Reading Reviews for Wilted Petunia
  
15 Reviews Found

Review #1, by AlexFan A Winter's Day

7th May 2013:
I really liked this, it's true that there aren't a lot of stories about Petunia and I really liked this. You managed to make young Petunia like adult Petunia but a lot nicer and more tolerant.

I especially loved the part where she was reading a book about four children with special abilities. It really showed why she would resent Lily and be mean to her, actually, this entire thing pretty much showed why Petunia would end up feeling resentful of Lily.

Anyway, great job!

Author's Response: Thanks for the lovely review! :) Petunia is a very mysterious character, in my opinion. I'm glad you liked her characterization and how she felt about Lily.

Again, thanks a lot! :)

~Rosie


 Report Review

Review #2, by patronus_charm A Winter's Day

5th February 2013:
Hello I'm here to spread the love, at the story sounded so interesting that I couldn't help but not read it!

I really liked your analogy of how similar humans and snowflakes are, as most people wouldn't even think of that, but the more you do, you become to realise that we are in fact remarkably similar.

Just the first two paragraphs, of when you're describing their appearances, makes you realise why Petunia is so bitter towards Lily, as she's already the uglier, less liked sister, and then she finds out she's the muggle one as well. It's all bit too much for her to handle really.

I really liked this prologue, as it did help me understand why Petunia may have felt so much jealousy towards her sister, and she always portrayed in a bad light, but after reading this, I'm not sure if she entirely deserves it.

I hope you do finish this story as it really is great!

Author's Response: Hey, thanks so much for the lovely and unexpected review! :D My main purpose for writing this story was to show Petunia in a different light--after all, you don't hate your own sister for no reason, right? I'm glad you enjoyed reading this and again, thank you so much! :)

~Rosie


 Report Review

Review #3, by CloakAuror9 A Winter's Day

24th January 2013:
Hello! (:

This is a really nice start to you story. I've never given a lot of thought as to what Petunia and Lily's relationship would be before she went to Hogwarts, so I'm excited to see how things will unfold, especially since this is in Petunia's POV.

Speaking of her POV, you did a good job with it. It wasn't too hateful nor was it too nice. I think it's perfect for Petunia's character. She doesn't view Lily as her perfect sister, but it's not like she hates her guts.

Really good job! It's well-written and I am intrigued to see chapter two. :D

~Izzy

40th review out of 100

Author's Response: Hi! Thanks so much for the lovely review, I'm glad to hear that you're intrigued. :)

I'm glad you liked Petunia's PoV! I didn't want her to seem really nice or really mean, so I'm happy to hear you noticed that.

I'm really glad you thought this was well-written! Thanks again for the nice unexpected review. :)

~Rosie


 Report Review

Review #4, by noname A Winter's Day

25th December 2012:
This is really good! I hope you write more when the queue opens up again.

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked it! Updates are definitely coming soon! ^^

~Rosie


 Report Review

Review #5, by D2Diamond A Winter's Day

3rd September 2012:
It's a beautiful start to a story. I look forward to the upcoming chapters. You've really are giving a wonderful view into Lily and Petunia's youth. Great job.

Diamond

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad you think I captured Lily and Petunia's relationship well. ^^

~Rosie


 Report Review

Review #6, by True Author A Winter's Day

13th August 2012:
Nice first chapter! Remember i left my first review for Staying Strong? I told you that you write meaningful stories? I have to repeat my words!!!
Keep writing! Update soon pls! Is the next chapter still 0 % done???

Ashwini

Author's Response: Aw, I am so happy you enjoy my stories so much! Haha, I'm still working on that 0%, and I plan on devoting my entire weekend to writing. Again, thank you for the lovely review and your continued support. :)

~Rosie


 Report Review

Review #7, by UnluckyStar57 A Winter's Day

12th August 2012:
I love reading about the older characters in their childhoods. It seems like everything is rather decent, and then... BAM. They go to Hogwarts, and everything changes.

Here you've mananged to give Petunia a good character without making her too nice... I think that's what I'd have trouble with if I were to write her. She is in no way a villain, and people who write her as an ugly hag who hates the world are wrong.

From Petunia's view, Lily seems cute, but annoying. It's great how you've shown her from Petunia's eyes, rather than how the rest of the world adores her.

I can't wait to see where this goes!! Keep it up!

~~UnluckyStar57

Author's Response: Hi! :)

You're right, everything changed after Lily went to Hogwarts.

I'm glad you liked Petunia's characterization! That's what I was aiming for, not too evil and too nice. Honestly, I've always thought of Petunia as a misunderstood character. As an older sister myself, I can completely relate to her being jealous of Lily. I mean, she was already jealous of her 'perfect' little sister and then to find out that she was a witch must have been terrible for Petunia.

Thank you for the wonderful review! :)

~Rosie


 Report Review

Review #8, by LittleWelshGirl99 A Winter's Day

4th August 2012:
Hey!

