Reading Reviews for He Never Told Her
  
21 Reviews Found

Review #1, by HollyStone73 He Never Told Her

17th July 2013:
Poor Severus! This was a brilliant little piece! The regret and despair that Snape is suffering with throughout this piece is very eloquently detailed that it gave me chills. I could imagine him sitting on the floor of her ruined house holding her and crying through these horrible thoughts. I especially love how you described Dumbledore as the only hope that he had left. It was a very clever way to end the story on a bit of a hopeful note. Very well done and well written! Great job!!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for this! I really loved writing this one shot! It was fun trying to get into Snape's thoughts that night that Lily and James died. His love for Lily is something that is just so amazing and sweet and I can't imagine having to go through all of that and never having the chance to apologize or anything considering just how much he did love her! Thank you so much for taking the time to read and review!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #2, by Courtney Dark He Never Told Her

12th January 2013:
Tag!

Even though this was a very short one-shot, I really felt all Snape's emotions and I found myself wondering what would happen if he had gotten together with Lily, rather than James.

'They were together for 1,779 days - not that he was counting, of course, because that would be pathetic, which was a good word to use when one talked about him.' That was my favourite line. Not only did it really sum up everything Snape was feeling both about Lily and himself, it also reminded me of how short Lily and James' lives together were. I'd never really thought about it until now...sad, really-and you did a great job making those emotions come to life!

Courtney:)

Author's Response: I'm so glad that you could really feel Snapes emotions in this oneshot! I really wanted to get his hurt and fustration and anger at himself out in this. That quote is honestly one of my favorites in this as well! To me it really hit me and trying to figure out how many days exactly James and Lily had been together was a big gut wrenching. I sorta made up the number but its pretty sad either way. Thank you so much for coming by and reading and reviewing!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #3, by FredWeasleyIsMyKing He Never Told Her

6th January 2013:
Hello! Just saw your status on the forums and thought I'd pop over to share some love!

First of all let me start by saying I loved this piece! I think what you have wrote is a perfectly good account of what Snape probably was feeling when Lily died *sob*. It was so emotional! Gah - I usually avoid Snape/Lily fics, not because I don't like Snape but because I think his relationship with Lily is really confusing and almost like an obsession? But you have his tormented complicated personality down so well. The part where he was still hoping to get her forgiveness but now he would never get it was heart-wrenching!

I really liked the ending seeing as we know where it goes from here. I thought it was really clever and actually had me wanting more!

Great job on a lovely piece!

Lauren

Author's Response: Aw thank you so much for this! I really wanted to get into Snapes mind and think about what it would be like for him after Lily died. Gah you think I have snapes personality down?! Thats amazing because I do believe he is really complicated. This review is just so sweet and amazing and I just can't say anything more about this so thank you very much!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #4, by MrsJaydeMalfoy He Never Told Her

5th January 2013:
Tag! :P

Wow. This is a very emotional piece; really heart-wrenching (in a good way!). This is a fairly short one-shot, but there was so much detail and emotion here that it felt like I'd read a much longer piece! My favorite part of the entire thing was when you said that Snape realized he didn't deserve Lily's forgiveness: it really points towards the internal battle going on inside him and I think that fits perfectly.

I've read several Snape/Lily fics before, but in all honesty, this is the FIRST one that's made me wonder "What if Snape had married Lily? Would HE have been Harry's father, or would Harry have even existed?" I have NO idea why, unless it's got something to do with the strong emotions I'm feeling from reading this! And that, my dear, is the mark of an incredibly well-written piece!

I didn't see any spelling or grammar issues, and it all flowed wonderfully. A really, REALLY great one-shot! 10/10!

