Reading Reviews for Ignite
  
311 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Gary Embers

3rd February 2014:
An absolutely AMAZING story. I wish I could memory charm myself so I could read it again!

Author's Response: You don't have to do that! There's a sequel you can amble over and read. :D

Very glad you enjoyed the story, and thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #2, by MeByAMile Steam Out

28th January 2014:
This is my second time reading the beginning of this story, but I haven't actually finished reading all of Ignite yet, but I loved this story so much I thought I'd come back and review.

Easily my favorite next generation story. Scorpius is wonderful, I've never seen an incarnation of him quite so entertaining, he accomplishes being a jerk but most of the time doing it in a way that makes you want ruffle his hair like he's a little puppy dog, yet other time throughout the story I honestly wanted to smack him upside the head.

I love the comparison of Scorpius and Harry, how they both think of Hogwarts as their true home,(Harry's probably moved from that thinking by now, though I think he will always asociate the place with his childhood), It's also interesting to see how the hand life dealt them affected them differently.

Al and Scorps friendship is great, their energies play off each other well. Al being the long suffering best friend. You can tell the to are really close, finding brothers of the unrelated sort runs in the family I guess. A part of me really badly wants to see them as little kids, but I think I'd die of cuteness overload.

Why do I feel the need to watch Albus go to Prague possibly with his family, and be culturally enlightened?

Interesting Scorp seems to think Rose would blame Hector for any altercation they might of had, that or he's just trying to verbally insult Hector as much as he can.

Just how many times has Scorp been put in a headlock by Al?

'Only to realise he’d made a pass at her in front of her parents. His smile faltered.' One of my favorite lines.

Hugo made Quidditch captain at fourteen?! I just realised that. Wow.

Rose would dislike Quidditch wouldn't she? I can just imagine Ron trying to get her to appreciate the sport with her little brothers and cousins. I can also imagine him going into complete over-protective dad mode as Rose is starting to date.

Scorp writing Miranda's name on the chocolates seems strange since she cheated on him, is it supposed to be a Freudian slip of some sort?

I'm trying to figure out just who Scorpius and Rose were to each other before everything went mental.

Scorpius annoying and making passes at her seems to be the norm between the two. Scorpius seems to have a bit of a a crush.

Rose however hates him, or at least says she does for mostly petty reasons. She doesn't seem to give him too much thought other than the guy that helped tear her and her cousin and best friend away from her.

Something that greatly upsets me about the Scorpius-Albus-Rose friendship triangle is that had things gone differently they'd be the best of friends by now, and as fandom speculates the next trio.

Oh little Tim Warrick, why does your story have to be such a sad one?

'He’d been off to a bad start when his parents had named him “Methuselah”, which wasn’t a name you gave a child unless you wanted them to sprout fully formed and aged eighty from their mother’s womb.' Loved this line so much.

I liked Methuselah from the get go, but I initially had a very different impression of him both appearance and personality wise. At first I thought he was trying to be a superior git, but then I realized for the most part that's just how hes wired. I also imagined him to look like Abed from Community.

'Not to mention that the course is entirely unnecessary with sightings of Dark Wizards or Dark Beings at a record low.' Oh, irony.

I have no idea why but I this desire to meet Diarmuid at some point. Any words on him?

'It was shaping up to be an all right sort of year.' She says now.

Overall great introduction to the story!

Author's Response: I had a nice reply for this all written then my computer crashed... anyway, thank you for going back to review, it's thoroughly appreciated. I always like coming to a big review!

I'm fond of my own Scorpius - of course. There are basically two reasons why this story got written: the first was that I wanted to write a big, epic adventure for the Next Gen, something cinematic and sweeping. The second was that Scorpius walked into my head, fully-formed, and demanded my attention. The similarities with Harry were not planned but once they started interacting they were impossible to overlook. Albus came soon after as an inevitable counterpoint; a Scorpius like this would have to have a fairly laid-back and supportive best friend. Alas, I'm rubbish at writing little kids, so no flashbacks any time soon. Al probably put him in a headlock back then, too.

