Reading Reviews for A Hundred Million Freckles
  
30 Reviews Found

Review #1, by AgentGalini just because.

13th August 2013:
So. Damn. Beautiful.

 Report Review

Review #2, by ohmymerlin just because.

27th January 2013:
I'm back for your second review! :)

No.

This is not good at all.

Why would you write something like this because it is so UNBELIEVABLY PERFECT?!

Muhahahaha, I felt bad for writing that but that was actually my initial thoughts. :p

Anyway, I adore that your Lily is flawed and she isn't completely sweet and a teacher's pet. Also, I LOVE that you've made her struggle with classes without a wand or cauldron, it just seems so believable and she's stubborn just like Harry. :')

And I love how her and James laid in the grass every Thursday night, it's such a sweet little gesture and I just dhgkfgidkfgdsh.

I love the similarities between them as well, it's just so cute and adorable. :'D

And the freckles/love metaphor. It's just adorable.

Actually, this whole one-shot is adorable!

10/10! :D

 Report Review

Review #3, by HermioneEverdeen just because.

26th December 2012:
I love it!! I am such a big fan of all of your stories by the way, just thought you should know.

Love,
Sarah xxx

 Report Review

Review #4, by molly just because.

6th November 2012:
cute! i always wanted freckles:)

Author's Response: Thank you! And me too :)

 Report Review

Review #5, by AlexFan just because.

28th October 2012:
Dhnemwmmdmfnfndkemdnnf there are no words to describe how perfect this is.

Author's Response: Thank you! :)

 Report Review

Review #6, by SilverRoses just because.

23rd October 2012:
I love this :) So well-written, and I liked your interpretation of their relationship. It's just so sweet and adorable!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm so glad that you enjoyed it; I really appreciate it!

 Report Review

Review #7, by CherryBoom just because.

4th October 2012:
I really liked that you made James love Lily because of her quirks and not despite of them. After all, without the subtle differences, people would be just like photocopies of each other and not the original ones. And how boring that would be?

The idea of writing a love story, that is based on small ordinary things rather than hollywood style grand statements, makes this story very lifelike and believable. You wrote the details very vividly too.

I'm a big fan of your laidback writing style. Somehow your writing is so effortless and easy to read. I could read it 'til the cows come home. =)

All in all, it was an excellent one-shot. More please? =)

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm really glad that you enjoyed it!

I have a very distinct idea of who James and Lily were and I think that the perfection and cliches that follow them are annoying and not true to the characters so I guess that this was my answer to that. I really wanted to make them flawed - but lovably so. And I wanted to make their flaws the reason why they were loved. So thank you! I'm so glad that you enjoyed it and that you like my writing style! I really appreciate that!

Thanks again!

~Jess :D


 Report Review

Review #8, by RoseLolly just because.

4th October 2012:
I adore this. Every bit of it.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! :D

 Report Review

Review #9, by theforbiddenquill just because.

29th September 2012:
just brilliant. you make me cry *claps*

Author's Response: Thank you so much! And sorry for making you cry :)

 Report Review

Review #10, by nightingale14 just because.

26th September 2012:
I love this so much. So so much. I really do. It's sweet and carefully told and I don't even know how to describe it.
It's okay though. I just love this one-shot. :)
-nightingale14

Author's Response: Awww thank you so much! I really appreciate it :D

 Report Review

Review #11, by daretodream just because.

20th September 2012:
The James/Lily feels you are causing me today are just absolutely ridiculous.

Again, you have another perfect piece here. How do you do that? It's amazing. I love it all.

Your characters in this piece are just unbelievable. The flaws, they're real. They're flaws that people actually have, not abstract ones that they could have in the right set of circumstances. Everybody knows people like this, they know them and they love them.

And oh God, the lines about James loving her even though she was flawed? My heart started beating right out of my chest, it's just so perfect. Because people aren't perfect and your characters aren't perfect and relationships aren't perfect but just love, that is perfect. And that's all that James has for Lily: love. And it couldn't be more perfect because he has no expectations of her, he doesn't want her to change, he loves her exactly the way that she is.

It's beautiful.

