can interpret it either way you like ;)

It was sweet - I surprised myself with that, tbh. I don't normally write anything near that sweet and romantic O.o

Thank you so much for this lovely review, and I'm so sorry for the (extremely) late reply!

Aph xx


 Report Review

Review #8, by NaidatheRavenclaw Reliving: Task One Challenge

11th July 2012:
WOW. This was so amazing. I'm a giant fan of your writing style (even though I don't think I've reviewed a lot of your stories, shame on me :P) and this was flawless. All the action~y bits came together perfectly with Cho's emotions and all the Cedric angst until you created an absolutely incredible one shot. So much love for this ♥

Just super fast, one typo in the third to last paragraph: "even as the dragon’s mouth open" should be opened ;)

Anyways, I absolutely loved the idea of this. Cho facing her memories and Cedric's past this way seems so possible, and gah I absolutely loved it. I love how you continued the links throughout the story, calling Cedric's wand her golden egg and all of that. Amazing. The action sequences and emotional bits were both written impecably, and they balanced each other out really well. I'm in love with your writing in thisss. Even your descriptions of the dragon were gorgeous. Minemineminemine :P

So proud to say this came from a Ravenclaw ♥ Great work!

-Naida

Author's Response: Haha, thank you so so much! Don't worry about it - that compliment was lovely enough! :) Well, given the task was about Cho I had to include some Cedric-related angst (because, really, no Cho piece is totally complete without it, I don't think) and the action just sort of pushed its way in.

Ooh, yes, thank you for spotting that! I'm planning on editing things next month, so I'll edit that in. Thanks for that!

I really wanted to link the task to the actual tournament in some way, since it was so similar and things, and well, this is what came out of that. Haha, I think the Cedric's wand = her golden egg thing could have been a bit clearer... it was something completely random. I needed her to have a golden egg-type thing and I wanted her to have Cedric's wand as well, so it all kinda slotted together neatly. Thank you so so much! You may have the dragon, lol.

Thank you so so much for this lovely review!

Aph xx


 Report Review

Review #9, by DracoFerret11 Reliving: Task One Challenge

11th July 2012:
Hello there! It's DarkRose from the forums. :]

Well done with this entry for the Task One Challenge! I think you did Ravenclaw proud! So far, this is one of the best I've read. I absolutely loved how dramatic this story was. I was a bit confused as to why Cho had Cedric's wand and what "one task down, two more to go" meant. Other than that, though, I think this was brilliant. Cho's characterization was wonderful You really focused well on which aspects of her emotions would show here. I liked that a lot. You also did a terrific job of describing all of the scenes and everything going on. I could really imagine it. :] Great job! 'Claws for the Cup! :D

--Emily

Author's Response: Oh my gosh, thank you so much! I wrote it in about three hours, so I didn't think it would do well or be particularly good, so thank you! Haha, sorry about that! Things I write end up being more confusing than they're really supposed to be, I don't know why... I really enjoyed writing Cho in this. I think she's often portrayed as kinda whiny and wimpy because of how Harry sees her in the books, but I wanted to show more than that and I'm glad you liked it.

Thank you very much for the review! :)

Aph xx


 Report Review

Review #10, by maskedmuggle Reliving: Task One Challenge

11th July 2012:
Hey!

This was a really well-written piece. You have a natural talent for writing, and in this, all the action was intense and exciting, your Cho was really well characterised and the plot worked out really well with the story. I like the idea of 'Reliving', it seems very plausible as something Cho would do. I just want to make sure of something (am i right?): initially I thought this was a real story - Cho actually visiting a dragon reserve, but then Cedric's wand.. it makes me come to the conclusion that it's just a very elaborate dream. The good thing about that is that it's ambiguous to the readers and leaves us thinking.

I liked the way you incorporated the prompts - it was incorporated quite well. In summary, it's very good quality writing, and a generally engaging fic to read :)

- MM

Author's Response: Thank you! :) I wanted to tie the idea of Cho looking for a dragon back to the original tournament somehow, without copying what happened there, so this is sort of what come out of that. When I wrote, I thought of it as real, but looking back over it, it does seem very ambiguous... I dunno, take it however you want, I guess! :P I don't mind!

Thanks! I sort of felt like I was just flinging them in when I was writing it, so I'm so glad you thought they worked!