Hugo did make Quidditch Captain at fourteen - bear in mind, Wood was a fifth year in Book 1. He's good at the game and the vacancy opened up with James leaving school, plus there's merit in having a Quidditch Captain who's going to have several years in the role. Also it kind of depends on his competition, a little bit. But yeah, kid's good at what he does.

Secret: Rose doesn't dislike Quidditch as much as she pretends she does. She just likes being uppity and awkward at this stage in her life.

Scorpius would have just been absent-minded while writing the card for the chocolates - distracted and writing out of habit, or sulking about Miranda, results in not paying attention and her name coming onto the card without him noticing.

Scorpius and Rose basically fought like cats and dogs for five years. Rose STARTED it, yes, because of viewing him as having 'stolen' Albus from her, but Scorpius gave as good as he got, and so it was impossible for Rose to grow out of the habit - Scorpius just reinforced every bad impression she'd had of him, and Scorpius found winding her up too amusing and satisfying to give up on. He does seem to have had a little bit of a crush on her, albeit unknown to him; he found it satisfying to get a reaction. That said, Rose was rather fixated on HIM - while Scorpius would wind her up, Rose was the one who would notice what Scorpius was doing even when it had nothing to do with her! So that kind of hateful obsession went both ways. They do have a chance, of course, to set things right.

Poor Tim. I'm pretty mean.

Ah, Methuselah. You can tell the character developed in the writing, as he comes across a wee bit different here to how he does in later chapters, but in many ways that can be treated as a depiction of how he was perceived. Everyone did think he was pompous and self-important when, in truth, he just failed at dealing with people on a very fundamental level.

Diarmuid? Nobody asks about Diarmuid! I think he's possibly a long-suffering Ravenclaw (did I specify him as a Ravenclaw?) who means well but isn't quite bright enough or assertive enough to cope with an irritable Rose on any given day, and doesn't deserve the hand he's been dealt. Think a slightly nicer and more dim Percy.

Thank you for the big review!


 Report Review

Review #3, by MadiMalfoy Embers

6th January 2014:
Well I was basically blubbering through Methuselah's self-sacrifice and the pain Selena was going through. Urgh, such angst and pain and plot but such good writing! I'm very very very jealous of your skill because not many stories can make me feel emotionally attached like this one did. I've read many books in my lifetime so far, but a fair few don't come close to the greatness of this piece of fan fiction. You're an amazing writer with such great skill and I hope you become a published author sometime in the future because you deserve it! I'll be reading Starfall as soon as possible. :)
~MadiMalfoy x

Author's Response: Poor Selena. She wasn't originally going to get a scene in the final chapter, but I realised I couldn't have her as basically the only character to NOT have a scene - and I realised I couldn't end her story in Ignite with her in the clearing. That, and I wanted to introduce her mother.

I do try to tackle my fanfiction with roughly the same level of dedication I approach my original fiction, though fanfiction is sometimes less inhibited - which is good, I can experiment, do more stuff for 'fun'. But hopefully writing will become more than a mere hobby soon.

Thanks for all your support and reviews, and I hope to see you in the Starfall ones soon!


 Report Review

Review #4, by MadiMalfoy Down in Flames

4th January 2014:
Ahhh such a good chapter!! I've missed reading this! So many things have happened but you've really allowed lots of character development and all that and it's amazing!! Absolutely fantastic!!
~MadiMalfoy x

Author's Response: And plenty more to come from here! Ignite's finished, the sequel's coming strong (going to sit down and write it once I'm done with this review backlog I've let build up), and all the more adventures with the gang out there. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #5, by tori20444 Embers

2nd January 2014:
You're story was the best I've ever read. There should be fan fiction about your fan fiction. It had me crying and laughing, it was wonderful. I love/hate you. (more love then hate. i just- Methuselah. T-T i used a hole box of tissues on him) Please keep up your wonderful writing.

Forever your fan,
tori20444 (or Tori for short)

Author's Response: I'll take hate if I'm getting an emotional reaction! It hurt me, too, to kill Methuselah, but it had to be done. His story had to be cut short, or else it wouldn't hurt, else we wouldn't have lost anything, and we need to feel that loss, that denial of his dramatic arc, just as the characters feel the loss of his presence.

