Reading Reviews for Unmasked
  
18 Reviews Found

Review #1, by LadyL8 when darkness falls

7th July 2014:
Hi there!

This was cute but also quite sad story, because I obviously don't like seeing Harry struggling.

But while I didn't like seeing Harry struggling, I think it was good you wrote him like that. I think it's really believable that he'd be struggling after the Battle, especially since he's been needed- been a hero- for so long. I can only imagine how different it must've felt when the world no longer needed him - or when he thought the world no longer needed it. I think it's totally believable that he'd still try to find a way to save the world - or at least save somebody.

I also loved how Ginny handled the situation - how she understood how he felt and comforted him. It really showed how much she loves him, and it was - in my opinion- really believable.

So to sum up, I loved it. I think it was really well-written, and I'm jealous of your descriptions since I tend to struggle with that myself. But you're definitely not struggling with it, cause it was really good.

- Lotte

House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Thanks for the review! I do think that Harry would be struggling after the Battle, probably for the rest of the life, because going from war time to peace time is such a big shift. I think he most likely had to deal with at least a couple existential crises, which was sort of what inspired this story.
I usually have a difficult time writing Ginny, so it really means a lot to me that you found her reaction believable!
Thank you so much for your review! I really appreciate the feedback and I am so glad you liked this.


 Report Review

Review #2, by nott theodore when darkness falls

6th July 2014:
Hello there!

Ah, this was such a cute story but at the same time it was a little bit sad and melancholy to read because it made me sad to see Harry in this way now.

I can definitely imagine Harry having such a hard time after the war is over not carrying on helping people the way he's been used to. I know that other characters mentioned he had a hero complex before and I think that this is the perfect illustration of that, because he just can't let an injustice go by without trying to do something about it. It's so in character for him to be sneaking out to try and help other people even when he's working as an Auror and determined to help other people.

I like the part when Ginny decides to follow him and knows all along that he's going out and doing something without her, but when she discovers what it is she's able to accept it because it's part of Harry and she knows and loves that. The last line captured that really well. Great job!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup Review 2014

Author's Response: Hi there! Thank you so much for the review! I know this story is a little bit bittersweet to read, but I'm glad you still enjoyed it. When I wrote this, I really wanted to write a story that showed the aftermath of the war - that it's not all rainbows and sunshines all the time, despite what we want to believe. I think that Harry would have to deal with the consequences of what happened for a long time, but the good news is that he is surrounded by people who love him and care about him - like Ginny. So, as sad as this is, I like to think that it's also a sweet story.
Thank you!


 Report Review

Review #3, by slytherinchica08 when darkness falls

19th January 2013:
OH poor Harry! You know I really can imagine Harry having a hard time after being everyones hero for all of his life. To come to terms with the fact that you aren't really needed any more can be a horrible feeling and I can imagine that it would have been hard for Harry, though maybe a blessing at first he might miss it after a while. I loved the ending, the roles reversing, Ginny embracing Harry at the end, it was just really sweet! I thought that this was a very cute and enjoyable oneshot! Great Job!

~Slytherinchica08~

Author's Response: I'm so glad you enjoyed this! I think that a shifting of roles is integral to most relationships, and I think it would've been especially important for Ginny and Harry; they're both Gryffindors, but they can't both be the hero all the time, you know? They both have their moments of vulnerability.
Thanks so much for the review!


 Report Review

Review #4, by NaidatheRavenclaw when darkness falls

18th July 2012:
This was great! I usually see a lot of description heavy and one character type fics with 500 words, but you managed to give me a mystery. That's absolutely amazing, and you put suspense into 500 words which is even more incredible. I honestly don't know how you did it :P

Their bodies blend into one another and their limbs intertwine; they are fused together, bound by the war, by the lives they saved and the lives they lost, by a lifetime of playing as heroes. But itís time to grow up now.

