Reading Reviews for Rush Hour
  
9 Reviews Found

Review #1, by MissesWeasley123 Rush Hour

2nd January 2014:
Hi there! I'm here for day 7 of the 12 Days of reviewing. Your story Headland was great, and I knew I had to come back to your page one day. Yippee!

AND THIS. THIS. IT IS GOOD. GREATER THAN GOOD.

Over the past couple of months, Draco and Astoria have really worked there way up my heart. If you like Draco/Astoria, I highly recommend Detox by CambAngst. You wrote them brilliantly.

Draco was so unique, in my opinion. He was perfect.. but not perfect, if you get what I mean. I think his character still had those flaws in him, but he had definitely matured.

Astoria was described beautifully. Her red coat and all ♥ Beautiful. I loved this line the most! :

Girl with the red coat on the central line: sorry Iím not much of a conversationalist. Can I buy you a drink? -- Everybody say "AWHH". That was cuter than puppies. It was adorable. He is so cute. It was really fun watching him flirt and try to court her, when that stereotype usually comes in saying he's a god or something and get's girls easily. That was cute.

Really, really excellent writing. As an author, you can write so many different things, from angst to romance. That's amazing!

 Report Review

Review #2, by MissMdsty Rush Hour

11th February 2013:
I've just recently taken up reading Draco/Astoria but I must say, your description of them is amazing!

You have a lot of details for these two characters and that shows me that they're very clear in your head and you have them all sorted out. Like the war and their interdictions, the way in which the M.O.M has bans set for them! I like how you give us these bits and pieces and yet you don't drown us in information, it all comes natural.

Another thing I like is that your Draco shares my sentiment of his parents. I've always wondered, ever since the war ended, how do you sit down and drink tea with the parents who sent you to fight for their cause when you were just 17?

The closing line was perfect! Every aspect of the way in which Draco courted (or tried to court) Astoria was so sweet and fitting to how I see both of them and that last line just brought a big smile to my face! Good job, dear!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! This is only part of a headcanon I've been building up for a number of years now - I feel most comfortable writing postwar Drastorias because I've spent so much time thinking about them (I lead a sad, sad life).

I find the Malfoys an interesting family to write. I envision, in the universe of this story, that Draco becomes distanced from his parents for a good number of years, but does eventually reconcile them. JKR did write them as a strong family unit (if a little, er, horrible), after all!

Thank you so much for reviewing, I'm really glad you liked it! ♥


 Report Review

Review #3, by Marauderchestnut Rush Hour

18th July 2012:
I loved this, was really brilliant. Very interesting to find out about Astoria's background and see her in a different light.
Also loved the idea of the tube journey as the place they met - especially as I myself commute every morning from Ealing broadway! I wish Draco was on my train :p

Author's Response: aaah, but Draco /is/ on your train! you're just sitting in the wrong carriage...

thank you very much! :D ♥


 Report Review

Review #4, by tyger Rush Hour

16th July 2012:
i love the way you used the daily commute as the main conceit of the story; the newspaper idea was ingenious (never thought of using it that way, despite the bazillion times i've gone on the Tube and seen piles of the Metro lying about.)

and the story was atmospheric as always :)
so blinking brilliant.

Author's Response: thank you! oh, god, the metro is such an integral part of my life that I was destined to write about it someday (and this story was slightly based on the time someone wrote into 'rush hour crush' about a blonde girl getting on at my stop who fancied one of the businessmen on the same train and I wanted to spend the whole week yelling IT'S NOT ME at every businessman who made eye contact with me).

thank you very much! :D ♥


 Report Review

Review #5, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Rush Hour

13th July 2012:
Above all else, it was an invitation to be mugged and beaten and left to bleed in some dark alleyway as you so often read about in certain newspapers.

^ For some reason that made me laugh a lot. Reminds me of my introduction to communication course when my professor went on this rant--there was a lot of arm waving--that the news lies and you really won't get mugged like they say people do, all the time.

Anyway. I love Drastoria. I wrote a story about them for NaNo and now suddenly I'm obsessed with them so I'm glad you won the OTP challenge so I could read this.

I really like how you characterized Draco. I loved the mention of muggles and the newspaper. I thought it was really clever. The train part reminded me of this movie I saw once, where the guy and the girl meet on the train and well...in the end they end up together.

I'll have to check out electric pow-wow!