Plenty more adventures to come. Whole sequel out there, still in the works. Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #6, by RelentlessFire Embers

2nd January 2014:
Absolutely one of the most amazing fanfictions I ever read, the emotions I felt in those two days that I've stuck by, reading your story nonstop, were incredible. My blood froze and boiled through out the whole story. I'm sorry Methuselah and Tim died but I'm glad the Crisis is over, although I can't wait to read about the Council of Thorns again and this new pending war. Please never stop writing because you have a gift and a special talent that not so many have. I have a question for you: what are Rose and Selena's Patronus/Patroni (whatever that is)?
Answer soon please, Giulia.

Author's Response: JK says one thing, Latin convention says another, but Methuselah was being a bit of a snob considering it's FAKE Latin, anyway. So in JK we trust. Ha, I tend to not pick a patronus until I'm at the point of writing that scene (you would not believe how long it took me to figure out that Albus' is a horse, though I think it's perfect now I've got it - similar to the stag while not being just a copy of Harry). Selena's is, I think, a cat - a sleek, graceful, domesticated cat. Proud and smart and beloved. Or, possibly, a snake, because she is a Slytherin to the core, beautiful and manipulative. Rose's is - and bear with me here - a hawk, for the associations between intelligence and teamwork. Yeah, I know. She'll grow into them. The girl has further to go than any of the characters, in some ways.

That said, don't hold me to those or consider them carved in stone until they appear in prose. I change my mind periodically!

But, yes! More adventures to come, more on the plans of the Council of Thorns, more on Prometheus Thane. I don't intend to stop writing; even if I don't make it as a professional, I've done it for pleasure for the past 15 years, I'm not about to stop now.

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #7, by Europa27 Melt Into Me

31st December 2013:
the letter was just so heartwarming... i had tears in my eyes reading it... it felt lie i was reading it from Scorpius's perspective and it really really was incredible... the story has been very engaging and i havent been able to stop coming back to it in the midst of my work...

Author's Response: I'm not that sorry I'm distracting you from work. ;)

The letter is something I'm particularly proud of. I hadn't intended on the connection between Harry and Scorpius, it just wrote itself back in the first chapter, and I think that it's been so long coming is what makes it particularly effective. Scorpius needs adults in his life who can back him up, as he only now has his cruel father, absent mother, and... Lockett, who's more like a flawed big sister than a parent. Having Harry's support will do him a lot of good.

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #8, by Europa27 Burn Through

31st December 2013:
Come on... How can it be that a staff member does not know the password to the headmaster's office... i would think that each and everyone of them knew... In the books even Hagrid knew them even though he was just the Groundskeeper at that point... Apart from this one point i like all other ways you are moving this story... Giving us an insight into each and every person... how they think and so on... you are not able to dislike one person for the way they act cause you know why they do that... but i can still really really dislike Rose cause i think she only lives in her own world.. where what she believes in is the only truth... i hope she realizes and changes for the better.. a little more open minded by the end of this story...

Author's Response: Hagrid was particularly close to Dumbledore. This is a different headmaster, and Lockett is pretty second-string so far as the teachers of Hogwarts go - she keeps herself to herself, she doesn't engage more than she has to. She's probably one of the last to run extra-curriculars or cover for her colleagues and that kind of thing. Basically she's brilliant at Potions but only average as a teacher and a TERRIBLE team-player. As such, there was never any reason for her to be trusted with the password to the Headmaster's Office, and Stubbs never went out of his way to give her such a privilege. And then he went and misjudged Phlegethon, which took out the senior staffers quicker than he anticipated.

That said - I never explain this in the story, so that's my failure!

Rose is the biggest offender for seeing things only in her way. But A) She does have reason for believing and thinking the things she does, and B) Of all the characters, she's the one who gets her misconceptions proven wrong and will grow to put her great mind to more empathetic ends.

