Reading Reviews for The Pineapple Conspiracy
  
10 Reviews Found

Review #1, by icingonmycake Chapter 3

19th February 2014:
This is a very very awesome story and I am very sad that it appears to be abandoned. I would have loved to read more.
IoMC

Author's Response: Hello! I'm so glad you liked my story so far! Unfortunately, real life has a nasty tendency to get in the way, but maybe someday I'll come back to this! Thank you so much for reading what I have so far!

 Report Review

Review #2, by icingonmycake Chapter 2

19th February 2014:
Pineapples! Haha really loving this story even if it's not complete.
IoMC

Author's Response: Thank you!!!

 Report Review

Review #3, by icingonmycake Chapter 1

19th February 2014:
This was a very great start to the story! I read the date of last chapter and saw that it was a WIP, so I wasn't going to read it but then I couldn't help clicking on it. It was the name more then anything else really, that compelled my to read it. Loved it; een though this review is long after when you wrote it but I had to compliment the story!
IoMC

Author's Response: Well, thank you so much for taking the time to comment! I'm so sorry it's taken me so long to respond to your lovely reviews! I'm glad you liked the title; that's what happens when you try to combine challenges, hahaha.

 Report Review

Review #4, by Roots in Water Chapter 1

17th July 2013:
Hey there!

Wow- this certainly sounds like a very interesting beginning! "The Pineapple Conspiracy"... What an interesting name. I'm very curious to learn more about the significance of the pineapple. Of course it's what they keep muttering about... But there must be something deeper, right? :)

I really enjoyed the short, scattered scenes in this chapter. It did a great job of setting up numerous plot lines and characters. I'm particularly intrigued by the interaction between Scorpius and Dominique. His comments definitely seemed to hit a nerve with her and the dynamic between her and her sister sounds very interesting.

I'm already feeling sympathetic for Dominique, even though I suppose her life must be better than Scorpius portrayed it. Scorpius was, after all, deliberately trying to be nasty and disheartening.

The opening scene was very interesting as well. A Wizarding world where everyone had achieved equality is very interesting and very amazing- if true equality has actually been achieved. His murder seems to speak otherwise, though, as do the attacks on the Muggles.

However, perhaps the wizards and witches are attacking Muggles because they can no longer attack each other (at least not based on blood)?

Oh my gosh. You're certainly setting this up to be an interesting story and I'm very interested in reading on. You did a fabulous job with this opening chapter. Great work! :D

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the review! I just re-read this story so I could refresh my memory, and I'm glad you liked the scattered scenes because there are a lot of characters involved, and I had planned a lot of little arcs. As far as Dominique's characterization is concerned, I needed an excuse to make her a little bit gritty (otherwise the things I had planned for her would seem ridiculously ooc) and I couldn't pass up using Victoire to make her that way. Scorpius is being a jerk, though I do think he makes a few valid points about why Dominique acts the way she does.

An attempt at true equality is going to be tough to portray, but I'm glad you think the story is interesting so far! Thanks again for the review!


 Report Review

Review #5, by AlmostInvisible  Chapter 3

19th June 2013:
It is a bit slow but thats alright because you are still setting up the story. I think that what you have going is pretty darn awesome and I hope to see it continue. The pineapple aspect should be interesting. Please keep going with this, I'm rather curious!

Author's Response: Thanks! I've been terrible at updating, but hopefully will get around to it eventually!

 Report Review

Review #6, by my_voice_rising Chapter 2

25th November 2012:
Hello there! I'm back to stalk, er, read this wonderful story. I've got some catching up to do!

You had me hooked at the first line, "hes getting on in years and twice as daft as he used to be." Have I *mentioned* your witty characterization? Even the small bit about Ron thinking that the sun shined out of Robert Wright's you-know-what; it's so like him to impulsively adore somebody the way that he did Viktor Krum (pre-Yule Ball). You do such a lovely job. It's the thing about this fic that I love the very most, I think.