That was my favorite part. The entire thing was stunning, but those lines rang so true. I absolutely adored the last line as well. Ahhh, you're such an amazing writer ♥

-Naida

Author's Response: Thanks! Hehehe, yeah, I actually wasn't even planning to limit this to 500 words when I started but then I realized that it would be better to say a lot in a little. And I wanted to leave it open-ended at the end, so that you don't really know if he's going to continue or if Ginny will find some way to stop him or what (: But, anyway, I'm so happy that you enjoyed this so much! It means a lot to me that you like my writing, so thank you so much! :D

 Report Review

Review #5, by Maybe when darkness falls

18th July 2012:
I love this! So very Harry. So very Ginny. So great! I love how short and compact this is, I love the situation, I love the characterisation, I love all of it! Ginny being his rock, being sneaky, sucking in the sadness so that maybe he won't have to (I loved that line) was all just so brilliant. The fact that Harry does it in secret as well. He's always the hero, but he doesn't shout about it. It's his secret, and I can definitely imagine this kind of thing happening in the aftermath of the war. Brilliant piece :)

-Maybe

Author's Response: Thank you! I think that is definitely something that makes Harry unique - he's a hero, but he doesn't need other people to know that he's a hero. He's just fine doing it in secret (; I'm so happy you liked this so much and found it believable. Thank you so much for the review!

 Report Review

Review #6, by manno_malfoy when darkness falls

15th July 2012:
This is so, so beautiful I almost teared up! Honestly! I've only read one other 500-word one-shot, and I'm still amazed by how you guys can write stories that are so emotional and convey such beautiful messages in less than a 1000 words! It's marvelling!

I loved how Ginny trusted him, how she knew that he could not have been cheating on her! Yet she was overpowered by her curiosity and found herself a way to get on his tail!

""Harry." She doesn't have to say anything else; she gives him everything - sympathy, frustration, sorrow, helplessness - in one word, two syllables, five letters."
I love this bit! I can hear Ginny's voice and her tone! It's just wonderful description!

The hug part was also very sincere and that's when things began to get emotional for me!

I really like the way you've characterised Harry! He sneaks around, trying to save whomever he can save; it's like he's worried Ginny would think he's silly or insane! But she understands! She understands that 'he just wants to be someone's hero again'!

The mood was set wonderfully and the sentences were meticulously composed to convey all the feelings, and there weren't any technical mistakes that distracted me from the story!

I absolutely loved this! It surely is one of my faves as of right now! Marvellous job and keep on writing!

-Manno

Author's Response: You are the sweetest! :D Honestly, I kind of like writing shorter pieces better than longer pieces, just because I feel like there's less of a chance of me screwing it up lolz. But thank you. I'm sure you could do it as well if you tried!

Eeeh thank you thank you thank you! Your wonderful compliments make me so happy. And, as sadistic as this sounds, I'm really pleased I almost made you tear up with this. I think this really is a sad sort-of hopeless story, all the more so because I can totally see canon Harry actually doing it >_< Poor Harry.

Anyway, thank you so much for this lovely review! I have the biggest smile on my face right now, you have no idea. And you favorited it! Gah. You rock. Thanks again! (:


 Report Review

Review #7, by Toujours Padfoot when darkness falls

10th July 2012:
Aww, I really liked this. Short and simple and both Harry and Ginny were very canon; I can definitely imagine Harry doing something like this after the war, far into the future when there's no Voldemort. For someone so used to playing the hero, he must feel like he's lacking purpose to suddenly not have to do that anymore. I like the idea of vigilante Harry, secretly and silently saving the day.

Gorgeous writing.

:)

Author's Response: Thank you! It makes me so happy when people tell me that my characters seem canon - especially with such major characters as Harry and Ginny. I think my favourite part about writing this was that I could imagine Harry doing it at any age, and I tried to leave it up to the reader how old or young they wanted to imagine him. Thank you so much for this sweet review!

