Reading Reviews for Even Though You're Gone
  
8 Reviews Found

Review #1, by BKL8008 You'll Always Have A Place In My Heart

27th August 2012:
Normally things like this aren't my "cup of tea", but you did it very well. I think that anyone who has ever been in a remotely similar situation will recognize the emotions here and relate to it. It's very well done, and very moving. A great "what if" into McGonagall's back story.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reading and reviewing! I am glad that you took the time to read this even though it isn't something that you would normally read. I am happy to know that I made the characters and their situation relatable. I appreciate all your kind words!

Thanks again! :)
-SR17


 Report Review

Review #2, by The Last Marauder You'll Always Have A Place In My Heart

28th July 2012:
Hi there,

I saw this story on your author page and I just couldn't leave without clicking on it and reading.

I really liked this, because you took the information from Pottermore and made it your own. What I loved is that you showed us a whole different side to McGonagall that we never got to see in the books, and that JK Rowling wanted us to see, but couldn't fit it in. You really captured that there is more to the stern (but kind-natured), Quidditch-loving teacher than meets the eye.

This is a hard task to do - to write something like this, so fair play for rising to the challenge and doing a great job of it - well done!

Ps. Just spotted two typos:

"Recognising the owl as her brothers" -brother's - just forgot the '

"As she climbed out f bed" - of bed - just forgot the o

Anyway, great one-shot! I really enjoyed reading it! :)

Author's Response: Hi there!

Thanks for stopping by and giving this a read and review! I am really glad that you liked how I worked with information that was given on Pottermore. I really thought it would help bring out the story the best and I always wanted to try to bring out a side of McGonagall that we never see. She really does have emotions locked deep down there, but sometimes you have to dig to find them. I am glad that you enjoyed this!

Ah yes...those forever pain in the bottom typo's thank you for pointing them out! See I told you they happen to everyone! ;)

Thanks again!!!
-SR17


 Report Review

Review #3, by FallenAmaranth You'll Always Have A Place In My Heart

28th July 2012:
Awwwh! :') This is incredibly sweet! And so beautifully written, as well. I've never really read much about Minerva, and from what I have, she's always been so strong. You've shown that here, when she left because it was what was needed, but I also get to see the softer side of her - McGonagall in love - something that one could never really imagine from reading about her in the books, other than, of course, Albus Dumbledore(Though that was more of a caring sort of love, rather than 'In love')

But it was really really good. I love it! Good job, and congrats on 1st place :')

- Emily

Author's Response: First of all thank you! I am really glad that you liked this piece. It was hard to write so I am glad that my efforts paid off when it came to the challenge. I have always seen her as this strict teacher, but after reading the extra information on pottermore, I knew exactly what I needed to to. Pull out the emotions that she had locked away for so long. She has always been the type of character to do something because of a need. Her courage and loyalty go beyond.

Thanks again!!!

-SR17


 Report Review

Review #4, by Moonyxluna You'll Always Have A Place In My Heart

28th June 2012:
Hi dear, I'm here with your review :)

Okay so I have the basic idea about this because so I am excited to see what came of it! I'm just going to jump right in.

"That a bird Fina," - comma after bird (generally you should have commas in dialogue before names.)

I love the details in the beginning as she's reading; I got a really great idea of the scenery. The only thing I can think for the first part is to talk a little more about her emotions as she read through the letter. I did feel them, and I know they were there, but I think they could be deepened as the blow of her past love's death really hits her. Make sense? (I hope :p)

Her and Dad both went to it. - should be 'she and dad', and you don't need to capitalize 'dad'.

I really love the picture you are writing as I read through this. I see her so perfectly walking up to the tree and having all of the memories instantly fill her. It really shows a lot of how much love she had for Dougal that you were able to capture the memories so beautifully.


Sitting down and began to cry. just a sentence fragment. Same with 'a wild expression on..." a few sentences after that.

I thought the actual moment with Dougal was very impacting. I liked that Dougal's curiosity was completely overshadowed by his concern for Minerva's wellbeing. I thought that was very sweet! I thought it was a very great look at giving McGonagall some closure over that part of her life.

I thought this was such a lovely one-shot, I think you did a great job with it! I hope this was at least a little helpful! I love reading your writing♥ beautiful job!

 Report Review

Review #5, by Deltaris You'll Always Have A Place In My Heart

27th June 2012:
This is perfect, so perfect.

I really can't think of anything else to say about this. I've sat here and read it through a few times, and just can't stop crying.

I love it.

Please forgive this rather pointless review, hah. Just wanted to let you know I love this so much.
Del<3

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reading and reviewing! I am glad that you liked the story. No review is pointless! =) I am glad that I was able to get the proper emotions across.

-SR17


 Report Review

Review #6, by ann You'll Always Have A Place In My Heart

25th June 2012:
Aww this is really good! I wish you could extend the story. Maybe her marriage to Elphinstone?

Author's Response: Hi there!

Thank you very much for reading and reviewing! I am glad that you liked the story. I may plan on writing another one with an extension to it in the future. =)

Thanks,
-SR17


 Report Review

Review #7, by Ron 4 Hermione You'll Always Have A Place In My Heart

25th June 2012:
A good piece- I like how you show a side to Minerva that is hardly ever saw!
Good luck in the challenge :)

Author's Response: Hi there!

Thank you very much for reading and reviewing. This was a very difficult piece to write so I am glad that you like it. =)

Thanks,
-SR17


 Report Review

Review #8, by ScarletEye158 You'll Always Have A Place In My Heart

25th June 2012:
Aww Jenn this was so good! You made me cry... and if you know me at all, you know I love when stories make me cry :) I liked you interpretation on what happened between Minerva and Dougal. Minerva is a really hard character to write (I know, I've tried :p) but I thought you did a really good job with her emotions:) I also really loved the detail you put into this one-shot! Really great job and I hope to read more of your writing soon (:

-Amanda

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reading and reviewing. I am so glad that you liked it. She is definitely a hard character to write and I re-wrote this four times before I felt that she was given justice. It really took some time to get the ole muse around to thinking about how this could have happened between the two of them. Deatils were one of my worries so I am glad that they came across well.

Thanks,
-SR17


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login