Reading Reviews for The Scientist
  
55 Reviews Found

Review #1, by MoMo nobody said it was easy.

3rd January 2014:
This is the best thing ever! I don't ship Snily but for a moment I actually did when I was reading, also, as a hardcore Jily shipper, this story rocks.

 Report Review

Review #2, by TroubleFindsMe nobody said it was easy.

18th October 2013:
This is.. perfection.

 Report Review

Review #3, by ... nobody said it was easy.

26th July 2013:
thats a good story. I really enjoyed it

 Report Review

Review #4, by zelectrodez nobody said it was easy.

8th March 2013:
The saddness of unrequired love... my heart goes to you Severus! Great job!

 Report Review

Review #5, by Anonymous Prowler nobody said it was easy.

6th March 2013:
The Scientist is my favorite song of all time. It has many personal connections that I'd rather not get into, but point is I can never resist reading a songfic with it. Listening to it always makes me very withdrawn and quiet, and a bit sad. And perhaps for the first time, reading this piece inspired by it, I am touched by it once more.
This story, without Snape, is seriously out of tune to the lyrics of the song that I would consider suggesting you relisten to the song. It'd be more fit to some ridiculously happy love song. I understood Narcissa in her five-line appearance because I was trying not to think about how utterly cute the two are together. Plus Snape was receiving some major pity from me, so I was trying to keep myself as objective as possible.
However, thanks to Snape I will have to bow down to your incredible use of The Scientist. This is the closest I got to crying from a story, and no one even died. The song just gets to me in that way.
I love your building relationship of Lily and James through the eyes of Snape. I love that he never really breaks except for that one tear. Your characterization is beautiful, and even more impressive as it was done in a oneshot. After being drowned in quirky 'comedies' and 'angsty' cliches, I appreciate this oneshot. I'm glad you did this song to justice, despite (or perhaps because) you used it extremely subtly.
I'm not a giant James/Lily fan (it's the era, not the pairing), but it is always very fascinating to observe it through Snape's eyes (in the movie, I did shed a few tears. I will admit it freely). Or Sirius, if he happens to be a competitor (but I have seen this done well once).
Thank you. While I cannot favorite it, I will certainly think of this while listening to the song now. It was beautiful.

 Report Review

Review #6, by StormStone nobody said it was easy.

22nd February 2013:
Im freaking out this is so perfect!! Beautifully fluffy and romantic I cant even
-Grace

 Report Review

Review #7, by EyesInTheFog nobody said it was easy.

19th January 2013:
Wow...
There are no there are no other words that can describe this.
It's amazing.

 Report Review

Review #8, by Reviewing nobody said it was easy.

18th January 2013:
Yes, I just reviewed your more recent story and then came and read this. I honestly don't know which is better, this is simply stunning. Thank you for writing it :)

 Report Review

Review #9, by Noel nobody said it was easy.

13th January 2013:
This was stunning, it really was. You haven't been on fanfic for a while I've noticed, how's everything going? Can we expect an update anytime soon? I really do miss your writing, it's so so beautiful and I actually feel like a part of my life has gone away! Anyway, I hope I can read your stuff soon and I hope you reply!

10/10 Another masterpiece.

Noel

 Report Review

Review #10, by Naya nobody said it was easy.

3rd January 2013:
Oh my God, it was...marvellous! I just loved it, the end was amazing and the comment about Cissa..ah..Brilliant :)

 Report Review

Review #11, by CJ nobody said it was easy.

10th December 2012:
hi. good one shot. i like coldplay too.

COME BACK AND FINISH ALL YOUR STORIES. I COMMAND THEE. (yeah, i just said thee. deal) IF YOU DO NOT I WONT HAVE ANY REASON TO LIVE A GOOD LIFE AND WILL DIE ALONE SOBBING "WHY DIDN'T dream_BIG POST THE END OF WELCOME TO THE CHASE??" WITH MY 46 CATS SURROUNDING ME. I'LL BLOW MY NOSE ON A DOILY AND PATHETICALLY DIE OF SADNESS. ALONE.
DO YOU REALLY WANT ME TO DIE ALONE dream_BIG??
I THOUGHT YOU,AS THE WRITER, CARED ABOUT YOUR READERS! SNIFF SNIFF YOUUU HATE MEE
(look, sarcasm!)

but pretty please. i literally need you to finish your stories. they mean the world to me. you were my first favorite author and the reason i now read and write so much HPFF. please come back.

PLEASE!!
(i accept how pathetic this whole review is. forgive me)

 Report Review

Review #12, by Lily Evans nobody said it was easy.

5th December 2012:
I loved the part when James asked Lily out in the library, so cute. And Madam Pince's response: "ITS A Library!" made me chuckle. The little moments shared between James and Lily in this were great and I feel as though you had everyone written in character, even the other Slytherin's.

I really liked seeing James and Lily's relationship through Severus' eyes. I'm glad that at the end of the story, he just wanted Lily to be happy and really, that's all what true friendship is about.

Well done! :D

 Report Review

Review #13, by FredWeasleyIsMyKing nobody said it was easy.

