Reading Reviews for Brighter Than Sunshine
  
57 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Frankie05 The Epilogue

24th August 2015:
I'm so sad it's over. So sad. This was one of the best stories I've read and it made me so happy!! I love how you broke this chapter into three sections - immediately following the wedding where Albus explains things to her and I was beside myself thinking how adorable they are. Why doesn't this happen in real life? Jk.

And then them on the radio. (Aside from the slip up on calling him Scorpius on air) it was executed magically. I love the banter and the fact that Lara was there and completely open with the public. It's so fun to see them interact in their own world. Plus Scorpius was hilarious with his blackmail.

And then the press conference. I can only imagine the nerves and the annoyance that both of them might have been feeling. Albus was guarding her and she was being smart towards him. All In all this story was great! Thank you for allowing me to go on a journey with them. They are precious characters and your writing is magnificent. Hopefully you write more of them because you should have confidence in yourself. These writings are fantastic. Imagery is on point. You kept the storyline. I loved all of it.

Author's Response: Aw I'm glad you liked the story so much!! I love Al and Lara too and tbh I want my own Al. Like now. He's just so cute and mushy and they're so perfect together!

Aw haha I do love their little radio show too! And Lara fits in so nicely with them all. But Al and Scorp definitely have a wonderful friendship, which also makes me happy! (Everything in this story makes me happy tbh.)

I would panic so hard at a press conference! But Lara is all cool and collected and I think you can see why she'll be a great Healer!

Honestly, thank you so much for the reviews and going through this story like you did! You've really made me remember what I loved about them in the first place and motivated me to think through this story again. I think I'm going to revise this story to fix some errors that stick out to me when I went and reread it but maybe I'll post a prequel or something to it sometime with this motivation! So...yeah. Thank you so so much! It's been a real pleasure to read through your reactions and I'm so glad you liked the story so much! :D

--J


 Report Review

Review #2, by Frankie05 The Fifth One

24th August 2015:
Oh my gosh. It's the end. Plus epilogue. I need more! All of this was set up perfectly until the final moment. Yes yes yes. The wedding. Rose getting Al to go as her date. She undeniably has a crush on him and it's so cute. She doesn't know that she is Raven though which makes me so sad.

I thought you did a nice touch with the one bed. How sneaky of you. How sneaky of Layla and obviously Rose is enjoying them being extremely silly towards each other. And Lara has the hots for him straight out of the shower. Yes. All of this is magnificent. He did so well at the rehearsal. I'm glad she wasn't friend zoning him.

She was sneaky too! Waking up before him and enjoying the feeling of being in his arms. I loved it. And then she realized that he enjoyed having her in his arms. Yes. All the feels!! I wish she would have kissed him then. But a girl has got to protect her heart.

I thought the wedding scene was extremely tasteful. It wasn't over the top and it showed enough to set the stage. And the. They were dancing and I was freaking out because they are perfect. Just perfect.

She was very bold in asking about Raven to Al and then yes he kissed her! Yes. Yes. Yes. Well done. Sadly and happily going on to the next chapter :)

Author's Response: Haha I'm glad you liked the setting! Of course it's a wedding. And of course Lara has a crush on him because they're so meant to be! And obviously the Raven thing is resolved! :D

Hehe the bed...classic fanfic and maybe Layla is being sneaky! Never underestimate Hufflepuffs, amirite? I like to think that Rose and Scorpius are also hardcore shipping them and like talk about them all the time and are generally adorable. Because everyone in this story is adorable and they bring me joy.

And yes Lara is finally being sneaky! So much sneakier than she usually is. Aw yeah she does have to protect her heart...especially because she's (incorrectly) under the assumption that he's in love with some other girl! What a little oblivious nugget. ;)

Haha I'm glad you liked the wedding! It's kinda funny because since this story I've actually attended several weddings and I think I got it okay! So that's good.

And yes go Lara! Taking matters into her own hands for once. And yay they figured everything out! Go them.

Thanks again for another wonderful review!!