So this was the cutest first chapter EVER for a Lily and Petunia story. I mean, most of them are staright in with teh angst and tension between the two sisters, but not this. It was lovely!

I like the way you characterised Petunia- she wasn't immediately recognisable as the 'bad guy' or the person who would be causing grief in their relationship. She wasn't as sweet as Lily, but everyone has different personalities nayway and it's not just black and white. It was really refreshing to see and read. Then, of course, Lily was just adorable! I sometimes forget that Petunia is the older sister actually, but I can't imagine it any other way after reading this.

Sometimes paragraphs seem a little rushed- take your time writing! Seriously :) But apart from that this was gorgeous.
-LWG

Author's Response: Hi! Thank you! I just wanted to show that Lily and Petunia didn't always truly hate each other. I mean, obviously, there was a reason; Petunia was jealous of Lily. I've always thought that happens later on when Lily gets her letter.

I'm glad you liked Petunia's characterization. :)

Yeah, I'm working on improving, I'll try to keep my paragraphs from seeming rushed.

Again, thanks for the review!

~Rosie


 Report Review

Review #9, by The Last Marauder A Winter's Day

31st July 2012:
Hi there, I'm here from the review tag.

I will say that initially I wanted to read and review your Ginny story, but then I saw that it already had so many reads and reviews (well done by the way) and there was just something about this story that intrigued me, so I went with it instead and I'm so glad I did.

I loved your little introduction, it was pitch perfect. It grabbed my attention and drew me in. I loved the idea of setting up the comparison between humans and snow flakes - the idea that each is different and unique, because I just thought it set up the whole tone of the story very well.

I thought you captured the relationship between the sisters really well. It's complex, even at this young age. You create a sense of the older sibling finding the younger one slightly annoying (or her skipping slightly annoying) and you also have jealousy in there - how Lily gets all the attention from everyone. That's a thing with older siblings, they tend to get jealous of the younger ones, because they were there first and now suddenly there is a new intruder who claims the parents' attention that used to belong to the older child, you know? But behind all that you made it plain and clear that Petunia did love Lily - you got that across without a shadow of a doubt!

I'm really interested to see where you go with this - have you another chapter coming soon?? I did always think it was a bit mad how much Petunia hated her sister in the books - then we got some sort of explanation in Deathly Hallows, but I still think there is more to the story.

I've got a great idea in this fic - definitely take it and run with it because I can't wait to see what you will have happen next! :-)

Author's Response: Hi! Thank you so much for the wonderful review! :)

I'm glad you liked the intro-I was afraid it would sound too weird or wouldn't make sense, haha.

I'm also very happy that you thought Lily and Petunia's relationship was captured well. This prologue was just to show that they never really hated each other that much back then. Because there was always a reason as to why they broke apart-Lily was magical and Petunia wasn't.

I was mad at Petunia for a while as well, but you're right, there is definitely more to their story. ;)

Again, thanks for the amazing review, it made my day! :D

~Rosie


 Report Review

Review #10, by Smiles A Winter's Day

28th July 2012:
Nice Introduction! But if you are going to write everything about Severus meeting Lily and all, you may have to change this into a novella! Think about it. This chapter is small and a short story needs to move fast.
Good job though!

Author's Response: This chapter is small because it is a prologue. The next six chapters are much longer.

~Rosie


 Report Review

Review #11, by Ron 4 Hermione A Winter's Day

26th July 2012:
Hey, well first off this is a great idea for a story, you don't normally see a lot of stories on the archive that go into detail about petunia and Lilly when they were children.
I like the way you potrayed their relationship, it was really believable simply because even though everyone adored Lilly, petunia didn't and got jealous!
A good start, it looks like it could be a good story :) 10/10

Author's Response: Hi! I'm glad you liked the concept for this! :) Yeah, not many people are Petunia fans, so I was aiming for a new perspective on her. Being the older sister, understandably, Petunia had to endure lots of jealousy, and unfortunately for her things aren't going to get any better. I'm glad you thought this was a good start! :)

~Rosie


 Report Review

Review #12, by Aphoride A Winter's Day

16th July 2012:
Okay, first off, I have to admit that I'm pretty sure I've seen this mentioned before on the forums but just never got round to reading or reviewing it, even though I thought it sounded interesting. Bad Aph ;) I'm here now, though! :D

I really liked this. It's such an interesting idea, exploring the Evans sisters' relationship. Of course, you always get a taste or two of it in James/Lily fics, but it never seems enough, you know? Never seems like it explores everything fully.

Anyway, I thought you characterised Petunia really, really well. I'm the oldest of three sisters, so I know what it's like to look at your younger siblings getting things and it is really difficult at times. So yeah, I can sympathise a bit and that's really down to your writing, tbh. I'm not really a sympathetic person, as such. I loved how you described the two sisters simply in the beginning, without going into too much detail. They're small children - their mother probably chose their clothes at that stage so describing much more than you did would have been a little pointless.