Author's Response: That's just me paraphrasing the Daily Mail, but if I'd been allowed to go on any longer about that particular newspaper the passage would also have suggested that wearing robes also causes cancer and makes house prices fall.

(that's a very specific film reference there, dear, I know /just/ which film you're talking about...)

you must check out pow-wow! it's amazing!

thanks for the review! :D ♥


 Report Review

Review #6, by Calypso  Rush Hour

5th July 2012:
I loved this!
Such a sweet story and really well written. I thought that the picture you painted of the Wizarding World post-Voldemort was very enjoyable and quite comedic in places!
Your characterisation was my favourite part of this story. Draco was perfect- still suffering in the aftermath of the fighting and still flawed but nevertheless trying to move on. It was very believable as was his hesitancy about getting together with Astoria. Astoria herself was very vivid (I can just picture her in my mind, with her red coat!) and very original. I liked how you presented her as so bold and sure of herself whilst Draco was more reticent. I also thought you brought across the sense of two barely-more-than-teenagers trying to make sense of a war really well without being too angst-y!
You have a lovely way of describing the tube, really making it come alive and the way you managed to entwine the newspaper with their story was stunning.
The final sentence was perfect. For me, it really summed up the story and left it on a beautiful note.
Thankyou for posting! I loved this and will definitely be adding it to favourites :)

Author's Response: aww, thank you very much! Post-Hogwarts has always been one of my favourite eras to write, but sometimes I have to remind myself it's not all doom and gloom, and that's when stories like this happen. Draco is tough to write, so I'm glad you like his characterisation - equally with Astoria.

really glad you liked it, and thank you for leaving such a lovely review! :D ♥


 Report Review

Review #7, by Lizmusic45 Rush Hour

1st July 2012:
I really, really, really liked this. I love how you write Draco/Astoria so I was really excited to read this. I'm sorry the review is late, but I just want you to know I really liked this.

Lizzie

Author's Response: thank you very much! ♥

 Report Review

Review #8, by reverie Rush Hour

1st July 2012:
I never had an OTP, but ever since I wrote a Draco/Astoria one-shot a while back for a challenge, it's become my OTP as well.

Anyways, I adore this piece. It's so well written and so adorable and so original. Beautiful, really. Keep writing more!

Author's Response: it's a pretty awesome OTP to have ;D glad you enjoyed it, thank you for reviewing! ♥

 Report Review

Review #9, by jdblack Rush Hour

30th June 2012:
This was so adorable. Seriously, I'm going to need a minute to get over how cute it was.


Okay, now on to my review. I don't really see or read much Astoria/Draco, which is a shame because there is so much potential in the ship. From the few fics that I have read, Astoria is always this shy, demure girl that is practically under Draco's thumb the entire time. I really like how you have her being bold enough to initiate conversation with Draco.

The idea of the wizarding community integrating with the muggle world is not a new one, yet I find your version to be a fresh take on it. I'm rather intrigued as to how other witches and wizards who have been brought up with no knowledge of how things work in the muggle world cope.

The only thing I would disagree with in this fic is Lucius and Narcissa. In DH, just how much they care for Draco and their family as a whole was shown. I find it difficult to believe that after all they went through, they would threaten to disown Draco like that.

Other than that, everything was great. Fantastic work!

Author's Response: aww, thank you! draco/astoria is my otp, I must confess and, yeah, I think I disagree with most of fandom on astoria's characterisation, haha. a lot of the times I've seen her crop up in fics is in dramione stories where she may as well be a piece of cardboard for all her use in the story. but I'm incredibly fond of writing about her.

it's a sort of headcanon I've been developing recently - the muggle and magical worlds colliding, that is. I've been thinking a lot about the post-hogwarts genre recently (wow, that sounds sad) and what the dynamic might have been like between the two worlds. and this is just a teeny wee exploration into that, haha.

oh, no, I actually agree with you on this - barring the weasleys, I think the malfoys were probably one of the most stable family units in the canon. how I see it, though - and I didn't really get to explore this within the timeframe of this one-shot - is that immediately following the war, there might have been a bit of angst and distancing in the malfoy family, but an eventual reconciliation. it's hard to explain what I think about the malfoys, but I do believe they care for each other a great deal, only their relationship would be under a lot of strain in those first few post-war years.

thank you very much for reviewing and I'm glad you liked it! ♥


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login