--J


 Report Review

Review #3, by Frankie05 The Fourth One

23rd August 2015:
Sweet sweetLara (I hope this story never ends). I love the first interaction. Completely candid. And they are in a music shop and I love it. Of course music store Jeff has a crush on Lara. She is so cute. (You have done a fantastic job having me fall in love with your characters in this world with all this muggle/wizard technology, your creativity, your brilliant job with words, and your ability to tug on my emotions).

So, last chapter she didn't figure it out, but this chapter she did. ANd she started piecing the puzzle together, why didn't she think she was Raven, which makes me sad. Is she that insecure, yet Al is obviously into her, (because she is perfect).

Hailey is the best big sister and I love that she cares and notices about her affections towards AL.

And then the paper had to go and ruin everything. It's rather frustrating that the press is having a field day with the Potters. Don't they ever get a break? Plus that scene was steamy and she was an inch away from a kiss. YES. (I seriously ship them so hard).

I love that Rose is trying hard to comfort her and to make it so that AL and her are okay. And SNEAKY AL GETS HER NUMBER YOU GO AL. I love it. GAH.

I'm excited to read the next chapter. :)

Author's Response: Ahh Frankie thanks so much for your kind words here! I'm so glad you like the characters so much! When I was writing this story I was lowkey in love with Al and Lara so I'm happy the charm hasn't worn off. Ugh they're just such adorable hipsters and I love them. And yes, of course Jeff likes Lara because she's the bomb.

Yeah unfortunately I think she is quite insecure! She hasn't had many romantic relationships before and she's so isolated and it's /Albus Potter/, you know? But hopefully Al can prove it to her! ;)

Yeah I love Hailey! She's so attuned to Lara. Their relationship is really inspired by my own relationship with my sister and my sister would totally do all the things that Hailey does! It's fun but also annoying sometimes haha.

But the press is a good test of Lara for Al! He knows she's not scared away by them and that she's also not in it to sell him out. :D So there's some good from the bad!

Haha Scorpius needs some lessons from Al and Rose in the sneakiness department! But yeah Rose is wonderful and I love her friendship with Lara. :D It's a nice side effect of the stalking.

Again, thanks so much for all these reviews!

--J


 Report Review

Review #4, by Frankie05 The Third One

23rd August 2015:
Ok I do this thing when I am really excited and I basically rub my knuckles on my nose really fast. (I'm told its adorable). Anyway, I was doing that basically the whole time during this chapter.

You set everything up so perfectly! The radio and Emerald's giddyness over Raven and Lara's sweetness over Emerald and liking the story as it progresses. Except she is completely oblivious which i LOVE. I am so Lara all the time.

And then they finally meet and I. am. freaking. out. no joke. Lara is doing so well meeting everyone (a couple of Potters to boot) and then her and Al hit it off and we're back to I. am. freaking. out.

They are perfect together. I love that they talk about everything muggle and they are so quirky and it works and don't break my heart in future chapters just keep it fluffy please because I love the fluff and I love them and I ship them so hard. I love that Al is so smart and has quirks like correcting grammar and Lara is totally into him and yes.

And then she finally figures out that it is her! don't run away (which is what she is doing and breaking my heart) . SO I'M GONNA GO AND READ THE NEXT CHAPTER.

Author's Response: Hahahaha I love that mental image! I totally get what you mean though-- when I get excited I like feel a squee preparing itself in my throat and my chest kinda hurts. Your excitement sounds cuter than mine!

I'm glad you like the story so much! I'm noticing now that I have a habit of writing oblivious OCs (Anna from MFS anyone?). Although if this is how you feel three chapters into the story imagine how Al feels after several years! I hope you are a little more observant than Lara-- she's a little worrisome at times!

Hahahaha seriously reading your review and your thoughts is so funny and wonderful! This story is like so fluffy it gave me cavities. So don't worry about that. (Although I know you're through to the end at the point...whatever.) Also now I'm imagining what this story would be like if it weren't all fluffy and it's making me sad. Like if they met and it was awkward and Al realized they had nothing in common...I would cry. But I'm the author! So that didn't have to happen. :D

I would never break your heart Frankie! Don't worry-- I think I like fluff just about as much as you do! :D

Thanks so much for your review again!