Lily was adorable! But I guess that's the point of this - Lily is adorable. Lily is cute and wonderful and sweet. Petunia is not. People don't think of Petunia as 'Petunia', like the way people think of Lily as 'Lily', they think of her more as 'Lily's older sister'.

A couple of things, though. I think you could do with a bit more description in some places. Just try when you're describing something to think about the senses. Is the air cold? Are Petunia's fingers numb from the cold? Can she smell fresh bread in the bakery? What colour is her scarf? Her coat? You don't need to include all these things, but more description would really add to your writing, and you already have a lovely, succint style which will prevent you from getting off track by describing every little detail possible. Like me :D

Secondly, I think you could try rewording some of your sentences as some of them are a bit too long to keep the way they are (they sound... I dunno, a bit clumsy and put-together, if that makes sense?) - maybe try and find a beta for this? I found one example: 'She was sipping some warm hot chocolate in front of the fireplace while she watched Lily through the window as she determinedly rolled a large ball of snow, which was as tall as she was.' I think it would sound better if you switched one of the phrases round and put a comma in instead. Like, 'Sipping hot chocolate in front of the fireplace, she watched through the window as Lily determinedly rolled a large ball of snow, which was as tall as she was'. You see? I can't really explain the difference - sorry! - but it just flows a bit better, I think. Feel free to pm me on the forums for more clarification or whatever because I really don't think I've made it that clear :P

Gosh, I really enjoyed this, though! I love the idea, I love the characters, and I love how you used the first chapter to show how their relationship was before the whole thing went to pot. I'm not sure where the second chapter is going to pick up, but I'm looking forward to it! I hope you do include the whole Hogwarts letter and Snape episode because I think you'd do a fabulous job and I'd love to see what you do with it! :D

Aph xx

Author's Response: Hi! I'm glad you liked the concept of going into Lily and Petunia's relationship. I've always wondered about them myself.

Yeah, they're both way too small at this point to be judged. Lily is the adorable little sister that everyone loves, Petunia is the older one who people almost never notice.

Yeah, description is my weakness, I've been trying really hard to do better with detail.

I know, sometimes I don't do well with phrasing things. I tend to type up really long sentences and then I have to keep re-phrasing them until they sound right. Again, trying to improve! ;)

I'm so glad you liked the idea! Yes, the next chapter is where Lily gets her Hogwarts letter a few years later. This was kind of like a prologue. Thank you so much for the lovely review! :)

~Rosie


 Report Review

Review #13, by MagicalInk A Winter's Day

10th July 2012:
Hey there!
Well this was a a great first chapter, especially as the story promises to be an angst-y one. This fluff just makes us think everything was too perfect.

I like that you're giving us a new take on Petunia. Lately, a lot I characters have been dug in but this was something I had yet to see! And it's quite realistic, which makes it all better. The older sibling is the one that suffers more from jealousy, suddenly being ripped of his 'only child' title and the younger needing more attention. It is a really complex spot you're working on and I can't wait to see how you keep it! Usually, this jealousy fades off around the age of 6, but with Petunia's skeptical character, I can totally see it lasting longer.

I really love your descriptions. I'm always searching for a story in which the author paints us the atmosphere, and then you can imagine some other details. Your scenario was so well written I could feel the cold without you mentioning it, and I really loved the snowflake imagery!

I'm adding this to my favorites, can't wait to see what's next!
Val

Author's Response: Val, you're amazing. Because this review totally made my day! :D

The reason I'm writing this is so that the reader can have a different view on Petunia, and maybe even soften up to her a bit. I know all about sibling jealousy, so I can relate to her.

I am so happy you liked my descriptions! Lately, that's what I've been struggling with and it's a huge relief that I managed to do that!

Thank you so much for the review and favorite, and I'm so glad you're liking this so far! :)

~Rosie


 Report Review

Review #14, by SiriuslyPeeved A Winter's Day

9th July 2012:
I really loved this, I think you've pinpointed Petunia's jealousy toward her perfect little sister. Both Lily and Petunia are very believable for their ages -- all the five-year-olds I know would have behaved that way when asking for the strawberry pastry. You have a lot of really nice scene setting details to ground the story and I look forward (though am sort of sad) to see what you have in mind for following chapters!

Author's Response: Aw, thank you so much for the kind review! :) Yeah, at this point in Petunia's life, she's jealous about her sister, but not to the point of hating her yet. I hope you drop by to read chapter 2! :)

~Rosie


 Report Review

Review #15, by hugsxkisses A Winter's Day

9th July 2012:
Aww, this was a really sweet first chapter. :) I agree that Petunia wouldn't have always hated Lily; actually, I don't even think Petunia ever hated Lily at all. What you pointed out at the beginning makes sense-it was always jealousy that made Petunia made her feel like that.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the lovely review! I'm glad you agree that Petunia never completely hated Lily. I'm so happy you liked this! :)

~Rosie


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login