Anyway, I'm glad you like the characters AND dislike them - they are not flawless, any of them, and should still be shouted at when they do wrong and hugged when they do well (or maybe that's just me). Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #9, by Europa27 The Melting Pot

30th December 2013:
I really dont like Rose here... although i dont know her side, i feel like she is behaving too much like a high and mighty princess...

Author's Response: At this point, no, Rose isn't hugely likable. On the one hand, we haven't had her point of view yet - which is why it comes next chapter. As a writer, I knew what was going on with her and why, but I was aware she wasn't coming across as so sympathetic, so I wanted to get more into her head so we could see her when she wasn't being wound up by Scorpius. That said, "Why does Rose hate Scorpius?" is probably THE big question of the personal dynamics of Ignite.

But she's not meant to be flawless, so I'm glad she's getting a reaction! Thanks for reviewing.


 Report Review

Review #10, by julianna ls Embers

21st December 2013:
I love it. SUCH A GREAT STORY!

Author's Response: Glad you enjoyed! Thanks for reviewing.

 Report Review

Review #11, by Alyssa Embers

5th December 2013:
This story was fantastic. Truly. It made me laugh and it made me cry (I'm probably never going to forgive you for killing Methuselah. Ever.). It felt like this could easily be a sequel to the Harry Potter series. At times I even imagined it as a movie. Thank you for writing it. I'm now going to go and devour the next one!

Author's Response: I think any sequel to the series would likely be VERY different, but I have enjoyed writing Ignite as trying to bring in a fairly high-octane adventure which will grow to become more epic as time goes by - so I'm glad it had a movie-like quality at times! Happy you enjoyed the story, and happy you're going to continue reading. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #12, by rozen_maiden Embers

30th November 2013:
What can I say, Slide? Pathetically, I couldn't tell you anything that hasn't already been said by your other reviewers - but I want to say something. Something to tell you how much this story meant to me, how watching these characters change and grow was, in all honesty, a wonderful experience. I love that Albus showed me that you can be both strong and caring, yet in being strong you are not without weakness. I love that Selena was a woman to her core, with a care for pretty things and appearence, but she was more logical and clever than you ever could have predicted. That Rose was the complete opposite of her, but also gave into the girly things without it changing who she was at her heart. That Scorpius and Lockett were strong and weak, right and wrong, and incredibly determined and inspiring. And Jones...
I should have known that as soon as I attatched his character to Mordin Solus, he would sacrifice himself in a similar way. However, out of all the characters to compare him to, Mordin is the one. I know you sad you were impartial to him, but he holds a special place in my heart, and Jones is right there next to him. Not that I'm saying your character is like Mordin - Jones grew and developed and turned into an incredible man by the end of the story (his *own* man, and one I'm so proud of), and a good friend for your characters (and myself). Selena's heartbreak at the beginning of the chapter had me in tears. Your characters have stolen my heart, and I love it.
And Draco. I saw that coming, but didn't want to believe it. I love Draco, usually, but your story has me wanting to wring his neck. I'm proud of Scorpius for standing up for himself. I hope his mother contacts him. In the meantime, I'm glad he has comfort by the Potters' side. It's a fitting home for him, if there ever was one.
I remember reading, somewhere, vaguely in an authors note, that you are working on an original fiction? This makes me so happy - that will be a story I will be pre-ordering and reading and re-reading if you ever get it published. Your writing is ... I don't have a word that could do it justice. In the meantime, I'm running over to read 'Starfall' as soon as I'm free.
Thank you for this incredible, inspiring, wonderful story. From your biggest fan,
Mahalia

Author's Response: I can only be thoroughly touched and pleased that you've taken all this away from the story. It was always meant to be fun and adventurous, but it certainly grew into being more than that as time went on, as the characters grew in their own right, and however much Methuselah's arc was planned from the get-go, he more than any of them grew beyond what I anticipated.

This Draco is certainly, right now, utterly unsympathetic. I dislike characters being 2-dimensionally evil and selfish, and so there IS a wider story to Draco in this tale, and one which will be told down the line. Certainly I don't think that, in canon, Draco would necessarily turn out like this. But it will be explored.

