Reading Reviews for Before : After
  
13 Reviews Found

Review #1, by flew part two

9th July 2014:
Just read this and am so surprised it doesn't have more reviews. The first and second part of this story completely destroyed me, but in the best way. This story is written with such emotion and such intensity it is overwhelming. Thank you so much for this story, it is a real gift.

 Report Review

Review #2, by Sam part two

4th June 2014:
Beautiful words. You make me feel through them. Good Job.

 Report Review

Review #3, by TidalDragon part two

19th April 2014:
Hello again!

So I did see a bit of what you meant in your prefatory note here. While you used the same style - and I think it really worked for you with Fleur, despite a few more scattered moments there - it just didn't feel quite the same. It's hard for me to describe exactly how given that your style is so distinctive, but I detected you as an author more in this chapter than I did in the previous one. Normally, I'd say that's a good thing, but with your approach I don't think so. Absence of perceived interference in the scene was the huge strong point for you earlier and I just didn't get the same sense of absence this time around.

Still, like I said, I really liked Fleur. She seems to be an oft-forgotten character but you handled her very well. How true a sentiment that love at 17 is different than love at 21. It makes me sad that love seems to be such a battle now for Bill and Fleur, a day-by-day thing where she is counting the good and the bad, but Victoire's birth as a turning point was a poignant ending and a natural moment for an alluded to upswing, even if the way you wrote it has a darker, forced bent to it.

At any rate, it was a pleasure to read this distinctive piece and your unique style. Good work!

 Report Review

Review #4, by TidalDragon part one

19th April 2014:
Howdy! Dropping by in pursuit of my quest to R&R all the Golden Paw nominees so I can vote properly!

I'm not sure if "enjoy" is the right word for such a heavy story as this, but it certainly struck me. You use a style that portrays characters in a very raw way - it's very different, very distinctive, but very powerful for a post-war struggle fic. It allowed me to feel a certain unique closeness to each character's suffering and pain because there was no elegant language to get in the way. Normally I'm all about elegant language - strong and evocative, but here I found myself surprised that I didn't need it. You drove the story beautifully through the characters themselves as it felt almost like really watching them without any words in the way, which was an impressive feat.

See you in the next chapter!

 Report Review

Review #5, by MissesWeasley123 part two

3rd February 2014:
Oh god, this is so good. I love it, I love everything.

While I do love the previous chapter a bit more than this (only because of the way you wrote Parvati -- so beautiful) this was still amazing.

I loved the focus on George. His pain is always so tough to read. You made it very evident and it was tough -- it wasn't anything but that. It was absolutely painful to read, because of the emotions you were playing with. Angelina -- the girl they had both shared. It was almost agonizing. It was as if George was trying to live for Fred. Really, really heartbreaking.

I never like reading Fleur, but god, you just write her so well -- I am in love. Especially the ending, it was tear jerking. Because Victoire had saved the family, she was the distraction they all needed. I think you worded it beautifully.

You writing is always like poetry. It is such a pleasure to read, and I love it so much. It is never unnatural or choppy -- but it flows and you are so talented m'dear.

Congrats on finishing!

Author's Response: Nadia! Thank you so much for reviewing!

George's part was the first one that was finished and I'm glad you loved this. And Fleur. Well, I'M not a fan of Fleur either, but most of the time when I don't like a character, I just sit down and write about them and it kinda helps? :P The bit of Victoire actually came to me as I was finishing up and I thought it came to a lovely conclusion on that note. It was fitting, somehow.

Thank you so much for reviewing - seriously you are amazing. xx


 Report Review

Review #6, by MissesWeasley123 part one

1st February 2014:
So hi. You are perfect and so is this. Update please?

What can I say about this piece. I love it. It is one of my most favourite pieces you have ever written, but then again I adore everything you ever write. I'm trying to hit 400 reviews today, and I wanted to make sure I reviewed something of yours as I make the push.

Literally everything about this was great. Parvati's section was my favourite. The scene and imagery you staged was beautiful. Everything. From the smell and her surroundings, I don't know how you do it so well! I will say it over and over again, you have talent like no other. Your writing style is so unique and deserves to be recognized.

But her relationship with Seamus was breathtaking. I thoroughly enjoyed it. You are wonderful. He was her saviour and wah. I love them.

Hermione! You wrote her complex mind so well. And then Neville and Hannah. Please, I need the second chapter of this. Please keep on writing this story. I know it's been a while, but it deserves an ending. You are absolutely brilliant and I admire your writing style.

Honestly, amazingly written. I loved it. ♥

Author's Response: Nadia! 400 reviews is amazing! Anyone lucky enough to get your reviews must be thrilled. Congrats on reaching them! (I just checked) I'm honored to have been thought of!

Thank you so much! This is an oldie - but still a favorite of mine, too. It's been nagging me since forever, but sometimes muses hide from you ;) I'm still playing hide and seek with this one, glimpsing her in between the trees at times.

Pavarti is wonderful and I loved writing her. Surprisingly, that part was the easiest one to write.

Hermione is my one and only, I'm so happy you liked her. Thank you so much for all those wonderful words - it truly means a lot. xx


 Report Review

Review #7, by A fan who is in shock because dude, you're talented. part one

5th December 2013:
Holy flipping hell this was beautiful.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reviewing! This really means a lot! I'm so happy you liked this xx

 Report Review

Review #8, by Eve part one

5th January 2013:
You always leave me in tears.

Whats even more startling is that I can't stop reading.


- More please.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #9, by saraie12 part one

24th June 2012:
Wow, dark and extremely well written. I'd love to read on!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your review! I'm going to update this soon enough. Thank you so much for reviewing.

 Report Review

Review #10, by bester_jester part one

20th June 2012:
Haha here's my real review - accidently sent in that last smiley face by itself!

(btw, the smile was meant to be my face right now).

First story I've read by you (and I checked your page, you have heaps!) and it was amaaazing. Fantastic characterisation, prose and feelings.

I loved the first bit about Parvati the best. The way you described hers and Lavender's conversations, and how they were going to live together... so sad.

I found Hermione's bit a bit (eek so many 'bits') confusing in how it was written. It was great, but yeah. Sort of hard to follow in places. I did love how Ron found her though, and 'his voice saying my name' rah rah rah was so lovely.

Okay, i'ma stop now. Lovely, really really lovely writing. Now off to read the rest of your stories!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! That's so sweet of you to say. Hermione's bit is a lot more choppy, which is actually how I usually write. the two others are more similar. I loved writing Parvati's too! It was actually the one that started it all. Thank you so much for reviewing, it really means a lot.

 Report Review

Review #11, by bester_jester part one

20th June 2012:
:0

Author's Response: haha Thank you

 Report Review

Review #12, by jkelly part one

19th June 2012:
Keep writing!! You have a real talent. Having fought in a war and lost friends, your characters emotions are spot on. Really enjoyed it hope to read more.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! This will be updated soon enough. I just have to get some other stuff out of the way. I haven't forgotten about it!

 Report Review

Review #13, by magicinthemoonlight29 part one

16th June 2012:
You are perfection, and you write perfection.

My words pale in comparison to this stunning piece of art, so I won't even bother.

Perfect. Simply perfect.

Author's Response: See, I logged in today, feeling completely miserable about my ability to write. Feeling like a failure and then I saw this. You made my day and thank you - thank you so much for your kind words and for leaving a review.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login