Reading Reviews for Escape
  
10 Reviews Found

Review #1, by nott theodore Escape

9th July 2014:
Hi again, Amy! Ah, this was such a great story, I loved reading it! After all the angst I've been reading recently, it's nice to have a refreshing change and read something like this that made me smile!

This was such an original story! I've read a couple of stories from the perspective of animals before but never one that's seemed to be as insignificant in the series as poor Trevor, Neville's pet toad. I loved the fact you decided to give Trevor a voice and make it out that he understood everything the same way we do, so that he's not just there to do what he's told. And it made me laugh that you suggested the fact that he keeps being lost by Neville might actually be because Trevor is trying to escape from him and gain freedom. The idea of all the animals conspiring to get free was great as well. And writing 'Croak!' at the end was really funny because it helped remind us just exactly who we've been reading the perspective of!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #2, by Cassie Whitmann Escape

22nd August 2012:
haha! The musings of Trevor, now this is a fresh and unique piece! I love how you've made him like a human, the way he thinks, the way he communicates with other animals... I also love how he's completely aware of Neville's standing in the school, how he's bullied and 'stupid' etc.

What the heck even happened to Trevor in the books? Maybe one day he actually got away! :O You totally wrote right before the night of Trevor's escape! :D haha!

Really enjoyed this quirky little piece and for a spur of the moment thing I think you did a really good job on it!

Author's Response: Animals always seem to be able to understand things just like humans can, whilst maybe not being able to understand them fully! People tend to assume that they are jut things that do as you say, so I wanted to give him another side for people to think about.
I have always wondered that too! I guess he must have escaped.
Thank you for the review!


 Report Review

Review #3, by Marsha Escape

19th August 2012:
Cute I would love to read an adventures of the "pets of Hogwarts story" It would be cool if you could write a long story based on this, It is very unique

Author's Response: Oh no, plot bunnies forming! :P I might have to take you up on that idea ;) We'll see what happens!
Thank you for the review!


 Report Review

Review #4, by StormThief17 Escape

15th August 2012:
HAHAHAHAHAHAHA! What an original story! Poor little Trevor, just trying to get away from that big stupid Neville. And all that about talking to Scabbers and Crookshanks was just HILARIOUS. And "It's almost human, the amount he knows." How ironic! Overall, just a wonderfully done little funny one-shot! I nver thought I'd get to see the inner working's of a toad's mind!

Author's Response: Psh, who writes normal things these days? ;) I'm glad you liked it! Thank you so much for the review!

 Report Review

Review #5, by TyrannicFeenix Escape

7th August 2012:
First line, I got it, and I love it. Never seen a fic from Trevor's perspective before but this is so good.

Where did this idea spring from, because it's so fantastic. I love him trying to escape all the time. nice of some students to help him back to Neville. But who are the ones who put him in weird places? Why are they being so cruel?

That is also a good point. Toads are listed on the acceptance letter, so why don't they have a special place in the castle? It seems like discrimination to me, someone should take it up with the ministry.

I love the way you play his relationship with Crookshanks. Almost makes Crookshanks sound evil, laughing at him in that predicament.

OMG. Friends with Scabbers, how could he, sorry Trevor, no coming back from that one dude. Maybe you should do a follow up of post-Azkaban Trevor, show us how he feels when he knows Scabbers was actually Wormtail.

In all, a great fic, well written and executed. Funny, yet nice. I loved it.

TyrannicFeenix

Author's Response: You got it after the first line?! I'm impressed! I thought it would take a lot longer!
Um, it just kind of came to me in the middle of class one day when I should have been writing an essay. At least I didn't look like I did nothing ;) The students putting him in weird places are anyone who knows he belongs to Neville and who don't like Neville.
It is discrimination! Someone should do something!
Don't give me ideas! I have enough of them already! :p
Thank you so much for the review! I'm glad you liked it!