 Report Review

Review #8, by WitnesstoitAll when darkness falls

10th July 2012:
I just stumbled upon this, and wowzers. It was so simple, but complex at the same time -- complex in a way that a living and breathing organism is in it's essence, just an organism, but in it's entirety cells and systems all coordinated to work together. THAT is the sort of understanding that sits between Harry and Ginny here and it's really quite beautiful. There were two lines in particular that stood out to me and made me reread them b/c they were that good:

He smells like sadness and she sucks it in, so that maybe he wonít have to.
^^ that paints such a lovely image of Ginny as Harry's anchor and refuge, as his strength.

and

He just wants to be someoneís hero again.
^^ OMG. I just, no words. That's so sad and so beautiful and gah. I'm drowning in a pool of feels.

This was an amazing one shot and I hope that you are proud of it.

Author's Response: I've definitely never had anyone compare a story of mine to an organism, so thank you! I understand what you mean about simplicity and complexity, and I'm glad that I managed to pull that off here and you liked it so much :D Please don't drown! And thank you so much for your lovely review. I'm always most proud of the most recent thing I've written, so I am proud of this - for now (;

 Report Review

Review #9, by married to black when darkness falls

6th July 2012:
For 500 words, that was so, so brilliant. The last line "He just wants to be someone's hero again"... you do not understand how much it tugged at my heart. It felt so surreal, honestly. The way you wove the story and made it flow... it was so perfect. Absolutely and marvelously perfect.

In the beginning, I was so scared Harry was cheating. My heart was so afraid for Ginny. Then when I read on, I started to think he was doing drugs or something of the sort. Then that made less sense as the story progressed and my head was yelling "HARRY, HARRY, WHAT ARE YOU DOING?!"

I was seriously freaking out inside, hah. It was just so enthralling and you captured my attention so well! Bravo for you on that. I love the twist you did. It would make sense that Harry would want to be a hero again, someone that another looks up to. He was always into saving people and I'm sure that never left him even after the war.

I like how you pictured Ginny as a wife that trusted and believed in her husband. Most woman would have yelled at their spouse, accusing him of being unfaithful before even asking what was really happening. Ginny's always been so levelheaded and I love your portrayal of her canon personality and consistent of showing her as the way she is throughout the story.


Your grammar and story pacing was so perfect. I couldn't find any mishaps or mistakes. Nothing to critique on either. So good.

This is, all in all, a brilliant one-shot. Aboslutely fabulous. Well-done!

Author's Response: Thank you! It's always so flattering to hear someone call my story perfect, because when I'm writing it it feels anything but perfect. I don't think I could ever write a realistically-cheating Harry; I just really can't picture Harry doing that, y'know? This seems a lot more believable to me and I'm glad you thought so too. And I'm very happy that you liked my Ginny! I wanted to show how her relationship with Harry was really strong, after so many years together, and I like to flatter myself that canon!Ginny would act that way in this situation. I am so so so so grateful for this lovely review :D I am legitimately blushing. Thank you so much!

 Report Review

Review #10, by BoOkWoRm24 when darkness falls

5th July 2012:
Wow. I mean just wow. This was amazing. In a small five hundred words you've conveyed more emotion than some writers do in entire novels. From the very first words I was on the edge of my seat. At first I was so worried it was an affair, and the Ginny/Harry lover in me was like NO. But then I kept reading, and you started to reveal exactly where you were going with this, and I was hooked.

The amount of charicterization that you shoved into this was really admirable. I felt like I was reading the Harry JKR wrote all over again. I totally see him going out into London and stopping robbery's after the war.

But I think the part that did it for me was the last sentence. "He just wants to be someone's hero again." There has been some discussion on whether the epilouge seemed resonable because you'd think that a war like the one Harry went thorugh would have made him incapable of settling down. He was scarred you know? And I think that sentence radiated this scarred-ness.

Anyway this was really really good.

Hope to see you around the BvB battle again sometime :)

-Liz

Author's Response: You are so sweet! This review really brought a smile to my face. I would never have Harry cheat on Ginny, just because I don't personally believe that could ever happen, y'know? I like this alternative much better ;)
It means so so so so much to me that my Harry reminded me of JKR's, because I think Harry is quite honestly the hardest to write in character - simply because we spent so much time with him in the books that it's easy to notice when he's even a little bit off.
I honestly believe he was scarred; there was no way he couldn't be.
Thank you so much for the review! :D I am so happy you liked this.