--J


 Report Review

Review #5, by Frankie05 The Second One

23rd August 2015:
J,

THIS IS EVERYTHING. It's so cute. I'm actually mad at myself for not coming back to it sooner!!

Gah Lara is a little oblivious nugget. It's actually quite adorable. I love the commentary from Emerald and Scorpion. I love love loved seeing more into their daily talk show. Emerald is so cute with his story of his crush.

You mentioned a small trio looking familiar and I was wondering if it was Ron/Harry/Hermione but according to the Rush HOur story it was Albus/Scorpius/Rose!!! AND HES TALKING ABOUT LARA, YES , WHAT IS LIFE. It's so funny how he was going to woo her, and she just shuts off the radio because she has a crush on him (but if she listened I bet she would have realized that that is what was happening to her as her night went on!) I love that her coworkers are into too, and that nobody knows! Gah its wonderful.

And then sneaky Rose and Scorpius arrive on the scene and totally feel her out for Albus and they are wonderful friends and Rose is so good at making conversation, I just love it. Scorpius should have been a little bit more discreet when naming himself on Rush Hour so that when people talk about it to him, he doesn't get all nervous that he is found out.

Anyway, I'm only giving myself like 5 seconds before I read the next chapter :) until then!

Frankie

Author's Response: Frankie! Thank you so so so much for all of your lovely reviews! They made me ridiculously happy.

I don't think there's a better description for Lara than "little oblivious nugget." She's definitely exactly that. I'm glad you like their show and think the story is cute not creepy haha! I had a lot of fun thinking up their show and who doesn't love a good ol' "crush from afar" story? :D

Haha I hope Lara isn't so oblivious that she wouldn't notice the Golden Trio at one of her tables! I think she might catch on if it was that. Haha I'm glad you like the show and the story and everything! Lara's a bit silly when it comes to Emerald, but that's what makes her and a certain someone so perfect for each other...I also really like the idea of everyone being so into this story but not knowing anything more! Oh Lara.

Rose is so sneaky and Scorpius is such a little dweeb! He needs to work on his stealth skills because anyone other than Lara would probably have figured everything all out like right away. I'm definitely going to revise this story at some point soon and maybe I'll change Scorpius's codename because it's so freaking obvious. Hmm. I'll think about it.

Thanks again for your reviews! They were such a treat!

--J


 Report Review

Review #6, by Frankie05 The First One

11th August 2015:
Hey there,

You've got me hooked. That's for sure. Lara seems so interesting. She vaguely reminds me of Hermione but that might just be the book thing. I enjoyed her character description. In one chapter you've got me thinking she is a buddy of mine. She's in Hufflepuff or did I miss that detail (sometimes when I read I ready so fast I may miss something). But I like her. I also like her sister and how they are polar opposites but still best friends. I'm not sure if you tried to make Lara seem off-putting because she was into things like clubs. Or people but I enjoy her. She is just an introvert and as an extrovert(I identify with camp Hailey) married to an introvert- I can acknowledge and accept her. :) so I like her.

I have a few guesses- Emeald is Albus and Scorpion is Scorpius. I actually gasped when Emerald said Scorp because I thought they gave it away! I also think that Lara is going to meet Albus at the club since she is carpe dieming this.

One thing I HAVE to give you credit for is your cleverness! iOwl- parchment on Wizbook- so clever. Seriously that was the word that rang trough my mind the whole time!


I'm excited to read more!
Frankie

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the review, Frankie! :D It was so kind of you to offer them out!

I must say this is one of my older stories and when I recently reread it, I noticed that there were several errors throughout the piece. So if you do continue reading, keep in mind that I know there are things to be fixed! :)

I'm so excited that you enjoyed Lara! I definitely have a soft spot for her myself. Haha I put a lot of my friendship with my sister into Lara and Hailey so I'm glad you enjoyed them! :)

You'll have to read on to find out if those guesses are correct! ;) (Just kidding...it's pretty obvious...or is it?)