 Report Review

Review #6, by The Last Marauder Escape

21st July 2012:
Ah this was just lovely. It took me quite a while to figure out that Trevor was actually telling the story, but that was more to do with my brain not working, than your story. I really liked this, it was just so lovely to read. Trevor wanted to get free, but never being able to - it's something I never put much thought into! Trevors opinions on Neville were interesting too.

This was just a great little story! It's like what JK Rowling said on Pottermore, in the end Trevor did escape into the lake and all both he and Neville felt was an enormous sense of relief! So all of Trevor's escape attempts are worth it in the end, because he does eventually make it to the lake!

Great one-shot - I really liked it :)

Author's Response: I do try to make it so that you can't work out who the story is about at the beginning. I also love writing things that most people wouldn't think twice about or would never imagine a character doing or thinking, but making it all fit and seem like it works!
WOO TREVOR! I didn't actually know he made it in the end! When I wrote this, I just imagined that he would want to, so I'm mildly amused that I made this fit with canon without realising it :P
Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #7, by Mihali1432 Escape

18th July 2012:
Amy! Ahaa xD This was in Trevor's POV? That is his name right? I'm not sure. Anyways, this was amusing. I like how he's like "I need to escape for Neville!" It's like, maybe, toads are man's best friend... Maybe Wizard's best friend. I'mma go with that. Toads are Wizard's best friend! Anyways, this was amusing like I said and I really liked it! :D

Mike.

Author's Response: Mike! Yes, his name is Trevor! Shame on you for questioning it ;)
Toads are definitely wizard's best friend! Who needs a dog anymore? :P
Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #8, by ginerva_molly_weasley Escape

18th July 2012:
Well this was different! I don't think I've ever read a story through the eyes of a toad before so this was a first!

I thought you did really well with it though, emphasising the fact that he wanted to be back with his friends and not in a stuffy ole dorm room with people. I also like the fact he knew about the lake as he knew that if he found a way down by there he would be in his natural habitat and maybe find some friends.

It is interesting though how you showed the friendship between the animals saying that Scabbers was Trevor's best friend as Scabbers didn't really belong in the dorm either, he belonged as a man.

I thought this was a lovely one shot :D

Author's Response: Welcome to my random side ;) Trevor is very under-appreciated! :P
I have always thought of animals having the ability to communicate with each other like humans do. I can imagine them all having bonds and telling each other things!
Thank you for the review!


 Report Review

Review #9, by gingersnape Escape

4th July 2012:
AMY

*snickers* hehe... hufflepuffs... find :P

Aww, poor Neville! His toad doesn't even like him, but he shapes up with time... lots of time. :P

I just want to pick Trevor up and give him a big hug (do toads like hugs?) and give him some toad-friends! This was so cute and I've missed reading your stuff so much! it always manages to give me the feels I need most when I read them. :D

(h) your pepto-bismol-pink-wifey-for-lifey

Author's Response: ANNIE
If only Trevor knew what we do! He might have tried to stay! ;)
I'm sure that toads do like hugs! I mean, who doesn't? Hugs are the best things ever! I've missed you reading and reviewing them (h)


 Report Review

Review #10, by maskedmuggle Escape

31st May 2012:
Ooh I really liked this! I've never read a fic from the perspective of Neville's toad which was really interesting! I was wondering which character it was at first, but then you mentioned toad and I was like AH! :P So first off, a nice idea for a story! I really liked the thoughts of the toad, his thoughts on Neville, which I actually find believable! and just all the thoughts about escaping, scabbers and crookshanks.. it all just made for such a fun little one-shot about the toad. Nice idea and lovely writing :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I love giving that air of mystery when I write, but I can't control myself and the hints get bigger and bigger until it's obvious who it is :P I'm so glad it's believable! That's one of the hardest things in writing fanfiction, especially from characters/animals that we have never seen from this perspective before, so I'm glad I did a good job :D Thank you for the review!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login