 Report Review

Review #11, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap when darkness falls

5th July 2012:
Maybe she's blind or in denial or just plain foolish, but she knows it's not an affair. She also knows - from many nights of sly peeking - that Harry always takes his Invisibility Cloak, his Sneakoscope, and his wand with him. At this point in their marriage, she's accustomed to his peculiar secrets, but that doesn't make her any less curious.


^ You know at first I thought it was an affair or a drug addiction of some sort. You know, normal things but then when I read sneakoscope that it had to be something else. I don't read stories where Harry cheats on Ginny and I'm glad this wasn't one of those.

You caught me by surprise because I didn't know what he was doing. I thought it was very in character of Ginny to follow him. She has always been a very curious person and I think if something is bothering her husband she would do anything to find out what it is and try to make him feel better.

Of course she can't really. It's something Harry needs to work out on his own. This line killed me:

He just wants to be someone's hero again.

^ I've always wondered how he would have coped after the war. He would have had a family, happiness but I think there's something inside Harry that will always make him want to save people after everything that happened in the war. He could never handle death and destruction, not if he could do something about it.

A really interesting piece. 500 words packed a powerful punch.

Author's Response: Hehehe I'm glad I could initially mislead you - that was my intention. I don't think I could write a story where Harry cheats on Ginny, because I just don't see that happening; I like my version of why he's sneaking out better ;) I'm so glad you understood both of their actions so well and found them believable! Thank you for the lovely review :D

 Report Review

Review #12, by SiriuslyPeeved when darkness falls

1st July 2012:
You have done such a lovely job capturing Ginny's deep understanding of Harry and the care and concern in their relationship. Your writing is lyrical and clear. I'm amazed you have packed so much into under 500 words and I hope you did very well indeed with your challenge!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I always find myself struggling to portray Ginny and Harry's relationship realistically, so I'm glad you liked it, at least (: And thanks so much for the review! You are very sweet.

 Report Review

Review #13, by worship the nargles when darkness falls

24th June 2012:
10/10

OMGOMGOMG THATS WAS AWESOME! i know i say this a lot in my reviews but i really mean it more than ever this time that you really stay true to H/G personalities! i love this story!

-worship the nargles

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm so glad you enjoyed it (:

 Report Review

Review #14, by ariellem when darkness falls

19th June 2012:
HOLLA!!!

Sorry, Lydia moment, but I'm here! Finally right? I can't tell you how much I love this one-shot, I'm signed out right now, but when I sign back in I'll be favoriting it.

I just want to help.

That is such a Harry thing to do with his hero complex.

He smells like sadness and she sucks it in, so that maybe he wonít have to.

And Ginny his constant supporting wife, she loves him so much, I know that by just reading this sentence.

He just wants to be someoneís hero again.

I want to cry. :(

Author's Response: Hahaha ohhello Lydia. I'm so happy you liked my one-shot so much ;D It is a Harry thing to do, methinks...silly Harry. Please don't cry! Just watch some Sherlock; it'll make you feel better teehee.
Thanks for the lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #15, by charlottetrips when darkness falls

17th June 2012:
FOR ALL THAT IS HOLY IN THE WORLD OF HARRY POTTER!!

This was one dkaiejdgf amazing one shot!!! And in only 500 words!!! I bow down to your awesomeness and just know that I will haunt your author's page FOREVER.

This. I don't even have words at this point. What a brilliant subject to explore and a breaking open of the only way Harry could feel after the war. Ginny, in all her understanding and her determination to just FIND OUT was so perfect.

This line: He smells like sadness and she sucks it in, so that maybe he wonít have to.

Ugh, just let me into your brain for a second and allow me to be recharged on the creativeness that is just to beautiful to behold!! I am so jealous right now because I sit here with massive writer's block and you are over here doing something obscenely great with a pairing I don't even like!