Thank you so much for this lovely review!

Aph xx


 Report Review

Review #11, by Alopex Reliving: Task One Challenge

11th July 2012:
So is Cho going through something to sort of re-live or experience all of the tasks in her own way, in seeking closure? That's what I think is going on, though I'm not 100% sure.

Anyway, I loved the uses of dragon's blood that you came up with! I have only read a handful of stories so far, but the uses have mostly been repeated by each writer. Did you invent some of your own? Either way, they were clever. I was impressed. :)

I also enjoyed reading about Cho's memories of Cedric. It is often intriguing to read something we know about from Harry's perspective from another character's POV.

Author's Response: Haha, yeah, sorry about that! I tend to write kinda confusing stories... I dunno why. But yes, she is trying to experience tasks similar to the tasks in the Tournament in order gain closure.

Thanks! :D I looked up the uses of dragon's blood, but there were only three or something the Lexicon - either way, not enough for the challenge, so I made a couple up. It was harder than I thought it would be...

I know, we only ever see what Harry saw and he wasn't exactly the most observant of people at times, was he? I liked being able to explore Cho and Cedric outside of what we know from canon.

Thanks for the lovely review! (And I'm so glad you picked up on the whole closure thing!)

Aph xx


 Report Review

Review #12, by AC_rules Reliving: Task One Challenge

11th July 2012:
I'm really enjoying reading all these entries and this was another fantastic one which was absolutely great to read! I'm astounded by how many people have written really great action one shots have come out of this with Cho.

I really loved all the descriptions in this and the way you weaved in all the prompts in a way that didn't really feel like it was for the challenge -t his could definitely stand alone by itself which was great.

Basically, I really enjoyed reading this. Good luck and go claws! :)

Author's Response: I'm really impressed how you're going round and reading all of them - there's a lot to read :D Thank you so much! We have a bunch of hugely talented writers - it's amazing! I loved the few I read at the time.

Thanks! I really wasn't quite sure about it - and at the time I kinda felt like I was just flinging all the prompts in as well, lol - so I'm so glad you enjoyed it!

Thank you for this lovely review! :)

Aph xx


 Report Review

Review #13, by tangledconstellations Reliving: Task One Challenge

11th July 2012:
Hello! It's Laura from TGS - just thought I'd drop by and nose around on your authors page :)

This was so awesome, and I really, really enjoyed it! You created this awesome image of Cho - headstrong, determined, but still nursing a faded hurt. I love that we finally get to see how gutsy and passionate she is. I guess previously she's always been masked in a girlishness because of Harrys crush on her. I love Cho and Cedric as a couple, too, and you captured her feelings about him so very very well here.

The action, too, was so intense, and everything you described had me itching with anticipation - I just wanted here to be safe! I'm so bad at anything remotely actiony haha, so high five for you, for making this so effective. Your choice of words was so brilliant, even little things like 'thrashing' and such. It makes this piece so much more animated! And also, well done on addressing the prompts! I'm not really a part of the House Cup this year - kinda wish I was - but I think you did a super job here :)

See you later! :D

Laura xxx

Author's Response: Hey Laura! Feel free to nose around all you like! :)

I'm glad you liked how I wrote Cho because I wasn't sure at the beginning if I'd made her a little too strong. When I thought about it, though, we don't really see much of her in the books. We know she's pretty, clever, dates Cedric and Harry and defends her friend and cries a lot the year after Cedric dies. Well... that's actually fairly normal, you know? I wanted to sort of explore her a bit more than that and this kinda just came out. Cho and Cedric! Oh, they're so perfect, I agree! :D

Thank you so much! I hadn't written a single action scene for ages before I wrote this, so I was a little worried about it... particularly the dragon. I mean, it's a dragon. It burns things. And eats things O.o Not much there to work with...