30th November 2012:
Wow, this is such a lovely one shot.

It's really well written and you've done a fantastic job of all the characterisation. The way you portray Snape, with the jealousy and the lurking in the background is so good. Then you've got the lovely carefree, good looking and happy contrast of James.

The scenes you show through Snapes eyes of James and Lily are so cute!! When James refuses to apolagise for the kiss and she makes him ask her to Hogsmede. Aww it's too cute! This is my favourite pairing by far and you've perfected them so well!!

I liked how you added in the little snippets of other charcaters too, I particularly thought you did Sirius and Narcissa well, it's interesting she thought they looked romatic. I think Narcissa is a really interesting character that we don't nearly hear enough from.

I loved so much of this story so it's hard to find any critique. I really loved the line, "She'd loved him even while she'd hated him." It just sums Lily and James up so well!

Well done again, I will definately check some of your other stories out!!

Lauren

 Report Review

Review #14, by idek nobody said it was easy.

2nd November 2012:
Hey. Could you please update? Something? Anything? Thank you.

 Report Review

Review #15, by soufflegirl99 nobody said it was easy.

10th October 2012:
I already loved this coldplay song, and as soon as I saw a one shot made out of it i was VERY excited!
It is so so so so moving, touching and extremely upsetting to be honest.
I don't know how on earth you write so well, but what ever it is you have for breakfast, just KEEP IT UP!! :D

 Report Review

Review #16, by theforbiddenquill nobody said it was easy.

28th September 2012:
LOVE IT! MADE ME CRY THIS ONE. Had Jily feels erupting inside me. Loved the way Lily cried after Snape left. It's happy, sad and hopelessly romantic. Nice one, mate :)

 Report Review

Review #17, by Adrianne nobody said it was easy.

28th August 2012:
I started crying somewhere in te middle of this godawesome amazing thing we call a fanfiction. I know I'm excessively sentimental but this? Even my friend (ahardcoreJilyshipper,acynic) would cry a bit. Are you planning on writing as a career when you graduate? If you're considering it, I have to say: DO IT. You are an amazing writer and I'd love to see you doing something of your own. Keep up the godawesomeamazingemotionalmarshmallow work and ... do you enjoy making me cry? I read it again. DAMMIT I MUST NOT CRY SO MUCH.

and I started to have a lump in my throat when I read the vanilaa and roses part. He really loved her, didn't he? You captured the essence of JKR's "unrequited love" almost perfectly. Did you feel the tiniest bit emotional when Dumbledore and Sev were talking and he said, "Always."? I read that ficlet too. And, just so you know, you are a brilliant writer once again.

~Adrianne

P.S. will you update Deja Vu, Speaking in Rainbow, Welcome To The Chase and Breathless? I'll hand you a marshmallow in my mind... and a thousand cookies. And you won't grow fat while eating them. I promise. Because they're imaginary but just for your loyal readers you should update. And I'm ranting now, aren't I? And talking to someone who can't see, hear or reply to me. I really should create an account here... ohwait, alreadyhaveone. but I forgot its name. And... I'm going to shut up now like a good reviewer who won't waste the lovely author's time. So... bye? Or just say nothing. Yep, that works too.

P.P.S. apologies for the long review ^^

 Report Review

Review #18, by severus98 nobody said it was easy.

15th August 2012:
This is really good! You barely ever see james & lily from snape's perspective that are any good :) this is the first of your stories I've read but I'll definitely read more after this ;) keep writing xox

 Report Review

Review #19, by Gemma nobody said it was easy.

14th August 2012:
I really love the dynamics of this piece- there aren't many stories that focus on Severus' view of Lily/James and you did it really well- it was really believable :)

 Report Review

Review #20, by RoseWeasley_13 nobody said it was easy.

27th July 2012:
Lurve it. Obvi, you wrote it. Haha,
but I do have a request...
Please update welcome to the Chase and/or Breathless. I'm DYING. i will do ANYTHING! Haha, Luff your work. You're my favorite author besides J.K. Haha(:

 Report Review

Review #21, by lila nobody said it was easy.

21st July 2012:
that was absolutely beautiful. thank you! but you shouldnt keep us waiting for so long! find you love started out really funny and i wanna know more!!! so please update. you are amazing :)

 Report Review

Review #22, by Silly Potter nobody said it was easy.

19th July 2012:
HEY LOOK YOU FINISHED A STORY. NOW CAN YOU UPDATE FIND YOUR LOVE? ITS BEEN SITTING THERE FOR ALMOST A YEAR WITH NOTHING ADDED TO IT.

 Report Review

Review #23, by BellaFan202 nobody said it was easy.

10th July 2012:
That was the most perfect thing I have ever read. The perfect comeback from such a long hiatus.

 Report Review

Review #24, by Annie nobody said it was easy.

5th July 2012:
Do you have a Tumblr page? If you do what's it called? And what story will you be updating next? And when? I'm so so so exited! You're an amazing writer!

This was amazing by the way! 10/10

 Report Review

Review #25, by Anon nobody said it was easy.

2nd July 2012:
Or Speaking In Rainbow.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>