I almost cried when I read the lines about him loving her when she was old and grey, because they don't get to be old and grey. Sometimes I have to remind myself that they spend eternity together, loving each other in perfect bliss.

My favorite part though was easily that Lily loved him back! James' infatuation with her has such longevity, is so emphasized in the books that I think Lily's love for James gets completely overlooked. The focus is on her love for Harry (which was undeniably immensely powerful and deep), and no one pays attention to James. But how much must she have had to love him to oversome her prejudices against him? To fight alongside him even when things got tough? You captured it beautifully and I love you for it.

This was breathtaking, which is something I'm coming to expect from you. Somehow, you still catch me off guard every time.

10/10 times a hundred million :)

~Cassie

Author's Response: Awww thank you so much Cassie! Your reviews make me so happy xD

I've always had an issue with the way that James, Lily, and the rest of the Marauders are portrayed in fanfiction so I guess this was my way of trying to go against that. I just think that flawed people are so much more interesting than perfection.

And that's exactly what I was going for! Thank you! It just makes me so happy that you always understand my stories and what I'm trying to convey :)

That made me sad too; they're story is just so tragic and so beautiful. And what I think is so wonderful about James and Lily, is that they didn't have to know that they were going to die young in order to live life to the fullest; they just did. And I love that about them.

And I agree with you 100% there! Lily's love for James is so underwhelming in fanfiction and that makes me so mad. I mean, she obviously loved him; she married him young, and had a child with him despite the fact that they weren't friends when they were younger. So thank you! I'm glad that you think I did it justice :)

So thank you thank you thank you so so so so much! Your reviews make me so happy and they make me feel really good about what I'm doing. So thank you!

~Jess :D


 Report Review

Review #12, by Morganna just because.

1st September 2012:
Hey Morganna here with your requested review!

To answer your questions, I personally think that the unique elements incorporated within this story is quite intriguing. The fact that it doesn't have a complete 'novel-like' plot doesn't bother me at all and I'm impressed that you wrote the characters in so well. I loved the descriptions and the romantic concept!!! Although the POV was a bit confusing. It seemed like there were times when we would be seeing Lily through James's eyes then jumped to a third party POV. Nothing too distracting though :)

Overall, I think that this was a really cute one-shot. I think it has potential to be a short story... novella maybe??? haha


M

Author's Response: Hi there! Thank you so much for stopping by! I'm really glad that you enjoyed this oneshot; I really appreciate you addressing all of my concerns and thank you for the compliments! I didn't realize the issue with the POV until recently when someone pointed it out; now that I've had a third opinion on it, I think it's due for an edit. Once I get some free time to look it over, I'll definitely address it :)
I really appreciate that you think this has the potential to be a short story or novella! Thank you! I think it's going to stay as is (I like the "completed" status waaay too much, haha) but I would like to write a longer James/Lily story sometime.
Thank you so much again for reading!

~Jess


 Report Review

Review #13, by ClawBabe just because.

26th August 2012:
Ahaaha that Disclaimer made me laugh. A lot. ^_^
I love Jily. It actually hurts how much I love that pair of broken misfits who so utterly belong together. And then they die. Gee, thanks Jo. -_-"
What you say about Lily being UN-perfect, crazy, wild, funny, giggly, mad yet somehow, absolutely gorgeously PERFECT for James, is what I've been saying all along. That's exactly how I've always imagined Lils and to be fair, there are indeed, a few authors who do portray her like that. I worship them.
So. Be prepared to be worshiped.
Kthxbye :3

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I share your intense love for Jily so I know what you mean! I have always disliked the way that Lily is generally portrayed in fan fiction; I've never felt like that was the sort of person that James - or Snape for that matter - could ever love. She was just so mean...and had no sense of humor. Although this oneshot isn't exactly my head canon, it's pretty close, and I'm glad that you enjoyed it! When intense Jily shippers say that they like this, I get so excited because being one myself, I know how high our standards are. So thank you - you flatter me!
(PS: I had a lot of fun writing the disclaimer, so thank you for noticing/appreciating it :D)
Thanks for reading and reviewing :D


 Report Review

Review #14, by RosieQueen just because.