Thank you so so much for the lovely review - and hopefully you'll be part of the House Cup next year! :)

Aph xx


 Report Review

Review #14, by charlottetrips Reliving: Task One Challenge

10th July 2012:
It’s always good to see someone overcoming fear and loss to come out the other side stronger and better than before. Cho was a stronger Cho than I’ve come to know in the books. I honestly like all the different aspects that the different ‘Claw authors have been taking on her. You’ve listed out what makes her a Ravenclaw – her wit, her smarts, her ability to list out the different properties of dragon’s blood despite the mortal peril she’s in and her heart. She’s doing something so dangerous, facing her literal demons, just so she can become someone stronger than she has been. I appreciate works like this!

xChar

Author's Response: Hey there! I know, I always felt a bit sorry for Cho - she often gets a pretty bad lot in fanfiction and things, because people remember her as the girl who cried a lot, dated Harry and got jealous of Hermione. Because the task involved dragons, I wanted to do something which kinda reflected the original task (I couldn't really think of anything else, lol) and, well, this was what came out! I'm glad you liked Cho in it, though - I wasn't sure if I was making her too strong, but she practically wrote herself and I kinda like the way she turned out.

Thanks for the lovely review! :)
Aph xx


 Report Review

Review #15, by Aiedail Reliving: Task One Challenge

10th July 2012:
There are some very, very beautiful descriptions in this piece. Overall I felt that you did a good job incorporating the prompts, too. They didn't seem out of place. I'm interested in the way you've made her determined and strong, but ultimately it's Cedric who comes to her aid in the form of her wand.

Good one-shot! :)

Author's Response: Thanks so much! It was surprisingly hard to fit all of the prompts into one piece and not to make it hugely long (which I tend to do) so I'm glad you think they fitted in. Honestly, I don't really remember why Cho was so strong and why I chose to write her like that, but it made sense at the time, I think... I could probably go on, but I won't write you an essay on it :P

Thanks for the lovely review!
Aph xx


 Report Review

Review #16, by WitnesstoitAll Reliving: Task One Challenge

9th July 2012:
Hey Apho!!

Here to review your entry for the first task. :) I think the neatest thing about this task is that while the great majority of our house's fics feature Cho battling a dragon, they are all so, so different. I find that fascinating!! I think you did a phenominal job with this bit of writing. You wove the prompts very naturally into the narrative -- at points I think I forgot that I was looking for them. :) I don't think I knew that the dragon chasing her was a Horntail until you mentioned it a bit into their cat and mouse game, and I was thrown for a moment since it wasn't listed amongst the resident dragons of the reserve, but you did /such/ a good job with the sheer action of the scene that it hardly mattered. Really, it was very well written. I do wonder if this was a real scene or if it was in Cho's head -- if it is real, I wonder why Cedric's wand is in the center of a dragon reserve and not stowed away at his parents house with his things. Very, very intriguing. I also am curious what her other two 'tasks' will be.

Gah. Such a lovely one-shot. W.W.W.W.W!!
xoxo
Melissa

Author's Response: Hey there, thanks for stopping by!

Yeah, I love how so many people have taken a similar basic plot (Cho versus dragon) and then turned each one into something completely different. It's pretty amazing.

Thanks! I found it pretty hard to fit all the prompts in - I kinda just flung them in anywhere I could, lol, so I'm glad you think they fit in all right! I know, I wanted to mention types of dragon - I kept forgetting if it was four or five needed to get the prompt - so I just made it a Horntail in the end. Plus, it made the action a bit more interesting, what with the spiked tail and all.

When I wrote it originally, I was thinking of it as a real scene and that she had his wand - the backstory I'd thought of was that his parents had allowed her to take it as a memory kinda thing... I dunno, you could take it either way I suppose... weird, since I didn't intend to write it that way, lol.

Thanks so much! And congrats again (although it's very, very late now) on winning!

Aph xx


 Report Review

Review #17, by xelha horse Reliving: Task One Challenge

9th July 2012:
Extremely confusing, then BAM all is made clear--really enjoyed reading this! Great job!

Author's Response: Haha, thanks! Sorry it was confusing at the beginning - I have a tendency to do that... not sure if it's a good thing or not ;)

Thanks for the review! :)


 Report Review

Review #18, by TyrannicFeenix Reliving: Task One Challenge

8th July 2012:
Nice work. Good action and a nice trip into Cho's mind. Pretty good stuff, nice to see all the houses throwing themselves into this challenge. Good stuff.

Author's Response: Thanks! I find it really difficult to write action so I'm so glad you think it worked! I agree with you - seeing all the houses participating and so many members popping up out of nowhere is wonderful! :)

Aph xx


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login