Reading Reviews for The Begotten Ones
  
10 Reviews Found

Review #1, by patronus_charm The Begotten Ones

12th July 2014:
Hey!

Ooh this was so interesting and I loved it so much! I always liked seeing Minerva and Molly interacting as theyre such an odd and unusual pairing in a way so seeing them here was really great. I loved how it was Minerva who initiated the drinking though as I never imagined I would see that, and her love for Molly was shown really brilliantly there with the way she just wanted Molly to feel something, anything. I always wondered how Molly would feel about killing Bellatrix so it was really interesting to see you cover it here as I thought you wrote her reaction really well so that was really great. Im sorry this is a very sleep deprived review but I loved it!

-Kiana
House Cup 2014 Review!

 Report Review

Review #2, by Veritaserum27 The Begotten Ones

11th July 2014:
Hello!

This was a very good and surprising piece. I was not expecting such drama between Molly and Minerva. I think you got both of their characters spot-on. I could actually feel McGonagall in the room, speaking in her stern voice, with that severe bun in her hair. Molly as the grieving mother was also very well done. It was surprising that her greatest difficulty was overcoming the fact that she had taken a life. I though McGonagall handled it really well - using logic and then emotion to reach her dear friend. The after effects of taking someones life is not often dealt with - especially in fan fiction and I am impressed with your story. Great job!

House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #3, by nott theodore The Begotten Ones

10th July 2014:
Hello!

This was a really impressive and thought-provoking story. I loved the title; it intrigued me immediately and captured my interest - and once I read the story, I loved the way that you worked the title in with the rest of the plot, as well.

This was very bleak. The opening lines, and the way that you used the Burrow to represent the others inside it, and their feelings, were very clever. There was nothing here to make light of the fact that Fred had died and the whole family was grieving.

Having said that, I wasn't expecting the way you took this one-shot. Minerva McGonagall isn't the first person I'd think of when it comes to comforting Molly, but in the situation I think she was needed. Molly must feel awful to not be able to think about her son, but I can understand her remorse and guilt at having killed someone - but she really had no choice, because it was fighting to protect her family, like Minerva says. And hopefully she can come to terms with that and start grieving for Fred. But this was a poignant one-shot and I really enjoyed reading it!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #4, by Pretense Of Perfection The Begotten Ones

10th July 2014:
Wow, I'm simply amazed by the quality and substance you managed to pack into this five hundred word one-shot. It's beautifully written, and brought tears to my eyes. I think you set the scene perfectly, what with saying that the burrow is an image of the occupants, it was very fitting. You did wonderful keeping both Minerva and Molly in character, which is a feat in and of itself, as they are two difficult characters to fully capture in mere words. Minerva's tough love and no nonsense attitude translated very well, she was tough and demanding, but not unkind or overbearing. And Molly? Wow. I totally see her grieving over the loss of her child, but Bellatrix? I never thought about it before, but it makes perfect sense. She is kind, loyal, and very maternal, and for someone like her taking a life has got to be one of the worst things in the world. The scene between these two was simply enchanting, and I think Minerva did a wonderful job of trying to pull Molly up and out of her depression. I was literally blown away. I never use the rating system, but wow...

--house cup 2014 review--
pretense of perfection, gryffindor

 Report Review

Review #5, by zealousVisionary The Begotten Ones

9th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review

This piece may have been short, but I enjoyed it quite a lot. I've been reading a lot of post-war on this site lately, and I felt like this one was kind of different in a good way. Your characterization was done very well, especially concerning Molly.

What I found to be the most interesting about this fic was the way you touched on Molly feeling guilty about killing Bellatrix. I find that people often don't touch on that detail, and the way you wrote about her feeling guilty about added some wonderful depth to Molly's character.

This story's writing was very lovely as well. Right from the very beginning paragraph, my attention was captured and held until the very end (which I thought was done very well too). I really liked Minerva's interaction with Molly, and the way she was comforting Molly in her stern (for lack of a better word) fashion was quite true to her character.

This fic may have been quite short, but it was an interesting, powerful story that I'm glad a took the time to read.