17th August 2012:
It's Rosie with your requested review! :)

Overall, this was a very powerful one-shot. I like how you portrayed Lily as someone who isn't perfect; unlike a lot of Marauders era stories that convey her as "perfect" and "beautiful." Your characterization of her was very realistic, and I liked that a lot.

The only CC I have for this is that I was unsure of what PoV it was told from. At first I thought it was from James' PoV but then later you referred to James as "James" so that kind of confused me.

Like I said before, this was a very powerful one-shot, and your effort really shows in this piece. The detail was wonderful, and I really did enjoy this! Good job! :)

~Rosie

Author's Response: Hi Rosie! Thank you so much for stopping by! I'm glad that you enjoyed it; I'm a huge Marauders fan and I was trying to do something a bit different with it.
The POV issue was recently pointed out to me by another requested review and I'm trying to figure out a way to fix it. I guess while I was writing it, I was doing it in my point of view (I guess that's third person...) and then addressing the reader whenever I said "you" haha. (Is that even a thing?) Thank you so much for noticing it and also confirming that it's confusing. So I'm on it! :)
Thanks again for stopping by and giving the helpful critique; I'm also glad that you enjoyed it!

~Jess :D


 Report Review

Review #15, by Jchrissy just because.

15th August 2012:
Hello darling!

Okay - here's how my reviews work. CC first, review portion talking about what I thought and liked next.

The first thing that stuck out at me was you contradiction yourself. In the beginning you state that a comb has never touched her hair, then in the story she's combing it. It's a very small nitpick, but it was just something that I focused on that took away from it a bit.

I can't really figure out what PoV you are writing from! Haha, I don't necessarily think that it's a bad thing, but it is confusing me. Your use of 'you' had me believing it was second person point of view from James. Then you referred to James as James, and dropped the you with him. So, though I don't think it takes from the story - it was a bit confusing.

Okay, those are the only bits of CC I have. Now, onto the actual story!

It was a very powerful one shot, especially for its length. These people are so normal and innocent - we know what happens to them. They were young teenagers that just wanted to love and live before they became causalities of war. I think you really put a ton of emotion into this one piece. The images you created are vivid and and beautiful, and putting these people on such a normal scale was really refreshing.

I thoroughly enjoyed this one shot! I hope my review was helpful!

Thanks for requesting!

Jami

Author's Response: Hi there Jami! Thank you so much for stopping by! When I read your first critique, I had a mini heartattack (because what is wrong with me, how could I make a mistake like that?) and I read the whole thing over and can't seem to find it. But I'm wondering if I'm missing it because I wrote it (I do that with word mix-ups and one letter off typos quite a bit) so if it's alright by you, I'm going to message you about it on the forums so you can point it out to me and I can fix it. Thanks for picking up on that!
You know you're the first person to say something about the POV and now that I'm thinking about it, you're totally right! I guess while I was writing it, I was doing it in my point of view (I guess that's third person...) and then addressing the reader whenever I said "you" haha. Is that even a thing? I'll see what I can do to fix that haha, thanks for pointing it out!
I'm really glad that you enjoyed the overall oneshot! It was exciting for me to write because James and Lily are my favorite couple and I've wanted to write something for them for ages. And I'm glad that you liked the descriptions; imagery isn't my strong point and I guess this was an exercise for me to work on that in a way.
So thank you so much for your helpful critiques and I'm glad that you enjoyed it as well!

~Jess :D


 Report Review

Review #16, by cranes113 just because.

1st August 2012:
wow. you're such a good writer! that was intense, bro. you made me tear up a little :) BEST STORY EVER! keep up the good work! one hundred million/10!

*adding to favorites*

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm so glad that you enjoyed it and that it affected you so much! I really appreciate it :)
Thanks for reading and reviewing :D


 Report Review

Review #17, by atellam just because.

26th July 2012:
If I cried with laughter in Wonderland, I was crying here because my OTP die in the end, no matter the story, and I just love them so much, and they are so beautiful, and "Why'd she marry him? She hated him!", and "Nah, she didn't", and my babies! I love them so much it hurts.