I'm certainly working on original fiction, I enjoy writing too much to not try to do this for a living. Hopefully some sort of news might come out of this soonish.

Thank you very much for sticking with the story, thanks for the kind words, and thanks for all the reviews! I'm just glad you enjoyed yourself along the ride.


 Report Review

Review #13, by kayleefrank Embers

25th November 2013:
Must say, I both love and hate this story. I hate it when people die for stupid reasons like world power, but that's life. This is my favorite fan fic so far! Great job!

Author's Response: I can cope with love/hate! Death is a part of things, unfortunately, and I just hope I've done it justice here. I'm glad you enjoyed the story, and thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #14, by Alexis Embers

23rd November 2013:
This story was overwhelming me with emotions. Scorpius' sarcasm and jokes making me laugh, the romances made me giggle, deaths made me cry.. You captured the older generation's personality's perfectly too! Great instalment. :)

Author's Response: I'm glad the story kept you engaged and running the emotional gauntlet! I sometimes worry it's been whiplash inducing to go from light comedy to truly horrible things, so I am relieved to hear people enjoy it. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #15, by LightLeviosa5443 Embers

21st November 2013:
Um. This story was incredible. And I actually let out a squeal when I saw that you've made it a series. Like, I can't even wrap my head around it. Fabulous! I'm so happy I read this story, see I started it several times, but wasn't sure it would actually involve a Rose/Scorpius story, so I was hesitant to read on.

I must admit, I'm so glad I finally decided to do so. This was probably one of the best, if not the best, fan fiction I have ever read. Which I suppose may not be a shining compliment coming from me, as I generally stick to only stories about Rose/Scorpius.

Your writing style is addictive, and I literally fell in love with this story. I can't wait to read the next one. This is certainly being Favorited, as are you. Thanks for the brilliant read!

xoxo LL

Author's Response: Ha, yes, I bring plot alongside my Scorose. Because I feel plot is needed to push a relationship, a romance, to challenge characters and how they view themselves and each other (and I firmly believe two people in a relationship need to be fully-realised individuals in their own right before they can be together). This Scorpius and this Rose would have never seen how different they WEREN'T without the Phlegethon Outbreak.

And it needed a series! Because Thane and the Council are still out there, because I had ideas, because this was always envisioned as a trilogy, actually. Ignite is the first, Ignite is our Episode IV, our Matrix, our POTC 1. Which means it's just going to get meaner and more complicated from here on out... our Hero's Journey has only just begun.

Thank you for coming to the story even so late, and for giving it so many good and thoughtful reviews rather than just racing to the end. I always appreciate it when that happens!


 Report Review

Review #16, by LightLeviosa5443 Blaze of Glory

21st November 2013:
That was so sad. Great chapter. But so sad. Poor Jones, I mean, amazing of him. Really, truly. Poor Selena. Those kids will be changed forever.

xoxo LL

Author's Response: They will. It was one thing to see people suffer, and for most of them Tim's death wasn't the death of someone they knew well (exception being Scorp, of course). But this is their friend, their loved one, Methuselah, laying down his life. Because he had to, that poor, mad boy.

Thank you for reviewing.


 Report Review

Review #17, by LightLeviosa5443 Freeze Out

21st November 2013:
His reaction to Rose being okay was so sweet.

I loved the scrap in the woods with Thane. I love how Thane backed out of the ordeal because he didn't like how far it had gone, but still maintained himself by saying if he was paid enough later on that would never happen again.

I hope the cure is easier to administer than figuring out what it would be is.

xoxo LL

Author's Response: Thane - well, yeah. He's a mysterious one. How much of what he was saying was the truth? If it wasn't, what does it mean? What does the truth even mean? He's a mercenary type but everyone has their reasons.

The cure is going to be... difficult.

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #18, by LightLeviosa5443 Melt Into Me

21st November 2013:
That letter was perfection. Chapter after chapter you have proved to impress me again and again. I can't believe how much detail and care you take with writing your stories. Your characters are all distinctly different, and the story line never strays. I'm immensely impressed, and I love this story.