Haha I'm glad you enjoyed those details! I had fun coming up with them.

Hope you like the rest of the story if you read on! :D Thanks again for the review!

--J


 Report Review

Review #7, by moonbaby11 The First One

7th August 2015:
Hey! I'm here for the BVB Review Battle.

I didn't even realize until I was finished reading this chapter that this story was from 2012, so sorry if this isn't something that you want people to be reviewing! The summary (and pretty banner) just completely drew me into the story and I wanted to see why everyone was so oblivious, and attractive, and cute. (Also can I just say I wish my writing was as good as this back in 2012?)

Your OC of Lara seems really interesting. I like the hipster vibe she has going and I really like the set up for this story. I'm guessing Scorpion is Scorpius (apparently he's not the best at coming up with secret code names?) and Emerald is Albus, because of his eyes, and Lara totally isn't going to piece two and two together. I think that this will be a really interesting plot to see carried out! I also really liked the dynamic Lara and Hailey have. They're so different and yet they're such good friends, which is kind of similar to the relationship I have with my own sister. It's nice to see siblings that don't just argue with each other.

I liked the use of the sentences in parentheses. They always had me chuckling and I think they really added to the overall style and feel of this piece. I think it all works really well together, and you have a clear writing style here that I'm really enjoying.

If you don't mind I'd love to go through and read the rest of this story! It seems like it has a lot of potential and I'm already intrigued to see where it's going. You seem like a really strong writer, and I'm sure you've done nothing but improve since this was published!

Author's Response: Heya! Thanks so much for the review! It was really unexpected, because this is a really old story, as you've noted!

I'm totally fine with people reviewing this story because (in my opinion) it's cute and fluffy and fun. So I hope you enjoy it! I'm currently looking for feedback on my newest story, Mistaken for Strangers, but if this is more to your liking, go for it! (Or read both? :P Just kidding...kind of...) I'm glad you like my writing in this story-- to be honest it kinda depresses me because if anything I've gotten worse as a writer since this!

I'm glad you like the characters so far! Lara is supposed to be a totally oblivious hipster, yes. And actually her relationship with her sister is based on my own relationship with my sister! So I'm happy to see it hitting home.

Are Scorpius and Al Scorpion and Emerald?! Read on to find out! (Just kidding. It's super obvious. And maybe Scorpius is bad at coming up with code names...or maybe just I am! :P)

Thanks so much for your comments on the style! I had a lot of fun writing this story so I'm glad you like reading it. :) Feel free to read on and I hope you like it! :D Thanks again for the review!

--J


 Report Review

Review #8, by MalfoyMannor The Epilogue

17th July 2015:
this fanfic was so cute and sweet and I love how you made it with just 6 chapters :) overall this short story was lovely :)

Author's Response: Aw thank you! I'm glad you enjoyed it! Thanks for the review!!

 Report Review

Review #9, by HermioneBookworm  The Fourth One

7th January 2014:
hi i love this story but plz tell me she rerlises she is raven in the next chapter

Author's Response: Haha don't you worry about that! Glad you like the story!

 Report Review

Review #10, by Ursa462 The Epilogue

4th September 2013:
Hey, I don't know if you would still be reading the reviews on this after so long, but I just wanted to say that I absolutely love this fic, I have read it from beginning to end at least six times. It is absolutely perfect. Just wondering, I don't suppose that you watch the Gilmore Girls? One of the parts in this chapter reminded me of a part in it, is all. But anyway, love the story (super duper love it). I would love to ready any other stories of yours that are Al/OC!