 Report Review

Review #6, by slytherinchica08 The Begotten Ones

16th January 2013:
A very interesting idea! Your summary had made me wonder what exactly it was that Molly was thinking about and I can see exactly why that would be on her mind. I imagine it would be rather difficult to come to terms with the fact that you had killed someone but as McGonagall said the two killed for different reasons and really Molly had no choice it was either Bellatrix or her daughter. I feel the ending was almost abrupt though, it would have been nice to see a little more after McGonagall told her this, to see Molly coming around and beginning to move on with her life and accept that there had been no way around killing Bellatrix. Other than that though it was a very enjoyable read and I really felt for Molly here! Also I love that they called McGonagall over to help Molly out of this funk she was in, it was nice to see a bit of friendship between the older generation of Harry Potter! Great Job!

~Slytherinchica08~

 Report Review

Review #7, by NaidatheRavenclaw The Begotten Ones

18th July 2012:
Whoaaa, was not expecting that. I clicked on this expecting to find your typical "Molly cries over Fred" story but this was so much more. And it's so true, too, what you said about her killing Bellatrix. I was just talking about this a few days back, actually, that the "light side" took just as many lives as the "dark side" yet they aren't punished for it. Minerva's explanation was so sound though, I couldn't help but believe her.

I will say that I thought the ending was a bit abrupt, but that probably has something to do with the 500 words more than anything else. It really was a great story!

-Naida

Author's Response: Very happy I could surprise you. :) Really? How ironic! Yeah, killing, esp for someone like Molly, still tears apart the soul, no matter what side you're on. I thought that of all people, this could be shown through her. I'm so glad you liked Minny's explanation!

Tis abrupt, but the 500 words kind of snuck up on me. Ah, well.

Thanks so so much for reviewing!

M&M


 Report Review

Review #8, by academica The Begotten Ones

18th July 2012:
Hi! This is really good - I like the premise, and it seems fitting that wanting to be a good hostess would be what snapped Molly out of her grief and confusion momentarily. The ending feels a little bit abrupt, but I like the theme - everyone has to fight for what they believe in, for their survival, and Bellatrix and Molly both sort of fell into that. (Uh oh, story plunny!) In the end, someone has to lose the fight, and someone is left to be the winner. Wonderful job!

-Amanda

Author's Response: Hahaha, that's Molly for you. Always the hostess. The 500 words snuck up on me and I felt that the other moments were too significant to lose. I had to let it seem so...cut off. :( Ah, well.

Thanks so much for reviewing!

M&M


 Report Review

Review #9, by Maybe The Begotten Ones

18th July 2012:
This was really interesting. I've never really thought about Minerva coming to comfort Molly after the war but it seems as though her visit will do Molly good - I really loved the speech about them all being soldiers. Minerva certainly seems to me to be a soldier - a brave Gryffindor.

I think your characterisations of both women were completely accurate although I thought this might have benefited from a little more length (I know this was for the Every Word Counts challenge.) Really good one-shot though :)

-Maybe

Author's Response: I've always seen Minerva as a bit too lion-hearted for her own good, haha. She is a tough old broad. I adore her.

Ah. Thank you so much! That is a fantastic thing to hear. Yeah, it's abrupt, but I would have been heart broken had I had to cut anything. So, sacrifices had to be made.

Thanks!

M&M


 Report Review

Review #10, by caoty The Begotten Ones

10th June 2012:
Yay first review! On a complete whim, too, because the title looked interesting.

Ahem. Anyway.

I've nothing really substantial to say, except that I love your Minerva. I love her so much. Actually, the way you managed to characterise both Minerva and Molly so well in so few words is extremely impressive, so well done on that.

I also really liked the concept of this fic. Generally, most people (myself included) see Molly's killing Bellatrix as a crowning moment of awesome, with little thought as to how it would affect her. And obviously someone so full of life and so nurturing would feel immensely guilty over killing anyone. It makes perfect and obvious sense, yet I would never have thought of it myself, which is pretty much the universal sign of a really good writer.

Finally, before I stop gushing - your characters have some amazing lines. Every single sentence was packed full of emotion and power, and I ended up with much newfound respect for both Minerva and Molly. 10/10. This is fantastic. My own attempt at this challenge seems pretty terrible now. XD

Author's Response: Glad the title is good! :)

I am so so glad you like my characterization choices. That trulyyy makes my day!

Well, I was thinking about the 500 word challenge and how I had enjoyed it so much previously. You can say so many actually significant things in 500wds. I wanted to give it another shot. So, I started thinking of missing, meaningful moments. And...this occurred to me.

Oh my goddd you called me a good writer. *blushes*

Thank you. Thank you. Thank you. I am completely glad you enjoyed it. I very much appreciate this review.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login