Wow. Just wow.

xChar

Author's Response: THIS REVIEW MADE ME SMILE SO MUCH. I am bowing down to your awesomeness right now, because you basically just made my day right now. Believe me: my brain is a serious mess and creative is not what I would use to describe it (; But I'm glad you enjoyed this one-shot so much, Charlotte. I am legitimately about to start squeeing haha. Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #16, by Aphoride when darkness falls

16th June 2012:
Gosh, this is so good! Firstly, well done for getting it all in five hundred words. It's so compact and neat - like a little present in a box, lol.

The idea is so original. I've never thought about the idea that Harry needs to be someone's hero, needs to do something to help people after the war, but it makes perfect sense and part of me is wondering why I never thought of that before, you know? I love how it was muggle London as well, not magical, so people don't even know who he is - that way, it's so much easier for you to keep him in character (and it's just such a Harry thing to do - help the muggles).

Your characterisation was just wonderful. I love how Ginny is sneaky and kinda cunning and how those are the traits Harry associates with Slytherin - not just 'evil' and pureblood. It says so much about both of them. I also love how you made Ginny so understanding and yet such a pillar of support for Harry. It's pretty similar to how I've always thought about them, which is wonderful ;) Great minds, eh? :P

Your style is lovely, your grammar is pristine... I honestly can't find anything in this that was wrong, felt slightly off or out of place or even that could be improved. Seriously - absolutely nothing.

Write more, so I can squee over your one-shots like this again in reviews! :D

Aph xx

p.s. I just wanted to say thank you so so much for the two very, very lovely reviews you left me on Unfortunately Fortuitous. You will get a very 'oh my gosh, thank you so much!' response soon, I promise!

Author's Response: Aaaah thank you so much! I'm quite the rambler so I thought the 500 word thing was definitely a challenge haha.
I've always been fascinated by Harry's heroic tendencies and I was struck by the idea that those wouldn't leave him even when he transitioned to a normal life. I know that's also something that war veterans struggle with, so it seemed appropriate.
Thank you! I love how you read so much into Harry's Slytherin comment - probably more than I actually intended when I wrote it, but I love your interpretation. I'm going to pretend I'm actually that deep (;
Really? I'm pretty critical of my writing, so it means so much to me that you couldn't find anything wrong! And no worries about responding to my reviews; take your time.
Thank you so much for your review! :D


 Report Review

Review #17, by lizmusic45 when darkness falls

14th June 2012:
HE'S GINNY'S HERO, HE WILL ALWAYS BE Ginny's hero!
You know for writing 49 Harry and Ginny on-shots I would have hoped my brain came up with an idea as brilliant as this, but no my brain has failed me.

You really, really, really wrote Harry and Ginny perfectly and I love this one-shot and I'm adding it to favorites and so I can love and hug it forever.

My one-shot, mine! No touching, this is my one-shot that I will love forever.

Lizzie

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I actually was tempted to end with Ginny telling Harry that he was her hero, but I didn't want to make it too cheesy and focus too much on their relationship, if that makes sense? I am very flattered that you like this enough to be so possessive over it ;D Thanks again!

 Report Review

Review #18, by justonemorefic when darkness falls

14th June 2012:
Omg, I love this. I saw the little summary and I got curious and I adore what you did with these few words. I got such a scene out of them and I love love love your style. Vivid and poignant and it flows all together, and it's built something very memorable in my mind.

Love these two parts especially:
-she gives him everything Ė sympathy, frustration, sorrow, helplessness Ė in one word, two syllables, five letters.
-Their bodies blend into one another and their limbs intertwine; they are fused together, bound by the war, by the lives they saved and the lives they lost, by a lifetime of playing as heroes. But itís time to grow up now.

seriously, totally flaily fingers here ♥

Author's Response: Wow, thank you so much! I'm so glad that you liked this so much it gave you flaily fingers - that's definitely a great feeling :D Those are my favorite lines too and, consequently, the ones I questioned the most when I was writing. It means so much to me that you appreciated them (:

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login