Author's Response: Aw thanks for the kind words! I do periodically check reviews still. :) And yes, I do watch the Gilmore Girls! Thanks again. I don't know if I'll do any more Al/OC- I love this Al too much! I am working on a Lily/OC story though. :)

 Report Review

Review #11, by Missy The Epilogue

12th March 2013:
I have read a lot of fan fiction. Frankly, I have read a worrisome amount of fan fiction. Some good, some horrible, some that make me cry, and some that I'm giddy with adorableness. So anyways, you should feel extremely flattered when I say this has to be one of my all time favorite stories. While this is shorter than the "novels" I prefer to read, you managed to create these wonderful, hilarious, endearing characters that you cannot help but love and will not forget. The story is unique and the balance of humor with fluff or romance is honestly flawless.
Specifically, I loved the "hipster" mind set of al and Laura. As being hipster is definitely a trend at the moment I have read a couple other stories that have attempted to use this "style". None have pulled it off as well as you. Whether its the absolutely perfect complicated literary discussions (I was honestly laughing out loud), the indie music references, or just the chill outlooks on life both Laura and Al made a beautiful hipster couple.
I really hope you do create more stories with the characters in thus fan fiction.
Good luck writing and thanks for the awesome story!
P.S. you definitely gave me some nee bands to try, i have been listening to the shins non stop ever since. (I have no idea how i havent heard of them! Theyre great!) so thanks for that too.

Author's Response: I know what you mean about reading a worrisome amount of fic! Thanks so much for your review and I'm glad you think I balanced it well. :)
I know what you mean about the trend- that's partially what inspired me to write it.
We'll see about new stories...I'm glad I could introduce you to some new music!! The Shins are the best.


 Report Review

Review #12, by DancingMooncalf The Epilogue

3rd March 2013:
Once upon a time, long ago, I read this story and I liked it alot. But the world changed and my live changed and I forgot it for a bit. Then a few weeks ago I suddenly remembered a story that I liked.
I posted a quest for it on the forum and found it again.
I started to read en gound I chould not stop till it was done. So now it's in myu favorites, to make sure I won't lose it anymore. And I'll live happily ever after.

The end!

I hope you liked my review as much as I liked your story. It's lovely!

x

Author's Response: Haha I love your review and can only hope you liked my story as much! Thanks for reviewing and favoriting, and pardon my delayed response. :) I'm glad you enjoyed it!

 Report Review

Review #13, by argetlam shadeslayer The First One

1st February 2013:
Ahh! Oh my goodness. This was wonderful! Seriously. This is absolutely fantastic! I adore it so hardcore. Lara seems like the most awesome OC ever right now - Smiths, oxfords, Vonnegut, hipsterisms? Yes, please - and I totally love her already. (Granted, I identify quite a bit with her on the hipster front, but I go to a music school and we're all hipsters here, so...yeah. Ha.) And I can't wait to meet Al (whom you hinted was a hipster as well)! This was an incredibly well-written, lovely, descriptive first chapter, and I can already tell I'm going to fall in love with this story. Well done! I can't wait to read the next few chapters!

- emma

P.S. Can we just take a moment to talk about our In Love With My Radio feels? Yes? Best Merthur fic ever.

Author's Response: Haha I'm glad you enjoyed it and thanks for reviewing! Pardon my incredibly late answer...I hope you enjoyed the rest of the story! :)

OH MY GOD I KNOW IT'S MY FAVORITE THING EVER. It's the best Merthur fic ever, hands down.


 Report Review

Review #14, by music_is_magic The Epilogue

27th September 2012:
OMFG THEY ARE JUST OXJDISNXIAUEM (adorable) just lolzing to myself at Al being a stalker ;)) (oh and I did read this when you first put it up, just forgot to review, sorry ;) ) that 'I love you' bit at the end is just omfgsodndksiebsk (really, really cute) and I know that you probably won't write anything else about them, but can I just say that I can imagine them having like a rave instead of a first dance at their wedding (because they're obviously getting married, gawdd) and having little hipster kids, who are really, really cool and just plain hipsterish, sorry gone off topic there, but ANYWAY, I shall look forward to any more fanfic you write (if you decide to, hopefully you will ;) ) and, I'll review it ;))
Goodbye for now dearie :D xoxo