Author's Response: OMG this review! Seriously, I dont really know what to say but I'll try! I meant for this piece to be sad and very emotional. I was also going for the 500 word challenge which would explain its length. I'm so glad you feel I did a good job with Snapes characterization! Thats huge for me! Gah I really don't know what else to say because your review just has me so happy and excited and GAH! Thank you so much for this absolutely amazing review!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #5, by blackthoughtsredwriting He Never Told Her

5th December 2012:
This is the shortest yet most beautiful S/L i've ever read =]

Author's Response: Wow thank you so much for that! I'm so glad that you enjoyed this oneshot! Thank you for taking the time to read and review!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #6, by True Author He Never Told Her

1st December 2012:
A short but great fic! =] I've always admired Snape's love for Lily and this was a nice thing to read. I especially liked the last paragraph and the ending. Snape is one of the most confusing characters in the series; I personally find him difficult to write, so I admired Snape's characterization.
I just thought the ending is kind of shabby. Can you please choose a different one? A nice touchy last sentence, maybe? =]

Otherwise, I enjoyed it a lot. Short- but meaningful.

`Ashwini =]

Author's Response: So i'm not sure if you are serious about wanting me to change the ending but if you are indeed asking for that I can say that that probably wont happen as I am very proud of how this oneshot turned out. I'm really glad that you enjoyed this short oneshot and were able to feel for him and liked his characterization. Thank you so much for taking the time to read and review!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #7, by adluvshp He Never Told Her

29th November 2012:
Tag!

Aw this was such a short but heartbreaking piece. I liked the way you narrated this as sort of a internal monologue.

The ending left me wanting more - it felt like it ended too soon. You have describe Snape's feelings quite well in just a few words. The emotion really came across.

I would have liked to see better use of vocabulary though, since I always like heavy words in such fics, but that's just me.

You were quite good. I liked this.

good work!

Cheers!
AD
(AditiDraco95)

Author's Response: AD! Oh how I have missed getting reviews from you! Thank you so much for this wonderful review! I'm so glad that you enjoyed this short oneshot about Snape! It was meant to be a very heartbreaking and short piece as its for the every word counts challenge. Thank you again for taking the time to read and review!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #8, by EverDiggory He Never Told Her

14th October 2012:
Hey Erica! I love, love, love Snily so I couldn't help but check this out! I think this was very dark and quite sad;( I ship Snily before I'd ship Jily, as crazy as that makes me! It really made me sad and I just want to hug Severus ad tell him it will all be okay!

This was beautiful, as per usual!

xx

Ever

Author's Response: EVER! This review is just wonderful! I'm so glad that someone who loves Snily loves this short and sad oneshot! I'm so glad that you thought it was great! Thank you so much for taking the time to read and review!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #9, by luvdobby26 He Never Told Her

20th September 2012:
Hello! Here for the reivew swap :)

Wow, this was powerful! I chose this one because I love love love Snape/Lily, but not them ones where they are actually together. I love ones like this!

The writing was beautiful! Really beautiful! And even though this was short, you coveyed the emotions you wanted brilliantly.

The flow, pacing, grammar and spelling was perfect and I lved the plot! I really liked how you wrote his regret and remorse for not telling how Lily how he felt.

Overall this was a very moving one-shot that I have added to favourites!

10/10 I'll be back to read more!

~ Eilidh

Author's Response: Oh thank you so much for that! I'm so glad that you liked it and enough to add it to your favorites! That means a lot! I can't believe how many people are enjoying this oneshot and finding the emotions and thoughts very realistic! that really means a lot to me! thank you for taking the time to read and review!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #10, by ohmymerlin He Never Told Her

11th September 2012:
Wow! This was amazing!
I loved the way you told their life story, but with only a few words! I nearly started crying when he was holding her! I think you really captured Snape's thoughts without seeming too sappy, it's really well written! :D
10/10 :D

Author's Response: Oh this review leaves me with a bunch of feels! Thank you so much for this wonderful review! I'm so glad that you enjoyed this short oneshot and thought that I did a great job capturing Snapes thoughts and emotions! Thank you for taking the time to read and review!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #11, by Remus He Never Told Her

5th September 2012:
Hey! Perelandra here with your review swap! This one was the one that intrigued me the most.