Your description of Rose and Scorpius's relationship is wonderful. You tell us so much without bogging us down with information. I think this is one of my favorite lines that I've read so far, "To him, she was fire. She was smart, she was curious, she was angry, and happy, and sad, and passionate, and as wild as her unruly red hair."

How interesting that the Ministry is cracking down on people who own House-Elves. I like how you've taken this bit of canon and really run with it. Very nice touch!

Oh my god, what a heart-wrenching scene with Mr. Fennel and the baby. And how disturbing that Allman did such a terrible thing and then was playing with the baby. He really believes that they're doing the right thing. You've built a very believable reality that could easily be canon--horrible, and very Orwellian, but believable.

I really want to know what the Pineapple Conspiracy is! I liked the foreshadowing, with the lotion. Really well done.

Author's Response: Eep! Thank you so much for your review (which took me forever to respond to! O_O)! I'm so glad you've enjoyed the story thus far, and that you think the characterization works, because that's something I worry about, especially considering that all of the canon characters we know well are old in this story.

I'm possibly the slowest updater in the history of fanfiction...but thanks so much for your support and review! I really appreciate it!


 Report Review

Review #7, by teh tarik Chapter 1

17th October 2012:
Wow, strong, gripping start to a story! I love those headlines, and am curious as to what the Ministry's become...and how it reached such an extreme political situation.

Also, the chemistry between Scorpius and Dom sounds promising and it'll be interesting to see how their relationship develops.

Author's Response: Thanks for the feedback! I've hit a bit of a stumbling block so far in the story, but I'll get back to this, I swear...

Thanks again for the review!


 Report Review

Review #8, by my_voice_rising Chapter 1

3rd October 2012:
Awesome banner. Even better title. :) I think this plot is interesting too, with the notion of assimilation. It's really interesting that you decided to make words like Muggleborn and Half-Blood illegal; it's like the Ministry took an ideal situation and turned it almost dystopian.

What an attention-grabbing introduction! "He could write though, and had a knack for being in the right place at the right time. Except for tonight." Really great work.

I love the characterization of Scorpius and Dominique. The reader really gets a feel for them up front. I like Dominique's bitterness especially, it's very natural and allows the plot to progress rather than being an unnecessary personality trait.

You use really clever descriptive language. I particularly like, "A lacy tablecloth covered the scars and pits on the wooden surface. Parchment covered the tablecloth, and writing covered the parchment."

A really nice start. I'm adding this to my favorite stories list so that I will be able to keep following!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for stopping by! I'm so glad you like the idea behind it--I'm just trying to set up a scene where it seems somewhat plausible. And thanks even more for the feedback on Scorpius and Dominique, as I can never be sure if they sound like legitimate people or not, haha. It's slow going, but this will be updated eventually! Thanks again for your kind words!

 Report Review

Review #9, by purplewings721 Chapter 2

18th July 2012:
I'm really sad that this story doesn't have more reviews. :( Well, I'm here to fix that!

This is actually really interesting. The idea that the Ministry has gone to the other extreme - forbidding anyone to mention bloodstatus - as a way to prevent another war happening is very intriguing. Most Next Gen fics are very light hearted and more humor-centered (or the ones I read, at least) but I also like the possibility of there being another war and that the danger and conspiracies haven't ended.

I'm also really enjoying the characters. Dominique/Scorpius is one of my favorite Next Gen pairings and I'm really looking forward to see their relationship develop.

Good job and please update soon!
-Camila :)

Author's Response: Hey! Thanks for the review, purplewings! So far, I'm trying to build up more backstory about why the Ministry would have gone to this extreme, and what the drawbacks are--which I think may take some time. I've got part of chapter 3 already written (in which some old characters will come back!) and hopefully that'll be up soon!

Thanks for stopping by!


 Report Review

Review #10, by bester_jester Chapter 1

20th June 2012:
Really great so far. I especially liked the introduction with the moon beams and dead reporter, it was really well written!

Scorpius and Dom should be interesting. Looking forward to more!

Author's Response: Thank you bester! I'm hoping to update soon!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login