Author's Response: Haha I enjoy that mental image! :D I imagine their wedding being a complete laugh and in their wedding pictures they would do something ridiculous and everybody would implode from the cuteness of it all. xD Hehe thank you for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #15, by relic The Epilogue

31st August 2012:
:D i am smiling so broadly right now!! it was a cute story, a lot of muggle-ness but still cute...the whole emerald raven story while obvious was still really sweet... and i loved scorpion and emerald together!!! they were easily the best part of the story! you have a simple and direct way of writing and that is pretty neat, i did find slight flaws in the beginning but as i continued reading i just couldn't stop and i've forgotten any criticism i had! good job on this fan fic really!
-Relic

Author's Response: Haha thank you! I really should have proof read a bit closer/obtained a beta but alas. I may go back and fix a few things but I'm glad you enjoyed it! Thanks for reviewing! :D

 Report Review

Review #16, by Kat The Second One

20th August 2012:
Okay, maybe I'm totally insane and a giant fangirl, but is the coworker Martha at all a reference/shout out to Doctor Who?! *fangirls* Anywho, I am loving your story so far.
~Kat

Author's Response: Hehe it was indeed. I didn't even notice at first but the fangirl in me cannot be contained. :D Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #17, by Adrianne The First One

19th August 2012:
Aren't Emerald and Scorpion Al and Scorpius? Scorpion is easy... emerald might be alluding to Al's eyes.

Author's Response: *taps nose twice*

 Report Review

Review #18, by heyImcrazy37 The Epilogue

19th August 2012:
I love this story, it's really cute. :)
I love reading fanfics where there is contained love for a person who doesn't know. IT'S SO CUTE IT HURTS. okay bye :)

Author's Response: Haha that's my favourite as well! :) Thanks for your kind words!

 Report Review

Review #19, by Talia The Epilogue

16th August 2012:
So sad it's over, but what a cute couple :) Loved this all the way through, thank you for sharing such a brilliant fic!

Author's Response: Aw thank you for reviewing! I'm glad you enjoy the story. :D

 Report Review

Review #20, by Beth The Fifth One

16th August 2012:
Oh. My. Gosh. OH MY GOSH!!! I love this story, especially
how predictable it is :) This is for sure a warm fuzzy kind
of read. Keep up the awesomeness!

Author's Response: Thanks! :D It's very cliched, but that's rather the point, I suppose. Thank you for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #21, by claire5555 The Epilogue

15th August 2012:
so i read all your story and its completely different but i love it the characters are great and the plot was great i kinda wished it was longer but what can you do?? :L loved your story really great job hope i see more stories from you :)

Author's Response: Aw thank you! :D I have a few other pieces in the works, we shall see where they go!

 Report Review

Review #22, by ohmymerlin The Epilogue

15th August 2012:
oefhdvxnxflcjb ;zxklcfnb lx
sooo-ooo-ooo adorable! :D
I CAN'T BELIEVE IT'S OVER!
*curls in a ball and cries*
it was an AMAZING epilogue! it was so good! :D
i like that you didn't do the ten year later thing where they have about 503589504 kids and are happily married and all that other ugh
:D
Anywho, FOR THE LAST TIME (*sniff*) 10/10 :D
but I'm glad I reviewed every chapter!
:D

Author's Response: haha thanks for reviewing so much! :D look out for any other fics I may post soon. :)

 Report Review

Review #23, by SexyAuror The Fifth One

13th August 2012:
Either B or C...
Love this story!! You are a GREAT writer.

Author's Response: Thanks for voting! I'm glad you liked the story. :)

 Report Review

Review #24, by Ellyn Rose The Fourth One

10th August 2012:
this chapter seemed a bit more fillie, but still good nonetheless. necessary. she finally figured our it was them! her thickness is amusing.

Author's Response: Yeah it had some important bits but it was rather fillery. Such is life. :)

 Report Review

Review #25, by Ellyn Rose The Third One

10th August 2012:
(: the literature debate was absolutely amazing. wow. whew. really good. off for more-

Author's Response: Glad you enjoyed it! :D

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>