I'm not a Lily/Snape shipper but every time I read about Snape's undying love for her, my heart just melts and breaks at the same time. I can imagine this going through his head as he's walking towards Lily's body. The regret he has, the self loathing...it seriously made me want to hug him! The moment that really made me sad was the line:

"They were together for 1,779 days - not that he was counting, of course, because that would be pathetic"

Oh the angst! I loved it though!

This was a beautiful one shot!

--Rosie

Author's Response: thank you so much for this wonderful and kind review! that line is one of my favorites as well as it really shows how much he loves her and wishes that it was him with her instead of james. This oneshot is one of my favorites that I have written I think just because it does so much for snapes character. Thank you so much for taking the time to read and review! I'm glad that you enjoyed it!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #12, by Moondanser83 He Never Told Her

25th August 2012:
Loved it! First of all the flow is beautiful. There were no awkward transitions or glearing grammar errors to slow down the reading.
In this little piece you managed to show us why Snape grew up to be the bitter and angry man he was and for just a moment you could truly feel his pain and his loss.
This story also reinforces a personal manta of mine... If you don't ask the answer is always no... Which is probably one of the reasons I enjoyed this story so much.
Keep up the great work!

~Moon~

Author's Response: Oh thank you so much! This piece has a small piece of my heart because I felt so bad for Snape as i was writing this! I'm so glad that so many other people are really enjoying this! Thank you so much for taking the time to read and review!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #13, by AC_rules He Never Told Her

9th August 2012:
Hello there again! Okay, so ack... there's been so many Marauder feels today which is just making my heart feel all icky (watching Sherlock fanfic vids too, so I'm all in all an emotional mess which has been designated as not a bit not good, really), but ack Snape. I really did enjoy it and thought you did the angsty heart of the pairing justice.

Oh dear, poor Snape. I don't think you're pathetic :(

-Ac

Author's Response: Aw this review just makes me smile! I'm so glad that you felt I did a great job with the angstyness that is the Snape/Lily pairing! I don't think he is pathetic either! Thank you for taking the time to read and review!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #14, by academica He Never Told Her

3rd August 2012:
Hey! Here from SCR Review Tag :)

Yay, a new Snily to read! I had to pounce on it!

I love the self-loathing here - it's really beautiful, in a terrible way, and I think you've cut to the core of Snape's character. I like how you phrased it - he's really competing against himself rather than James. James is simply the punishment for losing. I also love how he forces himself to accept the loss, no matter how much it hurts, because I think that speaks to the fact that he's very much a realist.

This was really great in its simplicity. Nice work :)

-Amanda

Author's Response: This review really means a lot as this was my first attempt at both a Snily and just Snape in general. I really just wanted this oneshot to be short sweet and to the point with how he felt and I'm so glad that that is working for so many different people! Thank you again for taking the time to read and review!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #15, by Cassius Alcinder He Never Told Her

28th July 2012:
Review tag!

It looks like you did a good job in a small amount of space of managing to capture the complexities of one of the most complex relationships in the books. Snape's emotions ranging from love to regret to self-loathing really came across here. We could really see hs obsessive tendencies, but also the redeeming power of what was really hi only motivation to do good.

This one packs a punch!

Author's Response: Oh thank you so much! I'm so glad that you were able to feel all of these things and feel that I did a good job with such a complex relationship! I really wanted people to be able to feel how much he was hurting and hating himself in a way for never getting back into Lily's good graces! Thank you so much for reading and reviewing!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #16, by Violet Gryfindor He Never Told Her

27th July 2012:
This is lovely! You portray Snape's angst in a simpler and more straight-forward way that actually makes it more poignant. A lot of Snape/Lily authors (myself included) put so much drama and... stuff into their stories until they're dripping with words, but you pull all of that stuff out. The result is still dramatic, still angst-ridden and painful, but it's also something more. I don't know how to explain it, only that I wish I could write something like this. You've made every single count and it's fantastic.