Fantastic job so far, I can't wait to finish reading it. 10/10 on this chapter.

xoxo LL

Author's Response: The letter has been coming a while - literally, and dramatically it's been seeded since the first chapter, Harry seeing so much of himself in young Scorpius without realising it. I had to revisit that point at some stage, and now was the time for Scorpius to get that spark of inspiration and hope.

Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #19, by LightLeviosa5443 Rising Heat

21st November 2013:
Poor Scorpius. I actually teared up a bit when he was dealing with the spells over Tim's body. You've really developed this story well, and I love it. You don't miss a single detail, and your writing style really is a talent.

Brilliant job, I know I always say that, but I truly do mean it.

xoxo LL

Author's Response: This is Scorpius' darkest hour, poor lad. This one was pretty hard to write, and hard to write well. I'm glad it came off well, it needed to be done right.

Thanks for the kind words.


 Report Review

Review #20, by LightLeviosa5443 Hot Issue

21st November 2013:
Awe, I'm glad people are seeing how helpful and nice he is. I mean, yeah, Selena gave him the idea of reading the letters, but he really didn't have to take it to the extent of which he did, and do it every day, and a radio show!

I wonder how they're going to solve the problem of the ressurection stone.

xoxo LL

Author's Response: Scorpius is going thoroughly introspective but he sometimes has qualities which shine through even in his sulk. Selena mostly wanted him to go away and not bother her - but his compassion rears its head, and the results are impressive!

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #21, by LightLeviosa5443 Fire and Ice

21st November 2013:
Yay! That was fabulous! I hope something real comes of that kiss, and soon! I wonder how Al will take it? That'll be interesting. Hermione is going to freak when Rose tells her what happened. Especially after she asked Scorpius to keep Rose out of the forest.

I'm so happy that Rose said she'd dump Flynn.

xoxo LL

Author's Response: Yeah, finally these two crazy kids begin to sort out their differences - good and proper! Rose has realised he doesn't infuriate her as much as she thinks, and always knew her and Flynn wouldn't last. It'd be a bit awkward for poor Al, though!

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #22, by LightLeviosa5443 Powderkeg

21st November 2013:
Interesting that Thane had no interest of taking their supplies or killing them. I wonder what he is up to? Is he just trying to create a diversion? Why did he even save them? That makes no sense.

Can't wait to read the next chapter to make sense of it.

xoxo LL

Author's Response: Thane has his own plans and motivations. Some of these include his attitude towards killing people - does he have his own plans, or will he simply draw the line at needless killing? Evil is not all-encompassing, after all. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #23, by LightLeviosa5443 No Smoke Without Fire

21st November 2013:
I really liked this chapter, as sad as it was.

I love how Scorpius cares so much for Albus and even Rose. I wish they had kissed! That would've made it perfect!

Scorpius certainly doesn't get enough credit and I hate how everyone casts his family name upon him. He definitely is NOT his father. I initially thought he was going to sneak into the forbidden forest himself to figure out what's going on. I'm still not convinced he won't.

Poor Tim Warwick. It's cute how much Scorp cares about him. Great chapter.

xoxo LL

Author's Response: Scorpius doesn't get enough credit, no. Poor lad, he doesn't have any super-obvious talents to contribute, and so even if people think well of him, he often tends to get sidelined. And can't even kiss the girl successfully!

Glad you enjoyed the chapter. Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #24, by LightLeviosa5443 Firefight

20th November 2013:
Oh my, what's wrong with his head?

Great chapter. I love his way of distracting them, brilliant. I laughed when he stunned his own foot. Funny.

Author's Response: We'll see. Soon.

Stunning himself in the foot. It could only happen to this universe's Scorpius Malfoy. Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #25, by LightLeviosa5443 False Dawn

20th November 2013:
This was a great chapter! I was going to read a long review but I'm so anxious to read the next one that I'm just going to say Brilliant job and leave it at that!!

xoxo LL

Author's Response: Ha, this one IS one of my meaner cliffhangers. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>