Why do this to me, Jess? I don't understand. *sobs, because perfect OTP is perfect*

Author's Response: Hey there Adele! Thank you so much for taking the time to marathon through Wonderland and then read this! I really appreciate your input! James and Lily are my OTP as well and you have no idea how much I can empathize with your shipping woes! It's so sad but they're beautiful and I love them too much not to write and read about them.
Thank you so much for reading and reviewing; I'm sorry that you cried!

~Jess :D


 Report Review

Review #18, by naughtforreal just because.

3rd July 2012:
Sweet. Sweet. Sweet. It's just so...sweet. Especially the last parts. I mean, did you write that to kill me? Cause I just died. Heh. :P Oh well, it was such a cute one-shot and I'd love to see more cute one-shots!! :) Keep up the amazing work!!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! AND I'M SO SORRY I KILLED YOU; JAMES AND LILY'S ADORABLENESS CAN DO THAT APPARENTLY. But yeah, I'm so glad that you enjoyed it; I have to say, writing a oneshot was a lot of fun - a little story with no updating commitment!
Thanks for reading and reviewing :D


 Report Review

Review #19, by Serendipity1234 just because.

27th June 2012:
It's really sweet :)
I especially liked the part about how her red fire hair would turn to snow -I thought that was really cool imagery/use of metaphor.
And, of course, I loved the whole part with the freckles ;)
It's interesting how it focuses just on their feelings for each other with only little glimpses of their characters/personalities/history. It doesn't matter so much who they are in this one-shot, what matters is that they're so in love. That's what I got from this, along with the beauty of imperfection and how you can love someone's faults.
It was just really, really sweet and happy and nice. It made me smile :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm glad that it made you smile! I just wanted to write something simple and flowery and I'm so glad that you got so much from it and enjoyed the metaphors. I really appreciate all of your lovely comments; they certainly made my day!
Thanks for reading and reviewing :D


 Report Review

Review #20, by lopla just because.

26th June 2012:
this is so cute! you truly have a gift for bringing things to life.

Author's Response: Awww, thank you so much!! I really appreciate it :D

 Report Review

Review #21, by explosion just because.

25th June 2012:
So, finally got around to reading this and OMG THIS IS SO ADORABLE MY HEART MELTED WHEN I READ THIS! Oh and you're writing is flawless. Think you could stop being good and share your talent with the rest of us?

kkthanksloveyoubye:)
-Rebecca

Author's Response: OHMIGOD REBECCA!!!

So I finally got around to answering some of my long list of unanswered reviews! I'm so glad that you read this and that you enjoyed it! I had so much fun writing it and the fact that your heart melted makes me smile like an idiot! And you flatter me, you know that? Imma have a big head because of you gurrl. And don't worry, I shared my small dose of talent with you; that's why Turning the Tables is so AMAZING!!!

Thanks for reading and reviewing!

~Jess :D


 Report Review

Review #22, by starkidlove just because.

18th June 2012:
James/Lily is my OTP! And this is just perfectly fluffy and amazing and cute and I love it! :D

Author's Response: Thank you so much! And they're my OTP too!!! They're just perf; I love them! And I'm so glad that you enjoyed my portrayal of them :D

 Report Review

Review #23, by Opalpixiechick just because.

18th June 2012:
Awww. I love this. You did a great job. :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm glad that you enjoyed it! :D

 Report Review

Review #24, by GracelesslyFalling just because.

17th June 2012:
Hello! This is so sweet! I love James and Lily and they're both so adorable together, and this was just filled with all sorts of fluffy goodness!

Great job! :)xxx
-izzy

Author's Response: Thank you so much! James and Lily are, like, my favorite people ever so I've wanted to write them for a really long time - I'm glad that you liked it!
Thanks for reading and reviewing :D


 Report Review

Review #25, by GlowingFireflies just because.

16th June 2012:
Beautiful story Jess :)
Written wonderfully well as usual.
I loved how flawed you've made Lily's character,yet still so beautiful.
You've really got talent, keep writing!

GlowingFireflies

Author's Response: Thank you so much; I really appreciate it! I'm not a fan of how Lily's character is usually portrayed in most (not all) fanfiction so I wanted to do something different with her character - I'm glad that you liked it!
Thanks for reading and reviewing :D


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>