You've also done that great thing of having characters reveal a lot about themselves in small ways. For instance, when Snape obviously counts the days, but refuses to admit it. I loved that bit because it shows how desperately in love he was, and it strengthens the feeling of intense loss that resonates throughout the story. That loss struck me right from the beginning - lost time, lost opportunities, lost love, lost everything. And you make it clear that he's just an adolescent - he's got emotional issues, he's got social issues - it's something that strangely doesn't come up often in Snily stories, so I was glad to see it here.

Anyway, this one-shot turned out wonderfully! It's great to have gotten the opportunity to read it. :D

Author's Response: Wow your review is just amazing! I'm so glad that I can make Snape/Lily authors enjoy my short oneshot and feel that it still has everything that other authors put into it and still a little more! That really means a lot to me especially as this was my first attempt at them! I love that part where he states the amount of days they have been together. To me is something that is so sad but really makes people realize that he really loves her so I'm glad that you could see that too! Really this review is just so amazing and touching to me and I'm just so glad that you took the time to read and review it! Thank you so much!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #17, by Debra20 He Never Told Her

18th July 2012:
Hey there!

I'm so glad to be reviewing your first Snape/Lily story. I have been reading any Snily story on the Archives that I could find. And I must say I dearly enjoyed yours. I like how Snape's emotions flow here. I'm guessing it's the moment where he finds her body between the wrecks of their home in Godric's Hollow. He feels so broken. His trail of thoughts are flowing in an almost feverish manner. Exploring Snape's thoughts is a dangerous endeavour because you never know where you might end up. I'm glad to see that your portrayal of his inner turmoil are close to character :)

"he still hoped for all those years that he would get it, thinking that there was still plenty of time to get it" - this is one of my favourite lines. It shows just how unfair life can be. How you can really never trust time because life can play games on you and turn everything you knew up side down. It's a very sad phrase because one can feel his deep regret. I think more than being sad because of her death, he regrets having acted like he acted and not having the chance for her to forgive him.

A very emotional piece!

Author's Response: Oh I'm so glad that you enjoyed this short one shot! Yes this one shot does take place when he finds her body and realizes that he can no longer hope for her forgiveness. I love it when readers quote lines from the story, it really makes me see what really works for the readers and what really makes them think! I'm so glad that you enjoyed this and thank you for taking the time to read and review!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #18, by ariellem He Never Told Her

22nd June 2012:
I have a new love for short one-shots, it takes a very talented writer to fit a great story into a small package.

She was nothing more than a symbol of the past; there was not going to be a future with her in it, no matter how much he wished for it.

I really do love that one sentence.

They were together for 1,779 days - not that he was counting, of course, because that would be pathetic.

That was also adorable. Great job! :)

Author's Response: I have a love for short one shots as well and I'm so glad that you enjoyed mine! Its always nice when a reader quotes something that I wrote in the story that really stuck out to them and I'm so glad that those two parts stuck out to you, I enjoyed both of those sentences too! Thank you so much for taking the time to read and review!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #19, by lizmusic45 He Never Told Her

22nd June 2012:
This was really good, I really liked reading it, it was so sweet and so sad at the same time. I think you did a really good job! I like Snape and Lily when written well and you did a really good job with them.

I think this little one-shot is brilliant and I'm happy you wrote it.

Lizzie :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much! this was my first attempt at writing from Snape's pov and I'm so glad that so many people are really enjoying it and thinking that I nailed his emotions! Thank you so much for taking the time to read and review, it does mean a lot to me!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #20, by UnluckyStar57 He Never Told Her

9th June 2012:
Snape's internal struggle was portrayed very well!!
The emotions he goes through in those few moments are evident and vivid, as you have written them.
One thing that I would have liked was perhaps words that emoted a little more, just to hit everything home.
All in all, really fantastic! :)

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the review! I'm so glad you enjoyed the story and thought that I portrayed his internal struggle and emotions really well!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #21, by Phoenix_feather123 He Never Told Her

9th June 2012:
that was so good i like snape stories!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the review! I'm so glad you enjoyed it!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login